Essence XXXL Shine Lip Gloss

3.8

26 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 7/22/2015 1:37:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Because of the good reviews here I bought two of these today. There were no testers so I chose two of the colours I thought would be best. 022 Nude Kiss is a sheer, muted, subtle pink shade with very imperceptible sparkles. Worn alone, it looks almost like a clear lip gloss. 08 Glamour To Go is much thicker in consistency with a creamy iridescent glow - resembling Nars Turkish Delight but with more sheen. These both look so beautiful alone or over a darker lipstick that I plan to get more. These are as good as the high end ones or even better because the smell is pleasant and there is no taste. Plus they don't wear off immediately. The one caveat is that often they are not sealed and because there are no testers someone may have opened and tried them. Try to get a sealed one, or pick one from the back.

Update: I went back and got it in Nude Candy, which is the dupe of Turkish Delight only a little more sheer. At the same time I got a Revlon lip gloss and it was not any better than these, yet Revlon costs a lot more. There's absolutely no reason to pay more for a big brand name lip gloss as the ingredients and results are exactly the same and these get used up so fast. I absolutely recommend these if you can be sure it's not old stock because sometimes they go bad right in the store (that is true of every brand). I'm using these all day long now as I got tired of the matte lip.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 2/15/2015 3:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this in clear, and I use it for gradient lips. it's very sticky and doesn't last for more than an hour, but feels great on the lips!


on 2/15/2015 1:02:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I quite like this lipgloss and have bought a few of them. It's not super pigmented, but it's great for topping off lipsticks, which is my favorite way to use it. The formula is super smooth, emollient, moisturizing, and goes on really well. The title is accurate when they say shine because the finish is very shiny and shimmery (it's not gritty though). The one problem is the lasting power. Since there is no stickiness or tackiness to it, it doesn't last very long (2-ish hours) and reapplying is necessary. But if you don't mind, this is an awesome product and I fully recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2015 3:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this lip gloss in a deep red color and I hate it! It made lips a sticky gloopy mess. I felt like I put caramel or taffy on my lips! It distributed so unevenly as i even got it under my lower lip! Yuck!


on 8/21/2014 12:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have this in "Nude Kiss", a pale mauve-y pink. Although the texture is a bit thin (hence the 4/5 rating), it is still moisturizing. I really like this gloss. I pair it with Essence's "In The Nude" and "Honey Bun" lip liners and the looks are gorgeous. For a combined cost of $5.50 cdn, it is a fabulous deal! The scent of the gloss is very nice; a warm buttercream cupcake fragrance. I already have a back-up of the gloss, but I will definitely pick up another one. Essence has no qualms about discontinuing products, so I want to make sure that I have a nice supply of my favourites.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/20/2014 8:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love the smell from this stuff, devine! purchased it as was sick of spending 20-30 on expensive brands. Bought three different colours, all quite pink. My problems are as follows : 1. It does not stay on your lips very long... 2. it is not really highly pigmented, so its difficult to see any real colour on your lips after application unless you apply several coats, which just ends up looking trashy 3. It is very glittery without much pigment which makes it seem cheap. All those things aside , for the price and if you just want a shiny gloss it is well worth the money, but for someone who likes a colour on their lips, it didn't work.


on 8/16/2014 1:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love these lip glosses, they are light, non-sticky and shinny, they smell great, but not overwhelming. I do not remember the price anymore, but they are supercheap. The tube contains 5 ml (0.15 oz)


on 7/11/2014 10:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this lipgloss! It's probably my favorite one I've ever purchased.. and it's only around $3 or so! I have the shade Nude Candy which is a really light pink color. It's great on it's own or layered over lipsticks. The formula is great, never sticky or goopy. Will continue to repurchase again and again.


on 5/27/2014 1:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just bought this in the clear version (from Ulta for less than $3) and I love it... it isn't sticky at all which is hard to find! I didn't get any other colors because they all had too much shimmer in them, but I like putting the clear gloss over my favorite lipsticks to add some shine.


on 5/26/2014 6:07:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I could write a whole essay about why I love these lipglosses but life is short so I'll keep this shorter (season 7 supernatural reference if anyone got that haha) These lipglosses are amazing. They're shiny, pigmented, glossy, smooth, not-sticky. I got it in the colour Nude Kisses but I'm going to buy more! They don't stay on all day so you have to re-apply but I don't really mind. The doe-applicator makes it easy to apply. The packaging is nice and classy. They do have a slight berry vanilla scent though.


Popular Lip Glosses


Deelight
Deelight
42 Reviews
Lipglass in Prrr
Lipglass in Prrr
856 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated Essence Products

image

Lip Liner

60 reviews
image

Brow Designer

53 reviews
Back to Top