Maybelline • Volum' Express The Mega Plush Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.4(99 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 MUAkiss on 7/18/2014 9:55:00 PM more reviews by MUAkiss

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wore this once and i guess it's not a fair review if i only wore it once, but I'd still like to review this mascara before tossing it in the garbage. The performance of this mascara on my lashes was okay, it was nothing special. The gel formula is unique, but when I opened it, it looked as if it was old and it smelled slightly overwhelming. The formula looked extremely thick and made it hard to apply onto my lashes, especially with the flexible applicator that moves around. I didnt mind the flexible applicator or the smell, but the formula was just too thick for my liking. It performs quite like the Maybelline The Colossal WP mascara when it's close to drying out. It clumps quite a bit, provides little to some length and it gave some (not too much) volume. It's nothing special and gives a fairly natural look. This did not smudge on me throughout the day and it holds true to it's waterproof label. (I went in the shower with this and it did not come off at all)

However, it was a little TOO waterproof and it took me a lot of effort just to remove it. I use EVOO and a waterproof Makeup remover and it still doesn't wash off completely. There's still a little remaining when i sleep, and doesn't completely wash off till the next wash.

Better off with the Maybelline the Colossal WP mascara (that one washes off quite easily and performs much better!) :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ChelseaRose on 5/19/2014 1:05:00 AM more reviews by ChelseaRose

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really enjoy the formula of this mascara, it goes on well, doesn't come off throughout the day, doesn't make my lashes too clumpy if I wipe off excess, BUT.. I cannot get this crap off of my eyelashes! It takes a good 3 minutes to get it all off, and that's with waterproof mascara makeup remover. I liked it, but I threw it out because it's definitely not worth damaging my eyes just trying to get it off. I like Maybelline's The Colossal. Works similar, but actually comes off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CatherineCarnage on 5/17/2014 1:33:00 PM more reviews by CatherineCarnage

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Did not like the bendy brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Angeleee on 5/4/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by Angeleee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this mascara after reading great reviews. Boy was I disappointed. The brush is horrible. It does not grap my lashes at all and it moves! IT MOVES! I can't even apply any mascara to my lashes because the bending mechanism thing on the wand does not allow me to use pressure. The formula has the potential to be good, but the brush doesn't allow me to find out. It is waterproof however. I slipped numerous times trying to put the mascara on due to the wand and found that the mascara wouldn't come off with out a hefty amount of remover. I'm not sure if I had a defective wand or what.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lk1119 on 1/20/2014 12:30:00 AM more reviews by lk1119

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have a love hate relationship with this mascara. When I first bought this mascara I felt like it didn't do anything for my lashes. However, a co-worker of mines asked what I used on my eyelashes to make them look so long. I just so happen to be wearing this mascara. As the mascara got a little older and the formula became a bit thicker. I started to like it more. I realize this mascara lengthens my lashes, but gives it no volume whatsoever. So if you're looking for a mascara that will give you volume, I won't recommend this. I learned recently the trick with mascara's are to pair them up with other mascara's instead of sticking to just one. This mascara is my holy grail mascara when I pair it with Cover Girl's Lash Blast. I use Maybelline's The Mega Plush mascara first to lengthen my lashes and then Cover Girl's Lash Blast on top, to give my lashes volume. It works perfectly for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jaaanet2 on 1/19/2014 12:14:00 PM more reviews by jaaanet2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Now I hate this mascara with a passion. I have never had a bad mascara experience with Mayballine so it broke my heart a little that this mascara sucked! I've tried the colossal, the one by one, and the rocket and they have never failed me, but this one is just terrible! First off the brush looks disgusting, when I first pulled it out of the tube, I could already tell this would clump my eyelashes, it just looked clumpy and smelled a bit. And when applying it it seems as if the product stayed more on the brush then my eyelashes! I saw noooooo volume what so ever, like NONE! if anything it made my eyelashes look thinner and gross. It didn't lengthen nor separate them. This mascara is just terrible. I only used a couple of time and tied working with it, but nope. I can't get myself to throw it away though, its a shame.

DON'T BUY THIS! go for one of the ones I listed above, now those work magic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chloeelliex on 1/4/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by Chloeelliex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara flaked alot, but gave my eyelashes a full look, although the brush was very bendy x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Verrine on 12/22/2013 11:52:00 AM more reviews by Verrine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The brush was awful for me. It is bendy, which makes it difficult to use with any precision. Plus the shape of it being so wide in the middle means that it gets mascara all over my eyelids when I'm doing my lower lashes. The mascara itself was ok.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maldiveslover on 12/3/2013 12:57:00 AM more reviews by maldiveslover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have already been gifted with super long eyelashes and prefer the natural look. Even though I have dark brown eyes I buy this in Brown/Black because I think Black one is too intense for me. This is definitely my favorite mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ozbeautyxx on 11/4/2013 1:04:00 AM more reviews by ozbeautyxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this mascara little over a month ago and have been using it ever since, the Mega Plush mascara can only be described as average. The first time I applied it, I loved the smooth, gel-like formula of the mascara, and thought it went on great. After around 3 hours, I noticed it looked like I had no mascara on at all, despite applying quite a lot to my medium-length lashes, so I applied some more. After getting home from school and looking in the mirror, I realized the mascara had disappeared from eyelashes and made its way onto to my top eyelids and underneath the bottom lashes. When applied with A LOT of primer, the mascara stays on okay, but I often find it makes my eyelashes droop. It is quite difficult to get off when using a cleanser, but it comes off with a bit of warm water and soap. Overall, an ok product from Maybelline but I can't see it being one of their classic products, like the Great Lash. It's great to use with other mascaras, I often use it as a base for my lash extension fibres. Keeping in mind it's cheap price, the Volum' Express Mega Plush Mascara is just an alright mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products