Urban Decay • Theodora Palette • Eye Shadow

rated 4.8(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MinnieMouse96 on 7/24/2014 7:33:00 PM more reviews by MinnieMouse96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This palette is one of my favorites, I love Urban Decay, and this just makes me love the brand more. The quality of the eyeshadows is great, the colors are great, and the little card that shows you how you can recreate the look is pretty cool. The eyeliner is amazing, like the rest of U.D's eyeliners. The lip pencil is a deep red, it comes out smooth, and the color payoff is great. The packaging is also really good because it snaps shut, so you know it will stay closed. And if the shades run out, you can remove them and replace them with new colors of your choice (or the originals because they are listed on the back with their shade names), so I think that's also a plus for these palettes that Urban Decay has, you can refill them if you need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SaturnineScribe on 10/4/2013 1:39:00 AM more reviews by SaturnineScribe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This palette was actually the first UD make up I bought, mostly because I was so intimidated by the price tags for the individual shadows! I bought this on a whim, because it was such a freakishly good deal (Each shadow is almost twenty bucks a shot, and I get six of them, plus two are duos, and a lip color AND a liner? How can I say no?) and I'm addicted to green and gold shades of shadow.

The shadows themselves apply beautifully-- smooth and highly pigmented. Broken (cream matte) and Jealous (two shades of green) are my personal favorites in this kit-- Broken brightens up my eyes and is a fantastic highlight, and the darkest shade of green in Jealous is a glorious accent color. I was somewhat disappointed in Spell-- not only did the black not quite have the oomph I wanted as a liner, and the gold was nothing that I couldn't find elsewhere and seemed to fade, even with a primer.

Beware I never use. I'm very fair and neutral undertoned, and this shade just makes my eyes look dirty or irritated. Bewitch I will use on rare occasion as a crease color, but not often. Both apply wonderfully and have great color payoff-- they just don't look great on me! West I LOVE using as a liner when I do more "natural" make up that I can't use my standard black eyeliner for. I thought it would do the same thing as Beware and make my eyes look red, but it did nothing of the sort. It makes me feel bewitching and glamorous and I love it.

The matte black liner stays well on skin pigment wise, but it does tend to smudge, so I wouldn't use it on anything other than a smudgy eye. The lip color is beautiful, but just a hair too bright for me. It's also a bit drying, so I would swipe some lip balm on before you apply it.

Over all, I would buy it all over again just for Broken, Jealous, and West. It was a great intro to UD products, but I would highly recommend swatching everything first if you can, just because the shades have surprising undertones that only come out against skin for better or worse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silverwing on 7/2/2013 10:39:00 AM more reviews by silverwing

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has become one of my favorite palettes. I know some people did not like that it was in the build your own style, but I like the fact that when I finish up the shades, I'll be able to put in different UD shadows. Granted that is provided they don't change the style of the individual shadows again.

I will say that I find myself using the shades Broken, Beware, Bewitch, and West the most often. But I do use Spell and Jealous. I really feel this palette is versatile. You can get a simple day look with Broken and Beware and then go in with Bewitch and West for an evening look. I like satin and shimmer shadows so this is a great palette for me. If you are into mattes, there is only one true matte and that is Beware.

The shades are a nice consistency, great quality that I have come to expect from UD. They are pigmented and blend easily. I wear these over primer and they last all day.

The liner is Zero, is is a basic black liner. I haven't opened that yet since I'm finishing up some other liners, but I used the UD 24/7 pencils before and love them. The lip pencil is nice. I think it is actually F-Bomb from their regular collection. It looks okay on me, I usually don't go for reds. I wish it was in automatic format since I prefer that for jumbo lip pencils.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aleachhunter on 5/14/2013 12:49:00 AM more reviews by aleachhunter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this and the Glinda palette at the same time and I have been equally impressed with both of them for different reasons. Whereas the Glinda palette creates a perfect, shimmery everyday look, this palette is perfect for a night out. I love anything and everything green, so the green shades in this palette are fabulous and rich. The lip color that comes with it is absolutely beautiful too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Faffinette89 on 3/18/2013 1:18:00 AM more reviews by Faffinette89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have medium/dark skintone and this is amazing on my skin! The greens work perfect with brown eyes. The gold also gives a nice pop. I have to say this palette will probably work on most people, but looks more natural on darker skintones. The lip color is definitely made for tan skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatrionaShadowleaf on 3/9/2013 1:19:00 AM more reviews by CatrionaShadowleaf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was hoping when I bought this that it wouldn't just suit "medium/deep" skin types because I am super fair, and Glinda looked like a bunch of pastels and glitter, which is about as interesting to me as a thirteen year old's birthday party. I picked up Theodora instead and am mostly pleased at what I got.

The shadows are beautiful and soft and show well, even the pale vanilla one. They are easily applied and blended. The eyeliner is Zero which UD always seems to put into most all of their palettes/sets, which means I have 3 of them already, but it's a good strong black, so I guess I shouldn't complain. (I would have liked Glinda's Rockstar since I don't have that one.)

But my favourite part is the lip crayon. Explosive, rich colour, not drying at all, vinyl-shiny and gorgeous. My only complaint is that it bleeds just a wee bit and I'll just use liner next time. I'd actually like to go get another shade just having tried this one. It fades well but does seem to gather in the lip's creases and lines nearing the end of the day when I didn't bother to refresh it (I work in a call centre).

The palette itself is pretty cute and I like that you can put other shadows in to replace the ones you've used. I had exactly zero luck trying to use the little card to "wear Theodora's look" and I'm not sure if it was due to my different colouring or if it was just a terrible walkthrough.

Great value here, as these are full size shadows and I think the lip crayon is full size too. I would buy another palette from UD, just probably not this one specifically.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 indianagirl on 2/22/2013 2:33:00 PM more reviews by indianagirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My husband bought this for me for Valentines Day, and I love it. I've worn it almost every day since. The colors are richly pigmented and butter smooth and there are a nice mix of shimmers and mattes. The glitter shades have much less fall out than in the Glinda palette. This can be used as an everyday subtle eye, or darkened up for a smoky, intense night look. The tin that it comes in is great, and I appreciate that the shadows can be replaced when they are empty or can be switched out if I want to travel with this. The mirror is large, and the eyeliner is one of Urban Decay's best colors. The lip color is a little bright for me, but I tend to apply lip gloss and just use a touch of this and it works well. I think this is a great value when you consider how much just the empty palette costs. Would definitely buy this again or recommend it to others.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MariaaPaul on 2/18/2013 11:23:00 AM more reviews by MariaaPaul

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this palette! First off, I think it is worth the price because you get 6 full size eye shadows (and 8 colors), an eyeliner and a lip color.
Packaging is just amazing, I love that you can pop the shadows out and put other ones, the metal casing is also amazing and the design is gorgeous!
Color selection is amazing, I was looking for a palette with most of these shades and finally found it. The shadows are pigmented, smooth and very easy to blend. I haven't experienced much fallout.
The eyeliner is amazing just like any other ud glide on pencil and the lip color is beautiful, however I don't find it to be long lasting, especially while eating, drinking and talking a lot.
Would certainly recommend this, it is my favorite eye shadow palette!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mellymoomar on 2/16/2013 3:37:00 PM more reviews by Mellymoomar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I think this palette is definitely one of my top favourites from urban decay, not quite as brilliant as the Naked range but definitely a close second. I have both Theodora and Glinda but can safely say I'm more a Theodora, purely because I think that Theodora is a more everyday palette compared to Glinda. Anyway onto the review:
Firstly the packaging for this is seriously pretty, which I always fall for stuff that is nicely packaged! It is a tin case which isn't cheap feeling like some of them are and its nice and hygienic clasp case which means if you drop its unlikely to smash everywhere, which is good.
Because Theodora is the bad witch, the colours in the palette reflect this, they are mostly smokey neutrals, apart from 'Broken' (a pale, shimmery cream, perfect highlight colour) & 'Jealous' (this is the half n half shadow, which is two shades of green, a slightly darker jade green and a pale shade of green, presumably to meant to represent green with jealousy). 'Beware' is the only matte shade in the palette, and its a bit like a cork kind of colour, brown but not overly so, with a slight hue of red to it. It makes a really beautiful transition colour in the crease. My two favourite shades are 'Bewitch' & 'West', these are two very versatile shades, 'Bewitch' is like a mix between a brown, a grey and a plum, which makes for a very interesting, deeply pigmented colour. 'West' is more of a deep taupe with purple tones to it. Both are very pigmented and make really beautiful smokey eyes or can be toned down to make a natural everyday look, and you don't have to use them together you can mix them into any look you like. 'Spell' is the final shade, which is another half n half shadow, one half being a shimmery black and the other a shimmery gold. I find UD tend to include a black and a gold in quite a few of their palettes but they are very nice shades and you can incorporate them into certain looks just fine, but they are very glittery, so expect some fallout there.
I think the colour I was most dubious about using was 'Jealous' purely because I never really use green shades, I have green eyes and find that when people with blue eyes use blue shadows or green eyes with green shadows it can wash out the eye colour a little. However I have found that I have used it more than once and I am actually finding it quite enjoyable to use.
The palette also includes the wonderful 24/7glide on eye pencil in zero, which I thought was great because I love this particular shade of black because it is a really deep black and is great for doing smokey looks and using along the waterline, because it lasts a long time.
Also included is the super saturated lip pencil in 'Theodora' which I like to say is a 'stripper heels' shade of red, a very deep cherry. I have very pale skin and find that this shade can look a little overwhelming, on the box where Mila Kunis is wearing it her skin tone is a little warmer than mine and looks a lot better, but I do like to wear this colour on days where I feel a little daring. It is very drying though I find, which is a little annoying.
Overall, if you love neutrals and smokey shades then this is definitely a palette for you. It even comes with a handy card (a bit like in the too faced palettes) to show you how to create a look with the palette. I'd definitely recommend and buy this again because you do get a lot for your money.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tstgirl on 2/1/2013 1:37:00 AM more reviews by tstgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this palette. I got suckered for the packaging. The quality of the eyeshadows are great. I got both palettes and i think theodora has less fall out than glinda. Although both palette have beautiful shades, i think theodora suits medium to dark skin tones simply because it compliments better, glinda has too many pastel shades. And if you have very pigmented lips, theodora's lip color would suit you better. Lip color is a little bit drier than what i'd like, i wear clarin jolie rouges but for a cherry red lipcolor, it might be better drier in order to avoid color from bleeding. Overall, this is a fantastic palette, great colors, great quality and great value. If i ever use it up or lose it. I would def repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Eye Shadow products