Holika Holika Aqua Petit Jelly BB Cream

4.1

43 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Titanium Diioxide, hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Acrylates/C10-30 AlkylAcrylaate Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Sorbitan isostearate, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Hyaluronate, Mentha Piperita (peppermint) Leaf Extract, Codium Tomentosum Extract, Enteromorpha Compressa Extract, Macrocystis Pyrifera Extract, Ecklonia Cava Extract, Gelidium Cartilagineum Extract, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Mentha Arvensis Leaf Extract, Mentha Rotundifolia Leaf Extract, Imperata Cylindrica Root Extract, Caviar Extract, aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Triethanolamine, Steric acid, Sodium Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Aluminum hydroxide, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Isohexadecane, polysorbate 80, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyapatite, Agar, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Glycerin, PEG-8, Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate, Glyceryl Caprylate, Atelocollagen, Carbomer, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Chlorphenesin, Propylparaben, potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Frangrance(Parfum), Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Iron oxides (CI 77499).


on 2/23/2015 10:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is a fabulous BB cream. It's water based and includes some great ingredients, including a physical sunblock. I usually add a little bit of my moisturizer to thin it out a bit so that way it spreads more easily. Coverage is medium. My skin is combination and I have acne scars and hyperpigmentation on my cheeks. This BB cream covers it pretty well. By the way, many things break me out, but this BB cream did not. I do find that towards the end of the day my face does get a bit oily but it's nothing too serious. I can't give this a perfect 5 because the shades are very light. I'd say if you are anywhere between an NC 15- NC 25, you should be ok for color matching. I have shade 2 which is suppose to be the darker of the two, but with my NC35 tone, it's just too light. I usually have to mix a darker foundation. Other than the shade, this BB cream is a great deal. Very lightweight and your skin does not feel suffocated. I got mine on Amazon for about $15 including shipping. The glass jar is very cute but heavy for traveling. And for those who don't like fragrance, well, this does have a slight fruity fragrance.



on 2/21/2015 10:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I'm absolutely obsessed and in love with this BB!❤️❤️❤️ Ever since pimples wrecked havoc on my face, I decided to ditch some of my foundations and powders and shifted to BB and CC creams - as these guys proved to be mild and light on the skin. This guy is so light yet it covers blemishes and redness. Its consistency is gel-like and just glides on smoothly on skin upon application. Once it dries, your skin looks flawless yet natural-looking sans the oiliness. For me this can replace foundations! Will definitely buy more of this on my trip to Hong Kong - I heard these are really cheap there. Truly in love� with this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is one of the best BB creams I have used. It has a unique jelly-like texture that allows the product to sink into the skin almost immediately, and it gives a very natural finish. I have normal to combination skin and it lasts throughout the day for me. The only reason why I gave this product four stars is because it is water-based and dries out my skin during the winter. Apart from that, I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2015 3:37:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am surprised by how much I like this product, which seems to target teens with it's darling pastel-polka-dotted box and sweet flower-shaped glass jar. This is my favorite weekend foundation since it offers very limited coverage. Here's how it breaks down:

Pros:
- lightest shade is an excellent shade match for my N15 skin tone
- aforementioned adorable cute packaging and heavy glass jar; paddle wand built into the lid is sanitary and works well to mix and access product
- sheer coverage that neutralizes my rosacea redness
- finish is perfectly skinlike: neither too matte nor too shiny
- doesn't oxidize or slide off -- lasts a good six hours with no touchups (as long as I set it with powder in a.m.)
- cheap price
- easily found online

Cons:
- only comes in two shades
- jelly texture is truly bizarre and is even a bit curdled-looking -- for Western tastes, this may be too far outside the comfort zone
- offers minimal coverage
- fairly strong floral fragrance (why does a foundation need fragrance? makes no sense.)

Overall this is an excellent product for people with fairly good skin -- highly recommend!


on 12/1/2014 5:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have mixed feelings about this product. I love the outcome (color) that is on my face but in a few hours my face would look dry and flakey (which I absolutely hate).


on 11/12/2014 9:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I lived in Korea for a few years and have tried many BB, CC, and cushion makeup products since they are so popular and affordable. The only two I’ve kept are the Holika Holika Aqua Petite Jelly BB Cream SPF 20 PA++ and the Skinfood Red Orange Jelly BB Cream SPF 20 PA++. Both are very similar in texture (water-based gels) and coverage (light, buildable to medium) and differ only in packaging and smell. Both products come in two shades and do not have that color matching technology some BB creams do, so what you see is what you get. I use the darker color, #2, in both.

I am Asian and have oily, NC25 skin that is prone to breakouts. My skin will let me know immediately with little bumps under the skin if a foundation is not right for me. My skincare routine consists of brightening products which make my yellow-toned skin lean neutral and prescription acne medication which can make my chin dry. When buying base makeup, I like dewy foundations that feel light on the skin with no fragrance and light to medium coverage. From my experience, BB, CC, and cushion makeup products are generally a miss because they are thick, sticky, and far too light and ashy. These two BB creams are the only ones I’ve liked.

----------

The Holika Holika Aqua Petite Jelly BB Cream SPF 20 PA++ (40mL) is $13 CAD and $7 CAD during the monthly Holika Holika sales. The BB cream comes in a heavy, glass, frosted bottle with a spatula cap, and a free makeup sponge. The jelly cup shaped bottle is cute but not good for travel. When you open the bottle, the product wiggles. When you scoop the product out with the spatula cap, the product retains its shape. Upon application, the product feels cool to the skin due to the peppermint. It has a mild fragrance and the texture is light and spreads like water. You cannot feel the sunscreen at all. Because of this watery texture, it dries very quickly, can look streaky, and can cling to dry patches. Unlike most Korean base products, this BB cream has a semi-matte finish that gives a beautiful glow with wear. Because of this semi-matte finish however, the BB cream starts looking white when you build it up. On my NC25 skin, I can only use this during the winter. Even then, I do rely on bronzers and my natural oils to oxidize the product for a better color match. I wish it came in darker shades because the light gel texture and semi-matte finish would be great for the summer.

The Skinfood Red Orange Jelly BB Cream SPF 20 PA++ (25g) is $10 CAD. The BB cream comes in a pot so spatulas and Q-Tips will need to be used to keep the product sanitary. Like the Holika Holika Aqua Petite Jelly BB Cream, the product wiggles, retains its shape, and has a light gel texture that spreads like water. The orange smell is pleasant in the pot but bizarre on the face. Luckily, the smell dissipates fast. Compared to the Holika Holika BB cream, the Skinfood one is dewier and a touch darker. The color is therefore more forgiving in the summer but I would still recommend it overall for winter because of the dewy finish.

In summary, I like the semi-matte finish, scent, and buildable coverage of the Holika Holika Aqua Petite Jelly BB Cream but the color of the Skinfood Red Orange Jelly BB Cream. Neither products are perfect but fair for the price tag. I think fairer skinned girls will have better luck with the product.

[Overall rating for the Holika Holika Aqua Petite Jelly BB Cream SPF 20 PA++: 3.5 | Price 5.0 | Packaging 4.0 | NO, I will not repurchase]

[Overall rating for the Skinfood Red Orange Jelly BB Cream SPF 20 PA++: 3.5 | Price 4.0 | Packaging 3.5 | NO, I will not repurchase]

----------

Foundations I like and have in rotation include: YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Illuminating Foundation with SPF 19 (B30), Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation with SPF 15 (200 Soft Beige), Everyday Minerals Foundation (Original Glo formulation discontinued, now using Jojoba formulation in assorted colors), Holika Holika Aqua Petite Jelly BB Cream SPF 20 PA++ (#2), Skinfood Red Orange Jelly BB Cream SPF 20 PA++ (#2)

Foundation I have used and may repurchase in the future: NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 30 (Alaska, Groenland), Armani Luminous Silk (4.25), Shu Uemura Face Architect Smooth Fit Fluid Foundation (774)

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 10/31/2014 11:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the best BB cream I've come across hands down. I have oily skin so I love that this product is water based. It's finish is more dewy than matte but it's not oily looking or shimmery; it just looks like natural healthy skin. This also lasts incredibly well on my skin. I can get 6 hours of wear before getting shiny if I set it with the tiniest bit of powder. You do have to work quickly with this and in sections because it dries extremely fast and once it sets it locks into place. I would say the coverage is medium and I wouldn't recommend trying to build it up or it will look cakey. I wear shade #1 and I have skin so pale that it's nearly impossible to find a shade light enough and when I do it's usually really pink. This is a pale shade but more neutral warm which works really well for me. It looks darker in the jar than when it's blended out on the skin. The only complaints I have about this are that it transfers a little bit and the packaging is large and bulky so not ideal for travel since it's glass. Sitting on your makeup counter it looks really cute though and it contains so much product and you only need a little bit so it will last you for a really long time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2014 1:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have only had this for a few days, but so far I am fairly enjoying it.

PROS:
-The packagaing is absolutely adorable. It is in a glass container that looks like a jello cup, and has a handy spatula to scoop out the product. I think this is the reason why most people buy it initially :P
-It does provide a light to medium coverage. I find the best method of application is dotting it all over your face, and then using a dampened stippling brush to blend it in.
-It is mostly water based, so it is good for people with sensitive skin or combination-oily skin
-Nice semi-matte, satin finish

CONS:
-The packaging is cute but can be unsanitary. I suggest scrapping the product off with a tool of some sort before putting it back into the container to avoid contaminating the whole thing
-It dries VERY fast, so you have to work quick
-Can accentuate dry patches
-Both colors are very fair
-Does not last all day

Although the cons out weigh the pros, I do like this product. I think the price is right ($13 on Amazon from TIKTOK) and looks nice in my makeup collection :)


on 10/17/2014 3:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This BB cream does not oxidize the slightest to match your skin tone like other BB creams may do. This BB cream provides light coverage and NOT build-able coverage so this is not the BB cream to choose if your looking to cover acne scaring or blemishes. What it will do is even out your skin tone. If you try to build this BB cream up it will look cakey, obvious and unnatural. I had a lot of difficulty working with this BB cream when I first got it, I found that the best way to work with this product is to mix it with my moisturizer, dot it on my face and then blend it in extremely fast with a buffing brush to get the most natural finish and best coverage with it. You definitely have to work fast with this product to get the best result. Finger and sponge application is not great.This product is work-able but I am generally disappointed, at least it's only $12 on ebay and price friendly for anyone that wants to give it a try. Packaging is cute but impractical and unhygienic....Oh and for some reason it rubs off really easily which is another negative factor.
Holika Holika your bb cream has found dry patches i never even knew of ...not good man.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/9/2014 5:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I tried this stuff after reading good reviews. Missha cho bo yang was my favorite bb cream, but the color match isn't perfect and I found it too heavy for warmer weather. I'm so happy I tried this because for my pale yellow toned skin, shade 1 is the most perfect color match I've found yet! I like the light jelly texture, it has good coverage, a nice light smell and dries to a matte finish without looking heavy or cakey. When set with a good powder it lasts all day and my skin doesn't look very oily at all when i wear this. I think it may be too matte for me to use in colder temperatures, but this will be my go to for warm humid weather, always!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top