Hermes • Jour d'Hermes • Fragrances

rated 2.9(20 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.35%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 lalki1 on 6/24/2014 2:33:00 PM more reviews by lalki1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

All i could think of when i sprayed it on my skin was passionfruit, which is too sour for me to wear as fragrance, it lacks background notes to soften it. staying 3-4 hours and as others have mentioned, it is rather linear. 2 1/2 lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 2/25/2014 1:19:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Light fairly plain flower scent on my skin. Nice but unremarkable and not my kind of thing, as I'm not a huge wearer of florals. For one of my favorite noses, this formula doesn't do much for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hotrocketship on 12/4/2013 11:57:00 AM more reviews by hotrocketship

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a tentative review, as I tried Jour yesterday at Sephora and wanted to think through my reaction. I first sprayed it on a card and thought it smelled luscious, so I put a medium spritz on my right hand which lasted for approximately the next six hours through shopping, dinner and two bathroom breaks (aka thorough hand washing). I feel strange because from all the reviews I've read, I don't agree with any of them. Nothing about this fragrance says white floral, fresh, spring to me: this is as close to an oriental as I can imagine. It is luscious, orange pekoe tea and spices, with an amber musk dry down somewhat similar to NR for Her EDT (minus the tuberose, amplify the amber and keep a dash of the cleaned musk) but something about it (maybe pepper) sticks to the back of my throat and feels off. For the first fifteen minutes, I wanted to eat my arm, but then it got deeper-tore open teabag at the bottom of the cup-and then it went masculine-synthetic masculine-and then I felt slightly uncomfortable until it was mostly gone. My sister said it smelled the way a lotus looks.

For those with similar body chemistry. My skin amplifies spices and usually carries white florals in an uplifting manner-they smell sweet and innocent and soft-but this frag is not innocent on my skin. It simmers.


ETA 12/30/13: I tried the body lotion, which is "vegetal" according to packaging, and it helps keep the scent luscious as opposed to turning weirdly peppery. Next up: getting a mini bottle. I don't think I'd use the full size enough, but the mini plus lotion should be good.

ETA 1/24/14 One mini and lotion later and I still can't wrap my head around this fragrance. It's so strong, to my nose and on my skin, even covered up in the box I can smell it from a ways away. Too bad my most beloved scents don't have this curiously strong projection. I think the only way I could handle Jour is in a very muted room candle form. My gorgeous minis are going up for swap.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mary66 on 10/26/2013 6:50:00 PM more reviews by mary66

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hard to believe this is a Jean Claude Ellena. It doesn't seem to have the transparency of the previous Un Jardins? But perhaps he was trying to move away from that style for Jour. It's also clearly not unisex. Another disappointment. Not really uplifting and definitely does not compare to my beautiful Sur La Nil which I will always adore. The first couple of times I wore this, I was going out and all dressed up. All day it smelled ...... out of place. A nice floral with a lot of carnation to my nose, although it's not listed. Slightly musky and a little dry with a tiny note of something chemical and sharp, perhaps citrus of some sort. But not interesting in the way that other JCE fragrances are. I felt 'under dressed' in it. Then one day I wore it out on a boat, dressed in a bikini, sarong and espadrilles. And it was perfect! I realized that on me it smells like a lovely floral fragrance sprayed on clean skin, followed by a slightly tropical (no coconut) sunscreen lotion rubbed over the top, add a hint of citrusy insect repellant and finished off with the smell of drying salt after a dip in the ocean. It's a great casual summer beachy fragrance ("a la plage"). Had it been marketed that way and perhaps as a limited edition for summer, it may have reached a wider audience. But it's very expensive to wear just to the beach! It was a gift from my sister in a 30ml bottle and it also came with samples of Mandarine Ambree. This was the highlight for me. Absolutely divine. I will not be repurchasing Jour but I have just bought a 200ml bottle of Mandarine Ambree - now that's the JCE I know and love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jaydensmama on 10/8/2013 12:44:00 PM more reviews by jaydensmama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Oy. I really want to like this. I really do. I got a sample of it from Sephora to test. I don't know what it is about my body, but a LOT of fragrances dry down to smell like powder and this is no exception. I'm wondering if floral-y scents are not for me, which stinks because that is what I like. Anyhow,it is not a strong powder scent, but it's still there. I'm not bothered by it necessarily, but I don't know if I'd pay seventy-plus dollars. Would I wear it if someone bought it for me? Sure would. I don't know if I would spend my own money on it though. *sad face*

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 9/30/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like Jour d'Hermes but don't love it. It's a pretty, fresh, lighthearted and energizing fruity floral. Starts with intense grapefruit and then I get some soft abstract white florals, maybe orange blossom and musk included. There is a very obvious green/grassy note which adds freshness but doesn't appeal to me. One can tell it's Jean Claude Ellena's creation for sure but I don't find it outstanding.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LucieP on 8/15/2013 12:57:00 PM more reviews by LucieP

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

To my nose the opening of Jour d'Hermes is very similar to Guerlain's L'Instant, only less sweet and more citrusy. This lasts for approximately two hours and then turns into a banal drydown, sweet, soapy and chemical.
I was hoping for something original and long lasting. Jd'H is not bad and I will finish the small 1 fl oz bottle I've got, but a "not bad" sweet floral is just not enough to make me repurchase a scent.
The bottle is beautiful and quite heavy to carry in a handbag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* meluvcosmetics on 6/17/2013 3:10:00 AM more reviews by meluvcosmetics

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Arghhhh.... I'm no good at describing, or rather I don't know how, fragrances.
I only know I love Jour D'Hermes. Although it doesn't stay on me, I love it too much to let this go. So I carry minatures with me and in fact bought a 125ml refill bottle although I am only a couple of weeks into using my 50ml bottle - Love it that the beautiful bottle is refillable!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glrsims on 6/14/2013 8:30:00 PM more reviews by glrsims

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am enjoying this latest creation by Jean Claude Ellena for Hermes. It reminds me a bit of his In Love Again for YSL from a few years back but sweeter and more feminine with the floral elements added to the tart grapefruit mix. Perfect for our hot Spring and Summer days. Longevity is pretty good on me, six hours or so and the packaging and the bottle are wonderful. It's a great addition to the line!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shaktigal on 6/3/2013 2:36:00 PM more reviews by shaktigal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Rather linear, lifeless, some tea notes, 'dryish', clean but at the same time - as others have noted as well - something off/rotten/rancid (like a dash of baby vomit..sorry but thats what this 'off note' reminds me of).., and a bit of amber in the base. Meh, at best. Actually somehow the smell of this concoction annoys me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products