OPI • Just Spotted the Lizard • Polishes

rated 4.4(38 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 meggomyyeggo on 6/22/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by meggomyyeggo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of the most unique polishes I own. I love this color so much. I'm a sucker for green nail polishes. This is one of my go to summer/fall colors for my nails. I really wish this polish wasn't limited edition.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 savvyowl821 on 5/29/2014 10:04:00 AM more reviews by savvyowl821

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first ever OPI nail polish and it introduced me to the world of "good" nail polish. I've always loved nail polish(since my aunt painted my nails when I was 4 years old) but I didn't really know the bigger brands, which have a LOT more colors and wonderfully named polishes which are now mostly 3 of 5-Free! Anyways, I'm biased because of this ;) Nevertheless, it is a wonderful polish. I only wish more of the blue/dark green duochrome showed up when applied on the nail though... In the bottle it looked amazing--like the color of a beetle! It's a great duochrome, though :) Green/gold. Got so many compliments! It dries with a soft kind of look--like how real gold looks, so I topped it with Chanel's Extreme Shine topcoat--which is the most wonderful topcoat ever, by the way--and woah. It looked awesome. :) Love the name, too! And the Spiderman movie :) Would definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cactus_Pear on 11/1/2013 3:04:00 AM more reviews by Cactus_Pear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty color but just not for me. I don't like how it looks mostly bleh greenish yellow. Eh. The iridescence is gorgeous but the base color is just so ugly to me and that's what you mostly see.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gerlygerl on 5/16/2013 12:15:00 PM more reviews by gerlygerl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is one interesting polish. Others have mentioned blue tinges on top of the golden-yellow-green, but I get some dark pink/reddish tinges, not blue. So very intriguing! I originally bought this after reading it was a good dupe for Chanel Peridot, and I can't speak to whether this is true, but regardless - it's a gorgeous color. I love yellow-green and lime green polishes, but they're difficult colors to wear on very pale skin. This shade is warm and has depth.

Not sure if I got an old bottle, but for me this polish applies thicker than other OPI polishes and dries much more quickly. It definitely takes two coats to achieve opacity and a good top coat is essential. I'm wearing it only for the second time, but I'm realizing that it chipped after two days the first time around due to a subpar top coat. This time I used Sally Hansen Nailgrowth Miracle clear polish - not actually marketed as a top coat - and I'm on my fourth day without a chip or wearing at the tips. And who has two thumbs and beats up her hands? This girl! Oh wait, I just found a small chip. Darn it! I jinxed myself. But there's just one, on my index finger. That's a near miracle. Would I buy it again? Yes! In fact, I just ordered a back up bottle because I love it so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HelenaReviews on 5/14/2013 4:52:00 AM more reviews by HelenaReviews

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely colour, definitely comes out more yellowy goldy than it looks in the bottle. Nice to apply, though I find it to be a wee bit more streaky than most OPI nail polishes, wears about as well as any polish, best with a good top coat. I did get chipping after a few days without a top coat mind you, but in saying that I use my hands a LOT. I was a little disappointed and definitely should have looked up swatches before purchasing, but still love this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeeCube on 4/1/2013 8:07:00 PM more reviews by TeeCube

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an absolutely wild color in the bottle, a sort of "oil spill" thing going on with gold in the middle, green and blue pooling around the sides. Once on nails it's mainly a tarnished goldish shimmery bronzy...it's actually hard to describe! In any event it's all very pretty and wearable because so much of the golden-ness is the most obvious. Im actually glad that once applied hardly any of the blue flash is visible. Some say its a dupe for Chanel's Peridot, and after viewing photo comparisons online it looks like a close match but I have not seen Peridot in person so that's all I can say about that. I have the OPI and that's good enough for me with sort of color. I love "Just Spotted the Lizard" and would recommend it happily to be added to a polish collection. I certainly have none other like it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 notevangelista on 1/1/2013 4:29:00 PM more reviews by notevangelista

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The OPI brand is on the more expensive side of the nail-care spectrum, but it is nonetheless, a company that manufactures consistently good product. OPI's Just Spotted The Lizard is no exception. The colour is gorgeous- the bottle is just a taster of what is going to happen once you apply it! It's an exciting mix of golden, copper, and green tones which has a tendency to look blu-ish and even mildly purple in some lights! The application is so easy, which is really saying something because my nails are much narrower than average.

At a time where the nail art trend is taking a backseat, and interesting colour and tones are taking precedence, OPI's Just Spotted The Lizard is a great buy.

Overall, this is a great nailpolish- buy it, and watch the compliments flow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 8erica8 on 12/31/2012 9:46:00 AM more reviews by 8erica8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I admit: I got this one because of all the hype. It's okay. I like it in the bottle but on my nails it's just kinda nyeh...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 12/25/2012 7:09:00 PM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really like this polish! I love the green/gold duochrome finish, but I do wish it showed up a bit blue like it does in the bottle. MUCH lighter on the fingers than in the bottle. Wears great, doesn't streak, smudge or chip. Would definitely buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriann52 on 10/7/2012 11:55:00 AM more reviews by loriann52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is from OPI's 2012 Spiderman collection. It is a coppery-green with a metallic finish.

Application: 4/5
Colour Turnout: 4.5/5

I do really love this colour, although it looks a little different in the bottle than on your nails. In the bottle it looks like a goldy-green, but mostly green. On your nails in some lights it looks completely copper. I still adore the colour, as green is my favourite colour and I am a sucker for green polishes.
The application was great as well. Two coats did the trick, and there was no streakiness. It dried quite fast as well.
Overall, a great polish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products