Blistex Simple and Sensitive

3.3

22 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Microcrystalline Wax, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Jojoba Esters


on 5/13/2015 1:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lip balm has a weird scent; it smells like paint. It also feels sticky on my lips. This lip balm does not work for me. I will not repurchase!



on 1/22/2015 9:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm still not sure what my exact thoughts on this are. I originally purchased this because of the small list of ingredients and no flavor; I usually reach for a peppermint flavored balm. After using this for a couple days though, I kind of miss the flavored balm. Also, this has a weird texture- almost gel like ? When I use this at night, I can still feel it on my lips in the morning which is good I think. I'm not sure really what the difference is between this and just petroleum jelly because it kinda tastes the same and goes on the same texture. For the price though, it does its job. I'm not sure how it would fair if you have already chapped lips. There are so many other options out there Im not sure that I would buy again. I also use Blistex 5 star lip protection during the extreme mid-west weather. Also a good product for the money.


on 11/12/2014 4:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Tastes awful but it does its job.


on 7/24/2014 11:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

this is the only lip balm that I can use. I have a weird issue where my lips bubble then crack and peel if I use anything irritating. besides bacitracin this is the only other product I can use. however I have had some issues with consistency with one or two. and I reapply often all day everyday.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Green

It's cheap and the tube doesn't fall apart in your purse, but plain vaseline does a better job any day of the week. I bought it because it doesn't contain any flavor or sunscreen, but I'll be darned, it's drying on my lips if I use it regularly.


on 10/23/2013 7:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

With only 6 ingredients, minimal chemicals, no odor and a nice creamy texture, this lip balm is my favorite.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2013 4:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Light and moisturizing, no scent, decent price. Not waxy or goopy at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2013 4:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

PROS
-smooth texture and application
-unscented
-no flavour
-beeswax-free (if you have an allergy...)
-cheap
-moisturizing

CONS
-bumpy texture after short time

This was bought on a whim at Rexall one morning on my way to work. After being disappointed by the peppermint version of Burt's Bees lip balm, I replaced it with this one. I chose this balm primarily because I didn't want a flavour or scent, neither of which this balm has.

It worked just fine for me. It went on smoothly, felt nice, wasn't sticky or greasy-feeling, wasn't too thick or thin, lasted a decent amount of time (between one to two hours), and was moisturizing. It's a basic drugstore lip balm that's a good staple to have on hand.

Oddly, it did get a bit of a bumpy texture on the surface of the balm only a month or so after I bought it. This is something that I've seen a few times in various lip balms. Not sure if it's something to do with the quality of ingredients or the ingredients' age. Sometimes this bumpiness makes other lip balms grainy-feeling. But this particular lip balm still works and feels just a nice despite this.

One unusual use I found for this ip balm was on my toddler's nose. After coming down with his first bout of croup, his nose was particularly red and raw from being so runny. Since we'd run out of non-petroleum jelly to put on his face for this purpose, this lip balm was the only thing I could think of that would be moisturizing enough yet gentle on his skin (he randomly reacts to chemicals in moisturizers, so I have to be careful about what I put on his skin). That this lip balm soothed his skin and didn't cause any adverse reactions is a bit of a testament to its effectiveness and claim to being simple and for sensitive skin. If I can apply this to the nose of a 17-month old child and still have this lip balm do it's job, then that's good enough for me. I'll definitely be keeping this lip balm on hand for myself and for my son.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/3/2013 3:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I normally don't have dry lips nor have i had whatever i had on Thursday my lips got sooo sooo red irritated and sore. So i went in saw this for a dollar and bought it , it did absolutely N O T H I N G i dislike this product and won't use this again.I love me some carmex. Carmex helped healed and soothed my lips love it <3


on 7/25/2013 4:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I chose this because it contains no irritants (minty flavors I'm looking at you!) or coloring, it's like what it says - only the essentials.

PROS: To quote Snagglepuss, "Exit stage left!"

CONS: This does literally nothing. It is something that sits on your lips, and probably better than having 0 lipbalm, but in terms of moisturizing in the short OR long term, it does nothing. My lips are still dry as usual and it doesn't do diddly squat. It does give them some sheen though.

OVERALL: There is no point to this. The review is short because how you can review something that doesn't have any effect at all?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1532 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
178 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3610 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top