L'Oreal • Total Repair 5 Damage Erasing Balm • Hair Treatments

rated 4.1(110 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 TheLauren on 9/13/2014 3:16:00 PM more reviews by TheLauren

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I use this conditioner every other time I wash my thick, coarse, super tangle-prone hair. It has a nice, thick texture that reminds me of pudding. Pretty much the only thing I look for in a conditioner is that it makes it easier to brush through my hair after showering. This does that, but not quite as well as Wen (which I use as regular conditioner, not the way the bottle tells you to). I'm not crazy about its smell either, which is a big part of why I won't repurchase this. For me, it's just too strong, and I prefer fresh or fruity scents versus more perfumey ones. I also don't love how it comes in a tub; sometimes it's hard to unscrew the top with wet hands, and I don't like digging my fingers into the product. Overall, I would say that this is a good conditioner, but when it runs out, I'll be trying something new.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chough1992 on 9/11/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by chough1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

On the fence about this stuff. I said "yes" to buying it again, only because I have in the past. I think this stuff made my hair shinier and softer. HOWEVER, my split ends got worse over time, and I never straighten or curl my hair, just blowdry occasionally. I think it's all looks and not actually improving hair health. I see all these magazines and websites raving that this is the best stuff at the drugstore (or at least drugstore price) and perhaps that's true. But personally I love the Aussie 3-minute Moisture Mask. That stuff is cheaper and makes my hair feel more healthy. I know products work differently for different people, but I wouldn't really recommend this to a friend. Or the internet, apparently.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PaleInComparison on 9/2/2014 7:37:00 PM more reviews by PaleInComparison

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is easily one of the best drugstore conditioner treatments I've come across and the great price makes it one of my HG finds of the year. Since this is a drugstore item, it's made even better by coupons/sale prices/bonus point promotions- I actually bought my tub after using a sample with an included coupon. Depending on your hair type, you may find this is best used either once weekly or every other day, but it's too heavy for daily use unless you have *very* processed and damaged hair. On weeks I swim heavily I will use it more, but for the most part I use this with my daily conditioner in the shower about twice a week.

I wont say I love the smell, but it's pleasant enough and doesn't overpower my other products. My hair is about two feet long and I use a two finger scoop of this, then run it through the ends of my hair and up, clip it up for a few minutes and rinse. Despite buying it two months ago, I've barely made a dent in the tub. I've tried it on hair that is overgrown with tons of dead and split ends, hair that is freshly cut, and hair after swimming in chlorine 7 days a week. It seems to me no matter how bad (or good) my hair's condition is, this product manages to make it look better, feel better and make it far more manageable. My curls react not just to products but the weather, and this has been great for allowing a more consistent curl/style on a daily basis. I will continue to buy this as long as they make it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KatieHawk on 8/31/2014 4:27:00 PM more reviews by KatieHawk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Recently highlighted my hair for the first time, so I picked up this balm to treat with once a week. I love this stuff. I used to wash my hair everyday, but after coloring I only wash it every other day. This does not make my hair oily. My hair looks beautiful and is so soft and silky. HG for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aMultitudeOfSins on 8/21/2014 7:43:00 PM more reviews by aMultitudeOfSins

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

HG HG HG HG HG! WOW. I live in California and have dry, curly hair. I really thought my hair was done for, but then I tried this when the store was out of the conditioner I wanted. My hair has been reborn. I've never used anything that has worked this well before. My curls are so hydrated and and bouncy. It does not weigh my hair down at all. I use this as my daily conditioner. I thought it would be too much, but the regular conditioner version of this is not quite enough. I need the balm every day. I shampoo my hair with Phytojoba and condition with this. Then I rinse and condition my hair with this for the next two days. Then I start this three day process over again. I use a clarifying shampoo about once a month. Honestly, this has changed my hair and I never have a bad hair day. I use Devacurl Ultra Defining Gel with it and that combination works really well for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smmurphy on 8/18/2014 6:51:00 PM more reviews by smmurphy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This balm is great, I use the shampoo and conditioner as well. Whenever I shave I do this mask to get a couple extra minutes of it in my hair. I live by the beach and have a pool so I use it whenever I have been swimming a lot to help with the dryness. It works great. My frizzy dry damaged hair has NEVER felt this soft. I've bleached my hair so many times it was always like straw. But now it's soft. Been using this hair system for a month, my hair is still frizzy but that's just my hair. It has improved to the point where it looks good air dryed though! Would buy again, and have already recommended to my mom!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lisa1 on 7/14/2014 3:43:00 PM more reviews by lisa1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I originally wanted the Ever Creme Nourishing Masque but you can't find it anywhere of course. So i settled for this. I have dry, colored, heat styled, 44 year old hair by the way. This tamed it a little but i don't feel it did the best job. My hair is just the same except maybe a little less frizzy on the first day. By the second day, it's back to frizzy brillo pad hair mess. So I'll give it a 3. Won't repurchase. I have since ordered the Evercreme on Amazon for almost $10. It's so annoying... All the products that are getting the highest marks are either discontinued or not sold in stores. I must be cursed. Anyway, back to this conditioner... MEH and YAWN! Nothing to write home about but of course it's readily available everywhere. sigh.... Will review the Evercreme once i get it. Hope it's not a letdown.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 porkiepine on 7/6/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by porkiepine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

For reference, I have thick coarse jet black Asian hair. I decided to get highlights, and though I get lots of compliments with my new hair color the trade off was my healthy, soft beautiful hair. I use Matrix conditioning balm as conditioner and coconut oil as weekly treatment. Though cheap and greatly helps, I've got to admit coconut oil treatment is a hassle. So I'm glad to find this balm form L'Oreal. It's not pricey and you only have to leave it on for 5 minutes while in the shower. My hair is softer and smoother. The smell is not the best but it's definitely tolerable (for a lack of better word, I'd say it smells synthetically sweet).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shakeyourhips on 7/1/2014 8:15:00 PM more reviews by shakeyourhips

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS. I am on my second tub. I'm usually not one to do much to my hair other than washing and styling, but I figured I should start.
I don't use this every day. Maybe once or twice a week in the shower. I'll slather it on my ends and leave it while I shave. I then comb and rinse it out. My hair is left super silky, hydrated, and manageable. The smell is nice as well.
I just really love this product. I love that it's in a tub container and I love that it's affordable.
Holy grail for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ckitchens on 6/22/2014 7:47:00 PM more reviews by ckitchens

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased this item because now that I am in my late 30's my hair has become dry and coarse. I have very thick jet black hair. It is styles in a very short/pixie bob. I color my hair every five weeks to cover my gray. This product worked very well. My hair was soft and shiny. It did not feel greasy or weighed down.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Treatments products