Benzagel 5 Acne Gel

4.1

15 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/30/2015 10:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This review is for the 2.5%!

I started using the 5% at first, but is was really, really drying - which is to be expected. Since it irritated my skin, I found the 2.5% instead. The first week or so was dry and a bit flaky, so be sure to moisturize on top before bed. After the breaking in phase was over I did not experience and stinging, dryness or irritation.

Of course the best part is this treatment keeps my hormonal chin/jaw acne at bay! Even without active breakouts, I apply this to my face every night to ensure it stays relatively clear. Maybe one day I won't have hormonal acne anymore, but until then this does a great job at minimizing the situation!



on 2/19/2015 2:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This really helped me get rid of my acne breakout last year. Yes the stuff is harsh, there was a lot of flaking, but getting rid of pimples is never really pretty unless it decides to clear on its own... Which it wasn't in my case. I use it when I see a pimple popping up and i *feel* like it speeds up the process of bringing it out and getting it over with.. On a few occasions I've seen a bump go away after applying.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The only product out there that cleans up zits overnight. I wouldn't go without this product, ever. I put on a lot, and then it gets white and flakes off (that's just the excess), but the flaking does not affect the treatment process because a little goes a long way, it's just that I honestly have never been able to put on "just a little" of anything. Moreover, you can moisturize on top of this and it still works. Should be in the possession of anyone who ever has to deal with problem skin! My HG zit zapper par excellence.


on 2/12/2015 2:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this a couple years back and I recall it completely cleared up my acne (my skin responds well to BP in general). Once I felt I had my acne under control I weened myself off BP. My skin stayed relatively clear for a bit, but then one day it just started getting worse and worse. I cleansed diligently, exfoliated, made sure to moisterize and spent countless dollars on acne targeted products, but nothing seemed to be helping.

My acne was clearly hormonal, and my chin area in particular was completely out of control. I was avoiding BP out of fear that it has the potential to accelerate the skin aging process. But seriously guys, the way my skin was breaking out, man I'd take a wrinkle or two in exchange for the mess of pimples that were popping up each day.

I bought this, used it, and within a week about 90% of my pimples were gone! Yes it dries out your skin, but just remember to use this at night and then use a moisterizer in the morning. Once my skin was almost all clear, I switched to using this on single blemish spots only. Seriously this stuff works and has truly brought back a nice clear completion for me. The super relentless acne on my chin still shows up but nowhere near as big and as stubborn as it was before. This was pretty inexpensive as well. It works!


on 1/18/2015 3:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love how this gel worked for me !! I have oil ,acne prone skin so I used a whole bunch of cleansers and scrubs and masks before I found this wonderful gel . I first started using it as a spot treatment like it said to use it or the infected areas ... But it wasn't working so well I was also using a oil free lotion to combat oil .... I finally used them together combining lotion and the gel into one ! I used the cetephil oil control lotion . I used it twice a day . Once under my makeup ... And at night time it leave the skin feeling soft almost like a makeup primer I used both products equally , seems like a lot of product but it been working for me for a while and it hasn't stoped even while I have a hormone outbreak . I also use the nuteregena acne wash (Orange foam) cleanser . It's a Must try , hope this helps :)


on 12/28/2014 2:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is great. I use A LOT of it. What I find helps is when you get a pimple, put a big dab of it on to completely cover it - after a few times it'll dry up and go away. It works the same as all benzol treatments, but what I like is that its clear and not too drying.


on 10/19/2014 12:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Wandering through the aisles of Walmart has paid off! I came home with what is now my favourite drugstore acne product (& okay, other unnecessary things).

I've had acne for years - probably close to 10. In the beginning I didn't try much besides the infamous Neutrogena cleanser. When my skin kept getting worse, with the pimples spreading all over my cheeks & turning into cysts, I was prescribed antibiotics & topicals. These had no effect, so eventually I was put on Accutane. While Accutane did clear up my skin during this time, by the following year my acne had returned. I wasn't interested in taking it again, so I was left to just mope about my skin once again & hope that over time, things would get better.

But nope! At least, not until I started using benzoyl peroxide. I had been watching a beauty vlogger talk about her own battles with acne, & she had stated that some people respond well to salicylic acid while others, like herself, only see results with benzoyl peroxide. Her statement intrigued me, but I forgot about it until a trip to Walmart & I was perusing the pharmacy aisles.

This. Stuff. Works.

I got the 5%, which I later learned is very harsh on the skin, especially for those who haven't used benzoyl peroxide before. (They suggest starting off with 2.5%.) The first week was brutal. My face stung & it was red & dry - extremely dry. I almost discontinued using it, but I had read that this was normal, so I kept going. Within weeks, most of my acne was gone - bye bye pimples & painful cysts. The longer I used it, the more my skin cleared. I couldn't believe it. While I had a lot of hyperpigmentation & scarring (for me, no matter what, pimples will always leave something behind) my skin was actually smooth. As happy as I was (& am) I was also pretty annoyed that my dermatologist never mentioned any OTC products like this!

It's been about half a year now, & I still love the product. I've probably had about 5 new pimples during these past 6 months, which to me is a HUGE improvement!

Please don't feel discouraged about the dryness & redness in the beginning. POWER THROUGH. My skin burned & I had patches of dry flaky skin. If you give up at this point, you won't see any results - you're meant to keep going! This is only the first stage! My dryness was bad particularly around my mouth & nose, but I used a warm wet washcloth to buff it off & a good moisturizer during the day. After this initial period, my skin got used to the product & calmed down. Note: at one point I was out of town & forgot to pack my benzoyl peroxide; when I came back & used it again, my skin burned & got very dry again, although not nearly as much as it did in the beginning, despite having been away for only a few days.

If you're suffering from acne & think there's no hope, give this a try! & use it consistently for at least a few weeks before throwing in the towel. Which is another thing - towels! I sleep with a towel over my pillowcase, because this stuff WILL bleach your fabrics. I only use it at night so I haven't had any issues of bleached clothing, but my pillowcase & now towels are a different story. Well worth it though IMO - I can always buy more towels whenever I repurchase more tubes!


2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2.5% SPOT ON BENZAGEL TREATMENT!

Since it is apparently unlisted. It does say New! on the package and I am unfamiliar with this product, but New! in marketing is a very vague term.

So, I decided to try the Regimen which simply consists of gentle cleansing, application of BP, and then moisturizing. Twice a day.

I made the mistake of settling for 5% BP which, for my skin at least, was far too harsh. I then switched to Benzagel spot 2.5%. This review will be for my initial opinion and I will update it in a week or so with my further findings.

Day 1-7:
Packaging is a bit weird, but eh it works. Application only stings a bit for the first hour after application vs intense burning for 4-6 hours after application like 5%.
Still drying, but no where near as bad. Still appears just as effective. Possibly more so since I can apply this twice a day again (had to cut back to once a day with the 5%).
Price is a bit steep in comparison. My mom picked it up for me and she said it was about $15, persagel was $6.49.
Still some itchiness, but my skin doesn't feel as tight. Essentially all the common side effects of BP but much milder than when I was using Persagel 5%.

WAIT FOR UPDATES :3

Update 1- End of Week 1, full 7 days of treatment.
Okay, so here is my first update as promised :) I don't know if it's because of the formula or simply the lower dosage, but the benzagel is having very few side effects on my skin! No more burning at all after application, ever. No more tightness. The dry skin is actually getting better as well! Itching still occurs sometimes but it's completely manageable. Only slight redness also. Progress acne wise is a little up and down.

Regimen/acne progress: Still getting new pimples, but only 1 or 2 each day and they clear up in a day. Blackheads are almost completely gone. New pimples are also much smaller. Overall, seems positive so far.


on 1/16/2014 1:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is great. I'm 30 and just started getting adult acne. It has worked wonders for me. Especially for the acne around my jawline. I've been using it over a week and already I notice a HUGE difference. And it was only 16$ for the bigger tube. You also don't need a lot so it lasts a while. I will definitely repurchase.


on 11/27/2013 12:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Too drying for my skin. I used to use this when I was younger - and had oilier skin with more acne. But these days even to use as a spot treatment on break outs it is too drying... any skin it touches will literally peel off!


Popular Treatments (Face)


Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top