Chanel Coco Noir

3.6

57 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/1/2015 12:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This fragrance is one that I am in love with but no one seems to comment on. It makes me feel empowered, elegant and polished.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/19/2015 2:49:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Drying my toes at the nail place last summer/early fall, I caught a whiff of something really different, intriguing. Aha! It was definitely worn by the chic lady sitting next to me. Of course, I asked her, "What is your lovely fragrance?" The answer was gently delivered in a genuine French accent: "Coco Noir." Well, knock me over with a feather. I had sampled it several times a couple of winters previously, and not been that impressed. Bought it, of course. Then reverted to being unimpressed. After the lovely flacon had lived among all my other fragrances for months, I gave it a random spritz last week, and now can't get enough of it! Go figure. Fragrance is so mysterious. Haven't received any compliments or complaints about Coco Noir yet, so we'll see how long this honeymoon lasts. Meanwhile, it seems to help me fall asleep, whatever that indicates aside from my bliss at sniffing my wrists day and night!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2015 1:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My favorite nighttime perfume! This perfume is so addictive and I just can't get enough of it! It's more appropriate for nighttime than for daytime because it's really strong. This perfume to me is sex in a bottle. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2015 12:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have sampled the EDP version of this several times, hoping that I would eventually come to love this, but I can't get over my feeling of being duped or tricked or some such thing. I have both the original Coco: I got a dram bottle of pure perfume at the department store when it was first launched and they were giving away little bottles filled from an urn. It has lasted me all these years, used judiciously. I have Coco Mademoiselle, which to me only hints at the original, but still contains some of the "sass" of the "Madame." But this? Where is the Coco? Where is the Noir? Don't get me wrong: it's a nice enough floral fruity scent. The name and glorious black bottle suggest a depth and mystery that is utterly lacking in the actual scent. Reading the reviews, I understand why people swoon over the bottle. But you can't wear the bottle! Well, I suppose you could string it on a lanyard and wear it as an accessory, but I doubt the look will catch on. I suppose I will never really understand why multiple "versions" of a fragrance have to be released. Well, not really: it all boils down to sales and profits and I sort of understand that. But it is, to me, the fragrance version of multiple movie sequels such as the Friday 13th, Saw and Nightmare on Elm Street franchises. Each successive version gets a little worse... What next? Coco Blanc? Coco Vanille? Coco Oud? That seems to be the trend. I can imagine Coco Chanel herself thrilling over the bottle of this scent, but actually wearing it? Nope.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

My new signature winter/fall scent. This was my first high end perfume and I debated between all the Cocos but this was the one for me in the end. It is basically a compromise between Mademoiselle and Coco so if the first is too sweet for you and the latter too overpowering/musky for you, try Coco Noir. On warmer days the scent is more sweet and on colder days it is more sharp. It has detectable notes of grapefruit, rose, tonka bean, vanilla, and sandlewood to me, and I love rose amd sandlewood so I had to get it. It definetely changes throughtout the day to a more floral and then to a more sweet, musky scent. The bottle looks elegant and sleek but the sprayer is tricky for me. The scents lasts the whole day if used with an unscented lotion for me. One thing to bear in mind is that the name is misleading, it is not a dark scent but simply a more toned down, warm version of Mademoiselle. It is not a masculine scent in the slightest, it is very femine in my opinion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2014 11:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

As much as I liked the perfume on its own, mixing it with lily of the valley takes it to a whole other level. Sophisticated, beautiful, complex; my boyfriend can't get enough of it, either. Signature scent. The only caveat is that it doesn't last as long as long as I'd like it to.. Most perfumes disappear on me quite quickly, so I'm the type that re-spritzes during the day.. But the Chanel can be a little too strong for a quick spritz in certain situations! :( Seriously considering getting a similar scent made for me.


on 9/21/2014 10:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just tried the new Coco Noir pure perfume and body Creme. It smells so beyond amazing I turn myself on!! The notes are totally different than the EDP. The pure perfume contains vanilla sandalwood and bergamot. Run, don't walk, and experience this incredible scent

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/2/2014 11:48:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I didn't like Coco Noir when it first came out, but my nose is getting used to the woods used in Noir and in many other fragrances today. In addition to woods, I get florals and powder on top for much of the life of the perfume, and a lovely raspberry-vanilla emerges toward the end. Occasionally some of the incense of Coco peeks out at the final drydown. Very comfortable, complex, versatile fragrance that "grows on you" to the point of being addictive. Coco Noir is very much it's own fragrance with only a hint of similarity to other fragrances in the Chanel portfolio. The Coco Noir black-and-gold bottle is so elegant and classic. Full bottle worthy for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

More wearable than the original Coco, but I still recommend Chance or Mademoiselle over this. Coco Noir is another typical older lady fragrance imo.


on 4/16/2014 3:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Coco Noir reminds me in some aspects of Tom Ford's (now discontinued) Black Orchid Voile de Fleur. To my nose, both scents open with Jasmine, and are overloaded with a similar mix of heavy, syrupy floral notes. To be clear, I love wearing Jasmine in many of Chanel's classic fragrances, but the florals in Coco Noir are way too sweet for my liking and I find it very cloying on my skin. I first tried Coco Noir around its launch during the holidays in 2013, attracted by the beautiful bottle and the reference to "Noir". I sprayed it on a card and was very unimpressed. On my skin, I didn't like it either, but this week I decided to revisit Coco Noir after visiting the Chanel counter for a makeup purchase. I was given a sample but again, Coco and I did not click in any way that would lead to a full bottle purchase. I like my fragrances to last and have sillage, Tom Ford's original Black Orchid is one of my staples, and a prime example of a "Noir" fragrance in my book. While the lasting power is good, unfortunately Coco Noir does not work for me in any other regard. I would have loved to take home one of those stunning black bottles, but it was not meant to be. Alas, at least my wallet rejoices.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Brit Sheer
110 Reviews
Child
199 Reviews
Kim Kardashian
174 Reviews


Back to Top