Sally Hansen • Magnetic • Polishes

rated 3.7(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 indiebaby on 12/10/2013 8:11:00 PM more reviews by indiebaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in copper.

It's okay, but nothing I would buy again. I really loved the color underneath, after the magnet applied. A medium/dark bronze with lots of red. However, this color quickly becomes muted as the colors merge into one another. The defined line created by the magnet that I liked instead turns blurry.

Has a slight 3D effect which was cool, but over-all look was very sloppy to me so that's mostly why I'm dissatisfied and giving this product a low rating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 10/12/2013 5:17:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was dubious about magnetic polishes. I mean, yeah, it looks cool, but so do a lot of things that turn out to be not so great. Then I picked up three of the Sally Hansen Magnetics in a special bundle (basically, got them all for the price of one at full price) and here we are.

I have to say, this is a pretty cool effect. The first hand that I did is not as good as the other hand, because it took me that long to work out how to manage the magnet, how much polish to put on, etc., but overall I have to say, well, yeah, this is pretty cool, and a really interesting look.

The polish on the nails and magnetised is a lot prettier than the way it looks in the bottle, I must say. I have Kinetic Copper, Golden Conduct (which is actually more of a bronze than a gold), and Red-y Response (more sort of plummy raspberry than red), and they're all very pretty. I particularly like the copper, but they're all pretty in their own way.

Some tips I managed to work out:

1) use a base coat, and let it dry completely
2) use a thin to medium first coat. Don't worry about making it even or nice; the second coat will fix it up
3) once the first coat is dry, work with ONE finger at a time
4) have the magnet nearby, put on a thick coat of the polish (seriously, do not skimp on it)
5) place the magnet so the rounded brace part is just below your cuticle
6) don't wiggle it around; it seems like a good idea to try to get the sides, but it just messes up the design
7) hold the magnet for at least ten seconds, though you can do it for longer if you're slightly obsessive as I tend to be ;)
8) if you mess up a nail (design doesn't take, you accidentally touch the magnet to the wet polish, etc.) you can repaint it and try again, though only once or it'll be way too thick
9) don't expect every nail to be precisely the same; part of the cool look is that they will have slightly different designs, even with the same magnet
10) when you finish, use a good top coat to really bring out the metallics in the polish

That's pretty much it. It does have a bit of a learning curve, but it's easier than a lot of nail techniques, and the end result is actually pretty cool.

Using this as an accent nail with coordinating other polish(es) would be a great way to use this. I'm already planning a mostly coppery manicure that uses the Kinetic Copper for accent nails. :)

I'm glad I overcame my innate skepticism to try these. I like them enough to order more colours, in fact.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bumblebrea on 9/22/2013 11:58:00 PM more reviews by bumblebrea

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to admit, I had some doubts about purchasing this product but it was in a clearance section...so there was only about $4AUD involved, it was quite hard to resist that deal!
As soon as I got it home I tried it out and was very impressed! the colour is very nice ( I purchased #903 Silver Elements) And the magnet worked perfectly! I would advise that if yours didn't work, you either read through the instructions slowly and carefully (because they aren't that clear) and retry until you get it right, or taking it back to the store you got it from either for assistance with the product or to return it. But I really do hope that you keep trying until you get it right because the finished product looks cool and edgy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LIPGLOSSADDICT1025 on 8/10/2013 10:16:00 PM more reviews by LIPGLOSSADDICT1025

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, people. Check your local Dollarama for this stuff. Don't pay $10, pay only $2. (No, I'm not advertising but it;s where I got mine.)
What I expect in a polish:
-Fast drying
-Two coats and it's opaque
-Pretty colour
-Convenient packaging
Did this polish meet my expectations?
-Yes. The polish was fast drying and I put it on half an hour ago and I can type, most polishes take an hour or two for me to trust them.
-Yes! It only takes one coat and it's opaque; it's beautiful.
-Yes. The colour is absolutely gorgeous( I bought Graphite Gravity )
-The packaging is very convenient with the nice length of the brush and the strength of the magnet. The cap is very easy to hold in your hands.

If people review this as a bad product here is what you do:
-Shake the bottle before each and every nail you paint. Apply a thin coat and let dry completely.
-Apply a nice thick coat (not really thick, maybe just more than an average polish)
-Quickly grab the magnet and place the guide mabob thing and let the magnet sit on your cuticles while you slowly turn it so all of the nail is covered, then remove after about 10-20 seconds of slow turning. Next nail; repeat as described in the past two steps.

I don't see why people hate this product! They have nice colours and it works fine, maybe you picked up a bad bottle. Retry it! It's really cool!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 melaniemallette on 8/7/2013 4:37:00 PM more reviews by melaniemallette

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Didn't work for me so I simply used it as just a nail color lol
This nail polish killed me
I was so dissapointed

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mom2go on 10/8/2012 9:02:00 PM more reviews by mom2go

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Today, after installing a medicine cabinet -- drilling, screwdriving, spackling, etc., I stopped to admire my chip-free manicure. After 3 full days of hard wear, not one chip. The polish is Sally Hansen's Magnetic in Kinetic Copper -- a lovely true dark copper color that is enhanced by magnetic wavy lines.


I'm new to magnetic polish, and there is definitely a learning curve. One thing I learned: all magnets are not created equal. The u-shaped one from China Nail Glaze barely, barely worked for me. However, the SH one worked fine.


If you're having problems getting the magnetic pattern to set, check out some of the excellent videos on You Tube. The magnetic polish requires a thick coat to show off the magnetic effect best, and that is contrary to everything I've been taught about applying nail color. I also think a nice top coat -- like Seche Vite -- makes all the difference.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 earvizo92 on 9/30/2012 3:42:00 AM more reviews by earvizo92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

It's so great. I love love it. The whole idea is awesome they don't all one out perfect the first time bt it take practice to get te ang of it. For its first time out its not bad at all . Some are great bt need some changes. They nailed it with the first try, recommend to everyone of all ages! Can't wait to go out and get more!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 redangel21 on 9/21/2012 1:02:00 PM more reviews by redangel21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this nail polish. It is so easy to apply! I did my nails in about 10 minutes or less.

However, they didn't last very long, only about 4 days :( I think that may have had something to do with the top coat I used though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 buffydog15 on 9/10/2012 9:03:00 PM more reviews by buffydog15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was surprised by all the negative reviews on this product! I actually like it... I have it in Red-y Response which I actually think is a little purple-y but I think it is still pretty. The brush is nice too. The only problems I have with it are that it settles really bad-- if you don't use it for a while, it takes forever to get it to mix again. It also chips off pretty quickly but with how often I re-paint my nails it doesn't bother me. I think it is worth a shot at least...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 8/20/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sally Hansen jumps on the magnetic nail trend with their new Magnetic Nail Color. This new nail line is "Summer's hottest nail trend that allows you to create a gorgeous 3D nail art effect in just seconds. This unique formula was specially developed with metallic particles - just hold the built in magnet over wet polish to reveal a unique design on the nail". Sally Hansen has 8 magnetic shades available. Sally Hansen nail products are DBT, Formaldehyde, and Toluene free. This polish was made in America. Sally Hansen is owned by Coty Inc, who has a questionable animal testing policy, so please research it and form your own opinion before purchasing any Sally Hansen or Coty subsidiary products. I was sent this nail polish free for review purposes by Influenster. Sally Hansen products are widely available at drug and grocery stores, and most major retailers. Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Colors sell for $9.99 for .31fl oz (9.17ml). This polish was made in the USA.
Sally Hansen's Magnetic polishes have chunky but functional packaging. The cap, with attached magnet, pulls off to reveal a smaller cap. The bottle; glass obviously; is short and round. The front portion of the label features only the name of the product. The back bit includes directions, two simple steps to create magnetic nail designs, peeling back the label reveals the same directions written in french and the full ingredient list.
The magnet is really convenient. It's large enough for even the longest and widest nails. There is a lip at the base of the magnet meant to be placed on your cuticle to help balance the magnet and keep you from denting your polish with it. Of course I've managed to mess up a couple times, but no big deal, it chips right off the magnet when it dries.
The brush is pretty simple. It's short, flat and wide. It spreads well and covers my nails in one stroke. No splaying bristles or any icky stuff. The cap seems to be attached well.
So how does magnetic polish work? To put it in the simplest terms, there are little metal bits in the polish that react to the magnet. #science. Using magnetic polish is super easy, probably the fastest form of nail art. You apply the first coat then let it dry. Moments later, apply the second, thicker coat, hover the magnet over the wet polish, immediately after application. The magnet only needs to be in place for 10-15 seconds for the design to form. I don't know if it's just me but my nails feel a little bit funny while the design is forming, like you can feel the magnetic attraction. Remove the magnet and suddenly..NAIL ART. It takes almost zero effort and doesn't require a super steady hand, so it's perfect for the nail art inept (that includes me). The design isn't anything super unique just some wavy lines, but it still looks cool Sally Hansen calls the design 3D, but I'd call it holographic.
Polar Purple applies really well. It goes on smooth with even coats. No brush strokes, which is impressive for a metallic finish polish. Though you need two coats for the magnetic design to be at it's best; if you want to use Polar Purple as a regular polish or only have the design as an accent nail, this polish is opaque in one coat. I love opacity. This polish dries super fast, dry to the touch within seconds. I swear it's the fastest drying polish I have. Great right? Yeah, but here's a big let down. Tip wear sets in almost instantly and this polish chips horribly. I know I tend to have wear issues even when others don't, but really it's not just me this time. I read reviews on Influenster and it seems like a lot of people are having this problem. I normally get really great wear from Sally Hansen polishes, so that makes this polish's chippy nature twice as disappointing.
The color of Polar Purple is interesting. I'd call it a dusty, greyed purple, but it's one of those colors that isn't so easily defined. The color can vary depending on how many coats you've applied and how long it's been exposed to the magnetic. Polar Purple varies from a rich intense purple to a smokey, dull mauve. Definitely interesting, but not necessarily pretty. Very fall/winter.
While I'm glad to have finally tried a magnetic polish and like Sally Hansen as an overall brand, this magnetic polish let me down. The formula can use a lot of improvement, the wear is really really poor. The color is nice, the design is cool, the packaging is functional and the product is really easy to use over all, but what does that matter if the results only last a little while? The concept and science behind magnetic nail polish is neat, but it's a trend I'd rather skip if all magnetic polishes are this finnicky. I'm really disappointed by Sally Hansen's Magnetic Nail Color. This brand is capable of way better lacquers. Also the $10 price tag is way too high for the brand. I could buy a China Glaze, O.P.I, Orly, or Zoya polish for less than the cost of this polish. I only recommend Sally Hansen's Magnetic Nail Color if you have a coupon or a sale is on. I wouldn't purchase this product, I'm kinda glad I got it for free

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products