L'Oreal • Total Repair 5 Damage Erasing Balm • Treatments

rated 4.1(94 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 scooty77 on 4/23/2014 2:20:00 PM more reviews by scooty77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have fine, straight hair with a touch of wave. It's been colored so much over the years, it's very damaged on the ends. I was hoping this would do something for it. This is no better than any other conditioner....actually I'm not sure it's as good as normal conditioner. So disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nanaknickers on 4/21/2014 3:29:00 PM more reviews by nanaknickers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was lusting over this product for months..I'm a sucker for deep conditioners.

Texture:
A thick creamy consistency that spreads well. It's thick enough to qualify as a deep conditioner but it still has good "slip".

Scent:
I found the fragrance to be very pleasant and light. I can't compare it anything but if you go to a retailer that carries it (cvs,target,ect) you can crack one open and have a whiff.

My hair type:
I have course afro-textured hair that I highlight once or twice a year and I blow dry/flat iron twice a month. I wear my hair natural and air dry every other week. I care for my hair well and it's very healthy.

Results:
I knew this was a protein treatment and that I would have to use it sparingly. The first time I used it I left it on for 5mins and the end results were great. My hair was super soft, smelled great, and felt lightweight. The second time I used it I left it on for 15mins. My hair felt a bit dry but that's because it's a protein treatment and I left it on for a long time. Unperturbed, I followed it with a non protein moisturizing conditioner to balance things out.

Conclusion:
For hair that is already pretty healthy this has limited benefits. If you have damaged hair then I would absolutely recommend trying it. The price is okay depending on how much you use it. I've used it twice and I have enough for one more use. $7.50 for 3 uses is pretty pathetic so I may not repurchase (I love trying new conditioners anyway). I lovee the texture and scent of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Empyrean_Luminary on 4/19/2014 4:43:00 PM more reviews by Empyrean_Luminary

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

A very thick, creamy, pudding-like conditioner that smells lovely and works nicely to soften hair. My hair is untreated and pretty healthy, but as I get older I can tell that my hair is getting a bit coarser (yay for a few grey strands) and this is a nice treat a couple times a week to silken and soften and detangle. Even though though the product is thick, it would still be better in a squeeze tube instead of a tub (more sanitary, takes up less shelf space), but overall this is a decent, affordable, and recommended conditioner!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 4/4/2014 4:51:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I generally don't like deep conditioners because I find most weigh my hair down and don't benefit it anymore than a moisturizing conditioner does. This stuff has changed my opinion of deep conditioners and repairing treatments, it is truly awesome.

I have fine, thin color-treated hair that is blow dried and ironed every day. I'm constantly on the hunt for new conditioners to try that can smooth and moisturize without making my hair limp or greasy looking. I already have a few that do a good job of meeting all of my needs, but, like most women, I'm always hoping to find that HG product to add to my routine. This is one of those products. It really does make a lasting difference in the appearance of my hair, I need to use 2-3xs a week in order to keep it looking its healthiest, but that's fine with me, a little goes a long way and it's frequently on sale for $4.

My hair was looking a bit more dry and frayed recently, especially at the ends, and I had heard good things about this line so I gave it a shot. The days I use it my hair is smooth, shiny and bouncy, it has a great volumizing capability. The shine and damage "repair" lasts a few days on me before it starts to wear off, so I usually use it every 3rd day. But I've also found that a few of the other conditioners in this new line do a really good job of providing daily smoothness and volume, so I am alternating between this, two other L'Oreal conditioners almost exclusively right now. Just yesterday I had two people compliment my hair on the same day (I've had the same very basic hair cut for a really long time so compliments always surprise me), and I credit that to this conditioner and product line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joiseygirl27 on 3/29/2014 12:28:00 AM more reviews by joiseygirl27

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very moisturizing without leaving my hair feeling coated or weighed down. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ivyn on 3/26/2014 10:43:00 AM more reviews by ivyn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I had a very high expectation on this hair mask after hearing all the wave about it. After many uses, I was very disappointed on the results. It did nothing to my fizzy & colour treated hair. In fact, those days that I use it, my hair is tend to be more dry and fizzy. My hair is better without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arisolovely on 3/16/2014 3:01:00 AM more reviews by arisolovely

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is so great! I have really curly hair, which gets pretty frizzy. Whenever I use this it leaves my hair super soft and allot less frizz. I usually put it in my hair after I shower then leave it on over night with a shower cap on over it then rinse in the morning and let it air dry and makes all my curls looks moisturized and defined. Would deff recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lovelaura23 on 3/15/2014 2:43:00 AM more reviews by Lovelaura23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought it nd I have to say it softens my hair nd it smells so good. I love how my hair feels nd it is easy to blow dry it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Pestina18 on 3/13/2014 2:29:00 PM more reviews by Pestina18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this "balm" to help reduce breaking and splitting. First of all, this is conditioner in a jar. There isn't anything about it that makes it different from regular conditioner. I think L'Oreal tried to make their product look different and special by putting it in a jar, but a normal conditioner bottle would have worked much better. The jar is a hassle in the shower - it's big and bulky and has a large lid. You have to unscrew the lid, hold the lid and the jar, scoop the conditioner out with your fingers, and try not to get any water in the jar. It has a strong, chemical-like fragrance. It makes wet hair very slick - it's difficult to wash out of hair and wash off of skin. It does a nice job detangling - after a shower, my brush runs right through my hair. However, that's about all it does. After using it, my hair isn't any softer, and my hair breaks and splits just as easily. I used it a few times a week for two weeks just to give it the benefit of the doubt, but nothing about my hair changed. Save your money and continue using your regular conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cblazer973 on 2/28/2014 4:48:00 PM more reviews by cblazer973

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff!! I was looking for a new product to really deep condition because my regular was no longer available. I was sold on the smell right away but it's grown on me. I usually shampoo then apply this after getting most of the water out of my hair. I then cover with a shower cap to keep moisture in. I never follow packaging instructions and usually keep masks, balms, etc. in for about 1-2 hours. With that said, I'm not sitting under a blow dryer or any other heating element that would speed up the process and would rather let it really soak in than waste it. My processed, blow dried, flat ironed, curling rod damaged hair definitely looks better after using this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Treatments products