Paula's Choice • RESIST BHA 9 • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.4(74 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 LiL_Laurie on 12/14/2014 4:30:00 PM more reviews by LiL_Laurie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought the sample size of this first and within a few days use i am hooked! This is the best spot treatment i have ever used, it reduces the size of pimples within 24 hours (or brings them to a head for you to pop) without drying... it fades the redness and smooths the skin so that i can cover it up with makeup and not have it look flakey. I also put it on some post-breakout red marks and it is doing a great job at fading those too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CobraRose on 12/4/2014 7:05:00 PM more reviews by CobraRose

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very oily skin and stubborn clogged pores on my nose. PC 2% BHA liquid improved the situation significantly, but not completely, so I tried BHA 9. The packaging dispensed at least twice as much as I needed at a time, and the texture was even slimier than the 2% liquid. I would have put up with these drawbacks, but it also caused a stinging sensation--which the 2% did not--and didn't work much better than the 2%. That being said, PC BHA is the only product that has had any effect on my blocked pores at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Eire1 on 8/9/2014 1:25:00 PM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I HAVE THE DELUXE SAMPLE
I used this about twice this week and I've seen some results, but it has not entirely been successful (yet.) I used it on some whiteheads I developed one of my whiteheads looked bigger than usual, and distorted with uneven ridges. My first time after applying this it reduced to a normal sized whitehead. My second use was a tiny reduction in the pore neck around the pimple. Granted the second time I used it my acne flare was not as bad. I had a slight pain- like someone stuck a needle into my pore; luckily though this only lasted for one second. I got the same sensation my second use but the length of irritation was somehow even shorter. All exfoliants whether mechanical or acid based can irritate the skin to a degree as they remove dead skin cells , so I don't mind some irritation with an exfoliant. The anti-irritants will reduce irritation in this too; I could tell because my irritation was short and miniscule. Now onto the packaging...
First off the deluxe samples packaging is pretty poor. An ample enough amount is offered and it can last 2 weeks if you use it sparingly, but the liquid is in a glass tube with a cap .The tube is slid between a carboard mini booklet. Be careful when you use this as it can easily spill as there is no stopper. The texture is oil like, but if you ' spot treat' it you forget it's there.
There doesn't seem to be any antioxidants, but there are some anti-irritants, and a peptide which I thought was a cool idea because peptides have potential as skin cell communicators.
If you are wondering what the number 9 is for, it's not for antioxidants, but rather the number of skin problems a BHA can hope to address. The directions advise using this as a leave on 'treatment', but that advice is contradicted in her book.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SummerDay89 on 7/25/2014 3:48:00 PM more reviews by SummerDay89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was a disappointment. Firstly, you can't just squeeze it out drop by drop, it just comes out in a huge glob. Secondly, it stung and I use Tactuo on my skin (Tactuo is a prescription grade retinoid) so I know it's not a sensitive matter. Finally, it was sticky feeling without seeing an improvement in blackheads or milia. I did however hear great reviews on her BHA foam, but that's currently on back order :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pink_jasmine on 7/22/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by pink_jasmine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is an excellent treatment for stubborn acne, cysts, clogged pores or blackheads. I find that this is much more effective than the 2% liquid while being less drying too. The formula is a bit thick and sticky, however this doesn't bother me enough to outweigh the positive effects.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AsnJubilee on 6/12/2014 2:42:00 AM more reviews by AsnJubilee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Love paulas choice 2% bha liquid and aha product so got a sample of this with high hopes. Tested it on a stubborn blemish and I felt it did the same job as her 2% BHA's. Prob will not spend more $$$ on the Bha 9 as I will stick with the 2% BHA's.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 estubbs on 5/12/2014 6:04:00 PM more reviews by estubbs

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I learned two months ago that I have sebaceous hyperplasia, which is a condition that is extremely difficult to treat. I have been using Retin A Micro for approximately 1 year, and at a follow up appointment, I asked my dermatologist why the yellow hard under the skin bumps weren't resolving. That's when he broke it to me that they aren't acne, they are sebaceous hyperplasia (SH).

I recalled that Paula's Choice had a product that is supposed to help --BHA 9 -- that I had ordered the prior year and used without seeing results. I smoothed it on that night after RAM 0.1%, and the next morning, the bumps looked smaller and flatter. Over the last 2 months I have been using the BHA 9, sometimes alternating it with the BHA 4% foam. I do think there has been substantial improvement in my SH. Sadly, however, the bumps aren't totally gone -- they are still visible and I can definitely still feel them on my forehead. I do think that they are much less noticeable though. I am hoping that with consistent use of BHA 9, plus RAM 0.1%, over time the bumps will become completely flat and perhaps even disappear. I am now experimenting with using the BHA 9 twice a day on my problem areas.

The product is expensive, but Sebaceous Hyperplasia is really hard to treat. There are virtually NO treatments available over the counter. The in-office treatments, like lasers and PDT, cost a fortune, and I had an appointment with a cosmetic dermatologist who told me that even lasers could not be guaranteed to resolve SH.

So even if this product isn't perfect, I am grateful to have something that seems to help my sebaceous hyperplasia. Thank you Paula, for helping those of us with this frustrating condition.

UPDATE 6/9/2014: I've been using the product for about 3 months now and there has been substantial continued improvement with my sebaceous hyperplasia. It is not gone, but the bumps are smaller and flatter. It is taking time but I am hopeful that continued consistent use will reverse years of growths. I will continue to update. I want to reiterate that the results have been obtained only in concert with RAM 0.1%.

UPDATE 10/31/2014: Still observing continued improvement, although bumps are still present. I am hopeful that continued improvement will occur over time and with consistent usage. The largest bump seems like it is breaking down extremely slowly. The smaller bumps are getting flatter and less noticeable. Keep at it, because it does seem to work.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 3/29/2014 4:43:00 PM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Such a major disappointment. I have oily skin with large pores and sebhorreic (sp?)keratosis, which are clear bumps, all over my forehead. I already use PC BHA 2% gel and it's great; it tightens my pores, and keeps the hormonal acne and blackheads at bay. I was really hoping the BHA 9 would reduce the bumps on my forehead. Nope. Nothing. That's not really a big deal, but it didn't work any better than the 2% gel at clearing blackheads and enlarged pores.

If it was the same price as the 2% I wouldn't complain, but the 2% is $22.00 for 3.3 ounces, while the 9% is $40.00 for 0.3 ounces. Yeah, that's $18.00 more for 3 ounces less. That wouldn't even bother me if it worked, or if there was a lesser size/price discrepancy, but I find that ridiculous. I gave this 3 lippies because it's not a BAD product, it's just that I can get more product for much less that does that same thing.

One thing I must mention is that Paula's customer service is incredible. I posted a review on her website stating my opinions, and they refunded my money. So kudos to Paula's Choice. Not many companies will do that.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 teray on 3/28/2014 4:29:00 AM more reviews by teray

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I do not know why PC's products doesn't work for me. One of them is this product. I have normal/oily skin. I have few fine lines on the forehead (can live with that), eyebag (hate it, but I believe, there's no treatment for it) and the milia (which is really bugging me for sometime now). When I saw that this product can treat milia, I bought one and use every night for 8 weeks. I use Retinol Skin Smoothing Body Lotion as a moisturizer. I am scared to use the ones with pure Retinol. Needless to say it didn't work for me. I also dab a small amount on my fine lines, still no improvement.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thaonlylakergirl on 3/15/2014 2:31:00 AM more reviews by thaonlylakergirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Deep Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for three weeks on hardened oil that has created a bumpy appearance on my forehead and nose. I've seen NO improvement and while I've always found Paula to be ethical, I seriously doubt this contains 9% of pure salicylic acid. It seems like if it did, there would be slight peeling or something. I see absolutely nothing. I think it's some unique concoction Paula created and found a loophole to advertise it at 9%. I will post an update once I've used all the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments (Face) products