Reviva • 5% Glycolic Acid Cream • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.5(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 JRelic on 12/30/2013 more reviews by JRelic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Long term, I hope this thing does the trick for my scars! I will say, I've used it for a month and it stings when it goes on and seems to be working - glad I waited on the 10% version! Fingers crossed this is my miracle scar cream.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 9/26/2013 9:23:00 AM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive skin and I have tried 35% lactic peels before, so I thought my skin could tolerate this. When I first put this on, it stings... actually more than the 35% lactic peel I have. The stinging went away pretty soon though, so I thought everything was OK. When I woke up, my skin was slightly bumpy and felt like it had been sweating a little. This is a sure sign of the skin getting some kind of bad reaction. When I looked in the mirror, my skin tone was less even than the day before - I had pink areas around my nose, lips, on my chin, forehead and on my lower cheeks. I didn't give up, waited a few days and tried again, but got the same result. I kept trying for about 2-2,5 weeks, but had no improvement, so I stopped using this. I have several different products that stop discoloration of the skin, and they neither sting or irritate my skin. I'll use those for hyperpigmentation instead. I would not recommend this for sensitive skin, even in the 5% concentration.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NightAng3l on 9/26/2013 9:09:00 AM more reviews by NightAng3l

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this cream after reading multiple awesome reviews about this product on Vitacost.. it just seemed like review after review was branding this cream a miracle in a jar! So I bought it to try it out. They recommend you try the 5% first before the 10%. It comes in a little plastic jar, very simple packaging but does the job.

I've used this cream every night for 4 nights now and I am noticing tremendous changes in my skin (Even after the first application)! Acne scarring that had been there for weeks has diminished significantly, I am sure it will be gone by next week. My skin is smooth, moisturized and soft, my makeup looks better and I am also using less since I don't need to cover up scarring any more. Also i feel like its evening out my skin tone :)

The instructions say to spread it on your skin and let it sit for one minute before putting moisturizer on. For me, I felt a slight tingling sensation when I put the glycolic acid cream on and then I top it with a good layer of Sukins Night Cream and then Rosehip oil.. the tingling then goes away.. I haven't had any peeling or anything (or break outs) yet. I have noticed that if I scrub first (St Ives apricot scrub - quite harsh) and then put the glycolic acid cream on it will tingle more but this goes away after I put my moisturizer on.

All in all, I will continue using this cream, I am excited to see further results.. soon I wont need to wear makeup to cover up acne scarring or uneven skin tone bits (except eyes.. always had dark eyes). Not sure if I will move to the 10%, I'll see how this one goes by the time I finish the jar, if my skin isn't tingling by the end of the jar I'll move on to the 10%. Also did I mention you don't need much of this cream at all? It's gonna last me ages!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clarabeau on 8/13/2013 12:43:00 AM more reviews by clarabeau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this cream! I actually like that it's fairly simple and has a short, natural ingredients list. I have very sensitive, combination-dry, clog-prone skin so I have to be careful with what I put on it, especially with actives. That is not easy when you're also battling the occasional breakout! Basically, most products meant to exfoliate make me break out, because my skin is so thin and sensitive. However, aforementioned minor clogging issues and the odd blackhead on my nose mean that I need something to (very, very GENTLY) slough off the offending dead skin. This is the only thing I have ever found to do this for me while not making face red or sore or burnt, or breaking out further. I think it's due to the low concentration of glycolic acid. If the 5% doesn't work for you and you need something a little stronger, they also make a 10% cream as well.

I'm really glad I can actually use this all over my face, almost every night. Sometimes, after a few days I'll notice some pinkness and my face feels a little warm so I will take a break from it for a night and all is well again the next day and I can go back to it. I also add a moisturizer afterwards, but if your skin is more resilient and not as dry you probably won't need to. I will probably need to scale back to every other night in wintertime since my skin is even more delicate then but for now, this is a permanent part of my nighttime routine :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rbooh on 6/5/2013 10:47:00 AM more reviews by rbooh

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I bought the Reviva 5% on a whim, it was in a tiny pot for 3.99 at my local health food store. Even though it seems tiny, I use so little that this pot will last me a month at least. I have been interested in trying a glycolic acid after doing a TCA peel and reading about how to improve my experience for the next peel.

This stuff is amazing! I noticed my skin was much smoother after just one use. Ive only used it every other night because this cream does sting (plus I'm lazy and I hate washing my face every night). It didn't sting at all the first time I used it but subsequent uses have left my skin very itchy and burning, but it is definitely worth it.

I have tried many face creams and been very disappointed (I even paid $300+ for Amway Artistry Luxury cream which did absolutely NOTHING). The Reviva absolutely works. I had a very bad 3in pressure wrinkle on my cheek from where I sleep and I have been using the cream especially on that place. This morning I woke up and the wrinkle is GONE. Not just diminished, not just a little plumper - it is not visible at all! I have had this place on my face for 20+ years (I'm 44). My esthetician even tried botox and TCA on this wrinkle and nothing worked. The next step was a filler and I'm not that desperate yet :)

The packaging (for the tiny pot) has no instructions. I would not exfoliate prior to using this cream, or use any kind of harsh cleaner. I normally use an Olay basic anti-aging face wash and it proved to be too hash to use prior to the Reviva. I switched to Noxzema.

I definitely recommend starting with the 5%. My skin isn't particularly sensitive but this stuff is powerful and it works! I'm impressed and amazed.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Summer8167 on 5/12/2013 10:52:00 PM more reviews by Summer8167

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This product is awesome! I had bought it at my local health food store after a recommendation of someone on the boards and reading the MUA & Amazon reviews. I'm a harsh critic on skin products because I really do believe that a lot of products are scams/rip-off's -- but this product really does work! I've noticed a difference with my fine lines and my acne has completely cleared up. I have hormonal acne and get blackheads from time to time an now they're gone and I haven't had to use any acne creams or washes etc. My skin tone seems more even and I have one acne scar that seems to be fading. Additionally, this product is relatively inexpensive and a staple in my routine. I've read some people had stinging or a little irritation but I had zero stinging or irritation! I have fair skin, blonde hair green eyes - so my skin does get irritated from some products but I had no problem with this one! Definitely recommend - 5 stars!!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 edamameb on 10/17/2012 1:07:00 PM more reviews by edamameb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

One of most effective creams I've used. I have oily, rough acne prone skin. This smoothed it out quite a bit and prevented new breakouts very effectively. Did I mention it's really cheap for the price too? It dries and mattifies the face, so those with dry skin may benefit from reviva's hyaluronic acid serum on top. Love this line, want to try their glycolic acid toner next. FYI I have sensitive skin and it tingled the first week, but it's no longer an issue. Highly recommend this as a way to start on chemical exfoliants/ comedonal acne treatment. Will move up to the 10% if my skin gets "used" to this. Packaging is blah but perfectly functional. Easy to travel with.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 okuko on 8/20/2012 10:26:00 PM more reviews by okuko

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this for a few nights and I must say it really works. It does sting and it's very important to not get to close to the eye area.
My skin is a lot clearer with smaller and noticeable cleaner pores.

Will update after a few weeks.

UPDATE

still awesome treatment, makes my skin much much better lokking, less clogged pores and smoother.

Highly recommended!

Buying a second jar now!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Reviva products

More Treatments (Face) products