Kat Von D • Lock-It • Liquid

rated 4.0(365 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Bunnieskat on 4/15/2014 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Bunnieskat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so mad I returned this product for te tarte foundation!!! I'm going back this weekend to repurchase this is the only foundation that covers all my acne scars . Even tho it's very hard to blend and emphasizes dry patches. I found that when I mix it with my loreal true match , I just add a few drops . It goes on so much smoother and creamier I love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jadaite on 4/12/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by jadaite

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product, it covers very well and you don't lose that dewy look either. I do agree that it is quite thick and you have to blend it really, really fast! It is great for a bride or bridesmaid. It might be too thick for everyday use if you are not used to the full and thicker coverage. I am used to full cioverage so I have no complaints and it stays all day. I have gotten as much as 10 - 12 hours coverage. I do not have oily skin though. Over all one of the best foundations out there!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hondurena89 on 4/11/2014 7:14:00 AM more reviews by hondurena89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I forgot to do this review yesterday. This foundation is so good that I can't even get into reviewing it. Just go get a sample and try it. It's hands down to best foundation I have used. Just got it two days ago. Omg this is finally the stop where I get off the train for searching for my perfect foundation. I have found it. After two years of searching for a full coverage foundation to replace my old full coverage foundation that was discontinued. I will not ever buy another foundation as long as they keep making this one. The only thing I can say it's that if your are thinking about buying this foundation...go try it first. IT WILL NOT COME MELT OFF IN SUMMER HEAT....I LIVE IN HOUSTON AND IT WAs HOT AS CRAP YESTERDAY AND NOOOOO MELT DOWN. NOTHING. I need to find out the proper way to remove this foundation. It does stay on. Women of color try this foundation. They have shades for us. Im a nc50 and deep 68 works perfect for me. Oooohhh thank the father for kat and her team to create this.thank u kat von d.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Applehead09 on 4/9/2014 4:19:00 PM more reviews by Applehead09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I am a medium 64. Does what it says. I have very oily skin kept it Matt all day. Good product. Must try. Be care with choosing your skin color, there isn't a wide range of tones. But I will def repurchase again if I need to. A SMALL drop goes a long way. $32.00 at sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Clo0107 on 4/8/2014 12:17:00 AM more reviews by Clo0107

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS STUFF! I an nc30 in Mac and have a very yellow undertone. M53 is the most perfect match I've ever had in a foundation. It's long wearing and controls my oil better than anything. My face looks flawless and anything I put on top continues to look great as well. This is now my hg!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GreekGodess on 4/6/2014 8:14:00 PM more reviews by GreekGodess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Its a greaat foundation, thick and full full coverage, I am a light medium , and I took shade 48 as 52 would be a tad too dark and more yellow, maybe if i have a tan, I wear Urban Decay in Shade 4, or Sephora foundation in shade 20 Y. Mac C3. You have too blend this out with a beauty blender, its thick and if you use a Sigma foundation brush i find it leaves it too thick,, A little goes a long way,,, It covers super well, but i dont need that kind of coverage, i just wanted it cause i have obsessions with foundations.... But its a great buy and the coverage is awesome, make sure you have a beauty blender to blend this out, Kat Von D has a great line, I hve a few products and i love them all....

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 gdallar on 4/5/2014 5:52:00 PM more reviews by gdallar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

PROS:
-good coverage
-doesn't break me out
-good shade selection

CONS:
-holy mother of God it's thick
-cakey. I don't know how this could look anything close to natural
-pricey
-difficult to apply, because of its thickness

Overall, I do not recommend this product. I thought it would be HG because of my acne and scars, but it is simply not worth the disgusting look it gives my skin after application. Sorry, Kat:/

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lizzchan12 on 4/3/2014 10:35:00 AM more reviews by lizzchan12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

If you have combination/oily, problem skin this foundation most likely will work well for you. I have combination skin that can get oily during the humid summer, as well as blemish scarring and occasional breakouts. This foundation definitely blurs my skin's imperfections and gives me a polished look.
I like this product in the sense that it certainly does live up to its claims. It keeps skin matte, has even, full coverage, and stays in place as long as you wear it. The packaging is also very convenient and sturdy, which I love because a lot of foundations are so difficult to handle and very messy. For me personally, however, this foundation is a little too full coverage. Even though I have problem skin, I still prefer foundations with medium or medium-full coverage at most. There is nothing wrong with this foundation, I just prefer a little lighter coverage.
The only complaint I have about this product is it dries on skin so quickly and you must have a very good beauty tool to use this foundation. When using this foundation,I would recommend placing a small amount of product on your beauty tool and covering your face in sections, instead of doing all the face at one time because this foundation will set and dry quickly.
In addition, for those of you with dry skin or skin with any dry areas, beware if using this product because it is definitely a matte, full coverage foundation, so any dryness will be accentuated. In all, this is a good product that provides what it promises, and I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice full coverage, shine control foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amypenner on 4/1/2014 12:06:00 PM more reviews by amypenner

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this foundation!! My old HG was EL double wear, which is also fantastic, but if you have any red marks from acne or scars, this foundation covers much better than DW.

The consistency is thick, so you have to spread it quickly and make sure to blend really well. I alternate between using a sponge, and my clinique foundation brush.

Even though I could not find my exact match, I purchased two, and then mix it myself. I have come to the conclusion that, if a foundation line has only a handful of colours, the chance you will find an exact match is very small, so if you can purchase two and mix them, you will find you get such better results!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stellar on 3/31/2014 1:53:00 PM more reviews by stellar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is seriously amazing. I have tried so many different long-wearing foundations and have found a few that I like well enough, but there was always something a little "off" with them. ColorStay: Looked great but didn't give me full coverage and didn't last as long as the others. ColorStay Whipped: Looked beautiful but dried me out a little due to the salicylic acid in it, didn't last as long as even the regular CS. ELDW: Made my skin a little itchy, gave me bumps on my cheeks and forehead and sometimes small pimples on my chin if I wore it too many days in a row, also dried me out. MAC ProLongwear: Lightest shade was too dark, beautiful finish but broke me out on my chin badly, smell was pretty terrible. Smashbox 15 Hour Foundation: Probably my previous favorite. Long lasting, yet didn't dry my skin out, beautiful finish and coverage, no irritation or breakouts, no scent.


Kat Von D Lock-It foundation is truly a full coverage foundation. It *completely* covers my moderate under eye circles AND the redness around my nose, which is no small feat. I *do not need concealer* when I use this foundation. None. Nor do I need a setting powder. It applies easily and quickly (I use the Sonia Kashuk flat top brush) and actually looks *natural*. I'm always stunned at how beautiful it looks on my skin. It makes my face look brighter and younger. I get quite a few compliments when I wear it! It definitely lasts all day for me and holds my blush in place all day as well. I'm a MAC NC15/NARS Gobi and I wear shade 44 in this foundation. It states that it's for beige undertones and I'm definitely more neutral/warm than beige but it matches perfectly. I understand there was an even lighter shade previously but apparently they discontinued it? That's a shame... It's so hard for ultra pale people to find a good foundation match. This does not break me out or make me itch.


This foundation does have a noticeable clay smell when I first apply but it dissipates quickly. The bottle looks awesome (as do all Kat Von D products) and the packaging overall is wonderful. Take note though - when you first buy this product it comes with a little plastic pump stopper or plug in it. Save that! I meant to, but bought this while out of town and ended up losing it. I wish I had it now. It makes carrying it around for travel much easier, and would be great to replace even after each use at home. My only complaint about this foundation is that it *can* dry me out a little if I wear it a lot of consecutive days. (I don't wear long wearing, full coverage foundations every day.) I've been battling a terrible case of dry skin since fall though, so I really can't fault the product for that. And what little it does dry me out is nothing compared to what some of the others do. I just make sure I wear a rich moisturizer underneath. Oh, one more thing - it also doesn't photograph well at all. I'm pale enough as it is but I look about five shades paler in pictures when the flash was used. So...not great for photography. Also does not contain SPF.


I will definitely repurchase!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kat Von D products

More Liquid products