Paul Mitchell • Tea Tree Body Bar • Gels/Soaps

rated 4.1(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Taizk on 4/4/2012 1:29:00 AM more reviews by Taizk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been looking for a tea tree oil bar soap and decided to give this a try since I found it on sale.

Pros:
I love the peppermint smell that lingers in the shower.
It is very refreshing and hydrating.
It helps controlling sweat odor (like armpits and feet)

Cons:I
it did not control the oiliness on my chest, back and neck.
It is irritating for the eyes
Too expensive for everyday use

Don't plan on buying it again, since it is nothing special. Will keep using it for specific regions and will add tea tree oil to my favorite body wash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kcsunshine1 on 1/29/2012 11:53:00 AM more reviews by kcsunshine1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this soap off and on for about 10 years now. I first picked it up when I was working out a lot and started getting pimples on my chest area. I started using this and they cleared up right away. Because it's more expensive than my other staple (Dove sensitive bar), I find myself picking Dove over this more often than not. However, I must say, this bar DEFINITELY lasts way longer than a bar of Dove, so the difference isn't as simple as comparing the numbers on the price tag. The scent of this bar is wonderful, but strong. It will linger throughout your bathroom so, if you don't like tea tree/peppermint/herbal scents, I wouldn't even bother trying this. Luckily, everyone in my family likes those scents, so no one minds that our bathroom smells like this bar. I have tried the Sally's knockoff, but didn't like it as much. It isn't as gritty, so I didn't feel like I was getting the same light exfoliating action. It might be wise to try the Sally's version first and, if you like that, try the real thing. I definitely think the PM bar is far superior to the Sally's generic. I should also mention that my skin is VERY sensitive and this has never caused a reaction anywhere on my body. Great product!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 11/30/2011 10:50:00 AM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This soap came with a gift set that had the shampoo & conditioner with it as well. This soap gives a deep clean and I love the smell of peppermint....BUT, this soap bar gave me a rash & it really irritated my eyes. There's something in the ingredients that I must be allergic to. It's probably the tea tree oil, but idk for sure. I didn't realize what it was caused from at first...until I removed it from my shower & stopped using it. Obviously it works for some people, but not for me. The shampoo & conditioner are terrible as well. I do not reccommend anything from the tea tree line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 4/2/2011 8:59:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Bought the generic version at Sally's and this is good stuff. It's refreshing, deep cleaning without drying and invigorating. I'll definitely keep purchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* regrebs on 12/8/2010 11:55:00 PM more reviews by regrebs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Wonderful soap. My mom encouraged me to use this for facial acne spots, but unfortunately it has little to no effect on my face. However, it does control anything that surfaces on my back/shoulders. Leaves my bathroom smelling minty fresh and is a great pick-me-up during a morning shower.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AnitaMarlene on 5/1/2010 12:39:00 PM more reviews by AnitaMarlene

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

It's a lot different then most soaps but I really love it. Especially the smell!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ClaireMcD77 on 12/2/2009 1:07:00 PM more reviews by ClaireMcD77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Only used for a couple of days now but I sure do love it so far! I have the GVP brand from Sally's.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maddsox on 10/18/2009 8:10:00 PM more reviews by maddsox

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I love this product. It makes my skin feel super clean and has a wonderful smell and tingle. My husband loves it, too.

It rinses clean and leaves my skin soft.

This bar soap is a keeper!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntFarm on 10/15/2009 8:22:00 PM more reviews by AntFarm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this in the shower every day. I guess I'm a sucker for tea tree oil products. My skin feels refreshed after using this, and it has substantially cleared up my minor backne. However..um, ladies, don't let it sit on your nether regions for too long. The tingle starts to burn those sensitive parts, if you know what I mean.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Yum3ji on 10/15/2009 8:06:00 AM more reviews by Yum3ji

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this with the Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Special Shampoo and Conditioner for my boyfriend to treat his seborrheic dermatitis. Tea tree oil is known for its antiseptic, antifungal and antibacterial properties. In addition, shampoo with 5% tea tree oil has been shown to be an effective treatment for dandruff due to its ability to treat Malassezia furfur, the most common cause of the condition.
 
Out of the three, my boyfriend only used the shampoo and conditioner, leaving the body bar for me. The soap was a great substitute for shaving gel and shower gel; however, I found the tea tree fragrance overwhelming in the shower. I also noticed that the bar dissolved fairly quickly compared to most soap bars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paul Mitchell products

More Gels/Soaps products