St.Tropez Bronzing Mousse

4.5

21 reviews

95% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/25/2015 12:06:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Being a little lazy and reviewing 3 self-tanners at once (I only do my legs and always prepare by exfoliating and moisturizing many hours in advance and apply tanner at night a couple of hours before bed). I've used the 3 below at least 4 times each:

Fake Bake Flawless Self Tan Liquid - No
Best applied with Mitt
Pros: Dries quickly, best smell of all
Cons: Streaky, patchy, messy.Color guide is too dark.Color doesn't matter if it's not even! Only lasts 2 days or so. Even though it dries quickly still can get weird areas (bend behind knees or ankles) before next morning rinse.

St. Tropez Bronzing Mousse - Yes
Best applied with Mitt
Pros: Even, nice color, Dries ok. Lasts a good 4 days before fading evenly.
Cons: Doesn't smell that great but goes away after rinsing with water in morning.

St. Tropez Everyday Gradual Tan Body Lotion - Yes
Pros: Even, nice color, can apply with just disposable gloves and not mitt. Lasts a couple of days and reapplication doesn't make it too dark or streaky. Smells alright.
Cons: With use about every 3 days, can get a little yellow-y but not bad. Slower drying but no color guide so staining not as much of an issue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/7/2015 1:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent product. Worth the price tag. I am new to fake tanning and as a beginner, this product was very easy to apply. The instructions on the back of the bottle were clear, and application was super easy. I've always been concerned about fake tanning and becoming orange because of the fairness in my skin, but this has a greenish base so I felt confident in exposing my skin in public and at work with this product. I used the light bottle and next time, i'm even going to try the next shade darker! I also found the product adapted well to my skin tone, a bonus, which helped create a natural look.
I would strongly suggest purchasing the tanning mitt with it too.
My only drawback with this product is the smell, it's not a complete turn off, but it was noticeable. Will definitely look to repurchase though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/30/2014 5:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've tried a few higher end self tanners and this is by far the best I have tried:) I've been using this product for about a year and am very impressed. Here is what I have to say...

PRICING:
I live in Canada and buy it either from Shoppers Drug Mart or Sephora. The prices are high but worth it in the long run because of the quality and how long it lasts. The prices I have paid here are:
Small - approx. 22$ / Medium - approx. 40$ / Large - 51$
I have at some point purchased all three sizes but I usually go with the large, it is 240ml, double the medium size and the bottle lasts me over a month (depending how frequently I apply it). the (large) tanning mitt is 8-10$ and will last you through more than one bottle

APPLICATION:
first thing I have to say is BUY THE TANNING MITT, YOU WILL NEED IT!! it is nearly impossible to apply this mousse without it, and your hands will turn very dark. The tanning mitt ensures a smooth application with no streaks and no stains on your palms.
The mousse itself is light and foamy and applies smoothly.
You will see results instantly but I find it darkens a little as it dries as well.

SCENT
smells lovely but quite subtle, not like most tanners that have that weird smell as they dry. once dry, you wont smell it

COLOUR
One of the things that makes this my favourite self tanner is the colour. You will notice results instantly. The colour is rather dark and more noticeable than other tanners I have tried BUT NOT ORANGE!! it is very brown toned without having orangey undertones and looks very natural. very impressed with the results...

OTHER
- make sure you exfoliate before application to ensure it goes on as smoothly as possible, also MAKE SURE YOUR SKIN IS COMPLETELY DRY!! only issues I've ever had with this product is when I apply it too soon after showering while I still have water on my skin. this product doesnt like water and may appear streaky is what I have noticed!
- lasts a few days! fades nicely for the most part, but if not i scrub it off with baking soda and water to and it comes off great.
- for a darker shade, I apply twice. Sometimes I'll wait a day and apply it the next day or just apply it twice in one day, either works! this will appear quite dark though..
- I am naturally very pale, but no one would ever know because of this product!! I will continue to use this product and am very impressed with it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2014 1:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm a self tan junkie. If I am unable to airbrush my tan (I love my lumpiness tan system), this mousse is my second choice. I'm pretty fair and this mousse leaves a lovely tan to my skin. I highly recommend to apply with a mitt for more even results.

Also recommend to use a barrier cream (I use body shop coconut body butter) to my elbows, knees, hands and feet to prevent too much of the product from causing darker up take.

Dries quickly, can get dressed in about 5 minutes. No odor-always a plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2014 3:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is good, but not a miracle. Like all self tanners, it takes a number of applications before you get the hang of how to apply it so it looks even and natural.
The positives: It looks the most natural of any I've tried, You can see it going on, and have more control over streaking and unevenness at the point of application, It smells pretty good and not too strong, the mitt is awesome and saves your hands, it fades naturally.
The Negatives: It's pricey, I've had streaks and patchiness and I'm still getting the hang of it, It fades quick, this tanner is eliminated with soap and water. For example, I was washing my hands and splashed my legs with soapy water accidentally, looked down and saw that I had totally white streaks running down my thighs where the water hit my skin- not good. If I had been out somewhere I would have been tying my sweater around my legs to cover it.
I find with all self tanners you have to bathe less to keep it strong and even.
And.. the Youtube videos on how to apply it are really helpful :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2014 6:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I am sitting here having just applied this for the second time. The first time, I had it on about 6 hrs. before I showered. I think the directions said to leave it 4-8. The color is very nice and not orange at all. Probably on the light side, but that can be good! I'm NC20-25 and naturally tan very well. And it didn't smell that bad, actually! It is fragranced and I smelled a little of that tan smell but really not bad, probably the best I've ever used, considering everything from the drugstore just stinks! I'm not all that experienced with a bunch of different brands, especially on the higher end (this is my first foray into something I can't get off the shelf at CVS). But I give it a thumbs up! I applied it with one of those gloves for self tanner that I also got at Ulta. No streaks! Feet didn't look too weird, hands looked fine. My only complaint about this product (besides the ridiculous price) is that it faded very quickly. I would probably have to reapply every 3 days or so to keep a nice level of color. I may try the new darker shade next time. I'm torn between that one and the Vita Liberata Phenomenal such & such 2-3 week one.


on 6/4/2014 8:37:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love love love! I have been using the St Tropez Mousse for a couple of years now. I have tried others off and on, some were a lot more expensive, but always come back to this one. I apply it with a buffing brush that came with the BE self tanner and the application is a snap. I'm not going to say it has no self-tanner smell, because it does, but as self-tanners go the St Tropez has the least smell and as soon as you shower, the smell is gone.


on 2/28/2014 4:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

why damage your skin for a bronze glow when this product does it for you 100% safely. Its easy to apply and to blend and it dries quickly then develops into a gentle soft caramel colour that looks super natural on my fair to medium skin. Some tips, Exfoliate the day before tanning The St. Tropes exfoliating mit is great and can also be used for dry skin brushing to buff and smooth the skin with or without the tanner. Use a light moisture lotion on knees, elbows and ankles to stop the colour going dark in these tricky places. Invest in the application mit, Its reusable and makes the whole process of applying the tan easier and keeps the hands 100% stain free. If you tan before bed, the next morning you'll wake up as if just back from a long weekend at the beach. Colour fades naturally, no patchyness and can easily be toppoed up without fear of uneven layers of colour or streakiness. BEST EVER SELF TANNER.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2014 4:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love love love this tanning mousse. The color is perfect and it dries very fast. The only minus is that it fades fast

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2014 3:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I don't know what my opinion on this product actually is. I kept buying it for months but I'm not a hundred per cent sure that I really like it. Firstly, I can't get a good result on my hands. I exfoliate them (with the clinique sparkle skin body exfoliator AND the St Tropez body polish) and use the St Tropez moisturizer before tanning: The result is always very disappointing on the hands. The rest of my body is just fine but I think the tan is a bit orange. It's not VERY orange (I wouldn't keep using it then). When I wake up in the morning I LOVE the color. I guess it's the guide color I like cause when I have showered there almost isn't any tan to see besides a glow. The tan (glow) fades very fast - almost as fast as the gradual mousse. Now I've bought the dark one and I can't wait to use it, but I'm a little scared though. Since I'm a redhead I'm afraid this color will be too dark. But I'll try it out.

BUT I must say St Tropez is lovely as a brand. They ALWAYS reply to my, sometimes stupid, messages. Very kind and good service. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated St.Tropez Products

Back to Top