Urban Decay • Naked Skin Beauty Balm • BB Cream

rated 2.9(98 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraNikkita on 9/5/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by SaraNikkita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am really surprised at the bad reviews. I never thought of any tinted moisturizer or BB cream as having any coverage. I used Tarte's tinted moisturizer and it seems to have pretty good coverage, but it is not something I expect when looking for a BB cream or tinted moisturizer. This stuff has replaced my old moisturizer because that is how I use it: as a primer and moisturizer in one. It provides 20 spf so it's all I really need. I have been using it for almost a week and today I almost didn't put on my foundation because it did seem to even out my skin tone and make it look smooth (I don't think I would be able to do this during a bad break out). I would have still needed a concealer for my eyes and a couple blemishes. It does have a bit of a medicine smell but it leaves my skin feeling so soft and smooth. It works well as a primer too. My foundation goes on evenly and smoothly with this under it. It really creates a good canvass for my face. Definitely gonna keep buying this instead of a $15 moisturizer and a $20 primer. (Only having to put 1 product on instead of 2 has also saved me some time in my routine)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hmllr on 8/31/2014 5:21:00 AM more reviews by hmllr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I got this BB at a travel sized and decided to give it a try. The smell of this bb is like a medicated cream, it is sheer and offers light coverage. At first i do not like it because of the coverage, but i decides to give it a second chance. I use this product with makeup sponge and blend it well, and i kind of like it as it is light and does not make my face so oily. My advice is, if youre looking for a good coverage, do not get this! And its expensive too! Sheesh!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PMC on 8/8/2014 2:02:00 AM more reviews by PMC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Think of this as a tinted primer with SPF, not a makeup. The color looks quite peach/orange out of the tube but applies very sheer. I've tried Smashbox primers before with awful results (too slidy/silcone-y and broke me out), and I was afraid this would be the same, but UD was much better. It felt primer-y going on but dried to a really nice semi-matte finish, and stayed that way all day. It kept my oily parts at bay. No irritation of eyes or skin, which for me is saying a LOT. It gives no coverage, just a hint of color and that "blurred" primer effect they mention. It may be too much color for the truly fair of skin, but was ok for my light-medium skin. The very faint scent was fine. I would wear this alone with perhaps a touch of powder on my nose, but may not even need that. I probably wouldn't use this on occasions where I know I'd be photographed, due to the lack of coverage. Have not yet purchased, as I'm still working on a sample from Sephora. But it's high on my could-be list.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BlissLush on 7/17/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by BlissLush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this due to UD discontinuing their tinted moisturizer. I allowed the SA to sell me their new Naked products.....totally unhappy! This balm is very thin providing absolutely no coverage at all. Just melts into my skin, doesn't smooth out pores or slightly cover blemishes!! Who took away the old formula?! Feels like I haven't put anything on my skin whatsoever. Sadly, I threw the boxes away and can not return this crappy balm or the Naked loose powder which is just as bad! If its not broken don't fix it Urban Decay.....I am no longer a faithful customer.....BTW, Balm Shelter is the replacement I discovered & I asolutely love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 strawberiiicecream on 7/1/2014 10:07:00 PM more reviews by strawberiiicecream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

When I swatched this on my hand in Sephora, I was amazed at its texture--it felt smooth, silky, easy to blend and quickly matched up to my skin tone perfectly! I was worried that bb creams might over oxidize into a lighter or orange shade but not this one. I was with my friend whose skin tone was much lighter than mine and when she tried it, it also turned into her skintone perfectly after a few seconds. At that moment I knew I just had to buy this product especially with all the awesome benefits such as "optical blurring (perfect for my oh-so-evident-pores and uneven pigmentation) listed on the box. I loved it so much that I opted to just buy the full sized bottle instead (1.18 fl oz for around $36) immediately. But when I got to use it the next day on my face, I was not as amazed as I was in the store. It still had it's smooth silky feel but it gave me absolutely NO COVERAGE.

It was nothing that its description said: ["Naked Skin Beauty Balm is invisible on your skin (zero rub-off): the universal shade glides on and dries down to a translucent, flawless finish that works on most skintones."]...... It sure sure is invisible like it says though--as if I wore no makeup at all--my skin literally absorbed it and every discoloration and faintest acne scar I had was still evident after application! I tried applying another layer but my skin just absorbed it again and gave me absolutely no coverage at all. One thing that I DID like about this (probably the only thing) is that it gave my skin a nice glow which I guess is great for people with flawless skin. Even though this product did not do anything visibly different towards my skin, it did make my t-zone area extra oily than any other BB cream I've used (ugh). Also for the "Zero-rub off" part..well don't expect good staying power; if it made my skin oily, I'm pretty sure some product DID rub off.

I gave this product a week trial and since it did absolutely nothing and for it's price I decided to return it. If you're someone who has smooth, flawless skin and want to splurge on something that gives you a natural glow, then give this Beauty Balm a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DriouxAnnaSky on 6/10/2014 9:29:00 PM more reviews by DriouxAnnaSky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have started to really dislike using foundation every day because I feel as if it looks too fake and covers up my natural freckles and such. I was using other tinted moisturizers which i liked to use in conjunction with a concealer and my bronzer every day for a more natural look, but with my oily skin type, this was not conducive to all-day wear. I need at least twelve hours of wear out of my makeup, with one or two blots/powders.

I started using this BB cream and hated it at first- I used it with my fingers to rub it into my skin like a lotion, and I was getting no coverage at all- it was more like a primer. However, I picked it back up a few months later and began using it with a flat topped synthetic brush to buff it into the skin and now I LOVE it. It is so radiant without looking greasy, and lasts all day long! It also gives me a bit of coverage and color, so I only need a little concealer on any blemishes or around the nose afterwards. Clients ask me what is on my skin on a daily basis, and are shocked that it is only a glorified tinted moisturizer!! My bronzer blends on top seamlessly and I only need to powder my nose about halfway through the day and then I am all set :) I definitely love my Naked Skin.

I additionally like the tube packaging because it is easy to get out every last drop and travel with it. I do think it is a little pricey but not so bad that I wouldn't buy it again, just a little bit on the expensive side. But it is worth it to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* albs on 6/5/2014 1:01:00 PM more reviews by albs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use this product as a primer, and I love it for this purpose. I bought a travel size of this since I've heard such mixed reviews. The colour seems far too dark for me but it does blend nicely and I haven't noticed any orange-y cast to my skin once I've blended it in to my skin. It evens out my skin tone a little but I mostly use this under foundation. It helps to reduce the appearance of my (fairly large) pores, improves foundation application and generally makes my skin look smoother and more perfected. I really dislike the smell- I think it smells like mint and feet. Ew. I usually apply it over a moisturizer with SPF but sometimes I forgo the moisturizer and just use this which is nice for saving time in the morning. I really wish that Sephora carried this in the 3 shades instead of the one "universal" shade because I would prefer to go for the light version, though this one does work well especially in the summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mccfrausto on 5/18/2014 9:13:00 PM more reviews by mccfrausto

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This did nothing, maybe slightly evened my skin tone but made it look pretty dull. Dull is not a good thing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DKER on 4/22/2014 8:52:00 AM more reviews by DKER

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So....I am not able to use ANY sun protection with avo or oxy -benzones. and I need sun protection daily as I use retinoids and am very prone to hyperpigmentation. So, this caught my eye while I was in Sephora one day and I bought it on a whim.

I use some sort of Zinc based sunscreen every morning. And I have a light olive-y skin tone that even a mild white cast just looks....ghastly on. So Sometimes I will mix a dab of bronzer, or makeup into the sunscreen, or apply over it. This is usually how I use this, since I imagine it would be costly and maybe impossible to use it as a sole sunscreen, as it is very runny & thin.

The runniness makes it spread nicely over another sunscreen or mix into it though. The finish is not as matte as I personally prefer but I like that fact that my face looks ALIVE and not masky, chalky, overly done, or dead after I use this. I do have to powder over this or apply a clear primer (Maybelline) to get more of the soft-matte effect. So it really isn't streamlining my am routine at ALL. I like the fact that it is more light diffusing than covering & isn't too light....but hey if I need coverage on a spot or two....I'll use concealer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bih80 on 4/15/2014 11:18:00 AM more reviews by bih80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think the problem is that I expected the sort of coverage you get from the Korean BB creams and switching over to this really ruined me. This is nothing more than a moisturizer with SPF. It offers absolutely no coverage at all. I tried to built it but gave up and covered up with my concealer. I am just glad I bought the travel size to test it and didn't pay full price for the large one because I would've promptly turned around and returned it back to ULTA. The L'Oreal BB cream is better than this - not as good as the Skin79 BB creams but better. Skip this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More BB Cream products