Shea Moisture Organic Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Style Milk

4.1

52 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Deionized Water , Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) , Cocos Nucifera Oil (Coconut) , Sugar Starch , Silk Protein , Essential Oil Blend , Melia Azadirachta Seed Oil (Neem) , Caprylyl Glycol , Sorbitol Esters , Algae Extract , Hlyssopus Officinalis Extract , Salvia Officinalis Leaf and Equisetum Arvense Extract (Sage) , Daucus Carota Sativa Seed Oil (Carrot) , Tocopherol (Vitamin E)


on 8/4/2015 9:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This didn't do anything for my 4b/4c hair. Left my hair feeling hard to the touch. It smells good.



on 6/30/2015 10:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product works wonderfully on my straight, fine, medium length, color treated hair. It helps to keep it healthy and shiny. LOVE IT!


on 6/27/2015 1:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

After first time using this... Wow what a difference. Picked up in cvs while across the border out of desperation for some moisture for my wavy 2b coloured hair and am so glad I did. This stuff smells amazing and moisturizes my coloured and bleached ends incredibly well. Hair is soft as butter after scrunching in while wet and allowing it to air dry. Love the ingredient list!

Only word of advice is that this is not a frizz prevention product, for that a gel might be better, as it did frizz up on me on a particularly humid day in Ohio. Def recommend though.


on 6/25/2015 12:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My DH uses this for his coarse, curly hair. He uses about a nickel size dollop for his below shoulder length hair (which he wears in a ponytail, a la Karl Lagerfeld). It controls frizz and defines his curls and adds natural looking shine. It's very concentrated so a little bit is all that's needed. The bottle will last forever, lol! It doesn't have much hold, but that's not what he's looking for, so for him it doesn't matter. It smells really nice and leaves a fresh scent behind for several hours. It's the one styling product he uses and he really likes it. Nothing else he's tried has worked as well. I highly recommend it because it leaves his hair soft, supple and shiny.


on 5/20/2015 11:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this product, it smells so good and the smell stays in your hair for a long time until you wash it. My hair type is 2b/2c i have VERY, thick/voluminous hair; almost like a lion. With this product it leaves my hair ultra soft and my curls are very soft and shiny looking. When i run my fingers through it, it is silky soft. I never find this product to weigh my hair down, and it does control frizz depending on when you let it dry. I use this on damp hair and i let it air dry, not wind blown, or blow dried. Afterwards i get great results. Keep in mind i have random loose waves and then other parts that are super wavy, it doesnt provide that "perm" look if thats what youre going for. Id say not to use too much though or else itll leave your hair feeling greasy. I have done bantu knots, and flexi rods with this product before and i can say that it controls the frizz very well, looks defined, and is soft. The only problem is that theres not much product in it so id have to keep buying more. Overall amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2015 6:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this a couple of years ago after reading great reviews on this site. I needed something that would give me soft curls since gels tend to make my hair frizzy. I was skeptical at first because it has coconut in it, and my hair seems to freak out when I put any kind of coconut product on it, but I was surprised at how nice my hair felt afterward. It doesn't really hold the curl that well, my 2C hair turns wavy after a couple of hours. But it goes keep my hair soft and frizz-free, so I use it as a leave-in conditioner.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have thin, fine, porous, 2b/2c wavy hair, and this styling milk weighs down my hair a lot. It makes my hair feel very soft and smoothes the frizz, but almost completely takes away the curl. I love my waves and curls, so I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone with my hair type who want's to enhance their waves/curls.

I would recommend the Yucca & Aloe Thickening Growth Milk from the same brand as it is the perfect wash and go styling milk for my hair!

I do give it two stars because it does help with the frizz and moisturizes my hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/12/2015 8:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I already repurchase this all the time because it is really great at keeping my 3c curls less frizzy and more defined without the crunchy gel feel. I hate the packaging though because I find the product to thick to squeeze out of the bottle once you get to the end of it. Smells great, feels great, and works better than any of the Deva curl styling products I have tried.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2015 3:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Grey

My 3A curls are pretty fine and tend to get oily, and I usually steer clear of leave-in conditioners and heavy styling creams because they weigh my hair down and make it look dirty. This is the only moisturizing product I've ever used that made my hair soft and shiny but not greasy or droopy. I only use a dime-sized amount, so my bottle has lasted me a few months now, making it a pretty good deal. I'll probably continue to shop around when I do finish my bottle, just because it's only the third leave-in moisturizing product I've tried so far, but I still recommend trying this one.


on 1/28/2015 10:31:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

It is winter in Chicago. The weather just cannot make up its mind. One day, it is bitterly cold and dry, the next it is is humid. Then of course you have the fact that it looks like the humidifier on our new furnace doesn't work. Then there's my helmet, which likes to eat the hair on the back of my head. My poor curls. No protein treatment could save them. Going weeks without washing wasn't helping. No amount of jojoba oil was preventing my ends from breaking off like icicles in the Loop. In winters past, I was able to count on the Carol's Daughter hair milk product, but the formula changed a couple of years ago. The new formula burned my hair so badly that I had to have 4" of it cut off. As a rabid reader-of-ingredients, I coulda kicked my own patoot down the stairs.

I don't look good with short hair. But what you really want is my review, right?

I'd been walking past this product for a while, still peeved about the whole Carol's Daughter thing. Doing some research on twists (read: youtube videos), I saw a mom using these products on her kids' hair and decided to just read the ingredients the next time I was at Walgreens. Because you know, I am one of those freaks who reads ingredients.

Beauties, these are good ingredients. And after a few weeks of applying this to my lovingly co-washed curls, my hair feels softer and thicker. And just plain nice. Full disclosure, I did have to trim about 1/2" off in some places, but even the patch in the back where my helmet does the most damage no longer feels like steel wool.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Shea Moisture Products

Back to Top