Bumble & Bumble hairdresser's invisible oil

3.5

39 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Hydrogenated Ethylhexyl Olivate, Isododecane, Dimethiconol, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Gardenia Tahitensis (Tiare) Flower Extract, Bis-Cetearyl Amodimethicone, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Hydrogenated Olive Oil Unsaponifiables, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Squalene, Tocopherol, Linalool, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Fragrance.


on 8/12/2015 10:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've tried a lot of dry oils, and they're my favorite styling product on the market. The reason behind that is I really think dry oils are a "one-size-fits-all" product. If your hair is fine in texture like mine, awesome - they're called dry oils because they're light in consistency. If your hair is coarse, awesome - dry oils know no limits when it comes to moisturizing. The key is to figure out the "magic amount" when applying. Finer hair needs less, coarser hair needs more. If you find your hair looks weighed down and greasy - chances are you're either using a dry oil impostor OR you've applied too much.

With all that being said, as stoked as I was to see another dry oil hit the market - this one is just "meh". I can appreciate that it isn't full of rubbing alcohol. And I can also appreciate that it contains a bunch of natural oils. However those natural oils are causing it to be heavier in consistency. I do think of Bumble and Bumble Invisible Hairdresser's Oil as a *true* dry oil, however it is not the lightest on the market. I found that applying too much lead to nasty looking hair, yet applying a proper amount meant risking some of my hair to not be fully saturated.

Last con on my list - the price. I'd be fine paying $$$ if this was amazing. However my $7-$8 Ion Keratin Dry Oil Mist at Sally Beauty Supply out preforms it. For the ingredient list you're getting, it sure isn't worth more than $15. I will not repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 7/31/2015 2:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this oil & it works amazing on my hair. Naturally, I have thick wavy hair...but I always straighten it. So I am always on the lookout for trying new hair oils/serums. I apply about 2-3 pumps on my dry hair, after I straighten it. WOW. Very light weight, makes my hair smooth, soft, frizz-free & shiny. I like this way better than morrocan oil. Only complaint is that this is pricey for how big the bottle is. You only need very little, so it should last a while. I would definitely reccommend.


on 5/27/2015 11:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Love this product! I use it once after I towel dry my hair and once again after I blow dry it, only from mid-shaft to ends. I try to keep it off the roots, but will lightly apply if i have fly-aways.
The only downside is, it's quite pricey, but I can see a little bit goes a long way, so this will probably last me a long time.


on 5/24/2015 3:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this oil in hope it will tame down the frizz to the ends plus I was happy to learn it also works as a sunscreen. But it turned out to be horrible - no matter how much I put my hair looks super greasy, it looks like it coats every single hair strand and the result is just not pretty at all. Maybe these are silicones which are guilty for that. Anyway, I paid a fortune for it and now I don't know what to do with it.


on 5/13/2015 5:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Meh. It's very lightweight which is great, but it doesn't do much for frizz or styling or even detangling on it's own. I seriously have to layer this with other product to make it worth my while and since I'm lazy, I don't want to...


on 5/8/2015 1:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

A lovely oil, but unfortunately just too much for my hair. It does tame the fluffiness I get sometimes, but it also seems to weigh the hair down as the day goes on.


on 4/9/2015 1:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a magic potion! It's light but controls frizz, provides thermal protection, increases manageability and the effectiveness of styling products and makes my hair really, really shiny. I spray this elixir on damp (not wet) hair and let it air dry overnight. In the morning, I use Bumble and Bumble Does It All styling spray and a curling iron to create loose waves. The first time I used the primer, I noticed that my waves were more defined and the curl held well all day and into the next. While some of that is certainly the styling spray, it doesn't work that well by itself. The two products together give me a great hair day every single day. The primer is rather thick and smells wonderful but it's suitable for fine hair (mine's medium, somewhat wavy and prone to frizz). The primer also has moisturizing oils that hydrate really well. If not for my schizoid waves, which are distributed evenly throughout my hair, I could likely go without styling products at all. My hair is shiny and it's really bouncy and absolutely no frizz even though I live in Florida where the humidity is off the rails! The primer is expensive ($29 I believe) but the regular size is generous and you don't really need to spray much at all for it to do its job. Look at the reviews on Amazon, YouTube and the BB website. You'll see that this is a very popular product. I recommend it all the time on HB. Try it and you'll love it as much as I do.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2014 11:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is probably one of the products I'm most excited to write a review about. I moved half a year ago and found a new salon that a lot of people online recommended. They use all Bumble & Bumble products. I can confidently say it was the best haircut I've ever gotten. I have high maintenance, curly, unruly, THICK, and frizz-prone hair. This stuff makes my hair look like a Pantene Pro-V commercial model's hair. I use it after I do a blowout with a round brush using a touch of the b&b straight blow dry cream and my hair becomes soft, silky, and luxurious. I need to mention that I've been to salons in the past that never thought I could achieve smooth hair. It takes some work, but this product is a life saver. It also actually protects your hair from heat so it not only makes your hair look amazing, it also shields it so it continues to look amazing. b&b products are expensive, but it's really worth it in my opinion. I'd really like to try the Hairdresser's Oil shampoo and conditioner as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2014 10:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I received two sample vials of this from my salon, and I'm really surprised by how much I like it. My hair is very fine, but there's a lot of it, and a lot of styling oils weigh it down and give me a greasy look. This oil is very lightweight and doesn't weigh down my hair at all. I use it when my hair is wet, right before blow drying, and I feel like it does quite well with heat protection. My hair feels soft and healthy even after all the heat styling that I subject it to. I would consider shelling out the money for the full size bottle.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2014 4:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok so after a stop off at Blue Mercury I sampled the new B&B invisible oil. Let me just start off by saying that I have never been all that impressed with any B&B products. They are average at best, but way overpriced. The sales girl assured me that this was going to be lighter than my morroccan hair oil, which was my main attraction to this product. After trying this out at home I wanted more. Haven't gone back to repurchase--yet. However, now that my sample is all used up I may have to consider biting the bullet. This is definitely a lighter weight oil than most on the market and has an incredible scent. Once I can get past the price tag I will buy a bottle.

Overall it made my hair silky, smooth and shiny. Would suggest this oil to someone who is looking for alternative to their morroccan oil.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Bumble & Bumble Products

image

Brilliantine

155 reviews
image

Defrizz

104 reviews
image

Sunday Shampoo

80 reviews
image

Prep

107 reviews
Back to Top