Tarte BB tinted treatment 12-hour primer Broad Spectrum SPF 30 sunscreen

3.9

193 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Sunscreen ingredients: titanium dioxide 4.55%, zinc oxide 3.50% -Titanium Dioxide -Zinc Oxide Other ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polysilicone-11, Mica, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Stearic Acid, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Alumina, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Diamond Powder, Iron Oxides.


on 3/25/2015 5:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Lets start by saying I have oiky skin, I'm on my way to being a nurse an nothing lasts on my skin in the hospital. I like a night light-medium coverage product and this did just that.

What I didnt like about this product however is that the color selection sucks. Fair was too light and light was way too dark. (For ref. I'm persian so i'm olive skinned)

The second thing I didn't like about it is that It is so overprived for how much product you get, i mean at about 62$ Canadian with tax for 30ml, uhm no thanks.

The third thing i didn't like is the feeling of the bb tinted moisturizer, it looked great once you had it on, but smearing it on my face just felt weird.

All in all, this went straight back to sephora. I feel like this was a good product but not worth it,



on 3/23/2015 5:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've read lots of good reviews before buying this product in fair shade. When I've tested it on my wrist and a part of my face in store, it felt and looked very nice and smooth. My skin is quite dry and I can tell, that this product does not suit dry skin well. I like to wear bb or cc creams alone, not applying moisturizer or bearing just a little. With this product you definitely need to apply lots. alone it feels dry and somewhat chalky, and it really emphasises dry patches. My skin is fair (with slight "seasonal" tan). Blonde hair. So, I've noticed that this product has a yellowish tint to it. It sort of washes my look away (comparing to other bb creams in the same lightest shade). Makes me look unhealthy. Another problem I've noticed is that it has the same effect as some of hd setting powder have. Beware when you have your picture taken with flash, it really brightens you up, making you look like a ghost. And god help you, if the application is uneven! will make your look a total disaster on the picture, showing white patches on your face. I wonder if it's only the problem for a fair shade.
I kinda stopped using it, or using it's a bit to achieve matt look (it's very matt). I'll try to use it again when I'll need lightweight bb cream for hot days, just to see if it might still somehow work for me and not to be complete waste of money.


on 3/22/2015 12:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is an excellent product to wear by itself or under foundation. I use fair, and the slight yellow tones even out all the redness in my skin and blurs the appearance of pores. I also love the silky texture and the fact that it has SPF 30. This is my go to in the summer, for light coverage.


on 3/18/2015 4:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Have you ever found a really good foundation for you, but you still continue to hunt for the product of your dreams? My oily, sensitive skin has been doing well with two CG foundations, but for some reason, I can't leave well enough alone. I bought this because it got good reviews for oily skin. I watched a few YT videos, and it seemed like I could get away with Light, because I wanted to try the travel size, .5 oz., for $10. Is it me or is it strange that twice as much product, 1 oz., costs $35? Anyway, the Light is much too dark and orange for my N/NW10-15 skin. Bummer, but I could have worked with that if I liked it. So I'll start with the strange thing that happened after I took the little foil seal off. I did it with the cap facing up, so as not to dispense too much product, yet it started spewing all over like an angry volcano. Trying to squeeze it back into the tube like toothpaste made it worse. Then, the application, which was difficult since I had to hold the tube with one hand. I used my fingers, per most suggestions, and it started out okay. But it didn't really blend. It kind of sat on top of my skin. I'm not one to rub my skin too hard, since that makes it red and irritated, so I used a beautyblender. That helped a little bit, but it was stuck to the hairs in my eyebrows, accentuated my pores, and highlighted any drop of dryness. It took 3 tries to get it to cover my nose, but after using setting powder (also recommended) my nose had a weird cakey, powdery cast to it. Within less than an hour, the sides of my nose and the skin between my eyebrows required blotting paper. Twice.


on 3/18/2015 12:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

EEEW!!!!! This stuff SUX!

This felt so great when I tried it on my hands...then I put it on my face and... it highlighted every pore and clung mercilessly to my dry patches.

This is in no way formulated for those with dry skin. Run far away from this product, its terrible.


on 3/15/2015 8:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This works really well on my oily skin. BUT it does emphasize dry patches. I have some dry patches on my chin, and it does not look good. However, this BB cream keeps me matte for about 6 hours! Which is amazing. I love using this alone and not as a primer because it can make foundations look cakey. Also it's better to use a light hand because a lot of product can bunch up and look cakey. You have to set with a powder or else it will settle in fine lines.

Pros:
A little goes a long way
Great oil control (6+hours)

Cons:
Emphasizes dry patches (not for dry skin :/)
Very small color selection
Can settle in fine lines (need to powder to set)
Can make foundations look cakey (should not be used as a primer)
Price $$$ (but travel size is about $10, which is worth trying)

Overall, I think it is a nice BB cream to have. I have two of the travel sizes,I think it's nice to keep in my purse for emergency touch ups.


on 3/12/2015 3:35:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am on the fence with that product, it cvers nicely, but there is lots of silicone in it, making the application slippery, feels like it is sitting on top of my skin..I had a mini size, but won't purchase the bigger one..it feels nice and the spf is great, but not crazy about the texture..coverage though is nice...


on 3/11/2015 11:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product when I was first experimenting with makeup. I didn't want to commit to using foundation because I didn't feel I really needed that much coverage on my skin. When I tried this out it was amazing. It is pretty much my go to bb cream because it gives great coverage. The only thing I didn't necessarily like about this product is that there are only like 4 shades so it can be hard to find the exact shade I want, but overall I really like this bb cream.


on 3/9/2015 3:09:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product from the "impulse" displays near the Ulta cashiers just a few days ago and have used it only twice. Once by itself and once over another primer. I found it to be thick and dry. It emphasized the dry patches on my face on the cheeks and forehead. It looked dry and chalky whether I used it with or without a primer under it and had absolutely no glow to it.

But the biggest turnoff to me was that once again the Fair turned quite yellow on my fair skin!

So, even though it's just a small size, I will be returning it.


on 2/17/2015 9:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought the mini of this on a whim (Oh, Ulta...your grab and go section near the register kills me!) in Light and was totally blown away. I am usually a tinted moisturizer with concealer user (Sonia Kashuk & Laura Mercier) but have tried a few BB creams and been pretty underwhelmed.

I was thinking that this might be a good primer if I feel like looking a little more polished than just TM can provide, and was pleasantly surprised to see how even the coverage was from this alone. My one complaint with the BB creams I've tried (especially Smashbox) is that they made my pores MORE noticeable, and mine don't usually look that bad/prominent. This was velvety in feel and coverage, without looking cakey. I could easily use this and skip my concealer (for a "gee you look great even without makeup" look) or add concealer/powder on a day I want to look more finished.

For frame of reference: I have normal to dry skin and don't need heavy coverage (I use a little concealer on redness around my nose). The silicone slip feel/look might not appeal to those with oilier skins, but I found it to have the balanced dewy-but-not-greasy look I shoot for. The light was a good color match for me (I use Nude in the Laura Mercier & Linen in the Sonia Kashuk). I often find that "Fair" shades are too light or pink and "Light" shades are too dark. Fairly Light in Bare Minerals is one of the best color matches I've found, and the Tarte Light is looking to be the closest match I've found in a BB/TM.

So...would I buy it again? Right now I'm leaning toward a yes. My hunch is that this will be a good winter staple for me, but might not stay on well in warmer weather. As much as I love playing with makeup, I like a daily routine that doesn't *require* a million products to look decent, but I'd be willing to touch up during the day with some powder if this proves to be as great as it has been in the first few days of use.


Back to Top