Smashbox Photo Finish Hydrating Under Eye Primer

3.5

45 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/26/2015 12:26:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I read about this product here at MUA a while back and became curious about it, in spite of the somewhat "iffy" reviews. I've been using it for about 2 weeks now and here's the verdict:

The price is ridiculous - $32 Canadian for a really small tube of the stuff - 1/3 of an ounce, which isn't even 10 mls. Extortion!

The packaging - the "applicator tube" is stupid. I tried peeling off the silicone looking "over-cover", thinking it was a layer of protective packaging and, in the process, ended up accidentally causing a lot of this product to squeeze out. At $32 for less than 10 ml., I don't want to be wasting a DROP of this stuff. This applicator also makes it hard to squeeze out just the amount I want on my under-eye area. I either get not enough or too much (again, that wasting thing...) and applying with this thing is sort of dopey - I'd rather just use my finger.

BUT, having said all that, this stuff is great. I apply it over my eye cream, let it set a bit and then apply my concealer and - VIOLA - no under-eye creasing or settling at all even without using a setting powder or taking special care with how I apply my concealer. I don't know how well it hydrates and my under-eye circles are too dark for this to brighten them sufficiently but it does leave a nice surface for applying concealer. The real test will be seeing how this works with my disappointing tube of Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer (which I find neither radiant nor creamy) - if it helps with that, it will be (almost) worth the price!



on 4/28/2015 4:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the most underrated products I've ever used. This past winter in Canada has been really cold (wherein -20C actually felt warm), and I was having trouble with my under eye concealer looking very dry and cakey despite using butt loads of eye cream beforehand.

Ever since purchasing this, I have come to understand the true gravity of the term Holy Grail. This product somehow makes everything smooth and gives the concealer an undetectable, skin like finish. I literally cannot tell I am wearing concealer, even with a huge magnifying mirror in front of me. I find it works equally well with both solid and liquid concealers, though I prefer to use this with a solid one (Bobbi Brown's creamy concealer). Not a lot of product is needed, either, as this primer glides on and spreads easily.

I can't say whether or not this prolongs the wear of my concealer, as I don't have problems with concealer fading, but it certainly prevents it from looking thick and unnatural, which is my first priority.

I don't think it'd have a huge effect on wrinkles or fine lines, either, but it does prevent settling ever-so-slightly.

(This is the only makeup product I have that absolutely blows my mind away.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2015 1:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Not bad, don't really notice a difference.


on 3/30/2015 8:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

can't tell the difference between days i put this on and days i don't. it doesn't actually do anything. my undereye concealer still creases. :(


on 3/17/2015 5:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

great product, really light not cakey and colourless... just dont get alot for $£ brightens eye area but wont conceal therefore expensive as will need to add other product after application.


on 3/14/2015 10:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Fabulous product! I was having problems with dry skin under my eyes and foundation caking there making it look like I had bad wrinkles (oh the horror!) so I saw this while I was buying my foundation and bought it on impulse without trying.

It's amazing, it's pink tinted so it helps with dark circles, and it's really moisturising too, works very well. The packaging is a squeezable tube with a wide, flat, angled applicator rather than a thin nozzle, so you can apply it straight to the eye and smooth it in which means no product is lost or wasted.

*TIP apply this directly before foundation/ concealer to prime the eye AND if you need it later in the day dab a little on over makeup to re-moisturise and perk your eyes up.

Xx

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I keep rebuying and trying other things which i don't like as much.

As many have said, it ain't perfect but its sure good. I like what it does and for me I can use it with a small amount of mineral powder and my 40+ eyes look fresh and not fake.

If you like a full on makeup look this would only be a short step in the process. Personally i think it works best alone.


on 9/25/2014 10:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pros:
- Smooths out the under eye area to help concealer glide on
- Concealer lasts longer
- Brightens dark circles
- Concealer doesn't seep into my fine lines as much..

(Keep in mind that if you have fine lines under your eyes, when you layer concealer over it, it WILL crease! But there are techniques and products you can use to lessen this.. This product will help with that, but it will not completely prevent concealer from sinking into the fine lines.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2014 9:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is possibly one of the worst things that I have ever bought in terms of it not doing what it's supposed to. It goes on nicely, but does absolutely nothing else. My fine lines were still visible and my concealer still settled into them. Don't waste your money on this, buy a good eye cream instead!


on 6/18/2014 4:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I think this primer get my concealer to cover better and last longer. It does not work alone but with concealer on top gives it a fresher look. I will definitely buy again unless I find another under eye primer from another brand. I love to try something new.




Top Rated Smashbox Products

image

Brow tech

358 reviews
Back to Top