Garnier Olia

2.5

385 reviews

35% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/2/2015 5:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I have died my hair at home several times and a range of colours over the years and have always tended to use Loreal dyes because they have the largest choice of colours.

My hair was light brown but I was starting to get a little bored and wanted to go back to red which I have been several times before. I picked up a box of garnier Olia in intense red as I loved the colour that was on the box. I thought it would be similar to other dyes I'd used before - I was so wrong!

The colour is really easy to prepare and smells a lot better than any other colours I've used. I really disliked the bottle as it was so round. I tend to roll the mixture like a rolling pin as well as shaking it and it was not possible with this bottle.

The dye was easy to apply, you apply on dry hair and although the texture is quite runny, it didn't drip. My hair is medium thickness and shoulder length. I'm used to using just one box of dye and although my whole head was covered I didn't feel like there was as much mixture as I'm used to.

While I was rinsing off the dye and applying the conditioner, I felt that the texture of my hair was a lot rougher than usual and felt knotted.

Once I'd blowdried my hair the results were horrendous! My hair felt and looked dry. The colour was patchy and ranged from bright red, pinky to dull reddish brown. All of the shine was gone and despite rinsing for ages there were a couple of strange oily sections -
Not sure if this was the oils in the dye or the conditioner. I am no colouring expert but I've coloured my hair loads of times and have never seen anything like it. I wish I had checked the reviews first!

In the end I stripped a lot of the colour out with clarifying shampoo and did a conditioning treatment the next day. A few
days later I then used a loreal preference colour (dark red) over the top. This covered it really well and gave me an even colour - thank goodness!





on 9/1/2015 8:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been colouring my hair for over 10 years now, and I've always been very adventurous with my hair- from bright red to bleach blonde, and everything in between. Black is my default colour when I want something more calm and professional. Last week I had an event to go to and needed to colour my hair, mostly the roots. When I colour my hair black, I always do it at home by myself with professional hair dye, but that day I ran out and had to go to the drug store. Remembering the commercial, I chose Olia. I put the mixture for 20 minutes on my roots and then 10 more minutes on the length and rinsed. When I dried my hair, I was in total shock. My hair was fried. I've never had such damaged hair, even when I bleached it. The next day I went to my hairdresser and she couldn't believe that the hair dye did that. She treated my hair with all that she could, but at the end she said that I have no choice but to cut it short, otherwise it will just break on its own. I'm still shocked that it happened, at a time when I was trying to grow my hair longer- now I have to get a bob again to get rid of the damage. DO NOT USE THIS! This is by far the worst thing that eve happened to my hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2015 12:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This was the first time I had dyed my hair in about 2 years. I bought two boxes of the intense copper as my hair is on the longer side and a bit thicker. After putting in and getting all of my hair covered a waited the suggested time. When I was rinsing my hair per instructions I found it difficult, it felt like wax had dried and set in my hair. Once I was out of the shower I immediately noticed my roots were the colour on the box but as I dried my hair I realised this is where it stopped. My hair is now extremely patchy my roots and ends are the right colour but all in between is either darker copper or no colour at all it looks like a toddler tried to dye my hair. Very disappointed as I have never had a problem dying my hair before now and have now wasted my money.


on 8/16/2015 6:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have thick hair, and the strands are a bit coarser than medium or average hair, but not exactly coarse hair. Moving on, the scent is pleasant and i find no need to ventilate the smell or anything. I purchased this is Light Garnet Red 6.65. I did have red hair previous in before but it faded (red hair tends to fade fast, so use no sulfate shampoos and conditioners!). I had about a dark orangey copper tone, not light, but a darker version. As i was dying my hair i noticed that it was hard to destribute actually, maybe the bottle was too big for my hands. The color when i applied it was sticky, almost like an elmers glue consitensy. The color looked burgandy when i started applying it, so i got a bit worried. On my roots the color showes up red but everywhere else was burgandy (which is about how it goes cause roots are hot and the ends are mainly harder to dye). I actually left it on for 40 mins so the hair could be penetrated. Anyways, my hair turned out actually a shade level darker which was unsatisfying since it was a level 6. The color did have a bit of a cooler undertone, but it was still red, but not a bright red. It sucked cause my hair was so much lighter and this made it darker. The next day i showered with no sulfates, and when i came out roots and mid hair area was just 1 shade lighter warm brown. But my ends were still that dark-medium red.
I was really unsatisfied with this product.


on 8/14/2015 3:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

to the idiot that complained about her burning scalp, that's why they tell you to do a patch test.....they're not liable for your stupidity and lack of reading comprehension skills as they clearly warn you AND provide a step by step process on how to do a skin allergy test 48 hrs before application. They don't owe you anything.


on 8/6/2015 6:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's a nice colour but seriously it washed out after like 3 washes so therefore it is not permanent!!!!


on 8/5/2015 6:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I purchased garnier olia hair cooring, This product is the worst hair color I have ever purchased! Just braught and tried this out today the dark intense auburn. It made my scalp burn and my hair was falling out in clumps in the shower while I was rinsing it out. And the color never stops running, I have rinsed it out 5 times and the color still runs, it has stained my shirts and my towels. My scalp is still sore and burning like hell. I will never use this product again. Tried calling to complain and they won't return my calls. I don't recommend this to anyone unless you want your hair to fall all out


on 8/4/2015 10:47:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I always do my hair black it is naturally curly. The color I got was black it was not as black as I would like. It certaintly didnt last long I would say it lasted 20 days with me only washing my hair once a week. ......it should've lasted much longer and it did a lousy job covering grays. Fyi. I had to use black mascara to fill in the grays. No would not recommend

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2015 5:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Currently trying to dye my hair, applicator is terrible, it won't screw all the way down. Hair dye has went everywhere but my hair, have tried to unscrew an rescrew the cap multiple times but hair dye still comes out at the screw line of the cap instead of the tip. I Have ruined a shirt, towel, skin, and my bathroom cabinet. So right now this dye just cost me over hundred dollars of damage. I am so disappointed with the applicator, terrified as to what my hair is going to look like.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I absolutely hated this product. Before I used this hair dye I had light brown hair. I purchased this hair dye so that I could lighten my hair so I bought the lightest shade of brown, which is basically borderline blonde. I was extremely disappointed to see that my hair actually turned out dark brown and mono toned. I'm kind of confussed why my hair got darker since the dye was several shades lighter than my natural color. But in general I would NEVER buy this product again. If it were possible to give Olia a zero rating I would.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top