Jo Malone • blackberry and bay • Fragrances

rated 3.1(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Quilley on 5/26/2014 9:42:00 AM more reviews by Quilley

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Well, I had no expectations of this particular Jo Malone fragrance because I'd never sniffed nor worn anything like it. I love to eat berries of all kinds and that includes blackberries, lol. I like the way bay smells because I'd remembered the way the bay bushes smelled during Thanksgiving holidays in Virginia. Like all Jo Malone fragrances that contain fruit notes I found the blackberry to be authentic, meaning natural smelling.

As far as they bay is concerned, to my nose it's not the primary note in the fragrance, but it is still present and fresh smelling. Frankly I could take it or leave it as a stand-alone fragrance. The magic of this scent is how MIXABLE it is. I tried it with the Lime Blossom and it seemed to heighten the notes of all three notes. I tried it with Nectarine and found it to do the same thing! tried it with Roses and - no, not so much the Roses, lol.

So, if you enjoy Jo Malone fragrances in general, don't give up on this one! Simply ask for a sample vial and try it with those fragrances that you already own. Good luck! :>)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 3/26/2014 4:08:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This smelled promising on the tester strip, but on my wrist it briefly smelled like blackberries and turned into a very masculine cologne stench. I don't notice any bay leaf in this, just cologne. Disappointing because I enjoy blackberry-based scents.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 luckyerialc on 2/21/2014 12:44:00 AM more reviews by luckyerialc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Received a sample of this recently. I've worn it alone and layered with other axents. Not a fan. A bit too sharp smelling for me and it gives me a headache.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* picklemesoftly on 6/27/2013 12:02:00 PM more reviews by picklemesoftly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Lovely fragrance! Summery, with a sweet hint. Can't say I smell blackberry but I didn't buy this fragrance for its name! Only complaint: does not last very long and that's a bummer because this perfume is not cheap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jojobeebee777 on 6/23/2013 9:55:00 AM more reviews by jojobeebee777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this scent. It is a hard to describe scent but it is not overly feminine. To me it does have a fruity scent but not a cheap sweet smell like some other berry fragrances. I think this is HG status for me. I have not found a scent like this anywhere else. It is just wonderful. I will buy the $110.00 bottle when I run out. This cologne makes me happy. Also BF likes it. I LOVE LOVE LOVE It. My favorite scent... pretty much ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 4/11/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love perfumes in general but the fruity category is one of the trickiest for me. Most of the times fruity perfumes smell synthetic and juvenile or plain syrupy - which is something I can't take. I want them to smell fresh, natural, juicy and realistic.
I really believe blackberry and bay fulfills my expectations. At first I get lots af grapefruit and less berries - stays that way for a while. I don't get floral elements. The drydown is definitely unisex with vetiver, cedar and the interesting twist of bay.
Low sillage and moderate longevity.
If you're looking for an uber feminine long lasting scent look further. But personally I love it because it smells natural and energizing, upbeat and uplifting. Would repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 oliviadell on 2/28/2013 5:35:00 PM more reviews by oliviadell

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It smells like cologne for men not for women. I'm still trying to scrub the smell off me. I told my boyfriend it would smell good on him and he should were it, but I myself don't like to smell like a dude.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 highmaintenancepanda on 1/8/2013 9:44:00 PM more reviews by highmaintenancepanda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wasn't a huge fan of this perfume. I couldn't really smell the blackberry - it smelled more like grapefruit and bay leaves to me. Also "grassy". It smells nice when you first put it on, but the scent dissipates rather quickly. I took my sweater off after spraying this cologne on and put it on hours later and it smelled light and manly, not at all what I want in a perfume. Luckily I only received a sample of this and won't be purchasing the whole bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 capybara on 11/30/2012 5:17:00 AM more reviews by capybara

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Started well but I'm really hating the drydown: cheap 'n nasty, and not in a good way :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rosbergs3 on 11/18/2012 2:08:00 PM more reviews by rosbergs3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I usually shy away from Jo Malone scents as they are merely colognes meant for the commoner....the peasents but Blackberry and Bay is awesome. Probably the reason i gave it a try is because (if you are familiar with my reviews) you know i love scents with blackberries. It is not an outstanding, truely authentic scent of blackberries but it is close...nice. The blackberry scent kind of gets nudged out of the way from the grapefruit note. What really makes this fragrance stand out is the bay note. It really does smell like a big pot of pasta cooking on the stove with two or three bay leaves added. The fragrance also has a nice note of twigs or bramble or hay gathered in a basket. I like to think i am 10 or 11 years old and gathering a big armful of nice smelling twigs, hay and bramble and bringing it home as a present to my parents. It is a very clean smelling fragrance that i have gotten TONS of compliments on and it is easily wearable by both men and women alike but it is probably leaning closer to masculine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jo Malone products

More Fragrances products