Bare Escentuals Correcting Concealer

3.0

34 reviews

44% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 15.0%. Inactive Ingredients: Isodecyl Isononanoate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Isocetyl Alcohol, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Polyethylene, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Octadecenedioic Acid, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cetyl Esters, Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer, Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, Lecithin, Lauryl Pca, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Vp/Hexadecene Copolymer, Alumina, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Saccharomyces/Copper Ferment, Lactobacillus/Lemon Peel Ferment Extract, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Bismuth Oxychloride (Ci 77163).


on 3/3/2015 6:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

I had just bought the bare minerals loose mineral concealer but it only came in 2 shades... It first looked perfect but then oxided and looked like I had greyish patches on my face. But I wanted mineral makeup as I was breaking out so I came back to the store determined to find the perfect concealer.

When looking complexion product, it should give me coverage but not caked, not drying and doesn't break down on my skin during the day. The biggest thing with shades is that I have quite a pale face but if you found a concealer my shade and covered my imperfection and redness I would end up looking very white and pale which is not what I like at all. So the assistant gave me light 2 out of 4.

It first reminds me of Mac studio finish (but obviously I can't use it anymore as nc20 matches me but makes me way to pale) this colour has a slight yellow tan in it so it's not like 'light pale' and matches my skin because usually if it matches me it's light pale. This one is slightly more creamier and doesn't cake which is a plus.

This definitely doesn't have the coverage of Mac studio finish. I can hide redness and brighten dark circles but not sun spots. It's a satin finish like a cream to powder finish and works best when pat into the skin with fingers. i think using a brush to apply can cause it to look a bit drying. I set it with my Ben nye banana powder and it last me during my work times.

This concealer is for everyday natural look only and offers at most medium coverage.

I use this alone without foundation for everyday or when breaking out as its mineral and marketed as 'you can sleep in it' makeup so I feel pretty safe with this even when I'm breaking out. The bare minerals line is also known to be good for the skin and help people with acne. It hasn't broken me out as well, not to mention this concealer as long term benefits such as lightening discolouration.

This brand is quite affordable and the packing is nice and sturdy with a mirror for touch ups. I do recommend powdering for long wear because it is so light and smooth,



on 1/15/2015 7:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Hardly any product for the cost $


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this concealer on a whim, I'm always on the lookout for the best under eye concealer, and this one is a strong contender. It goes on smooth, it's so creamy and hides my dark circles without looking cakey. It looks beautiful at first, but I have noticed that it can settle into my fine lines. This can quickly be fixed with a pat over my under eyes, but it's frustrating that it peforms so well up until the point I notice it has settled. I was so close to finding my HG concealer, but because this is almost impossible to set, I still haven't found it. I think it's worth a try, to decide for yourself, and I'm not upset that I purchased a full size, I will happily use it until it's gone, but everything about it is perfect, except for the settling an hour into my day. I'll continue to try and find the best way to set it, but If I can't figure it out, I won't repurchase,


on 9/21/2014 9:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is an OK concealer. I use NC30 in MAC and Medium 2 is slightly darker than my skin. I find that it oxidizes a bit. It provides medium coverage and is very creamy and smooth. But then once it is blended in and as the day goes on, it starts to get drier, and drier. This concealer also lacks staying powder. Personally it starts fading around the 2 hour mark without setting powder. I can't see myself finishing the product, and I wish I realized this sooner so I could have returned it.


on 8/29/2014 10:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This concealer works well for covering up acne marks, but as someone with HEAVY dark circles (I was born with them, doctors used to think my mother kept me up all night) it does nothing but make them look yellow-y purple and settles into my fine lines. The weirdest part about this stuff is that it is drying out and making my eyelids look scaly and droopy! But other than it NOT working for my eye circles, it works well on freckles and acne marks.


on 7/11/2014 3:39:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

To begin with, I'm around NC25-30 and use this in Tan 2, it's a perfect match. That being said, though they do have 8 shades, they do not cater well to darker skin tones. They have 2 shades which are darker but.. you know what I'm saying. But to all those fair skinned ladies, good news! A better selection for you, especially since they take into consideration the undertones as well. All the 1s are cool tones and 2s are neutral/warm. (eg Tan 1 is cool toned and Tan 2 is neutral/warm)
I have terrible, and I mean TERRIBLE, hereditary under eye circles. They are brown, not purple or blue (for which most under eye correctors/concealers target). My circles are SO BAD that none of MAC's concealers can cover them. Yup, that bad.
First off, yes. This does crease. Not the most sanitary if you use fingers, but I don't mind. I actually like the packaging. It's sleek and all. It's slightly pricey for the amount of product you're getting, but for what it does to my circles; I will repurchase.
By setting this concealer with any random powder it prevents ANY creasing. And I didn't have foundation or BB cream or anything underneath either. For me, it stays put really long.. at least around 6 hours, but I'm sure it will last longer, I just haven't tried (I've only used it twice). It doesn't break me out, but I'm not sensitive to anything (tough Eastern genes!).
It does not completely cover my undereyes, but does a very good job. I would say around 85-90%. The kind where people looking at you won't know you have dark circles but when you stare at the mirror you just SEE IT a tad. That little bit of unsatisfaction, lol. I'm sure when it's paired with a medium-high coverage foundation that would be solved though.
For ultimate coverage, after applying this with my fingers, I put a little bit of Rimmel's Match Perfection concealer (in Classic Beige 030), also with my fingers, and then use an eyeshadow brush (don't ask me why, lol. I just want to pack the powder in) to apply in a stippling motion a pigmented powder (aka not translucent.. but one that has colour, for a little extra coverage and skin-matching, if either are your issues), I currently use Maybelline's Clear Smooth Powder (specific to Asia - or at least I know they're in Singapore and Malaysia) and tadah! No dark circles!
I've been dreaming of the day I would know how I look like without any darkness under my eyes, and it's like a genie fulfilled my wish! Yaayyy! I already have a backup in case they do any sneaky stuff and change the formulation or discontinue the product :D


on 6/25/2014 1:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have really dark circles under my eyes. This product somewhat reduces the appearance of them but it settles into my fine lines. Even if I have a primer underneath or put a translucent powder on top of this concealer, it does not stop the concealer from settling into the fine lines. This concealer is a complete waste of money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2014 6:24:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Got a free sample of this (actually a sample card with 3 shades) and used Light 2 - the fairest one on the sample. IRL I think I need even lighter.

Too thick and not a good concealer at all. Made my under eye area sticky and foundation did not lay well. I much prefer Jane Iredale's Circle Delete or Sue Devitt (d/ce'd) Quiet & Still. For now I will stick with BeautControl's "Extra Help" concealer.

I will not purchase this.


on 2/21/2014 10:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I really like Bare Minerals' powder foundation, but I was sorely disappointed. As mentioned by previous reviewers, it really settles into fine lines around the eyes, and I think it looks very chalky. It look worse than if I didn't wear anything at all! It's not so bad in other areas of my face, but I mainly purchased this as an under-eye concealer. I might just chuck it in the trash.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Extremely disappointed. It does tend to settle into fine lines and creases and can accentuate dryness. Coverage is not so great as well-but it is easy to blend. The only pro is that it's not too expensive, and didn't break me out + the shade medium 2 matched me perfectly.
Pretty bummed as bare minerals is my favorite makeup line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top