Illamasqua Powder Blusher - Naked Rose

4.3

21 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/24/2015 1:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a pale pinkish brown that I like but I don't love as it does not stand out as unique from any other blushes that I have. The color is pretty and neutral. The packaging is gigantic though and there is quite a bit of waste (chalky/powdery) when you put your brush in the blush...powder goes everywhere! It is a good day color for work though and I will use it up but probably won't run out to re-buy. I am Asian and medium toned so it does not show up that much but I like it on my light makeup days



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My Mac Blush All Day has nearly run out so o treated myself to this. The colour is practically the same, a muted, slightly brown-toned pink, but it's much more pigmented.

I adore it and will repurchase. It is the perfect colour for my skin, goes on well (although pigmented it's muted enough that it's hard to overload) lasts well and the packaging is nice.

Pricey but worth it.


on 5/25/2015 1:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love illamasqua in theory. They have a great range, I love that they have a very diverse range of foundations and their staff have always been super friendly and helpful. They always do really light and friendly looks on me which is... really not what I'm going for, but I guess they think it looks nice on me (I'm not trying to look sweet and friendly). Their prices could be better, but I'm not really fussed on that.

It blends well, the pigmentation isn't too harsh and I love the nice muted colour of the naked rose on my pale skin, as it's just a nice hint of colour without making me look ruddy or overtly blushed up. It works really nicely with the shade 'Disobey', which I use to contour my cheeks.

Unfortunately I've worked out over the last few weeks that their powder blushers are what cause me to break out. I have somewhat oily skin, so this is really strange. The break outs never fully develop into pimples and zits, but I do have small red splotches that threaten to turn into them for a few days after I've used my makeup. Typically I only do my face once or twice a week when I go out, so I notice it clear up and return in the same pattern every time I've done my face for a night out.


on 5/17/2015 12:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm going to be honest and say, I depotted this (as its packaging is just so bulky I thought I'd pop it in my Z palette.) Now, my method for depotting was the wimp-out 'pour rubbing alcohol on it to loosen glue' so I do think I ruined it. It's not been the same since the alcohol went on it. It used to be super pigmented, now it's got a film on it and doesn't work at all. That's weird as all my MAC blushers are perfect after the same ordeal. But, even when this worked fine, I agree with another reviewer here: the colour was flat and had no depth. It was a lot like NARS Dolce Vita actually now that I think of it. I'm not a fan of that one either because it's too pigmented, and rather flat... Though NARS has way better i.e translucent quality to it, even in that one in fact. So I don't know, yes, maybe with a light hand it's great, but I think a blush should be luminous. Not necessarily shimmery, but with a satin finish at least. This had a very blocky, flat finish. I'm still sorry I ruined it, as it's now pretty much bin worthy. But I'm not as upset as if I'd ruined a Guerlain or Becca blusher. I wouldn't repurchase.
[edit: I mashed it up and now it works as it used to. It's a very beautiful colour, a true rosewood. But, it's powdery and the finish is not special at all, it ruins it for me. I'm spoilt by luxury formulations and for the price/quantity etc it just is not remotely in the same league, purely going by finish. It does last a long time though. A solid 3 lippies from me.]


on 4/16/2015 6:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm so happy I finally purchased this after years of hesitation. This blush was often recommended to me when I would ask for something neutral-pink for my N12 skin. Naked Rose is the winner because it fits the description perfectly. It's extremely pigmented (and I mean extremely) so I have to make sure I have to use a very light hand when applying (I use a MAC 187). The color absolutely fits its name as being a soft/muted/neutral rosey pink, and it lasts all day. I used to only wear Smashbox Prism as my daily blush which is a very light and bright pink, so I was nervous to try something new. I'm so glad I did and found something I love.


on 3/30/2015 5:58:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I hate to be the negative voice amongst rave reviews, but this blush is so-so.

The color is a beautiful neutral beige pale pink and the blush is very pigmented. The reason why I'm not so crazy about it is that it feels much more like pure pigments than a sophisticated blush formula. It is very powdery a bit too matte (and I like matte blushes) and it sits very flat on the skin. It's also so hard to blend and it can appear very patchy. I really need to powder my skin well and use a very soft slightly fluffy brush in order to apply this properly.

Quite frankly, I will finish my blush but I will not buy other powder blushes from illamasqua again. If you are lookimg for great matte formula, Tarte is much easier to blend and does not look as flat. A good blush does not need that much work. It's too bad because the color is awesome.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2014 12:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I'm not normally a blush person, but since my skin has gotten better over the last year, I've kind of gotten into it.

I picked up Naked Rose since it was on sale at Hudson's Bay, and at first I was a little concerned it might not show up well on me (NC25/30). It's a very soft rosy beige in the pan, and in another brand's formula, I'd worry it would be a tad chalky. The blush is very soft and powdery so a brush picks up a lot (a bit scary!) but once applied, Naked Rose is a perfect, soft pink flush.

The main drawback is that the case is overly bulky: I like that the pan is very wide, but not the excessive height and kind of cheap plastic feel of the case. I appreciate the clear top to see the product, though. The snap closure could be a little smoother to use, as well. For a $26 blush, I'd like nicer packaging.

Hudson's Bay and Sephora seem to have clearanced/discontinued this brand in Canada; I don't know where'd repurchase it, but I definitely would!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/28/2014 9:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

UPDATE: After using this blush on a daily basis for several weeks now, I'm knocking my overall rating down 2 notches from a 4 to a 2. I'm really disappointed at how powdery this blush is. I barely touch my brush to the pan and it explodes into a pink cloud. I'm also not impressed with the staying power. I have combo/oily skin and this doesn't last more than 4 hours on me. I expected much more for a HE blush formula.

ORIGINAL: This was my first experience with Illamasqua blushes. I must say, that for the price, I was surprised to find it so powdery. One of my biggest pet peeves is powdery pressed products, whether it be blush, powder foundation or eyeshadow. With that said, I do really like the color of Naked Rose. It's a perfect, everyday shade for me since I love blushes like Kat Von D Truth, Tarte Exposed, etc. I found this to be a great blush for layering underneath other shades, especially used towards the back of my cheekbone, almost like a contour shade.

The packaging is also a bit irritating: the shape makes it stand out like a sore thumb in my storage container. And although the compact stays closed very well, it's a bit hard to open, without having to use your nails to pry under the front 'clasp'.

After I received this, I realized I had a very good DS dupe for this shade and formula (sans powder city) - Jordana Rose Silk.


on 7/22/2013 5:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A very beautiful blush described as a nude pink, certainly a beautiful nude pink when applied gives a natural matte smooth finish and doesent cake at all, the packaging is beautiful looks sleek, it is quite pricey but its definitely worth it because the quality is amazing, can't wait to try another ilmasque blush.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2013 10:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This looks muted in the pan but on skin, its a natural pink that brightens my face. On my skin its a bright but not a candy pink. Lovely!!! Applies well and its pretty pigmented. I feel it'll suit all skintones.

The packaging is light and plasticy. Does not feel solid and expensive but the design and shape of the packaging is really nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Illamasqua Products

image

Hussy

68 reviews
Back to Top