Lolita Lempicka • Lolita Lempicka • Fragrances

rated 3.8(804 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 CroatBoat on 7/12/2014 1:52:00 PM more reviews by CroatBoat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Im new to reviewing perfumes, definitely no expert. When I first smelled this it was in the perfume section at Gordmans, and I was about 16 and thought it smelled so different from any other perfume, girly yet deep were the words that came to mind. The scent stayed on me throughout the day and the longer I waited the more I loved it. Eventually I just had to go back and buy it. It was about 24$ and in a special edition green bottle.

Guys seem to like the smell but girls mention smelling baby powder (when someone told me this i was put off from it for a while but few years later came back to it). I think keeping a very light hand with this is key, and spraying it in hair instead of décolleté keeps it from overpowering your senses all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 goldenlight83 on 7/12/2014 12:40:00 PM more reviews by goldenlight83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This gem started out for me as a trail blazer. First of all let me explain why, I hate, HATE, hATE with a passion the smell and the food licorice and that note exist in this perfume. So when I first smelled it I was turned off by the smell but once it settled the vetiver mixes in with the licorice along with the violet, vanilla, cherry, and iris and becomes beautiful. Then it becomes sweet with a musky scent. OMG... it reminds me of the daughter of the daughter's mother to Samsara at this point and their makeups have nothing in common except for the violet, vanilla, and orris root.
If you can get past the immediate first spray, this is truly a worthy gem.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nickilloyd on 6/29/2014 7:23:00 AM more reviews by nickilloyd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Omg... i hate this with a passion!!! The smell makes me feel so nauseous if anyones wearing it nearby i have to leave the room... its like sickly sweet chocolate but it really hits theback of my throat a bit like petrol fumes would.... no no no.... bottles very pretty but that's about it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kellyjo7727 on 5/2/2014 10:56:00 AM more reviews by kellyjo7727

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I first bought this about 6 years ago at saks on michigan ave Chicago. I tried it there as it was right next to the lamer area. I was with my elderly mom who said that it smelled like the perfume she wore on her wedding day in 1941, midnight in Paris. I didn't give that much thought, but I bought the fragrance that day. Wasn't really hooked on it. The other day I put some on from that original bottle from saks 6 yrs ago; my mom has Alzheimer's and when I went to see her in the care center , she said oh my you smell like midnight in Paris.. Now she is hit and miss remembering me, but still knew that scent. So I have worn it daily since the other day and have had like 5 men tell me I smelled amazing. I now ordered the other parts of the collection of the original Lolita lempicka. I was looking up the perfume and designer and am even more in love with it as the gals name is almost like mine and has polish roots to its naming of Lolita lempicka. I can't wait to get the cream and shower cream and deoderant. I'm 52 and it took this many years to settle on a signature scent. The dry down fades to a musky sweet scent, kinda powdery but very feminine. Sultry, kinda dark n mysterious.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lybarra118 on 4/29/2014 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Lybarra118

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Buy again: maybe...leaning toward yes because it's very unique and I'm in love with the adorable bottle. I bought this on a whim after reading numerous reviews because Groupon had it for a steal. I had never smelled it before. I was very nervous about the baby powder some reviewers mentioned, but I took a chance anyway. I like creamy/smooth/powdery scents, not baby powder.
Admittedly, the baby powder smell was strong here, and almost overpowering at first spray. But there was something darker lingering behind the powder that told me to hold off a few minutes before judging. I soon found out that it was the licorice pricking my nose. I DESPISE black licorice as a flavor. HOWEVER, having the scent mixed with the powder, the final smell worked for me. It's sweet, but not like candy or caramel. It's more like a powdered Dr. Pepper or Coke...or a powdered licorice-flavored jelly bean. At least that's how this perfume worked on me.
I have the parfum version and it is very strong. One spray on one wrist, dabbed on the other, and that's about all I can take.

I can see why people hate it, just as much as I can see why people love it. It's really a "to each her own" kind of perfume.
If you hate it, it's still super cute on a vanity or perfume tray.

Update (next day): By the end of the day yesterday, I was ready to scrub the perfume off my arm. It wasn't the power that got to me, it was the licorice. It eventually got so potent that I could nearly taste the flavor in my mouth, and again, I HATE black licorice. I'll try again but spray with a very light hand. But now I'm leaning toward not repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vidz on 4/26/2014 10:06:00 AM more reviews by vidz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I bought this about a year ago after reading countless reviews about how "enchanting" and "magical" it smells and how pretty the bottle was. Honestly, this smells like funky armpit to me with a heavy note of powder. And the bottle looks cheap and tacky in person.

I keep revisiting it in hopes that I'll change my mind but that hasn't happened yet. I did buy it from a discount perfume store, so there is a small chance I got an "off" bottle or a straight up knockoff.

So stay away, or at least smell it in person, and see how it wears before taking the plunge. To get an idea of my fragrance preference, Chloe EDP has been my HG for years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 glvazquez on 4/19/2014 7:24:00 PM more reviews by glvazquez

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this based on the recommendation of one of my friends who knew I liked Angel. It was so much like Angel that I thought; why bother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 schristi2800 on 1/10/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by schristi2800

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Yummy mature scent. That lasts all day

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Floralisse on 1/1/2014 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Floralisse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Magical, enchanting, fairytaile-ish,... I feel a bit like a princess when i spray this on. I love the powdery, strong yet tender scent. But most of all I'm in LOVE with the botlle like seriously in love ... The blue apple witg gold.. So romantic and pretty

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thirdsword on 12/30/2013 4:12:00 PM more reviews by thirdsword

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Five years ago, I blind bought this fragrance at a steep discount from a local drugstore. As the bottle was apple-shaped, I expected the juice inside to smell fruity and fresh. What I got instead was a heavy cloud of powder. I put it away and every now and then I would take out the bottle from its box and stare at it admiringly, but upon smelling the remaining scent on the nozzle I would be reminded of the dangerous juice--I vowed never to spray it again.

For the past half year, however, I have become increasingly disenchanted by sweet, sugary scents. I've become less attached to former favourites, and the cake and cotton candy perfumes I used to love were no longer calling to me. That's not to say that I hate all fruity and foodie scents; rather, I've become more selective when before I would be enamoured by anything that did smell like desserts, and as I've expanded my tastes, I was looking for something new.

That's when I took out Lolita Lempicka to use again. The powdery notes and muskiness this time around appealed to my nose, and I was able to make out the sweetness of the vanilla mixed with licorice. Even so, I still consider this to be more oriental than gourmand. The sillage is moderate to heavy, so a little goes a long way.

Definitely an underappreciated scent!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lolita Lempicka products

More Fragrances products