L'Oreal • Elvive Extraordinary Oil • Hair Treatments

rated 3.8(75 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* homersmom on 9/6/2014 1:22:00 PM more reviews by homersmom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This makes my hair so soft and shiny which is exactly what I wanted. Will definitely repurchase. I have short wavy hair and just use one squirt of this, run it through my wet hair then style as usual. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 urs123 on 9/1/2014 7:19:00 AM more reviews by urs123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Great serum - fairly light, very smooth, easy to distribute evenly, smells nice. Does a decent job, doesn't completely smooth my hair but definitely helps. It is my go to until I find something amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissNolasco on 8/14/2014 12:29:00 AM more reviews by MissNolasco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This oil is not comparible to hair oils such as Moroccan oil and Kérastase, but for the price you are paying, it is a great quality product. I have never really liked any other oils for my hair, apart from Moroccan Oil, I have thick, long hair and Moroccan Oil seems to be the only oil to nourish my hair so I never took any interest in trying to find a cheaper version. I only gave this a try because a friend had a bottle and she didn't like it so she gave me it to try out and I liked it! It does its job, it is nice to just run through the hair whenever it is feeling dry and you get what you pay for, in the sense that it isn't going to be as nourishing or as rich as Moroccan Oil but it still does what it promises to do!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whatisaspacebar on 8/13/2014 5:19:00 AM more reviews by whatisaspacebar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This review is for the "extra rich for dry and damaged hair" (it has the coppery/burgundy cap). My hair is thick, curled, dry and coarse. Doesn't look glossy when straightened no matter what product I put in to help it. Straightened, it looks like a dry, thick horse tail- sexy! So this oil didn't magically transform it into the "silky smooth" hair Zohan dreamed of. But that aside, it manages my curls beautifully. It encourages the curl without it looking "oily" or product saturated. I use 1-2 pumps and work it from the tips of my hair to the middle and rub my fingers along the fringe and edges. I've found it restores tangled and flattened bed hair curls back into lovely curls. I already purchased a second bottle because it was on sale and I like the oil well enough to continue with it. I'd recommend anyone with similar hair to mine to give it a try.
PROS:
Smells lovely
Doesn't weigh down or "grease up" the hair
Encourages and can even "resurrect and reshape" curl
Adds a subtle gloss
CONS:
No silky smooth transformation when straightening hair
Not a game changer in terms of transforming hair into a silken sheet

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 littleantlers85 on 6/25/2014 6:25:00 AM more reviews by littleantlers85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This does everything that I wanted Moroccanoil and Kerastase to do!

I have been obsessed with hair oils and serums for about 6 months, after reading of all the great things they can do for your hair. I have tried: John frieda, Moroccanoil, Organix, kerastase, Tommy Guns weather drops, argan 5+ serum, with varying degrees of success.

Moroccanoil was ok and probably the best out of those lot. It left my hair softer, but I wasn't wow-ed by it and it was expensive. So I thought I'd give this a go. Now this stuff wows me - and it's a fraction of the price.

This oil makes my hair softer and shinier, but also leaves the colour richer and makes it bouncy and full of body (whereas Kerastase left my hair flat and flyaway). My hair looks glossier and generally better cared for. I use 1-2 drops, rubbed between the palms of my hands, after conditioning. I also love the fact that it has heat protection up to 230 degrees.

I would definitely buy this again and if, like me, you have been underwhelmed by more expensive hair oils and serums, I recommend giving this a try.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Moenique on 6/1/2014 3:58:00 PM more reviews by Moenique

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Am using a sample of the "Total Repair 5 - For All Hair Types Extraordinary Oil". Of course am always skeptical with new products, but have been rubbing in a small amount mid-length through the ends of my damp hair after shampooing and before blow-drying. It's pretty amazing that a drugstore product can outperform Aveda Smooth Infusion glossing straightener! Leaves my coarse, colored hair soft, shiny and controllable without any heaviness or residue, am truly impressed this time! It's only June, but can already tell this is going to be my HG for "summer hair" this year.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 adriannee on 5/21/2014 7:40:00 AM more reviews by adriannee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this hair oil! I put it on 10 minutes before I hop in the shower to wash my hair, then again in my wet hair afterwards. My hair has always tended to be really dry and poofy, especially since it's only just recovering from being extremely damaged, but when I use this my hair is smooth, shiny and soooooo soft! I've heard complaints about the smell but I actually really like the smell, but maybe Australia has a slightly different product so it smells different? Or perhaps just different tastes. :-) Anyway, this isn't exactly a miracle product as it has no long term effects that i've noticed, but it definitely helps control my hair so I'm not tempted to straighten it. 2 pumps is enough for my shoulder length hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ehlisen on 5/13/2014 4:49:00 AM more reviews by ehlisen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! I use abt 2-3 pumps on damp hair and it solves the problem of tangled hair. I have also recently dyed my hair so this also makes my hair feel like how it is before dyeing! Overall really love it except that the packaging is glass which although makes it sturdy, can be hard to travel (the pump does come with a lock function though!) and the price is abit steep.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 teray on 5/12/2014 5:57:00 AM more reviews by teray

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have fine hair. I don't use (rinse) conditioner everytime I shampoo, so I use leave in conditioner or oil. This oil is not greasy to the feel but it does on my hair. It doesn't give you that greasy feel immediately, but after a few hours I feel like I didn't wash my hair for several days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 liews on 4/9/2014 9:12:00 PM more reviews by liews

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Started using this oil a while ago, and I am really satisfied in terms of how it helps in my hair for the day. Usually my hair is very prone to tangling, after a few hours it will start to tangle like hell.

But! After applying this on damp hair after wash, my hair no longer tangles for the day. I run my fingers throughout my length and it runs through smoothly all day.

However, I find that this product does not work well/ absorb well on dry hair. I tried using it on dry hair initially but it didn't seem to have any effect at all, and I was kinda disappointed. Also? I don't think this product benefits my hairs' well being. Meaning it doesn't help my hair in the long run, its like make up, only helps for the day and without it, my hair will be back to normal.

I don't know if this product will still be able to keep my hair de-tangled if I use a heat process on it, have yet to try.

I see a number of reviews saying that it makes the hair oily and sticky. I am not sure why it that so but maybe too much is used. The bottle says 3-4 drops, so I use accordingly, and a drop or two more if I feel its necessary. It doesn't require much to work its magic ime.

It costs really ex in Singapore (USD18 at sale).. but I managed to get it from Malaysia through a friend for around USD12..? I would say it is worth for the price I paid. Only thing I wish is that it actually shows some long term results.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Treatments products