Hermes Jour d'Hermes

3.0

20 reviews

40% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/2/2014 3:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Jour d'Hermes has an outstanding opening, smells like bottled sunshine and happiness... or more realistically like intense, tangy, freshly squeezed grapefruit. I can't spray this one without smiling, actually.

After a while the citrus is toned down and blended with a sheer bouquet of white florals, I get mostly gardenia, neroli and hyacinth. A kick of citrus is still present. There is also an aromatic twist that adds even more freshness. Is it bay, green tea or petitgrain? Something along these lines.

At the drydown all the above remain along with white musk, light woods - probably vetiver - and a touch of warmth like amber or benzoin.

One can tell it's Jean Claude Ellena's creation, resembles the Un Jardin style but it's more floral and less vegetal which I prefer. The opening is huge but becomes soft pretty quickly although it's still radiant and diffusive.

Would be great as a spring wedding scent.
Thumbs up from me, the heavy transparent bottle looks elegantly luxurious as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 11/29/2014 8:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is like Jardin Sur le Nil but with all the interesting bits removed, along with the transparency. Yawn.


on 6/24/2014 2:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

All i could think of when i sprayed it on my skin was passionfruit, which is too sour for me to wear as fragrance, it lacks background notes to soften it. staying 3-4 hours and as others have mentioned, it is rather linear. 2 1/2 lippies.


on 2/25/2014 1:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Light fairly plain flower scent on my skin. Nice but unremarkable and not my kind of thing, as I'm not a huge wearer of florals. For one of my favorite noses, this formula doesn't do much for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2013 11:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a tentative review, as I tried Jour yesterday at Sephora and wanted to think through my reaction. I first sprayed it on a card and thought it smelled luscious, so I put a medium spritz on my right hand which lasted for approximately the next six hours through shopping, dinner and two bathroom breaks (aka thorough hand washing). I feel strange because from all the reviews I've read, I don't agree with any of them. Nothing about this fragrance says white floral, fresh, spring to me: this is as close to an oriental as I can imagine. It is luscious, orange pekoe tea and spices, with an amber musk dry down somewhat similar to NR for Her EDT (minus the tuberose, amplify the amber and keep a dash of the cleaned musk) but something about it (maybe pepper) sticks to the back of my throat and feels off. For the first fifteen minutes, I wanted to eat my arm, but then it got deeper-tore open teabag at the bottom of the cup-and then it went masculine-synthetic masculine-and then I felt slightly uncomfortable until it was mostly gone. My sister said it smelled the way a lotus looks.

For those with similar body chemistry. My skin amplifies spices and usually carries white florals in an uplifting manner-they smell sweet and innocent and soft-but this frag is not innocent on my skin. It simmers.


ETA 12/30/13: I tried the body lotion, which is "vegetal" according to packaging, and it helps keep the scent luscious as opposed to turning weirdly peppery. Next up: getting a mini bottle. I don't think I'd use the full size enough, but the mini plus lotion should be good.

ETA 1/24/14 One mini and lotion later and I still can't wrap my head around this fragrance. It's so strong, to my nose and on my skin, even covered up in the box I can smell it from a ways away. Too bad my most beloved scents don't have this curiously strong projection. I think the only way I could handle Jour is in a very muted room candle form. My gorgeous minis are going up for swap.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2013 6:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Hard to believe this is a Jean Claude Ellena. It doesn't seem to have the transparency of the previous Un Jardins? But perhaps he was trying to move away from that style for Jour. It's also clearly not unisex. Another disappointment. Not really uplifting and definitely does not compare to my beautiful Sur La Nil which I will always adore. The first couple of times I wore this, I was going out and all dressed up. All day it smelled ...... out of place. A nice floral with a lot of carnation to my nose, although it's not listed. Slightly musky and a little dry with a tiny note of something chemical and sharp, perhaps citrus of some sort. But not interesting in the way that other JCE fragrances are. I felt 'under dressed' in it. Then one day I wore it out on a boat, dressed in a bikini, sarong and espadrilles. And it was perfect! I realized that on me it smells like a lovely floral fragrance sprayed on clean skin, followed by a slightly tropical (no coconut) sunscreen lotion rubbed over the top, add a hint of citrusy insect repellant and finished off with the smell of drying salt after a dip in the ocean. It's a great casual summer beachy fragrance ("a la plage"). Had it been marketed that way and perhaps as a limited edition for summer, it may have reached a wider audience. But it's very expensive to wear just to the beach! It was a gift from my sister in a 30ml bottle and it also came with samples of Mandarine Ambree. This was the highlight for me. Absolutely divine. I will not be repurchasing Jour but I have just bought a 200ml bottle of Mandarine Ambree - now that's the JCE I know and love!


on 10/8/2013 12:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Oy. I really want to like this. I really do. I got a sample of it from Sephora to test. I don't know what it is about my body, but a LOT of fragrances dry down to smell like powder and this is no exception. I'm wondering if floral-y scents are not for me, which stinks because that is what I like. Anyhow,it is not a strong powder scent, but it's still there. I'm not bothered by it necessarily, but I don't know if I'd pay seventy-plus dollars. Would I wear it if someone bought it for me? Sure would. I don't know if I would spend my own money on it though. *sad face*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2013 12:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

To my nose the opening of Jour d'Hermes is very similar to Guerlain's L'Instant, only less sweet and more citrusy. This lasts for approximately two hours and then turns into a banal drydown, sweet, soapy and chemical.
I was hoping for something original and long lasting. Jd'H is not bad and I will finish the small 1 fl oz bottle I've got, but a "not bad" sweet floral is just not enough to make me repurchase a scent.
The bottle is beautiful and quite heavy to carry in a handbag.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

Arghhhh.... I'm no good at describing, or rather I don't know how, fragrances.
I only know I love Jour D'Hermes. Although it doesn't stay on me, I love it too much to let this go. So I carry minatures with me and in fact bought a 125ml refill bottle although I am only a couple of weeks into using my 50ml bottle - Love it that the beautiful bottle is refillable!


on 6/14/2013 8:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am enjoying this latest creation by Jean Claude Ellena for Hermes. It reminds me a bit of his In Love Again for YSL from a few years back but sweeter and more feminine with the floral elements added to the tart grapefruit mix. Perfect for our hot Spring and Summer days. Longevity is pretty good on me, six hours or so and the packaging and the bottle are wonderful. It's a great addition to the line!


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Light Blue
1410 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top