Algenist Overnight Restorative Cream

4.2

13 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Eau (Aqua), Isopropyl Isostearate, Butyrospermum Parkii Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)), Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Squalane, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Pentylene Glycol, Algae Exopolysaccharides, Algae Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Citrullus Vulgaris Fruit Extract (Citrullus Vulgaris (Watermelon) Fruit Extract), Lens Esculenta Fruit Extract (Lens Esculenta (Lentil) Fruit Extract), Oleanolic Acid, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Pyrus Malus Fruit Extract (Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract), Enantia Chlorantha Bark Extract, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Silybum Marianum Seed Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ceteareth-20, Dimethicone, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Hydroxide, Caprylyl Glycol, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance (Parfum), Sodium PCA, Carbomer, Polysorbate 20, Sodium Lactate, Ethylhexylglycerin


on 4/20/2015 4:32:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is truly the best night cream I've tried/used in a long time. Most I've tried haven't given me any positive effects in the morning. When I use this one after washing at night, my skin is smooth and glowing the next morning. My husband was healing from a small forehead breakout so I put some on before he went to bed. The next morning, his forehead looked amazing. He doesn't like spending a ton of creams and such but he suggested I order the full size. That's how impressive this is!



on 11/29/2014 2:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This has given me fantastic results. I have been using it for a year now, and each jar lasts me 6 months. I use it on my face and neck nightly. Yes, it is expensive, but there are a lot of other creams I've tried that are much more and didn't work as well for me. And, $90/6 months = $15/month, which honestly isn't that bad.

This cream is heavy, but not too heavy. It glides on my skin nicely and I only need a small amount. When I wake up in the morning, my skin is still nicely moisturized, and I let it stay on my skin all day (I just wipe my face with jojoba oil on a cotton round) until washing my face at night and applying it again. I have never broken out as a result of this product, and have seen my fine lines diminish significantly. It truly is restoring!

The only negatives for me are the inclusion of fragrance (although it's a tiny amount and not enough to irritate my sensitive skin) and the jar packaging. I wish this were packaged in something like a jar pump dispenser to protect the ingredients better, but I'm not sure how big of an issue this is for this product since it does contain preservatives.


on 3/11/2014 9:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite moisturizer to combat my dry skin, I use it all year round but at least daily in the winter. I absolutely love it. I am on my second jar now and plan to always have it on hand. It doesn't irritate my skin, even when my skin is at it's most sensitive. I make sure I have it with my on ski trips and beach vacations. It absorbs instantly and does it's job.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2013 5:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I also had the deluxe sample from Sephora and I loved it. When I finished the sample I bought the full size. I have no wrinkles (yet) or major issues other than big pores, but it really leaves my skin very plump. It feels nice and smooth. I've been using it every other night since July and I like it. It doesn't tighten any pores, but overall, my skin looks better the morning after. It's quite thick, but I really like that for a night cream, so I don't see that as a CON. I didn't get any breakouts from this cream either. I'll keep using it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2013 11:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I did not buy this. I got a deluxe sample in a Sephora freeclutch promo.

I used this for at least 2 months. I don't have any real issues to work on but I didn't even notice an improvement in skin texture. I see better results with my Olay Total Effects Night Firming Cream. And the Algenist is $90 for a full-size vs $18 for the Olay.

Sorry this isn't a comprehensive review. It didn't make my skin worse. It just didn't make it any better either


on 3/28/2013 4:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A perfectly fine moisturizer, nice and rich, sinks into my skin nicely. But I did not see any change in my skin whatsoever after using the whole .5oz gwp jar. I much prefer the Regenerative Anti-Aging Moisturizer. There were some mornings I'd wake up after using that and my skin would look amazing. Didn't happen with this one. Like all Algenist products, this one is expensive. I expect to see results for that kind of money. Would not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/13/2013 9:30:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

WOW!!! You just spent $90 for a product whose first listed ingredients are Shea Butter and glycerin!
Please do not get me wrong. Shea butter and glycerin are wonderful moisturizers. They are also incredibly cheap. I can pick up pure glycerin for about $5 a bottle at any natural products store and shea butter for about the same.
And, I like Algenist Overnight Restoative cream. I got a good sized sample from Sephora and liked it SO much that I wanted more samples. It makes my face nice and soft and smooth and fills in fine lines and wrinkles while not irritating. Which is why I guessed that glycerin was a primary ingredient before I even went to the Algenist website to look.

So, while I definately rate this 4 lippies, I won't be paying $90 a jar for it. Way overpriced. But a really good basic moisturizer, without a doubt. Anything with glycerin and shea butter as the two primary ingredients would be.

Ingredients listed below, courtesy of the Algenist website:

Water/Eau (Aqua), Isopropyl Isostearate, Butyrospermum Parkii Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)), Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Squalane, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Pentylene Glycol, Algae Exopolysaccharides, Algae Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Citrullus Vulgaris Fruit Extract (Citrullus Vulgaris (Watermelon) Fruit Extract), Lens Esculenta Fruit Extract (Lens Esculenta (Lentil) Fruit Extract), Oleanolic Acid, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Pyrus Malus Fruit Extract (Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract), Enantia Chlorantha Bark Extract, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Silybum Marianum Seed Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ceteareth-20, Dimethicone, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Hydroxide, Caprylyl Glycol, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance (Parfum), Sodium PCA, Carbomer, Polysorbate 20, Sodium Lactate, Ethylhexylglycerin.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a deluxe sample in a Sephora VIB bag. I had been using a FAB night cream, which kind of dried me out and made my skin weird...so I dug this out and after using it 2 days it completely fixed what the FAB did. I've been using it for ~2 weeks and my skin is amazing! This cream is very expensive, but worth the price. You don't need a lot and it spreads over the face pretty easily. It is a bit heavy, but I am one who loves a goopy night cream, I love feeling it sink into my wrinkles...ha ha. I'm not sure how big the sample is, and I'm too lazy right now to go check...but i've barely made a dent in the jar. I am really excited to try some of their other products, as I can afford them!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2012 1:24:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this cream for almost 4 months and I have to say I have seen huge improvement in my skin. It has helped with my fine lines as well as my overall skin tone. This cream doesn't clog my pores and my skin soaks it all up. My skin looks moisturized and even in the morning. I'm very happy with it.

It is slightly pricey but after 4 months, I have not even used half of the jar so I'm thinking it might last another 4 months.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2012 1:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm sure this will work wonders for other people, but this is just too heavy and greasy for me personally. Algenist's Regenerative Anti-Aging Moisturizer is by far the most amazing skincare product I've tried, so I thought I'd branch out and try another of their products. Unfortunately, this one just didn't do it for me. I'm taking it back tomorrow and exchanging it for another jar of the Regenerative Anti-Aging Moisturizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top