E.L.F. Studio Small Stipple Brush

4.5

136 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/30/2015 2:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a $3 brush. It is similar in looks to the MAC 130, and I just don't love it. Do I regret purchasing it? I wouldn't necessarily say that. Would I buy it again? Definitely not. I find it's too small to apply foundation and doesn't apply blush particularly well. It also really doesn't work as a stippling brush, as thatjenchick articulated. Sorry to be a party pooper. I'm all for a bargain, but I can definitely live without this brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/30/2015 1:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a decent brush. Good density, not flimsy, haven't had any shedding. However I do have one big problem with this brush; I dont think it qualifies as a stippling brush!!!!
The idea behind the duo fiber stippling brush is that you have the thick black bristles at the base that provide structure and density to the brush. Then you have the longer, much finer white bristles that stick out on top and those bristles are supposed to do the actual blending and give a seamless finish.

On this brush though, the white bristles are to short and a quite a few of the black bristles stick up almost the same length as the white ones. As a result you're never going to get application or blending without both types of bristles (the white and the black) touching down on the face. This makes it close to a regular brush with a flat top. The white bristles are a nice addition though and do help with blending, they just dont do it on their own so you won't get that airbrushed finish.

Uses:
I've used this for cream blush and i like it for that, but again, I would have liked it more if it was an actual stippling brush. It also works for blending foundation, but for me personally it's too small and takes to long. With foundation it reminds me of their flat powder brush, only it's much smaller and doesn't suck up product the same way while blending.

Compared to their regular stippling brush:
It is a real step up from their regular sized stipple brush. I would say the two are not even comparable. The regular stippling brush clearly has longer white bristles, so in that way it resembles a real stippling brush more, however its so sparse and flimsy (nothing like the small one) and as a result it can't blend any kind of liquid.

Conclusion:
It is a good brush, and if you are aware that this will not perform like a stippling brush and still think you can find use for it (like for foundation or blending concealer), you should definitely buy it, because it is very good brush considering the price.

I'm giving it 3 lippies instead of 4 because it does not perform like a stippling brush. It does have other uses, but I personally dont need a "regular" brush of this size and shape and thus would not have bought it had I known that it was just going to perform like a regular brush.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/30/2015 12:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I can't fathom how this brush has gotten so many good reviews. In my opinion it's a disaster. I bought two of them based on the good reviews and they both shedded the first time I used them. I say: splurge the extra $5 and pick up the Real Techniques Stippling Brush. I own a few of them and have never been disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my go to brush. I have one at home, one in my makeup bag and one in my kit. Literally, can't live without it. Used best when blending my concealer and popping in some high light. For only $3 it's worth a try but even better it's worthy every penny!


on 8/26/2015 1:16:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love the E.L.F. studio small stipple brushes so much that I have three of them in my arsenal of brushes.
They're so versatile and I use them to apply primer, foundation and cream blush. I like the small size in particular for cream blushes which helps me control the placement.
After a number of washes, they still have their shape and no shedding.

E.L.F. has some great makeup brushes and the prices can't be beat.
They're great for makeup newbies who are building their brush collection and for long time makeup lovers.


on 8/26/2015 12:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have 2 of these, I love it. It's my go to blush brush because I like my blush to be very subtle and not all over the face and this brush gives me that. It's also very useful for highlight. I have to say Emily Noel made me buy it and love it, this is her video on this brush:




on 8/14/2015 2:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

my first stippling brush and I absolutely love it i just switch from mac studio fix powder to revlon liquid foundation and I used the brush with the liquid and it goes on beautifully. I never thought I'd have such perfect coverage and finish with a drugstore makeup and brush. the brush makes it so u don't have to use alot of product also which is a nice little bonus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2015 11:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

THis is a GREAT Brush! I own both the MAC 187 and 188, and to be honest, I feel this brush performs the same as those two for powder at least. It lasted me through about 6 washings so far, and sadly I messed it up because I melted the bristles after I held my blow dryer too close to dry it. I won't repurchase this since I have the Mac brushes, but this is absolutely a steal for function and form!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2015 3:52:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this brush! I bought 2.One is for cream blush and the other is for highlighter. It also works great to smooth out foundation in corners of nose and eyes. Will definitely buy again if i ever have to replace it. Works as well as my larger mac187 brush, only smaller!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2015 6:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is Sooo unbelievably soft! It feels like a little bunny tail and it applies cream blush Like. A. Dream. It blends beautifully and feels so nice in my hand

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top