Olay • Shine, Shine Go Away! Shine Minimizing Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.6(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 bubblepowerflower on 8/1/2014 2:11:00 AM more reviews by bubblepowerflower

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I am 22 and I still have oily and acne prone skin. *le sigh* but this works pretty good! I like to use it in the morning before I go to work at the day care I am working for this summer. I am outside all day long with the kids and since using this cleanser it take at most two hours longer before i have to reapply my powder. Not to shabby. I have bought more than once since I started using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 8/1/2014 2:03:00 AM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I actually bought two tubes of Shine, Shine Go Away! Shine Minimizing Cleanser—I got a 20 ml (0.6 fl oz) tube as part of the Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleansing System which includes a facial cleaning brush & the cleaner. The kit cost $5.50 at Big Lots. I also have a full-size 150 ml (5.0 fl oz) tube which cost $3. If you do buy this at a cleaner from the "regular" store like Walmart, the kit costs $11 & the cleanser alone is $6.

Initially, I thought this cleaner was annoying because it's so thick, like a mask. After I was done washing my face, it didn't rinse like a daily cleaner. The product wasn't "tough" to remove, but it definitely took longer than normal washes to get off my face. Still, I can say that the kaolin clay really did a good job at minimizing shine. I use this cleanser to remove oil & dirt, not makeup. I love the honeysuckle & white tea scent! As a woman with sensitive & acne prone skin, some of my favourite things about this are its being oil-free & not clogging my pores. I didn't have any bad or painful reactions after using this. If you have oily skin, I suggest you pick this up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* charlie_leone on 7/31/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by charlie_leone

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

over all is good for combination skin type, it was on sales for 7.99$ cdn from shopper's drug mart it goes really well with the same brand long live the moisture moisturizing lotion. i love this cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 halas98 on 6/15/2014 9:23:00 AM more reviews by halas98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this and took it with me overseas so that I would have nice skin, I have pretty oily, acne prone skin, when I used this, I felt refreshed and I was like yeah! this stuff works! no. no it doesn't. I got a break out 2 days after using it and so i thought it was just getting all the gunk out and then cleaning my skin and helping it clear up. But it doesnt, and it has left me with open pours and lots of pimples that weren't there before I used this. It can't be the water from overseas because I tried using it again in Australia and it did the same thing. So unhappy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gpdyson on 6/13/2014 11:56:00 AM more reviews by gpdyson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this product! This was the first summer where my skin was just so nasty and oily. I rarely breakout and literally everyone noticed my skin was horrible. One of my friends recommended this to me and I won't ever go back! My skin started clearing up and my face feels so much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzjade22 on 5/22/2014 1:07:00 AM more reviews by mzjade22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What was I thinking! Garnier discontinued the Moisture Rescue cream face wash, so I just went to Walgreens to try and find something else. I looked this up on MUA in the store,this product was fairly new at the time, so there werent that many reviews, but the ones that were up were positive. I should have put it down the second I smelled it, but went for it anyway. Used it for two weeks and broke out in HUGE under the skin cysts all over my face. This went right in the garbage. If you like washing your face with laundry detergent (which is what this smells like), go for it. No, dont, just run far away from this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellove1705 on 5/10/2014 11:11:00 PM more reviews by angellove1705

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got a deluxe sample tube of this. I wasn't expecting much being I haven't really been a big user of Olay. I gave this a try though and it is an alright cleanser. It does its job by getting my face fresh and clean. It doesn't live up to its claim to mattify the skin which is what I was hoping for. My face looked no different after use. This does smell very nice and leathers well with just a small amount. I used the whole tube not wanting to waste it, but this isn't something I would run out and by. It does cleanse the skin, but it is a little higher priced for a drugstore cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emilyxchristine on 5/9/2014 10:58:00 AM more reviews by emilyxchristine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this cleanser, especially for summer! I started using it last spring and loved it. It makes my skin feel cool and fresh, lathers like a dream, and melts stubborn makeup right off. Since it lathers so well it can take a bit long to completely rinse off but that's no big deal to me. It even helps keep my breakouts under control. The consistency and scent are very pleasant. It is a little pricey, here $7 a bottle. But the results are worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Christinarhea on 5/1/2014 7:33:00 AM more reviews by Christinarhea

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my go to morning cleanser. I do use a different cleanser in the evening as this doesn't do the greatest job at removing makeup. But, it's great in the morning before applying makeup. It effectively removes products from the night before and helps mattify my skin. I love that only a tiny dollop turns into a nice thick lather and rinses well. I love that it has clay and almost feels like a daily face mask. Already on my second tube and for me that speaks volumes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleViolet on 4/5/2014 5:07:00 PM more reviews by LittleViolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought a tube of this although I was already liking Neutrogena Shine Control cleanser with clay particles in it. Olay's promised shine control, but I wasn't able to tell how well it worked. The cleanser itself is very perfumed and very concentrated (a tiny pearlescent dot on my pinkin fingertip covers my whole face when mixed with water). I used it with my clairsonic but I don't feel that it is worth the marketing hype.

I will go back to the Neutrogena Shine Control turquoise blu cleanser. I love the clay in that, and I feel like it really works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Cleansers products