Chanel • Coco Noir • Fragrances

rated 3.5(48 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 4/16/2014 3:26:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Coco Noir reminds me in some aspects of Tom Ford's (now discontinued) Black Orchid Voile de Fleur. To my nose, both scents open with Jasmine, and are overloaded with a similar mix of heavy, syrupy floral notes. To be clear, I love wearing Jasmine in many of Chanel's classic fragrances, but the florals in Coco Noir are way too sweet for my liking and I find it very cloying on my skin. I first tried Coco Noir around its launch during the holidays in 2013, attracted by the beautiful bottle and the reference to "Noir". I sprayed it on a card and was very unimpressed. On my skin, I didn't like it either, but this week I decided to revisit Coco Noir after visiting the Chanel counter for a makeup purchase. I was given a sample but again, Coco and I did not click in any way that would lead to a full bottle purchase. I like my fragrances to last and have sillage, Tom Ford's original Black Orchid is one of my staples, and a prime example of a "Noir" fragrance in my book. While the lasting power is good, unfortunately Coco Noir does not work for me in any other regard. I would have loved to take home one of those stunning black bottles, but it was not meant to be. Alas, at least my wallet rejoices.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NinaGrimes29 on 4/3/2014 6:17:00 AM more reviews by NinaGrimes29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this perfume soooo much! It's amazing, I don't understand why it got so much hate here. Forget the scent, can we talk about packaging?! When I first took it out of the box I was almost turned on by how sexy it looked. So sleek and chic and sophisticated. To be honest when i first smelt it before i sprayed it, i didn't like it, i thought it smelt too strong and too old-lad-ish. But when i actually sprayed on i was blown away. It lasts forever! I love sweet scents and this was that and much more, it has flowery notes too and they all combine together beautifully. It's very expensive but I think it's totally worth the money. You don't need too much of it because it's so potent and scent lingers for a long time. A lot of people compare it to Coco mademoiselle and I kinda agree with that. I loved Coco mademoiselle too but it became very popular very fast and even though it also smells amazing, everyone wears it or knows the scent, while this one is relatively new scent and you don't risk running into bunch of people wearing same scent as you. This might not be a big plus for you but it is for me. I don't really care if someone is wearing same top as me but when someone smells like me i kinda get little bit annoyed, idk that's kinda like my weird pet peeve.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FyrePhoenix on 3/24/2014 11:42:00 AM more reviews by FyrePhoenix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I remember when this arrived at the store where I work. I ran over with the tester to the Chanel counter and grabbed a blotter. Sprayed the blotter, waved it about to let the alcohol evaporate, and fanned it under my nose. EEEUUUWW! Not impressed, and pretty disappointed.
Before Christmas '13, they sent us a bunch of Chanel samples - Mademoiselle, Coco, Coco Noir, Chance, and Number 5. One of the girls in another department came by and asked for samples after I had given a few to someone else. A couple days later she came back and asked for more samples of Noir, said she really liked it. I was kind of surprised, I figured older women would like it much more than young women. The samples are all long gone, but that same girl still asks every once in a while if I have received any more.
It amazed me that she liked it so well, so I figured I should try to put it on, see if I was missing out on something. I picked up the tester and sprayed one pump on the back of my neck. Went about my day, and would frequently catch wafts of loveliness. By the time I got home that night, I loved it. LOVED it! It's sultry, in a slow-burn way. Mademoiselle is sultry in a rather in-your-face way.
I really can't pick apart the notes. As another reviewer said, it is very well blended. I can only say, to me, it smells very burnt-orange. Doesn't smell black at all. It's dark enough to be good for nighttime, and light enough to be good for daytime. It lends itself well to any season, although I'll probably hold off during the summer - I have other light, fresh fragrances that will get more attention at that time!
This one is a keeper!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 John3303 on 10/25/2013 11:44:00 AM more reviews by John3303

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I am a man and I wear Coco Noir. I love the spicy fragrance which makes this perfume acceptable for a man to wear. My wife bought me my own bottle for christmas :-)

I think it can best be described as made for a woman but strong enough for a man.

Call me girly if you want to but my favorite fragrance to wear is Coco Noir by Chanel.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DandyBohemian on 9/23/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by DandyBohemian

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The title "Noir" is entirely appropriate: The fragrance has ingredients you will find in Noir scents. It is also about as "Noir" as today's woman wants to get. You have to look at ANY fragrance in perspective, considering the tastes of the time. We are also a global market more than ever, and perfume houses take that into consideration. I love that there is a very large size shower gel and body lotion for Coco Noir now, an excellent value for the money, and they have a beautiful smell. So let your imagination carry you away and allow yourself to luxuriate in this creation that has a very inspiration back-story!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hollyms on 9/15/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by hollyms

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Once again from the house of Chanel... a winner. My mother and I were introduced to Coco Noir while visiting the Chanel counter of Nordstrom. The lovely SA told us it was new. It blew us both away immediately. Now, I am already the owner of Chance and Coco Mad - both of which I adore. CN, however, MUST soon be added to my collection. I don't think I can live without it. (Fellow perfume addicts -you'll understand what I mean!)

Coco Noir is strong, bold, and sexy. Yet at the same time, universally flattering and unobtrusive. She definitely has a nighttime mood to her but the right person could pull her off during the day. The projection is strong, but, like I said, unobtrusive because despite her strength, there is a delicateness about her - my mother walked in and out of my room and left behind her a gorgeous trail of something I couldn't pinpoint (as I didn't know she'd applied her CN sample), but just smelled really, really freakin good.

I could see CN being a perfume for every age of woman from her 20s on up. Different from Chanel's other offerings, and a must have for me. Yum.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tabloid on 8/29/2013 5:12:00 PM more reviews by tabloid

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the original Coco, a warm, spicy Oriental, so I thought that I'd probably love this too. I like it, but I don't love it. It doesn't remind me of the original at all - it's a pretty floral, nice but not particularly unique or noteworthy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pixietrixie on 7/16/2013 7:49:00 PM more reviews by pixietrixie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Perfume reviews are difficult, because it all depends on a person's body chemistry. Even the most expensive perfume can make someone smell like a pig in mud. With that being said, I absolutely adore this perfume! It works so well with my chemistry, and dries down to a sweet musk. The only problem is that it isn't as strong as Chanel Coco, nor does it last as long. And considering the price, I would like to get my money's worth.

Edited to add: Noir is not the right name for this. So definitely give this a chance of you're put off by strong, musky scents that usually go with this label. It's sweeter than any other noir I've tried, and it's soft enough to wear during the day too.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci01 on 6/9/2013 7:23:00 AM more reviews by staci01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

If the original Coco and Coco Mademoiselle had a baby it would be Coco Noir. The original Coco is my signature fragrance and I also like Mademoiselle for a nice patchouli punch from time to time. Coco Noir is such a tease as you think of Coco but then perhaps the house of Chanel decided to make it more intense? Heavier on the jasmine or labdanum or , hope of all hopes, the leather note? Alas ... no! *sobs* Just Coco Mad in the opening and mid and then a slightly fruity original Coco in the base. Arg. Coco Noir is nice, I will give it that, but it's not Noir to me. Noir says "Danger ahead!" in a mysterious way. Coco Noir has no danger. Chanel went the , sadly, safe route with the fruity notes. The black bottle is gorgeous (!!!) and I would buy a bottle just to look at for my collection as it is very noticeable right away. Will stick with the original.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pauvres on 6/9/2013 7:07:00 AM more reviews by pauvres

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I don't get the shade surrounding this fragrance, it's amazing! Chanel is the best fragrance house simply for the fact that they each compliment each other while standing on their own. This recent addition has the floral citrusy-ness of Mademoiselle, coupled with the ambery sweetness of Coco, yet it stands apart from them. Classed as a night fragrance, I would say it is a lighter version of Coco but still long lasting. The base of sandalwood and vanilla really shine, and are complimented beautifully by bergamot and the florally mid notes (jasmine and rose.) It is wonderfully balanced, beautifully crafted and is truly one of the top fragrances of the year. Also, the bottle is so chic I can't deal. A true star.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Fragrances products