NARS Light Reflecting Setting Powder

4.0

80 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

silica, polymethyl methacrylate, dimethicone, lauroyl lysine, trimethylsiloxysilicate, glycerin, magnesium silicate, ethylhexylglycerin, tocopheryl acetate, chlorphenesin, polysilicone-2, maris aqua (sea water), aqua (water), barium sulfate, algae (algae extract), phenoxyethanol, alumina, potassium sorbate, citric acid, mica, cl 77891 (titanium dioxide), cl 77491 (iron oxides), cl 77492 (iron oxides)


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

It took me a while to appreciate this product.

First of all, concerning the pressed powder specifically, this has a VERY weird texture. It was almost as if it was a complete solid, and I could not get any product from the compact. And then when I applied it to my face, it was as though nothing had happened.

Then, after digging into the product a little more, forcing more product onto the brush or sponge, I slowly observed how subtle and perfecting this stuff really is. It blurs the skin (pores, acne scars, general unevenness) without leaving any trace of powder on the skin. It's not going to replace Photoshop, mind you, but it's pretty cool!

I have the perpetual issue of concealer creasing under my eyes or clinging onto the dry patches there (even though I have oily skin, I have dry undereyes). This product is the best powder I have used for preventing that issue. It leaves your undereye looking incredibly smooth. It doesn't completely stop creasing for me, but it's much less noticeable.

Additionally, this is hands down the best product for controlling oil. I am an OILY girl, especially throughout my T-Zone. Even having used some extremely matte powders in the past, I always have to re-apply within a few hours. With Nars' powder, I maybe have to touch up once a day, and it's not even really necessary then! I thought the day would never come!

So, it just takes a while to learn how to work with this product. But when you find out what way works best for you, I guarantee you will understand why this product is so special.



on 3/28/2015 8:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have extremely dry skin and I finally found a powder that does not look overly dry on me. I picked this up on a whim at Sephora and paid $36. Like most high end products the price is high but you truly get what you pay for. I have owned this for almost 8 months and still have 1/2 a jar left. I only use a small amount to lightly sweep over my T Zone since I have big pores. It does not completely hide them but it definitely helps blur them. I also use a damp beauty blender and set my concealer under my eyes by pressing it on top. My concealer never looks cakey and it doesn't sit in my fine lines. If I go overboard with my blush I use a small amount on a stippling brush and it tones/blends it out beautifully. I will never go without this powder.


on 2/21/2015 6:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best translucent loose powder I've come across to date. Helps sets and mattifies my makeup, a must in the humid conditions of South East Asia! Light reflecting particles really does a great job of diffusing imperfections in a your skin but better way. My skin is normal to dry that gets a bit shiny by mid afternoon and a touch up with the pressed powder version helps by a mile. I like that my skins feels comfortable in it throughout the day. I've not suffered from blemishes of any sort (it claims to be non-comedogenic) from daily use either. I'm currently using Make Up For Ever HD Powder but I find Nars so much better. MUFE while supposed to be translucent seems to make my skin slightly fairer in an unnatural way (maybe because too much product gets dispensed? I don't know I'm still experimenting). I will definitely repurchase this in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2015 11:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can not believe that this product is not rated higher. I have truly found my HG powder. This is it and there is no doubt whatsoever about it. This powder is so finely milled and just feels like silk. I wore it over a TM that has almost no coverage and it looked beautiful. I am trying to get out of stockpiling products because by the time I need another one I have moved on to something else but that will never ever happen with this, it is truly amazing and I am buying a spare :). I only use a little bit , I'm at that age. It gives the most beautiful and natural look of anything I have ever used and it feels so silky and beautiful on the skin. I love it love it live it!!! I suggest you give it a try.


on 2/3/2015 8:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the best setting powder for dry/sensitive skin it doesn't accentuate dry spots fine lines or wrinkles it doesn't irritate skin,dry it out or make it flaky. This powder blurs all my large pores and makes me look perfect !! It doesn't give a white cast its truly translucent and it gives a beautiful glow and its so finely milled and soft I don't mind the price because its a great product its the only powder I wear cause its the only one that works on my dry skin but for some people it may be too much I will repurchase this for ever !!!


on 1/22/2015 12:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't hate this. I don't think it's the product's fault. I'm 38, and love it or not, you simply can not wear powder like you used to (unless you're going for the 10 years older look, natch). This is a very light powder and does set your foundation. I like to buff it in. It doesn't create a flat, matte mess; it has a very subtle matting effect that looks glowy. I'll buy it again if I don't like Chanel, which I'm trying next.


on 1/6/2015 12:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I adore this powder. I've tried several dupes (LA Girl, NYX, Sonia Kashuk) as well as similar high end products (Makeup Forever, Laura Mercier) but this is still my favorite because it mattifies and helps makeup stay on all day, but also diffuses imperfections and brightens the skin. This is not drying at all, like Makeup Forever HD powder can be. The only drawback so far is the packaging, which suddenly made a big mess in my makeup bag and on my counter. Other than that, this is awesome.


on 1/5/2015 11:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to love this powder alot. Until I found myself looking like casper in a picture, wearing this powder. In regular light, this is so finely milled, it leaves your skin looking fabulous, really soft. But then, in certain lights, it looks uneven and smudged.
I like that it's a lightweight product, but would have to reconsider repurchasing it-

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2015 10:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

If this leaves you looking like Casper, you're using too much. This is an incredibly finely milled loose powder that makes skin look airbrushed and glowing, without any sparkles or shimmer. It's completely translucent when you use the correct amount. You really do only need to use the tiniest amount to set makeup (I find I only have to do one touch up on my nose later in the day), so this jar will last me a very long time. There are a lot of comparisons to MUFE HD powder, but I find this to be a superior product. I apply this with the Marc Jacobs bronzer brush.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2015 3:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after looking for a translucent powder to set my under eye concealer. The powder is very finely milled and when you put it on the skin, it feels really silky smooth. However, it doesn't reflect light like it claims for me. Overall, this product is OKAY but nothing to write home about. In comparison to MUFE HD, it is finer and silkier but it does not do anything different. It's not worth the price tag.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top