Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Body Bar

4.1

29 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS



on 4/4/2012 1:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been looking for a tea tree oil bar soap and decided to give this a try since I found it on sale.

Pros:
I love the peppermint smell that lingers in the shower.
It is very refreshing and hydrating.
It helps controlling sweat odor (like armpits and feet)

Cons:I
it did not control the oiliness on my chest, back and neck.
It is irritating for the eyes
Too expensive for everyday use

Don't plan on buying it again, since it is nothing special. Will keep using it for specific regions and will add tea tree oil to my favorite body wash.



on 1/29/2012 11:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've used this soap off and on for about 10 years now. I first picked it up when I was working out a lot and started getting pimples on my chest area. I started using this and they cleared up right away. Because it's more expensive than my other staple (Dove sensitive bar), I find myself picking Dove over this more often than not. However, I must say, this bar DEFINITELY lasts way longer than a bar of Dove, so the difference isn't as simple as comparing the numbers on the price tag. The scent of this bar is wonderful, but strong. It will linger throughout your bathroom so, if you don't like tea tree/peppermint/herbal scents, I wouldn't even bother trying this. Luckily, everyone in my family likes those scents, so no one minds that our bathroom smells like this bar. I have tried the Sally's knockoff, but didn't like it as much. It isn't as gritty, so I didn't feel like I was getting the same light exfoliating action. It might be wise to try the Sally's version first and, if you like that, try the real thing. I definitely think the PM bar is far superior to the Sally's generic. I should also mention that my skin is VERY sensitive and this has never caused a reaction anywhere on my body. Great product!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/30/2011 10:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This soap came with a gift set that had the shampoo & conditioner with it as well. This soap gives a deep clean and I love the smell of peppermint....BUT, this soap bar gave me a rash & it really irritated my eyes. There's something in the ingredients that I must be allergic to. It's probably the tea tree oil, but idk for sure. I didn't realize what it was caused from at first...until I removed it from my shower & stopped using it. Obviously it works for some people, but not for me. The shampoo & conditioner are terrible as well. I do not reccommend anything from the tea tree line.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Bought the generic version at Sally's and this is good stuff. It's refreshing, deep cleaning without drying and invigorating. I'll definitely keep purchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2010 11:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Wonderful soap. My mom encouraged me to use this for facial acne spots, but unfortunately it has little to no effect on my face. However, it does control anything that surfaces on my back/shoulders. Leaves my bathroom smelling minty fresh and is a great pick-me-up during a morning shower.


on 5/1/2010 12:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

It's a lot different then most soaps but I really love it. Especially the smell!


on 12/2/2009 1:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Only used for a couple of days now but I sure do love it so far! I have the GVP brand from Sally's.


on 10/18/2009 8:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

I love this product. It makes my skin feel super clean and has a wonderful smell and tingle. My husband loves it, too.

It rinses clean and leaves my skin soft.

This bar soap is a keeper!


on 10/15/2009 8:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I use this in the shower every day. I guess I'm a sucker for tea tree oil products. My skin feels refreshed after using this, and it has substantially cleared up my minor backne. However..um, ladies, don't let it sit on your nether regions for too long. The tingle starts to burn those sensitive parts, if you know what I mean.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2009 8:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this with the Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Special Shampoo and Conditioner for my boyfriend to treat his seborrheic dermatitis. Tea tree oil is known for its antiseptic, antifungal and antibacterial properties. In addition, shampoo with 5% tea tree oil has been shown to be an effective treatment for dandruff due to its ability to treat Malassezia furfur, the most common cause of the condition.
 
Out of the three, my boyfriend only used the shampoo and conditioner, leaving the body bar for me. The soap was a great substitute for shaving gel and shower gel; however, I found the tea tree fragrance overwhelming in the shower. I also noticed that the bar dissolved fairly quickly compared to most soap bars.


Back to Top