NARS • Light Reflecting Setting Powder • Loose Powders

rated 3.9(63 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MES on 9/17/2014 2:05:00 AM more reviews by MES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

At 34 I have a pretty good understanding of what works for me and what doesn't. I've been a devotee of loose powder almost a long as I have been wearing makeup. I have dry skin so I use powder to set my makeup, more than say absorb oil or mattify my face. For years I used L'Oreals Translucide which was my HG powder, sadly it got discontinued. L'Oreals Translucide in Translucent did have just the faintest hint of color, whereas this is white. The trick to this is applying just enough to give the face a light undetectable dusting, then blending. Otherwise it can possibly give a very obvious white cast in photos. I do absolutely love the finish on this, it's very soft and natural looking and does not emphasize dryness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pink_jasmine on 9/15/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by pink_jasmine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I did not like this powder AT ALL! It left my face with the most awful white cast in photographs. I literally looked ghastly pale like a ghost in all the photographs I took while wearing this! I also did not think that the small flecks of shimmer in this were subtle, they were very obvious to me. I also found the powder very drying to my skin, it left me with flaky patches. As far as HD/silica powders go, I have had much better luck with MUFE HD powder and By Terry Hyaluronic Hydra Powder. (The latter is my favorite.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KellyFitzhugh on 9/4/2014 3:15:00 AM more reviews by KellyFitzhugh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite powder ever!! if you are a fan of the not-totally-matte-skin look, this powder is fantastic for you!! i have the pressed version that i use over the NARS sheer glow foundation and the combination of the two give my skin a beautiful dewy glow that stays consistent pretty much all day. like i never touch it up, so realistically i am maybe starting to get beyond dewy into a little shiny territory by the very end of the day, but not anything bad at all and i'm talking like 10-11 hours after application with no touch-ups! i mean, i think this wouldnt be for you if you are trying to go for a completely matte look or if you get really really oily, but if youre into being super glowy you should definitely try this powder!! i think it really helps with the staying power of my foundation too, it for sure lives up to its name in terms of being a setting powder. this powder is the best, i have zero complaints!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jen283 on 8/29/2014 12:31:00 PM more reviews by Jen283

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use this to set my makeup and I have dry skin. It works to prevent creasing under my eyes and to provide a soft focus effect on my face. It doesn't really mattify the face or control oil, so you won't like this if you're really oily. Also this will cause flashback in photos. But for everyday it's a great setting powder for dry to normal skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pinkqt on 8/28/2014 6:36:00 PM more reviews by Pinkqt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I get that this product is supposed to keep my face nice and matte but really it's not anything special and doesn't do anything that another powder can't. I like my powders to have a bit of coverage so I don't find myself reaching for this very often as it's translucent. I suppose it could be more useful in warmer climates when I'd be more prone to sweating and oily face. It's good for setting undereye concealer too. I think it pairs well with Nars tinted moisturizer which can get a bit oily on my face at times. I don't recommend this if you have powder in your collection already.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iceburger on 8/18/2014 7:13:00 AM more reviews by iceburger

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this powder initially: it gave my skin a really smooth, flawless finish; it set my foundation really without ever looking powder, dry or matte; it was was super lightweight and optically invisible on my skin. It is indeed a fantastic finishing powder as it really does perfect the look of your skin. So why don't I love it? There are a couple of two reasons why I won't be repurchasing it:

1. After using it daily for months, I noticed it made my skin very oily yet dehydrated. What started off as a beautiful finish would turn into something quite ugly as the day progressed. The initial effect doesn't last at all. My face gets really greasy within a few hours of appication and the grease sort of sits on top of my skin, which has become dry underneath the powder. Not pretty.

2. It's not a great setting powder. As I said above, it doesn't control oil and nor does it pro long the wear of my foundation. My skin becomes oily faster than it would without the powder and my foundation doesn't last at all.




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 0113ichijiku on 7/20/2014 6:04:00 PM more reviews by 0113ichijiku

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This powder made my skin dried up! Not only that pores appeared so bad. Feels like I was putting corn starch on my face. I don't recommend if you have dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Naoto on 7/12/2014 10:02:00 AM more reviews by Naoto

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Love this freaking powder. Makes my foundations and tinted moisturizers look like real skin. Gives me a hydrated glow like Fix+ does but keeps my makeup in place.

I do a lot of bridal makeup and always use this because the chances of this flashing back in photography is extremely low, unlike comparable products i.e. MUFE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andi2010 on 7/11/2014 7:59:00 AM more reviews by Andi2010

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I prefer the pressed version of this powder which I find a lot more light reflecting. This is still a good powder it just doesn't have the same effect as the pressed version.

It's a finely milled and true translucent powder and you really don't need much at all, too much and it gets that "powdery" look which I really do not like. I find this buffs in beautifully and pairs with pretty much every liquid foundation I have tried it with.

My current favourite brush to apply this is the Elf flat top powder brush. Or lightly under eyes with a damp beauty blender - actually I must try the damp beauty blender to apply powder all over as it really does make it minimal and flawless over liquid foundation. As I have normal/combo skin I still get a little shiny in the T-Zone and need to blot after a few hours so I wouldn't say this would hold up that great on oily complexions.

I will use this up and enjoy it and repurchase the pressed version which definately has a more softening effect - loose is better value as I hit pan really fast on the pressed powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bowzerbowzerbowzer on 7/10/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by bowzerbowzerbowzer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this because I love NARS products in general (orgasm blush is my go to), but this is just a miss for me. The only light reflecting aspect I can see is if you take a picture with flash and don't blend enough. You look like someone threw flour on your face. For the price, I wanted a better product. I'm not crazy about the packaging because if that lid is not perfectly on there then the powder will get everywhere.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Loose Powders products