Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation

3.9

521 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Polysilicone-11, Butylene Glycol, Isononyl Isononanoate, Silica Dimethicone Silylate, Dimer Dilinoleyl Dimer Dilinoleate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Glycerin, Isododecane, Sodium Chloride, Methicone, Glyceryl Caprylate, Calcium Carbonate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Trihydroxystearin, Potassium Sorbate, Methylpropanediol, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Disodium Edta, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone. May Contain (+/-):CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492 (Iron Oxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxide), CI 77499 (Iron Oxide).


on 3/3/2015 10:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the HG of foundations! Very nice full coverage, and one pump covers my entire face. I have had a hard time finding a foundation that covered my freckles in a way that still looked good, and this foundation does just that! It lasts all day,and never oxidizes on my skin. Ver happy with this purchase. The packaging is super cute too, with black little roses on the sides! Love it! I highly recommend!



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I found this product too thick and heavy for me. I have been using it for areas of my face that are red and need concealing but not all over

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2015 9:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I think I have finally found my favorite full coverage foundation. I am NC20 in MAC, and came up as 1R05 with Sephora's Color IQ, so I got Kat Von D foundation in Light 48.

Packaging:
Very cute plastic bottle with a PUMP! There is a plastic piece that goes over the opening from which the foundation comes - I choose to recap, rather than throw away that piece - to prevent drying and keep the foundation hygienic. The 1 fl oz (30ml) bottle is $34.

Application:
It is a rather thick foundation and can be applied with either a brush, your fingers, or a beauty blender. I have vitiligo (white patches) around my mouth and eyes, and a lot of redness on my cheeks. One pump is all I need to completely cover all my issues. I sometimes use another half pump to conceal pimples and dark veins around my eyes. I do not need any additional concealer with this product. I do not find this product too cakey or heavy on the skin.

Tips for application:
This one tends to dry very quick, so work in sections - apply on one cheek and blend out, then the other cheek and blend, and so on. It blends fairly easily, regardless of whether you dab, stipple, or buff. It does not look streaky at all. Some people suggest mixing it with the moisturizer to "thin/sheer" it out.

Longevity:
I have combination skin, with very oily nose and center of the forehead. Most of the foundations that I use give me about 3 hours of oil-free wear before I have to blot the oil off. With this one, I get about 5 hours without a primer, and longer with primer underneath. The longer it is on your skin, the more it "melts" into your skin (not OFF!).

Comparison:
I use Estee Lauder DoubleWear, MAC Studio Fix, Rimmel Stay Matte, Maybelline Fit Me Matte+Poreless, and Revlon Colorstay. And ALL of them look patchy and settle into fine lines around my eyes, chin, and forehead. Kat Von D foundation DOES NOT do that.

Although it is a very full coverage foundation, it does not feel heavy or uncomfortable on the skin. I am looking forward to seeing how it performs in the warmer months.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2015 1:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really liked this foundation however, there are a few things I did not like

Cons
Really thick
Made my t-zone greasy after four hours
A little hard to blend

Pros
Flawless finish
Covers Dark Circles and blemishes

I am still figuring ways to apply this. I have with a beauty blender which is my fav so far. Not so good with F80 Sigma brush. I wear a NC25 in Mac and Purchase the Light Medium 52 and it was a dead on match.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2015 9:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I wanted to love this foundation and initially did when the mua @ sephora first applied it to me. After purchasing though, when I applied at home I realized this foundation makes my pores 100x more visible. I've never had a foundation do that before😞 it really sucks because the coverage was good, and seemed to stay on my face with that 'just applied', which is hard for me to achieve. I remember reading someone else's review on here who said it made her pores look bigger, and thought that was weird bc I've never heard someone saying that.. unfortunately, have to agree with her👎

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2015 7:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have combination skin so finding a good foundation with good coverage is really hard but this is my absolute favorite! The price is great and a little goes a long way!


on 2/23/2015 6:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have Hormonal Acne scarring all over the bottom half of my face. I don't use this foundation every day as I save it for more of a "weekend" foundation because it is quite heavy (I try to keep it light during the week to allow my skin to breath)

Every time I put this foundation on it literally gives me a completely bare canvas to work with! It literally convers each imperfection/acne scar/ broken capillary on my face! This is definitely a FULL COVERAGE foundation, and the consistency is rather thick. Just be sure you are setting it properly and you shouldn't have any problems :)

You go Kat Von D!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 10:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For years my H.G has been Mac Studio Fix Fluid, but now I'm completely in LOVE😍 with Kat Von D's Lock It Foundation.
I went to Sephora for a color match. I was matched to Deep 72..it was too dark..so I matched myself to Deep 66. So NW 43 =Deep 66 lol.
I applied the makeup with a sigma F80 flat top Kabuki.I'm heavy handed when it comes to foundation, so i did 3 pumps, I buffed it on using circular motion. The foundation dries quick to a matte finish. This foundation COVERS everything. It's a thick creamy consistency! When i wear it I get tons of compliments. But its "Your makeup is beautiful! " not "Your skin is beautiful! " It last over 10 hours on one of the hottest days and I was working and breaking a sweat. The foundation holds true to color. No oxidizing.I Looked in the mirror and still gorgeous! No judging but i did one of the ultimate "No-No", I went to sleep in my makeup and when i woke up, the foundation was still on and it looked pretty!
If you are looking for a full coverage opaque foundation this is it!


on 2/16/2015 7:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

packaging is ADORABLE!!!price perfection ! 10 dollars less than taste amazonian clay and not nearly as greasy looking so MATTE love it !


on 2/8/2015 11:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

if you like cake foundation this is for you , as an oily skinned girl i definitely go towards to matte long wearing foundations however this foundation is just so thick ! It literally leaves you looking like you put cake on your face , it does leave you matte but as for long wearing i would say it gives me about a 6 hour wear

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Kat Von D Lock-it Tattoo Foundation | First Impression (F.I.F) by Chloe Luckin

First Impression:Kat Von D Foundation by ImogenHearts

Top Rated Kat Von D Products

image

Lolita

32 reviews
image

Tattoo Liner

282 reviews
Back to Top