LUSH Eyes Right Mascara

3.7

32 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/28/2015 12:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was given this mascara as a gift, so I can't speak to the price, but this is the WORST mascara brush EVER.

I've been using brushes from different tubes of mascara to apply this product. It goes on well and is only slightly prone to clumping. I have not had any issue with smudging and it is easy to remove with soap and water. I'm just generally very meh toward this product. There is too much competition for me to waste my time on this dud from Lush.



on 1/6/2015 12:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love the brush, great for a natural look or you can layer it for thick fake looking lashes. Handy size for travelling and lasts ages despite only being small. Also great as I have sensitive eyes this doesn't contain lots of different chemicals and is easy to remove.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/22/2014 4:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is my favourite mascara ever! I've always found that by the end of the day my eyes are watery and red... Not with this product. My eyes are happy all day, and it comes off really easily when I wash my face. It does not smudge under my eyes like other mascaras do, even waterproof ones! It applies very smooth and I never have any clumps. The brush feels weird the first few times but now I love how short it is because I have much more control. I usually do two coats and this stuff lasts me way longer than any other mascara. It's really easy with the small brush to apply just to the outer corners as well, which I like rather than applying multiple coats all over. I hope Lush makes this forever!


on 8/31/2014 1:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Really undecided on this product...

It is very natural looking and very good for day-to-day wear. It leaves lashes very soft, and has a great colour. I don't overly mind that the wand is very short, but I'm not a huge fan of the wand itself - by this i mean the bristles. I find that the shape of the wand/the bristles are not as good as many others I have tried.

The product takes a long time to dry. I find I have to be very careful for a long time after application to avoid getting it everywhere.

One thing I REALLY love is that it can also be used as a gel eyeliner. Goes on and stays on beautifully. I prefer this as an eyeliner than as a mascara.

At the end of the day, I'm very undecided as to whether I would re-purchase this. The high price is a deterrent, and even though it is really good and natural for lashes, I think I would need more convincing to buy this again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This has to be the worst packaging on a cosmetic product ever! I donít mind the brush being short, but the rim of the cap is very wide and so itís extremely difficult to get the wand anywhere near your eyes without leaving smudges everywhere. I was so disappointed that I returned it to the shop for a refund. Even the Lush manager agreed that the packaging was terrible and admitted that the other SAís bend the wand to a right angle to get it to function. Canít comment on the quality of the product as I didn't get to use it.


on 7/10/2014 11:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This would be my HG mascara if it was even mildly waterproof. It is not waterproof at all. If it is raining outside, this will smear down your face. If you cry, you will lose it all. If you get watery eyes, prepare to have some smearage. Thus, I only wear this if I'm not PMSing and if there is no forecast of rain. It's kind of sad when you have to check the weather before choosing your mascara. Seriously.

PROS
- does not create clumps
- darkens and lengthens
- leaves lashes feeling soft
- lashes feel stronger and healthier after using

CONS
- not waterproof AT ALL.
- glass bottle isn't safe for travel (or allowed on planes, right?)
- extremely short brush/wand

I only do one coat, so this gives no volume. Other reviewers mention that it is buildable. I cannot confirm because I have not tried it. If you have short and few eyelashes and you only want to do one coat, this is NOT the mascara for you.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2014 5:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I'm not totally in love with this mascara but I would purchase it again. At $15 for me, it was twice what my usual mascara cost. It comes in this weird tiny black jar instead of the regular tube which I thought was really cool. The mascara itself has a very faint scent to it that is pleasant and dissipates quickly. I've noticed that it makes my lashes clump together though and I really hate that. I have to comb my eyelashes before and after application before this dries in order to prevent that. It's a bit of a pain. It also takes a long, long time to dry. Like, this should be the last step in your eye make-up routine or you WILL get black gel all over everything. Nothing really bad to say about it though, I would recommend that a friend give it a try. I think it's one of those products that you either love or hate.


on 4/11/2014 6:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Words cannot say how much I love this mascara. At first I was on the fence about the packaging and the mini wand brush. But now after several weeks of use I have gotten use to it and actually prefer it! Its so easy to use and with the shorter length I can really get to all the shorter lashes and easily apply to my lower lashes. The formula of this mascara is unlike anything I have ever used. It is impossible to clump! Its very inky, liquidy. Beautiful rich dark black color, I like the smell and it doesn't irritate my super over sensitive skin/eyes. It easily comes off with my mary kay eye makeup remover. After several weeks of use I feel like my lashes are healthier, maybe even thicker. Its easy to build up some volume with this stuff, apply, let dry a few moments and then reapply. My HG for sure.


on 3/31/2014 3:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have horrible ocular allergies. How bad, you ask? Well, my eyes act up even when it isn't allergy season. I have prescription eye drops that I need to use every day. I tried wearing contact lenses, but it turns out that I can only wear glasses because my eyes dry out the lenses within less than half an hour of wearing them (even if I do add eye drops), leaving my eyes all red and bloodshot. At one point, I had to back away from eyeliner and mascara for a year, since it made my eyes act up so much. Meanwhile, when it IS allergy season, it gets so bad that I want to claw my eyes out.

I bought this product because it was promoted as being a gentle mascara for allergy-prone eyes. Well, I quite like it. I don't wear mascara all the time, and I can only still wear eyeliner on my upper lashline (no waterlines or lower eye at all), but this one hasn't aggravated my eyes that badly. (As a side note, I still have random, unrelated "attacks" -- a.k.a. bad days where my eyes aren't having it at all.) Also, I'm extremely happy that this mascara is cruelty free, since that is the only kind of makeup that I will buy.

Does it curl? Well, for me it works decently. However, I'm the jerk who has eyelashes that curl with pretty much any mascara, and I have never needed to use an eyelash curler before. (Before you get jealous, take comfort in the fact that you probably don't have ocular allergies that are as bad as mine.) However, I've noticed that my lashes aren't as curly with this mascara as they have been with others. If you have stubborn, stick-straight eyelashes, I would approach this mascara hesitantly.

I'm not a fan of the wand -- it's too short. A little bit more length would make a world of difference. It's a bit of a learning curve when first using this, since the short length caused me to almost poke my eyes out a few times. While I'm on the topic of packaging, I'll add that I'm still not sure how I feel about the bottle-type packaging that it comes in, as opposed to a tube. I feel like I'm getting less product, or that the small packaging makes the product dry out more easily, but it's certainly easier for traveling and it takes up less space in my makeup bag.

As for the price, $18.95 (USD) is a bit steep for the size you're getting, but alas, this is typical Lush pricing.

Considering my terrible ocular allergies, and the fact that I rarely wear mascara (pretty much special occasions only at this point, certainly not during the day), I will buy this mascara again. It doesn't irritate my eyes as badly as other mascaras have (though I'm still prone to "attacks"). Sure, the brush could be a little bit longer, and for those with stubborn lashes, the curling power isn't the best it could be, but I'll take this product over another mascara that would make me want to rub my eyes raw.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2014 9:35:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Well, I love Lush products, but this is just a bit too natural for me. It feels lovely and soft on the lashes, but unfortunately on my lashes (fairly long and black) you can't really see I'm wearing it at all. I imagine it would be good if all you wanted was to make fair coloured lashes go black.

The wand is very odd - a fat brush on a VERY shork stick - personally I fould it quite difficult to use. Also, the colour does transfer to my (slightly hooded) lids.




Back to Top