NYX • Stay Matte But Not Flat Liquid Foundation - Ivory • Liquid

rated 2.9(22 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 juliacrod on 6/16/2014 9:39:00 PM more reviews by juliacrod

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the size of the tube & that you're able to squeeze the product out. It was a great match to my complexion.. But holy cow. Literally an hour later, it looked like I took the grease from a pan & slathered it on my face. I do still use it for errand days. I use it more like a tinted moisturizer, the coverage isn't that great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HeatSeeker on 6/14/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by HeatSeeker

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product was an impulse buy that I thought I would regret but don't. I did want something that was a little cheaper than my usuals (Guerlain, Dior, Nars) to utilize on a day to day basis. I like that it has a bottle that is easy to extract product from. For this foundation, I just apply with my fingers, as it is the easiest method. I try to rub it in the skin really well, because it can look mask-y if I you dont.

The one thing about this foundation is that it defies the name. It does NOT stay matte, and can look a little flat lol. My T zone gets oily very easy. I make sure to put powder on took of it to combat the flatness and the oil. All in all for just a little over $7 it works for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RogueMystique on 6/12/2014 7:30:00 AM more reviews by RogueMystique

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love how natural it feels on my face. I have oily skin on my t-zone and this foundation does not control oil at all. I like how it does not make my skin oilier but with the natural oil from my skin this foundation gives me a dewy finish.

It does not break me out it has a coverage of a medium to full cover but a texture of a tinted moisturizer. It is easy to remove. This foundation needs to be used along with a finishing powder because it does not have staying power and it will melt after couple of hours during the day in a hot humid weather like Singapore.

I love it for its easy application, removal and how natural it looks and feel on my skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bbeccakennedyy on 6/11/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by bbeccakennedyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was really expecting something great from this foundation as I'm a huge fan of NYX but apparently everyone else was surprised about this product as well. Unfortunately, I only found out about this website after I purchased it so I didn't read any reviews about this foundation before I purchased it.

I know some people have a problem with the packaging because it's in a squeeze tube kind of thing but I personally love that. Sometimes when you have foundations that have a pump, you can't get the product that's left in the very bottom. I feel like it would be super easy to just squeeze out every little bit of foundation left in the tube. (Kind of like toothpaste)

As for the actual product, I'm so torn between hating it and loving it. My skin isn't bad what so ever but I do have a bit of redness and bad dark circles that I like to cover and this foundation does cover that. I would say it's a medium coverage which is understandable because the foundation is quite watery. This foundation also doesn't oxidize much so the colour you see in the bottle is pretty much what it will look like on your face. But, when I actually put it on, my face becomes an oil slick. I have to blot at least twice a day if I'm just sitting in an air conditioned office and as gross as this is, the blotting paper is always almost completely see through after it's been on my face. I've always had pretty dry skin and I know the oiliness is partly due to my skin as it is oily without make up as well but this foundation does not do what it claims to do. It's supposed to make your face matte and that's the farthest thing from it. It feels sticky and tacky all day whether you set it or not and how many times or how much you use powder.

Another thing about this foundation is it melts off your face....is that gross? Well, it does. I usually apply this foundation at about 6:45 am and by 11-12am/pm, it's so oily that it's literally coming off my face. This foundation also transfers no matter how much you set or how long you've been wearing it. The lasting power of this foundation is on the good side about four to five hours which is annoying.

So unfortunately, I will not be purchasing this foundation again. It's really surprising that it says it is oil free yet makes your face completely shiny...everywhere and if you're looking for something matte, this is not for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xiongsally on 2/14/2014 3:17:00 AM more reviews by xiongsally

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i like it how the foundation give you that matt look, but in the summer if you live in a humid weather like i do the foundation melt.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 simonsem on 11/18/2013 2:24:00 PM more reviews by simonsem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm currently on my second bottle of the stuff and I love it! I have very oily skin that is prone to acne, and this covers the acne as well as covers the oiliness. IT has good staying power and is the first foundation I've tried that has actually matched my partially yellow partially red skin tones. I use it with CoverGirl Mineral powder. I wish it came in a pump container, but I can make do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ahrako on 10/23/2013 3:45:00 PM more reviews by ahrako

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this foundation for its promise of "staying matte" but alas, no dice. It had moderate coverage, but the color left something to be desired. It wasn't pigmented enough and it almost looked ashen. I tried Medium Beige (I am an NC35 in MAC currently) and the color seemed a good match but I did not like the finished look of this foundation. I did like the packaging, however, and of course, NYX is always a great deal. I wanted to like this so much, but I won't be purchasing it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JN4eva on 9/14/2013 2:12:00 PM more reviews by JN4eva

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Im so surprised at all the negative reviews...i have really oily skin that ive just learned to deal with because no makeup or product ive tried has been able to help. I just blot like crazy and powder ya it sucks but hey ive become a custom to it. So when i bought this foundation i wasnt expecting to stay matte thats just crazy. What i really bought this foundation for was that it was both oil free and had no spf. Yes i said no spf i know people are like SAY WHAT! but its because i hate the white cast that spf gives off in pictures. Instead my moistuizer has spf and my makeup is used to cover it. It really pairs up nicely that way and my face looks amazing in photos. So istead of buying it for its "matte" property i bought it because it was oil free with NO spf all while being at a reasonable price. I dont think il ever switch!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hollandfarrell on 8/18/2013 1:24:00 AM more reviews by hollandfarrell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this at Sephora for a reasonably low price but mainly because of the name "stay matte" which drew me in. I have VERY oily skin all around, and I have acne prone/sensitive skin. Although I don't think it broke me out, it definitely WAS NOT MATTE. Not even remotely. It does have very great coverage which is the only good thing I can say about it. Definitely full coverage but I would suggest it for normal skin. It does not control oils at all, it becomes very goopy and messy after a while in the bottle and wasn't that true to my skin tone. It was hard to tell because of the packaging. Wouldn't buy it again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yisha on 8/13/2013 4:55:00 PM more reviews by yisha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Good foundation, medium to full coverage, can be thinned out using any lotion, stays in place all day, controlls oil very well, decent pacakging, I am actually surprised by the negative review below. The foundation works for me at least. I bought mine from cherryculture when they had this 50% off NYX sale, so the price was good as well. The only thing stops me from repurchasing was the bad ingredients - paraben etc.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Liquid products