Maybelline Volum' Express The Mega Plush Waterproof

3.4

114 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/17/2015 9:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

If you've looked at my other reviews you would know I am a greasy pizza-face so my oil production causes most mascaras to smudge. Hence why I have a deep love for tubing mascaras as they are only removable by warm water.

However I gave the washable Volum' Express Mega Plush a chance after my (very picky) mother raved about it. My mom is not one of those people that has a giant MU collection. I have given her half my stash over the years and yet she is a minimalist.......whatever she dislikes, goes in the trash. So I knew if she raved about it, it must be good.

And I did love the washable version! My only gripe about it was the fact it smudged on me after about 8 hours. To be fair, 8 hours is pretty damn long in my book. So I decided to see if the waterproof version was any better.

This smudges only a tiny bit. It smudged even less than the washable version, but I could still detect some under my eyes. I know that sounds bad but you've got to remember I'm not kidding about my greasiness. Also, I live in a hot, humid, hell of a state - TX. This mascara lasted on me MUCH longer than other waterproof versions have tried over the years.

Although the WP version exceeded in that aspect, there were other areas it unimpressed me. Everything I loved about the washable version seems to be lacking in the waterproof formula. It was very average in terms of length and volume, whereas the washable one gave me TONS of fluffy long lashes.

Another con about this is it was really hard to remove. I know I shouldn't be whining about this given I often have the opposite issue with traditional mascaras. But I used oil to remove it 4 times along with my facial cleanser (contain alpha hydroxy acids). Afterwards I could still find little flakes here and there. I find that issue somewhat unhygienic for my sensitive eyes. At least my beloved tubing mascaras come off with one pinch of warm water.

I'm sure tons of gals out there would love this mascara. I did not *hate* it. It's just not HG worthy to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this mascara after my friend recommended it to me. It definitely is waterproof (it stayed on my lashes for hours), but I find that for my lashes it doesn't really do anything. For my friend, her lashes looked natural but you could tell that she wore mascara (that's after 2-3 coats). However, because this mascara is more on the drier side, after 3 coats I still don't see any change to my lashes other than lengthening it. I would not recommend this mascara if you are looking for volume, but I know that on some people it works on their lashes.


on 7/2/2015 2:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Horrible!
Wouldn't recommend. I have short lashes and fairly light but I have used others that really make my lashes very long so this product has no excuse to work. It isn't my short stumpy lashes it's this rubbish formula, I know it's meant for ultra volume but it doesn't even give me that. Honestly it does nothing to my lashes just clumps. Going in the bin. Waste of money! So many better mascaras such as loreal telescopic.


on 4/1/2015 1:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My hg mascara! I have super straight lashes that fall even if I curl and apply mascara. with this one I curl, apply and my lashes actually stay up! It doesn't really volumize, but it lengthens like crazy and thickens! if I want more drama I'll add another mascara on top.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 3:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This mascara really doesn't do a whole lot. I mean it does lengthen my lashes a little but that's it. Most of all, I can't STAND the wand - it's so flexible it's ridiculous and doesn't do anything except make it more difficult to apply the mascara. I'm glad it's a relatively cheap mascara, cause I definitely wouldn't repurchase.


on 2/14/2015 9:39:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I like the formula but just can't get the brush to work for me. It's so flexible that I have trouble really getting in there and coating my lashes.


on 1/22/2015 3:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've basically tried almost all the Maybelline mascaras, with the exception of Mega Plush, until now. For the past few years, I've enjoyed really voluminous lashes, but as of lately, I don't really care about how long my lashes look. I just want something to put on them that'll make them look nice, but not dramatic or anything. Mega Plush does just that! It's really natural looking, while still enhancing the lashes. The formula isn't too wet like the Falsies, so it's easy for me to apply. The waterproof formula is great as with the other Maybelline mascaras. Along with the Rocket, I can say that the Mega Plush mascara is one of my favorites out there. If you just want natural, but pretty lashes, this is the one for you!


on 12/13/2014 12:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I needed a waterproof mascara due to my allergies. I never wore waterproof mascara cuz of the hard time it takes to remove it. I have long blonde lashes that hold a curl well without using a curler. I bought it In black/brown and it looks good with my blue eyes. I think the flexible wand is an interesting concept and I like it. I agree with some it's easy to take out too much mascara when using but I just angle the brush when I'm taking it out. It doesn't clump. I love the wet formula. It volumezes and thickens my lashes very well. This will def be my go to waterproof mascara from now on.


on 11/30/2014 1:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really love this mascara! I have it in brown/black and this shade is perfect for blue eyes, it doesn't look too dark and overwhelming but still nicely darkens the eyelashes. The brush is so nice and coats every single eyelash, and doesn't clump. The only bad thing I've noticed is that if I put the wand back in to get more product it gets way too much on it and I have to stir it around and remove some of it or it clumps, but its such an amazing mascara that this does not matter whatsoever!


on 10/12/2014 11:10:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great product! I like it!

Pros:
Lengthens a bit
Thickens more
Nice black - brown colour
Doesnt clump
Easy to use
Lightweight brush, so therefore it doesnt clump
Cool packaging
Cheap
Cons:
Flakes a bit
Dries out quickly

But yeah! I really enjoyed this product!




Back to Top