La Roche Posay • Hydraphase Intense Serum Gel Concentrate • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.2(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Coutts on 12/17/2014 2:33:00 AM more reviews by Coutts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have suffered with eczema and dry spots this product is amazing it seriously has saved me worth every dime !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cocoacloud on 10/22/2014 5:22:00 AM more reviews by cocoacloud

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've always been a fan of La Roche Posay ever since I discovered their Effaclar line. I purchased this in winter to help combat dry skin and well... it's a good product but not great. It moisturizes decently, but it doesn't necessarily -hydrate-. I want something that feels like it reaches deep down into my skin so the next morning when I wake up, my skin is nice and plump. This doesn't really do the trick. (Products that do give me this feeling are: Laneige Water Sleeping Pack, Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair). I don't think I will be repurchasing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Adobogiona on 7/16/2014 10:59:00 AM more reviews by Adobogiona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am on my third bottle, I generally buy them in Europe for 15-20 euros. I find the quality stellar for the price. I apply it right after my shower, and I skip the moisturizer in summer. I do not use it everyday though cause I like to keep the plumping effect for special days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yummizu on 2/26/2014 2:51:00 AM more reviews by yummizu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I don't understand how this possibly can provide deep moisture. Alcohol denat comes 3rd on the ingredient list. I still bought it though cause I was desperately dry and patchy and SA reassured me that it is an awesome product. After a week of use I don't see any positive results whatsoever! My skin is usually oily, but dehydrated. This doesn't make it drier, but I've noticed that my skin looks so dead and dull. Taking it back to Shopper's drugmart.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 135792468 on 2/1/2014 10:12:00 AM more reviews by 135792468

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is one of those products which feel like it isn't having much of an effect, but it is. It doesn't feel like much going on (it's a gel consistency) but when I had a cold and used a lot of it round the dry scaly skin around my nose, it cleared it right up. It also didn't give me spots. But you do need to use moisturiser too. I have found some other serums can be a substitute for moisturiser but this isn't one of them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vivafreedom on 9/21/2013 7:02:00 PM more reviews by vivafreedom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this morning and night for the last two weeks and the difference it's made to my dry, sensitive skin is amazing. I don't mind the price tag, but it would be nice if you got more bang for your buck. I can see myself running out pretty quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 helenjames23 on 9/5/2013 5:48:00 AM more reviews by helenjames23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I definitely recommend this product if your skin is dehydrated.It really is a miracle worker. I have oily, dehydrated skin (from using epiduo as my acne treatment) and all my previous moisturizers felt greasy and not really hydrating on my skin. However, this has combated my dryness and made my skin very soft even from the first application.
It is on the pricier side (25 euros) but it is worth it. The packaging is easy to use and hygienic, but i think it could be switched to plastic to take out from the high price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 5/12/2013 5:29:00 PM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Claims - True or False?
1) Rehydrates sensitive skin: Partly true
2) Reduces skin tightness: not tested
3) dehydration lines reduced: False

Packaging:
Comes in a pump bottle. The pump is mostly effective but if you want to use just a small amount it is harder to dispense the proper amount. The bottle seems to be either glass or a very hard plastic, and there is a secure cap that makes it good for light travel. Ingredients listed on the packaging as well.

Formula:
Since this is a serum the formula is quite thin and on the watery side. It is mostly clear, slightly cloudy grey but doesn't appear to have any colouring added to it (i don't think dyes are listed in the ingredients either). It has a VERY strong fragrance, like all of their products - kind of artificial floral. The scent is very off-putting and can be problematic for sensitive skin.

Performance:
I purchased this to be used for my eye area, which can become dried out and dehydrated pretty easily - my whole face is very much prone to dehydration. I have not tried this on my face because I am water-only for my skincare. Used on the eyes I found that it didn't really do much. if I used a large amount it would just kind of sit on the skin more so than absorb, although minimally. If used in that amount it also felt sticky on the skin. It's possible that it also dehydrated the area a little bit, or didn't provide moisture and thus didn't prevent my makeup remover from drying my skin out a bit with regular use. When used in smaller amounts it absorbs really well and doesn't leave the area feeling sticky or bothered, but I had used it a few times in the morning, and when I went to the gym later my eyes would sting or feel bothered (sweat was not running into my eyes). Ultimately it seems like this product is best used under other moisturizers and not to impart moisture on its own unless your skin is already fairly well moisturized. I've tried it on my hands too, absorbs nicely, but again doesn't seem to really moisturize enough. I feel that this would work best in conjunction with their other moisturizers in this line; I've used the legere and riche in the past for whole-face application and found that the riche moisturized best but both did not help enough with my dehydration nor with fine dehydration lines. The fragrance and ingredients were also not in agreement with my skin. I do think that this serum also broke me out a bit around the eyes sometimes, nothing major but a bit of clogging.

Bang for your Buck:
$40 CAD at Shoppers Drug Mart for 30ml. Not a lot is needed but if used twice a day I could see it being used up quickly.

Final Consensus:
Not a terrible product but I feel that the price and the fact that it doesn't work well on its own to hydrate the skin makes it something that I would not repurchase. If your skin cannot tolerate most lotions though, or you need something very light, then this is worth trying out (as a sample if you can). For now I will just use it up on my hands I guess! I've moved on to coconut oil for my eyes.
* Overall Rating: 3/5
* Price: 4/5
* Packaging Quality: 4/5
* Repurchase: No

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kaicg on 4/9/2013 9:54:00 PM more reviews by kaicg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used a full container of this product, but I didn't really see or feel too much of a difference in the hydration of my skin. For over 40$ (CAD) I was disappointed and looking for more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aidan83 on 2/17/2013 9:49:00 PM more reviews by aidan83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have super dry skin and this product completed saved me - help the moisturizer moisturize better as well

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments (Face) products