Unlisted Brand • Benzagel 5 Acne Gel • Treatments

rated 3.8(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Roaringtempest on 3/4/2014 9:59:00 AM more reviews by Roaringtempest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2.5% SPOT ON BENZAGEL TREATMENT!

Since it is apparently unlisted. It does say New! on the package and I am unfamiliar with this product, but New! in marketing is a very vague term.

So, I decided to try the Regimen which simply consists of gentle cleansing, application of BP, and then moisturizing. Twice a day.

I made the mistake of settling for 5% BP which, for my skin at least, was far too harsh. I then switched to Benzagel spot 2.5%. This review will be for my initial opinion and I will update it in a week or so with my further findings.

Day 1-7:
Packaging is a bit weird, but eh it works. Application only stings a bit for the first hour after application vs intense burning for 4-6 hours after application like 5%.
Still drying, but no where near as bad. Still appears just as effective. Possibly more so since I can apply this twice a day again (had to cut back to once a day with the 5%).
Price is a bit steep in comparison. My mom picked it up for me and she said it was about $15, persagel was $6.49.
Still some itchiness, but my skin doesn't feel as tight. Essentially all the common side effects of BP but much milder than when I was using Persagel 5%.

WAIT FOR UPDATES :3

Update 1- End of Week 1, full 7 days of treatment.
Okay, so here is my first update as promised :) I don't know if it's because of the formula or simply the lower dosage, but the benzagel is having very few side effects on my skin! No more burning at all after application, ever. No more tightness. The dry skin is actually getting better as well! Itching still occurs sometimes but it's completely manageable. Only slight redness also. Progress acne wise is a little up and down.

Regimen/acne progress: Still getting new pimples, but only 1 or 2 each day and they clear up in a day. Blackheads are almost completely gone. New pimples are also much smaller. Overall, seems positive so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emilie1hope on 1/16/2014 1:00:00 AM more reviews by Emilie1hope

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is great. I'm 30 and just started getting adult acne. It has worked wonders for me. Especially for the acne around my jawline. I've been using it over a week and already I notice a HUGE difference. And it was only 16$ for the bigger tube. You also don't need a lot so it lasts a while. I will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mlleange on 11/27/2013 12:02:00 AM more reviews by mlleange

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Too drying for my skin. I used to use this when I was younger - and had oilier skin with more acne. But these days even to use as a spot treatment on break outs it is too drying... any skin it touches will literally peel off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mepep9 on 6/5/2013 12:10:00 PM more reviews by mepep9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for a while now. I was first using it only once every three days to keep my skin clear but since I switched birth control pill, I've been breaking out like crazy and my skin got really oily (I used to have combination skin, on the dryer side). I started using the gel twice daily and it keeps my skin from getting too oily and clears my skin. Only down side, my skin got dried on some spots. Overall, great product and I will definitely rebuy.

UPDATE: I've been using this product twice daily for a few months now and my skin is now really dry... My acne is mostly under control so I'll keep using it anyway.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Delaylah on 1/18/2013 12:38:00 PM more reviews by Delaylah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this as a spot treatment for a few years and have repurchased many times. For a 5% product I have gotten very little irritation from it and it works fairly quickly at clearing up jawline clogs and cysts that pop up around that time of the month. It's a gel consistency that spreads and absorbs quickly. It's not sticky or flaky which is a big bonus, since it wears well under MU.

I wouldn't recommend for very dry or sensitive skin, but for combo oily skin like mine, this stuff is a good purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rambow on 12/28/2012 10:49:00 AM more reviews by rambow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I actually prefer this to PanOxyl water-base gel, even though this one has alcohol in it. I have naturally oily skin, so the alcohol doesn't bother me. This has a smoother texture than PanOxyl and seemed more effective, more quickly. I sometimes mix it with a dab of Cerave moisturizer if my skin is on the dry side. This doesn't give me any irritation or rash, so I'm happy. The smell is slightly minty/medicinal, but I kind of like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joyousjoy88 on 11/4/2012 8:38:00 PM more reviews by joyousjoy88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

On my search for a spot treatment product and out of them on the shelf I came across this one by benzagel. I've tried many different brands from clean&clear to neutrogena etc. This was on the expensive side of creams at around $10. It is 5% benzoyl peroxide and is a gel cream. I give this a low rating as this worked to an extent but I've seen faster results from other benzoyl peroxide products. On the packaging it says that slight stinging, peeling and redness may occur and that this is evidence the product is working. I honestly don't think that any product that could give this kind of reaction to your skin will be good in the long run. I have felt slight stinging and I have very sensitive skin. Unlike other acne products though this isn't drying which is a plus. Overall I don't think I will repurchase. I keep this now as back up if I don't have anything to use on a break out, but it is not my go to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brittclow69 on 8/1/2012 3:15:00 PM more reviews by brittclow69

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Miracle product!! My hormonal acne has been all over the map, through the roof, crazy for a long time now and I thought what the hell... and purchased this product at a drugmart... Came to about 10$... My face has cleared up sooooo good with this and I hardly get any pimples at all anymore.. The only thing I am left to deal with is the scarring but that I can live with if it means no more pimples...

This is a 5% BP product so if your not use to using BP products your skin my have to adapt to it as it can be drying.. The way I began with this was applying a pea sized amount to my face for half hour every evening after cleansing... I would then wash this off and apply my Cetaphil moisturizer.. After a few weeks I just started applying this at night and letting it dry for about 5 minutes followed by my moisturizer and left it on for the evening.

I cant get over how well this stuff worked for my face after trying countless amounts of expensive products and having nothing work.. I will continue to use this every night!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments products