Revlon • Luxurious ColorSilk Buttercream • Hair Color

rated 3.8(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Lanikoerte on 8/23/2014 10:34:00 PM more reviews by Lanikoerte

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Worst hair dye ever! I got this in 73N which is medium natural blonde. I usually use revlon color silk and decided to try this because I've been bleaching and dying more often I thought with all the good reviews it would be good for my hair. Unfortunately it's no where near medium blonde. It's like grey. Or an ash! I do not pull off cool colors at all. After washing it a bit it might lighten up. But for now it looks awful. Also while dying it's super runny and got everywhere. It also turned my hair red while dying so I guess I should be "lucky" it turned out ash blonde/ gray. Haha. Whatever. Don't buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 STLBluesfan07 on 7/27/2014 5:25:00 PM more reviews by STLBluesfan07

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Let me just say "WOW!" You absolutely cannot beat the price of this hair color, especially since the results are so fantastic.

I have been coloring my hair for a few years now, after not coloring for over 10 years. Of course in my teens and 20's I bleached my hair platinum blonde, which ruined my hair and I had to get it all cut off and let it grow out. Horrible.

After such a bad experience I refused to color my hair for a long time. Which was fine when I had no grays. Ha...we all know that doesn't last. So now, at age 40, I color to cover the grays and I want COMPLETE gray coverage that LASTS.

First time I colored again I went to the salon, spent over $100 and got a beautiful brunette color that faded in less than 6 weeks.

Then I decided that if I was going to have to color every 6 weeks I would just do it at home. I used a few products that gave good results but then I did a search for the best drugstore hair color and was shocked to see the recommendation of the Colorsilk brand. Frankly I saw the price and could not believe that it wouldn't ruin my hair.

So I got ahold of a coupon and decided to take the plunge. This was about 3 months ago. And I was again shocked...in a great way...on how well this product covered my grays and gave me such a beautiful color! I used Medium Golden Brown 43G and I LOVE it. At that time my hair was super long, way past my bra-strap and halfway down my back and 2 boxes of the color covered all my hair well.

Fast forward 3 months: I colored again today using the Medium Golden Brown 43G and again, I love it. Only reason I had to recolor was the grow out. This stuff LASTS. And does not fade. And does not smell horrible. I have not had a problem with it drying my hair out either, although my hair is healthy and not damaged. I recently had my hair cut, to about collar bone level, and one box did the trick no problem. My hair feels soft and silky, and the color is a glossy vibrant medium golden brown. Perfect.

I highly recommend this color for someone who wants to cover grays with a shade very close to their natural hair color. I'm not sure how well it would work to go beyond 2 shades darker or lighter, but for me it works great and I will definitely use again.

Even better...I had a coupon for $3 off and Walgreens put it on sale for $4.99 so I only paid $1.99 for it! BONUS!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 7/19/2014 1:19:00 AM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am reviewing shade 81N Light Blonde. Although MUA reviews have been mixed on Revlon's Buttercream line I decided to take a chance because the picture on the box showed a light beige blonde for the light brown hair sample. There is no "Ultra Blonde" in the shade name so I was a little worried I would wind up with light brown hair but it came out very close to the package color. The gloves are better than most kits (although Nutrisse has rubber-type gloves) and I liked that there are even plastic covers for your glasses earpieces. I did leave it on for 45 minutes with a cap after application.

The product is not thick but I find that an advantage as I only use it for my roots and never pull down through the rest of my hair. The odor is actually a pleasant floral. I have hair that is mostly gray on top and sides but medium brown in back and at hairline of bangs. One would think this would make for a big problem in obtaining a fairly even color but mostly it does not.....especially with this product. This is the most even color I have ever gotten and grabbed the gray much better than most. Unlike many posters, I found the accompanying conditioner to be adequate but not exceptional.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Princess817 on 7/18/2014 6:15:00 PM more reviews by Princess817

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First, let's note I have been dyeing my hair for about 18 years. I have very straight, fine but very thick hair. I have abused the heck out of my hair at many times...over the years it seems hair dyes have gotten better.
Well, I've never been a huge fan of the Colorsilk brand...it was just too drying. The colors are great, the price is right but even in my hair, they have been very drying. My hair is VERY resilient.
I decided to try this Buttercream version, since the price is still less than competitors' brands and I hoped the 'buttercream' would indicate it was more moisturizing. Alas...it may be, but only marginally.
Generally I use Garnier brand but they were out of my shade; another reason I decided to try this (I purchased a dark golden brown shade).
The packaging is great. The gloves are the plastic-peel off kind, but black and it even comes with little plastic slips to put over glasses ear-things (I have no idea what they're called...lol). Mixing was easy...smelled good...application easy and very little dripping.
I actually rinsed out about 5 minutes prior to what the box said. And my hair started coming out in clumps. Usually after dyeing, you have some breakage...just par for the course. Generally after conditioning and some quality treatments, it stops.
The packet of conditioner that is given--NOT enough. At the time I had a chin-length inverted bob. It was NOT enough to cover my head. Two months later--my hair is still breaking off in clumps. I had to cut my hair into a pixie style (think Jen Lawrence's) hoping to remove some of the damage. It's still breaking off.
I believe that if your hair is dry or coarse, you'd be in trouble with this stuff. I have used coconut and olive oils, Pantene, Aveda...a ton of different things to try to strengthen it. It feels soft but it is still breaking quite a bit whereas with other brands--like Garnier--I have found after a couple of weeks of treatments the breaking stops by about 90% or altogether.
IF you have very resilient, healthy hair--it's worth a shot maybe for the price. But be very, very careful because I really find this stuff to be drying. If your hair is damaged, please use caution or avoid altogether. Very damaging product.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jbland on 6/27/2014 9:22:00 PM more reviews by jbland

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This haircolor is one of the best haircolors I have tried on my hair. I was a little hesitant to try this one because the regular Colorsilk has a detergent smell and damaged my hair so much. This haircolor has a mild smell and the conditioner is wonderful. I would be willing to pay a little more if they gave you more conditioner, which smelled wonderful! You get one little packet. I also wish they had more shades of blond. I used the lightest color they have and it is darker than the box. I did like the color and it really had shine. It is not as flat of a color as Garnier. Overall it is a great haircolor.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heartsp1986 on 6/8/2014 1:52:00 AM more reviews by heartsp1986

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using colorsilk since 2003. When the buttercream selection came out, I was excited to give it a try. I absolutely love this in brown black. It is a rich color, not flat at all. I've been using the buttercream for 8 months now, and my hair feels healthy and thick, not damaged at all. The conditioner that comes with this always makes my hair feel soft. Upon the first application of brown black, it is always a shade darker than what I want, but after the next days wash, it is the perfect dark color with hints of brown in it. I'm always getting complimented on this hair color. I have had people say it looks natural on me.... and when I moved and had to change hair stylists, I was asked who did my color, and when I said that I did it at home... they were surprised because it is such a rich and pretty color. A few years ago, I tried to achieve this same color at a salon and it didn't turn out this way...and faded very quickly. I have 75% grey, and it covers it every time. No trouble. When the greys pop out in a couple of weeks or so, I just touch up a bit. I'm a natural auburn, but told that this color makes my skin glow and makes me look more youthful. So I guess I'm sticking with this for a while longer.... and what I do love about this brown black color is, it doesn't look goth, or unnatural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 4/17/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I need an ammonia-free hair color for my fine strands. Ammonia is WAY too damaging. This has officially replaced Garnier Olia as my top ammonia-free at home hair color. It fades, but not NEARLY as fast as Olia. Good color, too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xcrystalizex on 4/17/2014 6:26:00 PM more reviews by xcrystalizex

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this color a while back because of the "buttercream" advertising, the price was right, and because colorsilk is supposed to be the best drugstore color. It will be the only brand I buy from now on! I was going from bleach blonde (salon color job) to wanting a dark chocolate brown. I have rather thick and long hair, so I bought two boxes. Its a good thing I did because I ended up needing both of them. Again, this is probably because I have really thick hair and was wanting all over color. After coloring, I was worried that it was too dark/black, but after the first wash I was happy to see that it was exactly the color I was looking for. A pretty dark chocolate brown. :) I also have some greys and it coverd those very well, too. After conditioning, it left my hair very soft and pleasant to touch. I have naturally curly, dry, brittle hair so this was definitely a plus for me! I would definitely recommend this to others who are interested in trying it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missvox2 on 4/6/2014 3:56:00 PM more reviews by missvox2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I had used this new Colorsilk Buttercream dye twice and both times it dried my hair significantly more than other brands. I notice as my hair gotten really staticky the past two winters. The trusty regular Colorsilk has a new look too so I hope they did not re-formulate it. Be prepared to condition your hair hardcore with this formula.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Phira on 3/29/2014 4:57:00 PM more reviews by Phira

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I needed my roots done before my next pro color and decided on the Revlon Medium Auburn buttercream color. Most of the colors (from other brands) I have used over the years are no longer available at Walgreens or Walmart so I took a chance on this... I was not disappointed! This turned into a beautiful coppery auburn color that shimmers in the sun. It's not a one tone color like most at home colors. The key to any home color is to cover the hair with a shower cap, then when you are ready to rinse it out use warm water first then switch over to cold. I mean seriously cold water. This seals the cuticle and makes the hair color last longer (especially reds). This was a tip my salon colorist gave me when I do my in between pro color touch ups and it works.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products