Shiseido • The Makeup Lacquer Rouge • Lip Gloss

rated 4.1(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 5/29/2014 9:21:00 AM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

edit: it really is mediocre! docked off another point. it bleeds in a way many inexpensive lipglosses don't!

Shiseido's colours are not right for me. The selection is small and none of the colours really suit me at all! The undertone is off or smthing. I can see these working on Asians, or cool-toned Caucasians or..anyone who's not me.... Waste of money for me. These last okay, about an hour or two, subtle colour left behind, but that can be said for any lipstick or most glosses including Revlon, Rimmel, etc. they do bleed and lipliner is essential, plus there's an art to application. I find it is best to paint lower lip, smush lips, then use the wand to fill in upper lip 'bow'. All in all, not the easy-to-use product Shi markets them to be..colours don't work for me..actually the nudes are worse on me than the brights bcuz even if the colours look off it can be said to be a 'statement' if they're bright...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emmamua on 5/22/2014 7:15:00 AM more reviews by Emmamua

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Stays on for hours and my lips feel so moist and not dry and the colours are really nice to bright and colourful to natural love my bright pink one I purchased and plum vine

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blairXwitch on 3/5/2014 10:18:00 AM more reviews by blairXwitch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm so happy they came out with more shades! I absolutely love the texture of these liquid lipsticks, I already had 2 and just bought the 3rd, in the new shade PK425. I was hoping they'd come out with a light pink, and they did!
This shade is a nice pastel pink, absolutely gorgeous! I had a berry pink shade (a bit too strong for my pale self) and a caramel one (washed me out), but this one is perfect.
I find the formula better than any other lip product I've ever used. Applies easily and uniformly, doesn't emphasize any flakes, feels like nothing on, isn't too sticky, and stays glowy for a decent amount of time.
There's no scent I can talk about, and the applicator is basic but does its job well.
Wonderful job Shiseido!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NuttyGrrl77 on 2/26/2014 2:59:00 PM more reviews by NuttyGrrl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this in RD 305 (Nymph) after receiving a sample in a darker red color. I have very sensitive lips and most glosses, lipsticks, etc. dry my lips out. I have to say that although this doesn't feel overly moisturizing, it didn't dry out my lips on contact which many other brands do. I like the YSL glossy stains but can't wear them for than one day or else my lips chap and peel, and with the Lacquer Rouge I can wear this daily without having any reaction. For comparison I found this to be less shiny and less sticky than the YSL's. I bought this purely based on the color descriptions listed online since I can't find any in my local stores. RD 305 on me (NC-27) is a cooler-neutral - basically my lips with a slightly more rosy-pink color. Great shade for the office or a natural look. The only thing I don't like about this is it comes off very easily (coffee cup, kisses, etc.)... provided you don't drink or touch your lips in anyway it lasts about 2 hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 agirlwithcakedupmakeup on 2/10/2014 2:33:00 PM more reviews by agirlwithcakedupmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have this product in three colors: RD203 - Portrait, RD305 - Nymph and RD607 - Nocturne (this color I received as a sample).
Portrait is a nude with a perfect balance of peach and pink undertones that is highly pigmented and creamy.
Nymph is more of a muted rose pink that is also highly pigmented and creamy.
Nocturne is a very deep, vampy glossy red...also highly pigmented and creamy.
I find these lacquer rouge's to be very pigmented liquid lipsticks that apply like a lip gloss but have the lasting power of a lipstick and are quite moisturizing. There is also no scent. They are not sticky or gooey in my opinion but do have a little tacky-ness so they stay put for quite a few hours.
They come in what seems to be a lipstick tube but the cap unscrews revealing a doe-foot applicator that makes application quite easy.
I have not noticed any bleeding with Portrait and Nymph but Nocturne does bleed into the fine lines around my lip (since it is such a dark vampy red I would recommend using a clear lipliner to prevent feathering)
For my skintone (MMM) Portrait is my HG nude and have already bought a backup of this color just in case they ever discontinue it. Nymph and Nocturne are colors I could have lived without.
All in all I would highly recommend this product, it's just about finding the right color for you! They are a little pricy at $25 but worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loveableqtpie212 on 8/9/2013 10:06:00 PM more reviews by loveableqtpie212

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Finally found my HG nude lip! I compared it to BB Honeysuckle, but it is way better in every way imo. The Shiseido is a smidge darker, and slightly more peach. The perfect mix of peach/pink/tan tones. Doesn't clash with my skintone or make my lips look like they're almost invisible. They're pretty thin, so I have to be careful that nude lippies aren't too close to my skintone (nc42) or they'll blend right in. Formula is creamy, long lasting, nice sheen, and doesn't dry out my lips. Worn it all day and they feel very comfortable. Wish I had discovered this sooner! Ladies NC40-45, it's a must! Also, It looks absolutely gorgeous paired with Nars luster or Mac Sunbasque for a glowy, bronzy look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 optomostichypocrite on 6/24/2013 5:44:00 PM more reviews by optomostichypocrite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got a deluxe sample of Nocturne and while I LOVED the colour, it unfortunately bled uncontrollably. I tried lip primer, liner, invisible liner, thin application, heavy powder barrier everything. I am 27 and have no lip lines so I cannot imagine this being good for anyone with any kind of creasing/ lines around the lip.

I really wanted to make this work as I loved the colour and the texture was great. No drying or stickiness, but it was pleasantly slick without being goopy.

I have several other brands of liquid lipsticks but I just couldn't make this one work. I tried it several times and in several different ways but every time I ended up with severe bleeding within half an hour. Too bad, a rare miss for Shiseido!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatrionaShadowleaf on 6/13/2013 11:27:00 PM more reviews by CatrionaShadowleaf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I received a beautiful deluxe sample of Nocturne (RD607) in a Sephora purchase and was shocked at the deep, rich blood-red that came out of it - my roommate opined that it seriously looked like I'd spread blood all over my mouth. It is glossy and spreads nicely. A little goes a long, long way.

It lasted approximately three-four hours but I found that it bled over my lip lines and into the skin surrounding since I had not worn lipliner that day. Definitely won't make that mistake again. It does transfer onto anything that brushes your lips. I did not find it drying or particularly hydrating, which is fine, and it is not sticky. Being so fair skinned it is definitely a statement on me. I like that it makes my teeth look really white.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 6/5/2013 3:20:00 AM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've always loved liquid lipstick, and was disappointed when they went off the market for a while. And I love this version by Shiseido. I have Nymph, a coolish-to-neutral medium rose; Portrait, a warm, lightish pink; and Sunstone, a deeper-than-medium rose that is pinkish-red on the lips. They apply very easily with the doefoot applicator, don't bleed (on me), have a just-shiny-enough finish, and great staying power. I've not have the problem with fading that other reviewers have mentioned. The shininess wears off, but the color remains for a few hours. Although my lips feel a bit dry when I remove this, they feel and look very moisturized and full when I'm wearing the product. And if you have trouble finding a nude lip that doesn't wash you out, try Portrait with a layer of Shiseido Perfect Rouge in PK 307 (Tourmaline, a cool pink with the same intensity) over top. It's perfection. I'm snapping these up before liquid lipsticks disappear again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 3/25/2013 7:20:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was also under the impression that these were longlasting. I thought these were Shiseido's answer to the YSL glossy stains. On me this lasted 30 minutes and it isn't glossy at all. I got this in Nymph, thinking it would be an deep MLBB red. The color was beautiful but on my very pale, yellow-undertoned NC15 winter skin, it was just too severe and loud. It also bled like crazy so I looked like I had been eating cherry popsicles. The formula is comfortable - not too drying but also not moist. I returned it because I was looking for something more natural and longer-lasting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shiseido products

More Lip Gloss products