OPI • The Man with the Golden Gun • Polishes

rated 4.3(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anya1976 on 11/11/2013 6:14:00 AM more reviews by Anya1976

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this. ok you kinda have to load up the brush with polish then put the brush down on the nail then kinda push stuff around to get it placed all over the nail (better than brushing it on) but it still is awesome on the nail.
this is really great for holiday manicures.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brinel on 3/2/2013 9:02:00 PM more reviews by brinel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got this at Ulta when it first came out; I understand it is now $50 a bottle, which is ridiculous. It's a very different gold fleck; you do need to tip the bottle upside down before applying because all the gold flecks settle to the bottom. I use 2-3 coats, and it looks really cool over reds and blues.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MalloryLuers on 2/17/2013 9:18:00 PM more reviews by MalloryLuers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this top coat! It is amazing! I don't think I would buy it again, just because I don't think I would use all of it in my lifetime. I don't use this top coat all the time. Maybe for a special event, or just because it adds a little glamour to life. It is a really fun addition to my collection. It's nice to put on for an accent nail. It is a little hard to get out of the bottle, but the effort is always worth it. I get many compliments on it every time I wear it. I think it is a little expensive, but if you are a nail polish junkie like I am, it is worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cjenn on 1/29/2013 7:30:00 PM more reviews by cjenn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE the bottle, LOVE the product. At first application over my OPI Hong Kong Sunrise, it looked way too subtle, not that I expected bling bling from this. However, the other reviewer is right, It helps to shake the bottle before application to ensure a more even distribution of the gold flecks. Yes, it's real 18 k gold, such a cool idea and so Beverly Hills. If you're expecting a lot of shimmer, it's not that kind of polish; it's a clear top coat that won't alter the color, but once on, this delivers a gorgeous effect. So luxe and feels good to wear real gold on my nails. Looks good on bare nails too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 7Out7 on 1/10/2013 4:54:00 AM more reviews by 7Out7

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Interesting idea: scattered gold flakes suspended in a clear base that does not alter the shade underneath it. I have tried Golden Gun with all different dark cremes and have not been disappointed yet. I am not much for super-bling so the fact that the flakes are not glittery is a plus. They lay flat and even without top coat it is smooth to the touch. As others have mentioned, it's a bit difficult to distribute the right amount of flakes and to put them where you want them. A combination of swiping the brush over the nail and then going back to dab the sparser areas seems to be the ticket with this polish, What I like to do is put on a plain, dark creme for a few days. When I get bored with it, I jazz it up with The Man with the Golden Gun. It always garners a lot of positive comments. I have noticed something else, which is quite a bonus. The thick base of this polish extends the life of a manicure way beyond expectations. You know how hard it is to avoid chips and tipwear, especially with dark cremes. My current manicure is Canel's Paradoxal (deep greyed out plum) with Golden Gun on top. I originally applied Paradoxal the day after Christmas. I kicked it up a notch with Golden Gun a few days later. It is just now beginning to look raggedy and of course, I have too much regrowth space in the cuticle area. When was the last time you got more than two weeks worth of good wear-time with a regular, non-gel manicure? Every time I used Golden Gun as a topper I have enjoyed 10 days or more where the manicure looked fresh and perfect. I love nail polish but don't particularly love applying it. This is why I am so excited with Golden Gun.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* insanity89 on 1/6/2013 3:31:00 PM more reviews by insanity89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

looks alright. prefer it over dark colors. hard to get the flakes on the brush, it helps if you shake it right before applying. overall, would not repurchase. my fiancee bought it for me for Christmas

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Milelis on 12/25/2012 12:12:00 PM more reviews by Milelis

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to love this nail polish because of the real 18 K goldflakes! But itīs not so easy to get the flakes evenly, I maybe have to practise more. But the most thing Iīm disappointed in is that the goldflakes just donīt sparkle or glitter at all! They just leave... mat yellow dots in different sizes. But of course itīs cool anywhay, but maybe itīs just my feeling that itīs real 18 K gold, than the actual look of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtvsux on 12/4/2012 4:28:00 PM more reviews by mtvsux

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love it, totally into it. The first time i heard about it then googled it i figured i would wait a few days before i bought it so that i didn't waste $30 on an impulse buy, but after a few hours of mulling i went ahead and bought one online because i thought it just looked so cool and i love the idea of wearing actual gold on my nails, how extravegant. Loved it from the first nail i put it on. It's a little tricky to work with because you have to get a good amount of the gold on the brush without too much liquid top coat, but it just takes a little care, i think it looks absolutely adorable. I think the packaging is awesome and i even passed up on an indie version that was $10 less b/c i love the packaging so much. Right on OPI, $30 well spent. If you don't need/want the packaging, go with the indie version, just google 22K gold leaf polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mathou on 11/19/2012 6:53:00 AM more reviews by Mathou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Limited edition from the Skyfall collection. 18k top coat gold flakes... I really like this top coat as it brightens up any kind of nailpolish. My fellow students at the university was in awe first time they saw this and it's really a show stopper. Can imagine how popular this will be at the upcoming party season..

It's a bit expensive but it you like nail polish as much as I do the price is not that bad compared to what you get :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriann52 on 11/18/2012 3:30:00 PM more reviews by loriann52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the limited edition top coat from the 2012 fall James Bond Skyfall collection. It is a gorgeous topcoat that is 18 karat gold flakes.
Turnout: 4.5/5
Application: 3.5/5
Once this polish is on it is very pretty. Little gold flecks all over your nails, and I like the fact that the flecks are different shapes and sizes. Makes for a lovely topcoat.
The application was OK. I put on two coats, and the liquid that the gold flecks are in is pretty thick, so I had to dab them on a bit. Wish there was less liquid and more flecks, as it would be easier to apply then.
Overall, I do not regret buying this polish. I'm a huge James Bond fan and it's pretty neat having real gold on your fingertips. It retails for $40, so it is really up to you if it's worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More OPI products

More Polishes products