Urban Decay • Naked Skin Beauty Balm • BB Cream

rated 2.9(103 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 BarefootedALIEN on 11/1/2014 9:18:00 AM more reviews by BarefootedALIEN

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this a year ago when I was really struggling with acne and hated it! It covers nothing! I was disappointed but kept the bottle anyway. Fast forward to now, when my face looks great thanks to grapeseed oil and apple cider vinegar, and this moisturizer is great! It covers my redness and gives me a beautiful glow. I have to apply concealer (almay) and set with glominerals powder. Truly my skin looks great and it lasts all day. I love not having to wear foundation, but this bb cream is only for those with good skin or a base for foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lashaye16 on 10/21/2014 3:50:00 PM more reviews by Lashaye16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I went into ulta looking for a foundation, the sales associate's face was beautiful I asked what she had on it and she showed me this and the powder. I tried it out and loved the way it was applied on my skin. However when I got home to use it the following day I didn't get the coverage I was looking for. I do have oily skin but I made sure I applied a primer and set it with a powder. I would only suggest this product to somebody who has "flawless" "good skin" because this doesn't cover up anything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Dae16 on 10/21/2014 3:16:00 PM more reviews by Dae16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this during Ulta's Days of Beauty for 17 bucks. I had tried it on my hand and I liked the airbrushed look it gave so I thought, why not. Huge mistake. It doesn't oxidize and make it darker for your skin. It left me looking like someone threw baby powder in my face. Plus it broke me out in a tiny rash. Not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 englande on 10/12/2014 11:28:00 PM more reviews by englande

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wasn't expecting a lot of coverage so I'm not surprised that this doesn't cover any spots on my face. If you are looking to cover breakouts, then this product isn't for you. I really like the minty, cooling feeling this bb cream has. It makes my skin feel fresh and clean after I've applied it. Right after application I thought it looked really oily and splotchy, but after a few minutes it dried to a nice dewy finish. It helped even out my complexion and left it a little moisturized. I didn't have those pesky flaky spots at the end of the day that some makeup products can give you. I also use this under my foundation for a really even flawless finish. It really helps you use less foundation and helps it from looking caked on. It's also good for those days where you want light makeup or are in a rush. Overall I really like this bb cream for its different uses, but I wouldn't base it's performance on coverage. I don't really think that's it's purpose.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmburk on 9/26/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by pmburk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

First let me start by saying that a BB cream, CC cream, or tinted moisturizer is obviously NOT going to work for you if you have super oily skin, major skin issues, or need full coverage. It just isn't intended for that purpose, so it frustrates me when I read poor reviews about a product that is completely wrong for one's skin type or with unrealistic expectations. That said, I personally love this product. I have clear, "good" skin and really only use foundation to keep shine at bay and to give powder/blush something to stick to. This product goes on smooth (I use a synthetic flat top brush), and blends out completely sheer. The coverage is incredibly minimal, less than even most tinted moisturizers I have used. It dries down matte, and lasts all day on me with minimal touch-ups. Makes a perfect base for my other products. I do sometimes add a bit of concealer in certain spots if needed. I think it might also work nicely as a primer or under a mineral or powder foundation. It comes in a squeeze tube, which is nice & sanitary. The only odd thing is the scent; it smells like minty fresh toothpaste. I've never encountered another foundation product or moisturizer with this scent, but it doesn't really bother me, and it doesn't linger. My skin is normal to slightly dry, and I don't notice any particular moisturizing from this. I am in my late 30s so I like something that won't settle into fine lines, and doesn't look too heavy. Anti-aging benefits are a bonus. I haven't noticed any major skin benefits yet, but I've only been using this about a week, so I'm very happy with the product overall. I got this on a half price Ulta deal, so paid $17, regular price is $34. I would personally recommend this to anyone with "good" even skin who wants sheer coverage & a matte finish. If you can comfortably get by with tinted moisturizer or even just powder, this is a product you will enjoy. Overall I am quite happy with this, and I will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraNikkita on 9/5/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by SaraNikkita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am really surprised at the bad reviews. I never thought of any tinted moisturizer or BB cream as having any coverage. I used Tarte's tinted moisturizer and it seems to have pretty good coverage, but it is not something I expect when looking for a BB cream or tinted moisturizer. This stuff has replaced my old moisturizer because that is how I use it: as a primer and moisturizer in one. It provides 20 spf so it's all I really need. I have been using it for almost a week and today I almost didn't put on my foundation because it did seem to even out my skin tone and make it look smooth (I don't think I would be able to do this during a bad break out). I would have still needed a concealer for my eyes and a couple blemishes. It does have a bit of a medicine smell but it leaves my skin feeling so soft and smooth. It works well as a primer too. My foundation goes on evenly and smoothly with this under it. It really creates a good canvass for my face. Definitely gonna keep buying this instead of a $15 moisturizer and a $20 primer. (Only having to put 1 product on instead of 2 has also saved me some time in my routine)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hmllr on 8/31/2014 5:21:00 AM more reviews by hmllr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I got this BB at a travel sized and decided to give it a try. The smell of this bb is like a medicated cream, it is sheer and offers light coverage. At first i do not like it because of the coverage, but i decides to give it a second chance. I use this product with makeup sponge and blend it well, and i kind of like it as it is light and does not make my face so oily. My advice is, if youre looking for a good coverage, do not get this! And its expensive too! Sheesh!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PMC on 8/8/2014 2:02:00 AM more reviews by PMC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Think of this as a tinted primer with SPF, not a makeup. The color looks quite peach/orange out of the tube but applies very sheer. I've tried Smashbox primers before with awful results (too slidy/silcone-y and broke me out), and I was afraid this would be the same, but UD was much better. It felt primer-y going on but dried to a really nice semi-matte finish, and stayed that way all day. It kept my oily parts at bay. No irritation of eyes or skin, which for me is saying a LOT. It gives no coverage, just a hint of color and that "blurred" primer effect they mention. It may be too much color for the truly fair of skin, but was ok for my light-medium skin. The very faint scent was fine. I would wear this alone with perhaps a touch of powder on my nose, but may not even need that. I probably wouldn't use this on occasions where I know I'd be photographed, due to the lack of coverage. Have not yet purchased, as I'm still working on a sample from Sephora. But it's high on my could-be list.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BlissLush on 7/17/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by BlissLush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this due to UD discontinuing their tinted moisturizer. I allowed the SA to sell me their new Naked products.....totally unhappy! This balm is very thin providing absolutely no coverage at all. Just melts into my skin, doesn't smooth out pores or slightly cover blemishes!! Who took away the old formula?! Feels like I haven't put anything on my skin whatsoever. Sadly, I threw the boxes away and can not return this crappy balm or the Naked loose powder which is just as bad! If its not broken don't fix it Urban Decay.....I am no longer a faithful customer.....BTW, Balm Shelter is the replacement I discovered & I asolutely love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 strawberiiicecream on 7/1/2014 10:07:00 PM more reviews by strawberiiicecream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

When I swatched this on my hand in Sephora, I was amazed at its texture--it felt smooth, silky, easy to blend and quickly matched up to my skin tone perfectly! I was worried that bb creams might over oxidize into a lighter or orange shade but not this one. I was with my friend whose skin tone was much lighter than mine and when she tried it, it also turned into her skintone perfectly after a few seconds. At that moment I knew I just had to buy this product especially with all the awesome benefits such as "optical blurring (perfect for my oh-so-evident-pores and uneven pigmentation) listed on the box. I loved it so much that I opted to just buy the full sized bottle instead (1.18 fl oz for around $36) immediately. But when I got to use it the next day on my face, I was not as amazed as I was in the store. It still had it's smooth silky feel but it gave me absolutely NO COVERAGE.

It was nothing that its description said: ["Naked Skin Beauty Balm is invisible on your skin (zero rub-off): the universal shade glides on and dries down to a translucent, flawless finish that works on most skintones."]...... It sure sure is invisible like it says though--as if I wore no makeup at all--my skin literally absorbed it and every discoloration and faintest acne scar I had was still evident after application! I tried applying another layer but my skin just absorbed it again and gave me absolutely no coverage at all. One thing that I DID like about this (probably the only thing) is that it gave my skin a nice glow which I guess is great for people with flawless skin. Even though this product did not do anything visibly different towards my skin, it did make my t-zone area extra oily than any other BB cream I've used (ugh). Also for the "Zero-rub off" part..well don't expect good staying power; if it made my skin oily, I'm pretty sure some product DID rub off.

I gave this product a week trial and since it did absolutely nothing and for it's price I decided to return it. If you're someone who has smooth, flawless skin and want to splurge on something that gives you a natural glow, then give this Beauty Balm a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More BB Cream products