Sleek Be Beautiful Blemish Balm

4.1

41 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Deionized Water,Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate,Mineral Oil,Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Stearic Acid ,Dimethicone,Glycerin,Cetearyl Alcohol,Sorbitan Oleate, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil,Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Tocopheryl Acetate,Retinyl Palmitate,Ascorbyl Palmitate,Polysorbate 80, Hydrogenated Lecithin,Triethanolamine,Phenoxyethanol ,Methylparaben ,Ethylparaben, Propylparaben,BHA,DMDM Hydantoin ,Palmitoyl Hexapeptide,Algae Extract, CI 77891,CI 77491,CI 77492,CI 77499


on 6/17/2015 11:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm a NC42 dry/combo skin living in the tropics.
I got this BB cream in the shade "Light 02(802)". It claims to conceal, repair, protect and be full coverage. I am so pleasantly surprised of how much I like this. I have only tried the Maybelline and Garnier ones, and I didn't like them at all. Left my skin greasy, itchy and ompilompi!

First to the claims.
Conceal/full coverage: Has a light-medium coverage, I would not slather this on since it's a very thick creamy texture! It would get too thick and greasy in this humidity I live in. A small amount goes a long way! I still need a concealer to spot conceal, but it does somewhat even out my skin tone. I'd say it could have more coverage if you applied a lot of product, but the end result would look heavy and mask-like. I would not consider this a full coverage as they claim.

Repair/protect: I don't use it enough to see any difference on how it would repair my skin. My skin is not that damaged overall, I just have some redness around my eyes and nose.
It got a SPF15 which I love since I live in Thailand so that's always a plus for me.
It contains Vitamic C which is truly amazing for the skin and contains red algae extract which is supposed to prevent wrinkles, normalize skin's moisture content and promote suppleness of the skin. Sounds good to me! And as long as it doesn't break out on me I'm happy!

Shade/finish, lasting ability and how I use it: They offer 7 different shades which is not ideal, but I still think the shades range from really light to dark and the shades can be worked with since they sheer out when blending. It does work for me, but it's tad dark and has just a slight redish undertone. I find it to be a bit too dewy used on its own. So currently I'm mixing it with my Mac studio finish in NC35 which is very yellow and way too light for me. The BB cream darkens up the Mac foundation and adds a bit of moisture to it. As you may know the Mac is very full coverage, in a bad way for me. It makes me look flaky and dry using it alone, but with this BB it really works great. Using them together leaves a nice natural semi-dewy finish. I don't really need to set it with a powder but it does look good still when I use powders on top.
I would not recommend this BB cream to anyone really oily. I get slightly oily in my t-zone and I need to touch up my and powder my face 5 hours into use.. It blends well, with my elf flat top brush it works like a charm. It sets very nicely and it's almost like the skin absorbs the BB cream somehow and makes it look very natural and supple.
There is no scent to it which I always prefer in my foundations.
The packaging is a sleek rubbery sqeeze tube, very hygenic and it's super easy to distribute the exact amount of product you want to use, love it!

I'm not sure I'd repurchase when finished, IF I did, I would get the shade Light 01. It puts me off that I don't match the shade, and mixing it with other foundations every time is not that practical nor affordable. With that being said, the product itself is very affordable, you get a good amount of 50 ml- 1,76fl.oz. for the great price of $13.49. It's gonna last me forever. I would never ever use this for a party night out, photo shoot or special occasions, but I love it so much for every day use when you just feel like evening out your complexion and feel light in your face. It still looks like healthy skin and makes it so appropriate for day light and day time wear.

Sleek face products are amazing. I really dislike their lipsticks, but face for the win guys! Try them NOW!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/24/2015 4:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading the reviews I just had to try this. There are no testers available and this products not available in stores near me so I ordered online. I guessed my shades would be somewhere between light and medium so I bought the two. However when they arrived I was shocked at the shades. The medium was very dark and the light looked more like I would expect a medium to look. So I tried on the light which was still a little dark but passable. I was amazed how a product so thick and creamy provided hardly any coverage. In fact it seemed to show up my blemishes even more and looked horrible on my skin. I wiped it straight off so I can't say what the lasting power is like. Not for me at all I will stick to my maybelline dream pure bb cream which is lovely and actually provides much better coverage while looking natural


on 2/7/2015 11:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I can't believe anyone actually likes this!? I have dry, very fair and sometimes dehydrated skin. This...is a nightmare. It's thick and difficult to spread on. It looks like a mask no matter how little I use. I don't really have any lines on my face (yet) but with this on I look like I'm in my 50s, I'm not. Awful.


on 12/21/2014 4:25:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I find most Sleek makeup to be a a bit cheap and hit and miss (although I like some of their lipstick shades), but this BB cream has become my favourite. I use it as a foundation, usually with primer underneath. I use the dark shade (I'm NW45). It goes on very easily and quickly with fingers, blends in well and a little goes a very long way. Great natural, full coverage, without looking cakey. With primer, it lasts all day at work. Incredibly low price for the quality. I always buy online as I've never seen it in the shops. I always get a comment on how 'well' I'm looking when I wear it. Great product.


on 11/28/2014 9:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Be Beautiful Blemish Balm is a base I bought on the recommendation of Wayne Goss Makeup Artist. As this isn't available near me, I ordered it online and had it shipped. It was reasonably priced at around $13 and the tube contains a generous 50 ml. of blemish balm. This has an SPF of 15 which I like. It is unscented which I like even better. They had several color choices available but no samples to try and color match. I chose 802 Light. I was undecided at first whether this product was simply a concealer or was it an all over foundation. It's called "blemish balm" which made me originally think 'concealer' but it is such a large tube that it must be foundation. I've been using it as foundation over a moisturizer and primer/pore reducer. I tried this with a beauty blending sponge and it took twice as much product to get any coverage so next I tried using a buffing brush which worked much better. It goes on smoothly and has light to medium coverage but I wouldn't consider this to be "full coverage" as is printed on the front of the tube. I still had to use concealer over this. This seemed to need a bit more so I used a mineral finishing powder in a light shade to set this and that made it look better and it was still natural looking. This might be buildable into a full coverage base, but at what cost? I don't want an unnatural mannequin face. I like my freckles to peek through a little and with the brush it does just that. The finish is light and dewy and it does look very natural on. This lasts all day on me. I haven't experienced any breakouts or irritation using this. I love that it includes a little sun protection already and that it is unscented. I can't say that this performs any better or any worse than any other similar product but it does do what I expected it to and it gives me a nice even light-medium coverage with a nice finish and it lasts all day. I'm quite happy to use this up and I would consider buying this again. It's a really nice product at a good price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/8/2014 10:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

** Not Tested On Animals **

Skin type: normal to dry but acne prone.

Desperately seeking a new HG foundation since I found out MAC test on animals after being bought out by Estee Lauder. MAC is now sold in China, and Chinese law requires that ALL cosmetics owned by foreign (non-Chinese) companies be tested on animals.

My skin tone has a warm-neutral-light olive tone. For reference, I am MAC NC25 - see my notepad for my colour matches to other brands.

Firstly, I *LOVE* Sleek. No animal testing, their shade range goes from light to dark, AND their prices are so reasonable!

I don't love this. It's very thick & dry to the point of being cakey. Even when applied lightly it had a drying/flaky effect. I also tried moisturising first (presumably you shouldn't have to moisturise before applying a BB?) which didn't really help. When I bought this there were only 4 shades available - the lightest was a bit too light & the next shade up was waaaay too dark.

This particular product was not right for me but other people have reviewed it favourably. I've just ordered the Sleek CC Cream which I'll review shortly - fingers crossed!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2014 8:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I purchased on my last Sleek haul since I was already ordering and paying for shipment to the US I thought I would give it a try.

The texture is thick and coverage is medium to full. I purchased light and this was a tad bit dark for my light/medium skin tone. The product also oxidized terribly about 10 minutes after application. Before oxidation, I thought the coverage was nice and it made my skin look flawless, which it isn't!

I will try it again in fair when I make my next purchase with Sleek, hopefully that will be a better match and keeping my fingers crossed, I won't experience oxidation with the lighter color.

UPDATE: I placed another order when Sleek was running their 30% off sale the first weekend in July, purchased the Fair color and I absolutely LOVE it. It is a little thick so I dot on my face and let it set a minute to warm up and then blend out with my finger tips. I let it set for a minute and then buff with a blending brush just to blend out along my hair and jaw line and then across my forehead, cheeks and chin...this gives me a beautiful air brush finish. All day my face just seem to glow and look radiant. I think it's a nice change from my other foundations and I did like wearing this while experiencing some hormonal acne on my chin, it really covered the redness on its own without the need of heavy concealers so my chin did not look cakey and unnatural.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So first things first-- this is the second bb cream I've tried, the first being Dr. Jart's Black Label. My skin is very dry, sensitive, and acne-prone.

PROS:

Coverage is pretty buildable
A tiny little bit goes a long way
Looks very natural, nice every day finish

CONS:

Takes a looong while to apply to my satisfaction. Comparitively, Dr. Jart's took about two seconds, spread on, pat down and done.

It's really really thick, so application is definitely not as easy as a bb cream should be

BIGGEST PROBLEM: If you sweat, this will break up and look awful. I checked myself in the mirror after gym class and had a foundation moustache-- not cute! If you want to pat your face with some water to cool off, that will also ruin it hard.

Overall, good bb cream for winter. I wanted one for summer, but I just can't pick a bb cream that will break up in sweat, I sweat way too often! Note: I just started wearing Lucy's Mineral Foundation over it, and it's great! Looks super flawless and the sweating is much less of a problem. For whatever reason though, it does make my skin itch a bit.

Edit: I've begun putting diorskin nude sculpting powder just over this, and it is faaab. Looks really natural and pretty. I've also been having issues with dry skin and peeling lately (just started using a retin-a) so I've been putting this bb cream on top of my hollywood beauty tea tree oil and it has worked great for concealing the dry spots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2014 3:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wanted to love this product but sadly it just didn't live up to the hype for me.
When applying this it felt fairly heavy on the skin but initially looked really nice. I was impressed by the coverage and 'dewiness' this product achieved.
Half way through the day I noticed I was looking very shiny and sticky. My face also felt a little cakey and uncomfortable.
At the 7 hour mark, my face looked like a patchy, oily mess. The product had broken up on my face and had caused my blush and bronzer to look just awful.
In fairness, I didn't powder over this product which is perhaps where I went wrong. That being said, a BB cream in my opinion is marketed as an "all in one" type of product and should be perfect for makeup on the run. If it were necessary to powder and prime I would prefer to just reach for a good quality foundation instead.
This would suit someone who was maybe just looking to pop down to the shops and wasn't planning on having their makeup on for long. Not suited for a long days work for people with oily to combination skin,


on 5/1/2014 9:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The best bb cream I have tried so far. It has an easy to apply texture and gives a medium coverage which evens out skintone and looks very natural. It is also quite moisturising which is great for my dry skin. The packaging is ultra stylish too. I use shade 'fair' as this is the only option for fair to light skintones. The next shade option is 'Light' but this is a big jump in shades and is a lot darker than you would expect. It would be nice if there was an option inbetween.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top