MAC • Amorous • Lipstick

rated 4.2(59 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Calixnel on 12/15/2014 4:34:00 PM more reviews by Calixnel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVEEEE this colour, it's such a beautiful shade and I believe can flatter any skin tone . I believe if you're not yet ready to buy Rebel this is definitely the first step to it !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aperilpar on 8/10/2014 12:46:00 AM more reviews by aperilpar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Omg, I instantly fell in love with this color the moment I put it on my lips and looked in the mirror at the MAC store! I had no intentions of buying this lipstick when I went to the store, nor have I ever even heard of the shade. I was just looking for an everyday kind of mauve color. Idk why I've never heard beauty guru's on YouTube talk about this, but I'm so glad I found it! This is the perfect shade for those who like to wear lipstick on an everyday basis, but are too afraid to wear bold colors. I can't exactly describe what color this lipstick is.. it is somewhere between mauve/taupe/pink/plum. Very school/work appropriate, but could also be worn on a night out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 texangirl08 on 7/30/2014 9:09:00 AM more reviews by texangirl08

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipstick! Im fair to medium skin and glanced at this one and mac captive, i couldnt decide between the two so i purchased both!! Fair to medium gals, u can definately wear this!! Must try!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DoraZ on 5/19/2014 8:45:00 AM more reviews by DoraZ

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is such a lovely color, I receive compliments every time I wear it. It's a beautiful reddish plum color that reads almost like a wine red on me. I'm a MAC NW20 and although Amorous goes on darker on my lips that it would seem in the tube, I don't mind, I still love it! I was surprised to see the other reviews here mentioning the "mud" undertones because I don't see that on me at all. The wear of this lipstick is excellent as well, it goes perfectly with MAC's pencil lipliner in Half-Red and with the two paired up it can even last through a meal if I'm careful. My only consideration when wearing this lipstick is that it can be a bit drying, but I solve that by applying a bit of lip balm underneath. Since MAC's Satin lipsticks are just one step up from their matte colors, this tends to highlight any flakes or flaws in my lips too, so I just make sure to keep my lips hydrated and exfoliated. Overall this is a definite must-have in my lipstick collection, I'll be purchasing it again when I run low. LOVE!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* priyaj on 4/17/2014 8:10:00 PM more reviews by priyaj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Amorous is an odd color for me. I am NC45-50 for reference. I initially bought it because I saw a girl with a similar skin tone wear this in a review video and it looked awesome on her. The first time I put it on, I was disappointed and didn't like it - it looked darker than I thought it would. Afterwards, it grew on me but there was always something I didn't like about it. Then I realized that this color basically looks pinkish-plum with an undertone of MUD. There's a muddy look to it when I wear it alone. I can make it look good by applying a pink gloss or glaze over it.

I went to MAC and tried on other similar colors and I found CAPTIVE. Captive is basically this color but with no mud undertone. It's definitely more pinkish with a plum undertone. I love it - it's a great everyday color for me and it's a much better option for gals of my skin color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SStar777 on 3/22/2014 5:25:00 PM more reviews by SStar777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like this lipstick but not my fav mac lipstick like russian red or flat out fabulous. It is a nice shade for work. It is not very bright, very subtle shade for places where u cannot wear bright shade. Love it's quality and application. It is long lasting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glockgrl on 2/20/2014 3:02:00 PM more reviews by glockgrl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this shade...kinda plummy/purple....it's my casual everyday go to color....i put it on top of mac angel....Very lovely

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 QueenBee1217 on 11/20/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by QueenBee1217

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

LOVE it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* honu66 on 11/14/2013 8:43:00 PM more reviews by honu66

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my Second tube of this color. Viva Glam VI is an easy pop of color for my lips.
It's kind of a toned-down berry red on my lips with a hint of shine. It goes on feeling moisturizing and the color stays decent. It's a good one to have in your bag if you want to
add extra color, but not too crazy of a color. The color is as if your lips got bee-stung, but w/o the pain! It's easy to apply and goes with almost anything. This was recommended to me by
my makeup artist when I got married. She told me to go out and buy a tube for myself so
I will have it handy on my wedding day, so I have had it ever since. I think I will continue to always have it around because it's so versatile with any look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyThistle on 11/9/2013 7:33:00 PM more reviews by LovelyThistle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

MAC says this is "lovestruck cranberry" whatever that means. The color to me is the perfect medium plum. It is a cool toned muted berry shade. It has a strong impact without being too harsh for an aging complexion. Since it is a satin finish it has a great pigmentation and is not drying at all.

I have bought this color several times and I never re-buy lipsticks because I am always looking for something new.

This color goes well with cool or warm toned eye makeup. Warm tones bring out the brown and cool colors bring out the plum color.

I would recommend this to any fair/light skinned women looking for drama without the harshness of very dark lip colors.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products