Urban Decay NAKED Basics

4.4

412 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 7/13/2015 6:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I think I may be the only girl who doesn't like the Urban Decay NAKED Basics palette. It was expensive (about $30.00 in Canada) and the colour pay-off and staying power was awful for the price. I could've gotten the same quality from a drugstore brand and for cheaper. In my opinion it was NOT worth the money and I don't think I would repurchase any Urban Decay palettes again simply for the reason of how junky they seemed. Perhaps I got a dud? I'm not sure but I was not impressed. If you are looking for a higher quality eyeshadow palette I would highly recommend the LORAC Pro Palettes (I use the #1 palette) as they are amazing! This is drugstore quality at best.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/12/2015 12:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Naked Basics is probably one of the best palettes Urban Decay has to offer. Why they don't focus on producing more matte shades is beyond me, because these aren't bad and work better than a lot of shimmers in the Urban Decay permanent line.

The palette itself is very sturdy and closes tightly. You don't have to worry about this one opening up without warning and getting all over everything in your purse or kit. It also comes with a mirror, though, it gets dirty after use.

Being that it is Urban Decay, there is a shimmer shade in Venus, but it's light enough and in my experience, does not produce any fall out. It's particularly good for applying to the inner eyes to brighten and widen, especially for those of us with eyes that are close together. It does a solid enough job of that.

The two "nude" shades of Foxy and W.O.S. are nice, as it provides options for both pink undertones and yellow undertones, and are versatile enough to be used on either skintone. The pigmentation on W.O.S. was a little more difficult for me to work with than Foxy (which I also used to set concealer as it worked very well with my skintone.)

Naked2 is a lovely crease shade and probably the color I used the most. It's neutral and again, works for both skin tones nicely.

Faint is probably the best pigmented of the bunch and works well as either crease (especially for cut-creases) and outer v deepening.

Crave is my least favorite in the palette for several reasons: one, it's not pigmented well. As a black shade, it's not a true black (it tends to lean more charcoal/slightly gray) and is difficult to work with. As another reviewer suggested, this palette would be so much better had they removed the black shade and substituted with a darker brown.

The palette itself is probably the one I would recommend for anyone looking to upgrade and start a middle-to-high end collection of makeup. It's a great workhorse palette. I did not experience fall-out with it, but I also tend to take a lighter hand with eyeshadows in general and always tap my brush before applying. I would advise not getting the eyeshadows wet, as if you do spray water onto your brush and have to dip back in for more, the shadows do not take well to being wetted and the colors in the pan "warp" a bit.

I did not have the issue of the eyeshadows becoming muddied, though, it may fade in pigmentation throughout the day if you don't wear a good base or primer. I would also question how this would fare on darker skintones, seeing as how some of the colors appeared ashy on
Pros:

- Great neutral matte formula
- No fall-out
- Offers nude shades for both yellow and pink undertones
- Great multi-tasking product (I used Foxy to set my concealer, for example)
- Sturdy packaging that would hold up in traveling
- (For those that like it), does contain one shimmer shade

Cons:

- Pigmentation can fade throughout the day if not primed/applied to base
- May not work well on POCs
- Crave has mediocre pigmentation and would work better with a dark brown shade
- (For those looking for one), it is not an all-matte palette; does contain a shimmer shade
- Do not take to being wet very well in the pan

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/10/2015 12:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This palette is PERFECT for everyday use! I would say that my favorite color here is the "Naked 2" because it's practically gone! It contains all your basic necessary colors and of course the shadows itself are the best quality!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If you're interested in buying one of the naked palettes but not sure of the price, I'd recommend trying out this palette so you can test for yourself whether you think the quality of the eyeshadow is worth it!
This palette does what it says on the tin - it's 6 basic and very versatile shades of eyeshadow. It's ideal for if you're going on holiday/away for a weekend and don't want to be packing loads of makeup. As well as them being used as eyeshadows, they can also have other uses - for example, Naked 2 is a great shade for filling in my brows, and I can use a bit Crave or Faint to line my eyes. Would definitely recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2015 8:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

i bought this palette because i really loved the naked2 basics, and i actually prefer the original now. i either use it on its own or in conjunction with other eyeshadows, and it's great for a very toned-down look, or for a smokey eye. i wouldn't use it every day, i like colours too much! but i enjoy it for those days when i want to play up other parts of my face and leaves the eyes almost bare but with a bit of definition. do recommend!


on 7/6/2015 8:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Must have!! The travel size packaging makes it easy to pop in your purse or take on vacation. Super pigmented eyeshadows that are true to its appearance. You can easily make natural daytime looks and smoky eyeshadows looks. Truly the easiest palettes to work work with and is great for beginners. I love that it is all but one matte eyeshadows. Repurchasing if I ever run out!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have mixed feelings about this palette. I bought it because I love the texture of the matte shadows in the Naked2 and thought this would be a win. Unfortunately I have discovered that wearing all neutral eyeshadow isn't something I like doing. For that reason, I won't repurchase this palette. But the shadows themselves are amazing. And I know you're supposed to use this palette along with other shadows but I prefer to spend as little time possible and wear as little product as possible. On a high note, I have found that the Naked 2 shade is the perfect shade for me to fill in my dusty blonde eyebrows, so I do use it everyday for that. I also use the shade venus for a highlight shade quite a bit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2015 10:50:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I don't like the 3 Nakeds, but I really love the Naked Basics. This palette is really great if you just want a simple neutral eye. You can create a gorgeous smokey eye if you want also. It's easy to lighten or deepen the look. You can also leave it matte, or make it shimmery. This is also a great travel palette, being that it is so small and versatile (day to night looks, specifically). I would recommend this for beginners also. The only downside is probably the packaging because for some reason the shadows break easily. When I finish some of the shades in the palette, I will probably repurchase because the black shade broke entirely in the one I have now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2015 6:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I decided I wanted to try matte shadows, but didn't like the drugstore ones I bought (much too chalky). After testing I store and feeling how buttery these are, I decided to splurge. It has been worth it. I can create so many looks with this. The one color I never seem to touch is crave (black shade) unless I'm using it as a liner. I use the other colors frequently. Foxy is a great brow color, WOS a good barely there lid color, naked2 a good lid color or barely there crease color, and faint a good lid color or liner color. Venus is good for adding some light shimmer to the inner corners of the eye, brow highlight, or even as a blending color over the lid to add a bit of cool brightness. I do think I'd look into the naked basics 2 before repurchasing this, but I'll have one on hand from now on. I find all colors to have a purpose of some sort, but wish the black was a chocolate brown shade instead, which is why I took a lippie off. This palette can create so many looks and can be mixed with others to get even more looks. This travels well and has yet to show any signs of chipping or breaking for me. It is also compact, another plus for traveling. Overall, I recommend and will not be without a naked basics palette in my makeup arsenal.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2015 10:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The palette is nice, but the shadows never fail to shatter on me. Foxy and WOS are completely pointless to me and are not anything special, and that is a third of the pallete. The other eyeshadows are nice but just barely above mediocre.


Popular Palettes


Contour Kit
Contour Kit
84 Reviews
NAKED
NAKED
2257 Reviews
The Nudes
The Nudes
91 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Simple Daily Makeup Tutorial (Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette) by Anna Boroshok



Top Rated Urban Decay Products

image

Toasted

142 reviews
image

Vice 2

43 reviews
image

Smog

183 reviews
image

Sin

331 reviews
Back to Top