Kat Von D • Lock-It Tattoo Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(458 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 KLynn88 on 10/22/2014 1:23:00 AM more reviews by KLynn88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

On the fence with this one. I think it's good for a "night out" foundation, or whenever lighting isn't an issue. However, I feel like it looks pretty unnatural and heavy for the daytime.

The coverage is great though. I have a lot of redness in my t-zone and chin that needs to be covered up, and this does a great job. Does irritate my skin pretty noticeably though, and can dry out my red patches, which looks awful. Not as long-lasting on my oily skin as Revlon CS... but pretty close. It looks nasty as heck when it gets oily on my t-zone, as well (instead of just getting dewy like Estee Lauder DW or Revlon CS).

Overall, I will skip this one next time when I need a full coverage and opt for Estee Lauder Double Wear again. Similar staying power and coverage, but less irritating and more natural looking. For day ware, I think I'll stick to my Jouer Matte Moisture Tint or (on bad skin days or super long days) Revlon CS.

ETA: A little goes a LONG way with this stuff. One pump will do my entire face, with a teeny little extra pump for my neck. It does look better on the skin when you use the least amount you can, while still getting the coverage you want.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SmaugtheMagnificent on 10/22/2014 12:55:00 AM more reviews by SmaugtheMagnificent

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first time ever getting a makeup product this expensive. I was so excited, i made a special trip to sephora just to buy this. I used it the next day, i even whipped out my brand new beauty sponge. When i applied it, i liked it. you could tell a huge difference between the side of my face that had it on and the side that had nothing on. I have a lot of redness through out my tzone that i could never cover up, so this was a shock to. I was pleased, i made it a little cakey by accident but i could work with it. Well after i started to powder my face, i started to notice that it was sinking into my pores a bit and it started turning a darker shade, kinda orange. I had it only for not even ten minutes. I probably could have went back and got a lighter shade but i was too disappointed to bother again and plus i was worried it would jus dioxidize (im guessing thats the word im looking for) im sure its amazing for other people but it just wasnt for me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RainbowbriteTT on 10/21/2014 1:34:00 PM more reviews by RainbowbriteTT

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

After years upon years of wasting money on different foundations I have finally found one that has this much coverage. it's like I'm photoshopping my face when I'm using it. It covers everything!!!! The only issue i have is that because of my oily skin my nose gets shiny after a while, however I am a Caribbean woman so it is nearly impossible with our weather to not have shiny noses. Still giving this full marks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 acbaker82 on 10/21/2014 8:54:00 AM more reviews by acbaker82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I originally hated this foundation. It doesn't blend easily enough to use your fingers and too thick for a foundation brush, it always picks up too much product, making it thick on your face. A damp sponge works best. I do however, love this for a concealer, and here lately, this is pretty close to HG since I have been using the Gossmakeupartist no foundation flawless face method. I put a half a pea size on my fingertips and one pump of my Clinique DDMG. It looks like a second skin when I use this method and I love it!! Wears very well on my combo oily skin. This is the only way I love this for everyday wear. Wearing it full coverage all over I think is with this foundation its just too thick and you can feel it on the skin. I will repurchase this tho, as it is wonderful for special occasions, photos, and when you do need full full all day wear. This doesn't cover tattoos like claimed, but gives the best coverage I have ever found in a foundation. If your not loving it, try it as a concealer or shear it out with moisturizer, I love using it this way.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alexanne3 on 10/19/2014 12:18:00 PM more reviews by Alexanne3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very oily skin, I also ride horses in the wind/dirt/humidity and this foundation stays on perfect with no primer or setting spray. The only problem I have with it is transferable): like if you don't touch it all day you look amazing but God forbid you hug someone or using the blotting oil pads on your face and it's gone): but over all I love this foundation it blends we'll and looks flawless, I use a little bit of the make up forever duo mat powder around the noise area since I am oily and they seem to be a great pair! I've been buying this foundation two years now ( I wear it everyday) and I'm only on my third bottle this stuff last forever. Plus if you swim or shower with it on it stays. This stuff is fantastic even though it's pricey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KodyT13 on 10/19/2014 5:40:00 AM more reviews by KodyT13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I've bought two bottles of this this far, so I feel pretty confident in this review. Sadly, after this bottle, I don't think I'll be repurchasing.

First off, the line has good color selection for different tones, undertones, etc. I bought it in Light 45 which has a yellow undertone. I'm incredibly pale, like "only fits two foundations at sephora" pale. This foundation is at least 2-3 shades too dark for me, and Light 42 is just too pink. The consistency is also a huge problem for me. You have to put on a primer beforehand, and even then it still feels like applying paint, it's so thick. I have to apply with my fingers to really get it spread out. I used to mix with moisturizer but that doesn't really work. It also has a problem with sinking into pores, so be sure to have a really good primer.

One big problem I have is that on the packaging it boasts of being transfer resistant. It isn't. I've set it with powder. I've left it alone. No matter what, the second I touch my face, answer the phone, lay on the couch, it rubs off. I've never had that problem before and it's incredibly frustrating.

In the end, this foundation has too many problems for me to even think about repurchasing. The price tag is too steep for it to have all these issues. Most of KVD's cosmetics are great, but this one is a solid miss

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PearlSuicide on 10/19/2014 3:48:00 AM more reviews by PearlSuicide

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Best foundation I've tried yet ! I have very oily skin & eventually after an hour or so, I would always have to powder my face because my foundation wouldn't last . I love apply it with a blending sponge ( blender ) , but before adding the foundation I wear primer . Do not forget the primer . I can't stress it enough how primer makes a huge difference . It will be cakey & feel weird without it . . . Anyways , it's RARE now when I have to pat my face , or powder again . Great coverage ! & a small pump of foundation goes a long way

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Gutierrez94 on 10/19/2014 3:25:00 AM more reviews by Gutierrez94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It is a great high coverage foundation! But it is so cakey! No matter how I try to apply it sponge, brush, hands, etc it is so hard to blend to a non-cakey appearance. And it does dry very quickly so you have to work fast. Love the coverage it gives but it looks a little too much for me. Wouldn't repurchase. Thank God I got this for a birthday gift:)!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HannahLDR99 on 10/15/2014 10:56:00 PM more reviews by HannahLDR99

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation covers amazingly but I would not use it as a foundation. It is super cakey and sticky. Numerous methods were used to apply this but it came out looking horrible every time. Even though it is horrible as a foundation, it is a great concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brittneyleigh on 10/15/2014 5:52:00 PM more reviews by brittneyleigh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I went for this foundation after sampling every single foundation I was interested in at Ulta, Nordstrom, and Sephora.

My goal was to find something that provided full coverage for hyper pigmentation, that was good on combo skin, that would last all day, that I only needed one layer of, and that I didn't have to worry about breakouts with.

When I gave this list of requirements to the Sephora assistant, she waltzed right on over to this foundation as if she knew this was exactly what I asked for. She was totally right. This stuff checked off on all my requirements, and continued to impress me everyday for 3 months. I also do attribute some of my excitement for my foundation routine to my amazing precision brush by Bare Minerals.

Anyway, I have about 10% of the bottle left, and for the last month and a half, I have been reaching for my Naked foundation more often because this stuff just bothers me now. Having combo skin, this stuff has began to cling to dry spots, appear cakey, has started settling into under eye creases (yuck), and slide off after a few hours due to oil. This also happened with Naked (hmmm). It has certainly lost its edge with me which is a bummer, because I really tried every single product (grueling) I was interested in after researching for a large amount of time on top of that.

Luckily, I remember my runners up! Your Skin But Better CC Cream by IT Cosmetics, and Shiseido UV Protective Liquid Foundation. These two provided a long wearing and full coverage finish just like Lock it, but also provided a fresh and dewy look that matte lovers, like the lovers of Lock it, tend to shy away from.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kat Von D products

More Liquid products