Cover Girl • Outlast Stay Brilliant Nail Gloss • Polishes

rated 3.8(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Yeah9 on 4/13/2014 4:44:00 PM more reviews by Yeah9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ugghh one of the worst polishes I have ever used. Was really excited to see the "Ever Reddy" color, which is very nice. The thick square cap makes it awkward to handle the brush. Worst of all, the polish was like attempting to apply Elmer's Glue to your finger nails, very thick & gloppy, pretty much making it impossible to get a coat on the nail beds evenly. And in spite of the thick glue-like texture - polish was very uneven in transparency, leaving a lot of marks, or making it necessary for a 3rd coat. Also, there were unacceptable problems with the polish drying - after a full 24 hrs - still not hardened, and ruined my toes when shoes were worn the following day. Will not purchase again, ever, You get what you pay for! I will stick with Deborah Lippmann polish, yes more expensive, but if you add thinner, lasts a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BADKITTY13 on 3/20/2014 2:19:00 AM more reviews by BADKITTY13

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I never buy drugstore polish only high end but got this in My Papaya and it is beautiful. A bright coral with pink undertones. Reminds me of OPI I eat mainly lobster. I will update after I wear it for a few days. Luv the color but lets see how long it wears compared to all my others! After wearing for a week I love it! Stays on and shines better than Opi and Essie polishes! Cant believe it! Bought Tickled pink it is also a pretty color. Wish they had a wider range of color selection... That would be my only complaint!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninaeaster on 3/19/2014 10:25:00 AM more reviews by ninaeaster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in the shade smokey taupe and am very happy with it. They are inexpensive and is a good quality polish. I would recommend using a top coat to make it last longer.
Pos:
Nice opaque color with two layers
Not streaky
Easy to apply brush

Cons:
Does need a top coat but not a ad negative

I really want to try different colors and the price is awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amoyer2 on 2/17/2014 7:47:00 PM more reviews by amoyer2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Bought 3 and I like them a lot. They apply nicely and dry quickly without chipping. Worth a try:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 1/8/2014 6:52:00 AM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Got this in Smokey Taupe and I love it. Great fall/winter color. Dries quickly and is easy to use. Opaque in 2 coats. Last 2-3 days on me which isn't great but is about standard for me. I am rough on my nails. Will definitely check out more polish from this line in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tutanfrutan on 12/8/2013 7:33:00 PM more reviews by tutanfrutan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is the BEST nail polish I have ever used, hands down!! It lasted five days and only two nails chipped. The other nails didn't even have tip wear and I'm talking about my hands...not my feet. Those are still going strong.

Other nail polishes, even the best of the best, chip or peel or have minor tip wear on the same day I paint my nails or the following day, no exaggerations.

The application is smooth but I apply two thin coats and let them dry at least two to five minutes in between.

I use Beauty Secrets base coat and Mineral Fusion top coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polishnut on 11/17/2013 6:53:00 PM more reviews by polishnut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Cover Girl Outlast Stay Brilliant Nail Polish is a drugstore brand of polish that comes in a variety of shades, many of which are spot-on dupes to some of the higher-end polishes. I picked up three (Midnight Magic, Constant Caribbean, and Eternal Oceans) to start my Cover Girl collection and to see if the formula had improved since I last used this brand years ago. I love the new square bottles even though the cap is a little harder to grip. (However, I understand this comes off to reveal a round cap underneath). As to the formula, I had the same issue with all three polishes that I bought - sticky, gloopy, tip pulling, streaky mess. However, I was DETERMINED to make this work because I loved the color I started with (Midnight Magic.) I've found that the key to Cover Girl polish is thinner, thinner, and MORE THINNER!!! I added two droppers to each bottle, shook them up, and then they applied like butter!! The difference was amazing!! I still had streaking issues on the first coat but was able to achieve bottle color on all three polishes that I tried at three coats with no streaking after the first coat. Drying time was very quick at about four minutes between each coat. I had no chipping issues at five days with a top coat and Seche Vite. All in all, for a drugstore brand and some thinner, these are great polishes that I would definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sugarplumbdolly on 11/11/2013 2:38:00 AM more reviews by sugarplumbdolly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Nice colours but chips faster than any other polish I own including uber-cheapies. It chips the same day I apply it, even with a top coat. It is WAY overpriced and not self-levelling so it is harder to apply. Would never buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maurenemm on 10/17/2013 2:27:00 PM more reviews by maurenemm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I've used this polish in 5 shades: Constant Carribean, Forever Festive, Pink Lady (Glosstini), Pina Colada (Glosstini), and Go Go Mango (I think that is the coral one I have). I love the first two shades -- go on easily in two coats with lots of shine - lovely, almost metallic colors. The Glosstini's I tried were streaky and I had to do 3 coats. Still, I love the color of Pink Lady on me. The Pina Colada and Mango were just wrong for my skin tone, I think.

I bought these because I don't have the time or patience to do bottom and/or top coats. So I can polish them quickly and yet they last a few days. (I'm very hard on my nails.) If I was willing to do a bottom/top coat then I would probably use another brand of nail polish with more interesting colors.

But, I like these and keep buying them. I think they dry to a nice finish. I seem to have better luck with the darker, bolder shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tlc1rstborn on 10/5/2013 11:30:00 AM more reviews by tlc1rstborn

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I wont buy this product again . I love cover girl make-up so I was happy to try this nail polish ( Cover girl outlast Stay Brilliant nail Gloss ) . I felt it was alittle over priced ( $4.89 ) but I was willing to give it a try . Well it started chipping in less than 24 hours , so it does not " outlast " . I even gave it a second chance , nope , again in less than 24 hours it was chipping .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Polishes products