Maybelline Volum' Express The Mega Plush

3.3

611 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/18/2015 6:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The only good think about this mascara is how light weight it fulls. It would actually be a good mascara except the flexible head is what makes it so bad. A flexible head means you can't apply pressure to boost the lashes. Very dissapointing.



on 2/8/2015 5:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is really good. For some reason, the mascaras that I get in a chubby tube usually work better.. so I had high hopes for this mascara. The brush blends so it makes it really easy to coat all your lashes in a mascara (I find it that it takes a bit longer than hard mascara wands). The end is long lashes tough. It's a really great product, I also like the color of the tube.


on 2/8/2015 7:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Wow, this mascara was awful! I had this in the darkest black available, I forget the actual colour name now. It was ever so slightly better than wearing no mascara and I think putting Vaseline on my lashes actually looked better than this. I have longish lashes but my tips did not get defined with this. I look more for a volumizing mascara and this did not deliver.
The good news, this didn't flake or smudge and didn't irritate my eyes. I usually do pretty well with Maybelline mascaras so it surprised me that this performed so poorly.


on 1/28/2015 3:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I think this mascara is my new go to. I've been through plenty tubes of mascara unimpressed until this little guy. I have straight small lashes and it lengthens and curls them. My favorite thing is that it's pretty easy to remove at night, and when you apply its not a sticky black mess all over your eye. The formula is moist yet dry so it doesn't give lashes that wet feel. The brush bristles seem to coat each lash very well and even though the wand bends I don't notice it. (Don't really know why thats there though?)

Those Who Might Not Like It:
* If you are looking for really thick coated almost falsie look for lashes.
* Gives a more feathered look, not as much volume.
* A little more on the dry side so it can flake a little at times later in the day.


on 1/24/2015 10:37:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

What a disappointment. I bought purple and green. The colors are excellent, no problem there. But the mascara does absolutely nothing for my eyelashes (which are fairly long and fairly thick). I hate the clumsy brush which picks up excessive product. I'm spoiled from using Covergirl Lashblast = really well-designed brushes (but no green available). Because I'm frugal (okay, cheap), I'll use the Maybelline as a final coat after I use my Lashblast. It won't show as color lashes but at least I'll eventually use it up and not feel as if I've wasted money (I bought 2 at eBay for a total of $7).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2015 5:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great mascara, but unfortunately not suited to my straight, short lashes as it doesn't hold my curl at all. The brush is great, and gives a soft, feathery look with lots of volume.


on 1/19/2015 11:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is unreal! I can't believe I wasted so much money trying other ones out. First off, I don't have terrible lashes, but they're not perfect either.. One one eye, they don't naturally have any curl to them, theyre just kinda straight. On the other eye, they're almost too curly. They nearly tangle into themselves. I used a little comb first to comb by lashes out quckly, then of course a curler. With a lot of other mascaras, the formula or brush ruins what I've just done and the too curly lashes end up in a mess, and the straight ones lose their curl within an hour... This, though... It's literally perfect. It's one of the only mascara's I've used in years that doesn't smudge under my eyes, it holds a curl, it lengthens lashes beautifully, and if you just lightly sweep the mascara onto your lashes you get this super light, natural coat that gives your lashes that false lash look/you were born with naturally full wispy lashes. Or if you apply a few more coats/more pressure while applying, you get the exact same thing just darker and with a more thick and full look to the lashes. I didn't find this mascara to be clumpy at all, in fact I've never used a mascara that was void of clumpiness until I bought this! I'm so obsessed with this, I can't stop telling everyone about it. Super awesome too because where I live, this is always one of the cheapest mascaras in the entire makeup section, or it's always on sale. Praying they never discontiue this one. HG for sure! Try it!


on 1/19/2015 10:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I can't believe I randomly bought this. I was looking for a replacement for my Clinique glossy mascara, because it dries out within a month. I don't wear mascara everyday and when I do I want something that looks very natural and just darkens my lashes for the most part. I love that this gel mascara doesn't make my eyelashes stiff. My eyelashes are very long, but blond at the tips and they're naturally curled. I've never had a need for an eyelash curler. I tried Dior Show once and looked ridiculous - beyond fake eyelashes. This is perfection for my needs and it's the only drugstore makeup product I own. I'm going back to buy my local store's stock in black brown. Also, no flaking! When I last tried a drugstore mascara (Maybelline over 10 years ago) flaking was a major issue.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have tried all of the Maybelline Volum' Express mascaras and this is, by far, my favorite. It never clumps, applies smoothly, extends lash length, really makes my lashes look full and "plush." Love it!!


on 1/12/2015 9:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Eh. I really don't like this mascara. I feel like even with curling my eyelashes beforehand, this formula makes them stick straight out. I don't like how my lashes look, one coat, three coats, it doesn't make a difference. And it's flakey, really damn flakey. Not a fan. It'd be a super last resort mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top