Maybelline • Volum' Express The Mega Plush • Mascara

rated 3.3(578 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 tvparty on 9/11/2014 3:23:00 PM more reviews by tvparty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I usually love Maybelline mascaras, but this one was an unfortunate waste of money.
It did nothing to my lashes, no volume, no color, it did seperate them, but honestly i can do that myself with a lash comb.
if you're planning on buying a Maybelline mascara, check out The Rocket (bright cobalt packaging) and the well known The Collossal (with it's unmissable yellow package) they are so much better then this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tushky on 9/11/2014 2:57:00 PM more reviews by Tushky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I usually don't like Maybelline mascaras, but this one is really good! It looks very natural, never clumps and I always apply 2-3 coats(but I always remove the excess from the brush on a paper tissue), gives a lot of volume and definition. Really really nice!

My only cons are that when it's really hot it smudges a little and it doesn't hold a curl, but this can be solved with a very thin layer of waterproof mascara as a base.

Very good overall! A rebuy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fecktopia on 9/9/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by fecktopia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ooh yes, this is what we are talking about. Finally a mascara has nailed both volume and definition in one fell swoop of the aptly named plush wand. I have received many compliments when I wear this as my usually short, sparse lashes look fluffy and like they have magically tripled in number. It doesn't clump even after 2-3 coats. There is oomph factor without being vampy so I am inclined towards this for both day and night use. Removes easily with oil based remover. Holds up throughout day or night and if you need to touch up between it doesn't turn lashes spidery. My only gripe is that I have to use a barrier when applying so it doesn't smudge on my eyeshadow but that's my own fault for having stumpy, curly lashes. It's just a marvellous, all round mascara at a great price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Berrirasp on 9/7/2014 5:30:00 PM more reviews by Berrirasp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Deep Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Good stuff! I have been using this mascara for a while and man OH man. Let's just say every time I wear this people ask me am I wearing fake eyelashes or are those my real eyelashes? I'm like heeeeck yaaa they are! And it doesn't hurt that the bottle is in suuuuch a pretty container.


:D

Buy it! Now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KButler12 on 9/7/2014 12:38:00 PM more reviews by KButler12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a mascara guru! This is the Absolute Worst mascara on the market!!! It gives me no volume, does not come off easily and looks like I have nothing on! Truly a waste of money. However the actually tube is a pretty teal color but let's be honest, no one cares about that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angelicab on 9/5/2014 7:11:00 PM more reviews by angelicab

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara! It opens my eyes and lengthens my lashes so much. I have gotta lots of compliments on my lashes when I wear this mascara. Lasts throughout the day for me and I only wear this on my top lashes and, so far, I haven't noticed any fall out. However, I do tend to get some when I wear them on my bottom lashes. Its $8 at Walmart so I will definitely by repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Danielle2006 on 9/5/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by Danielle2006

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Dark   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I like this mascara so far. Its drugstore making it inexpensive. I love the lightweight formula and the fact it doesnt clump. I only apply one coat and its a big different to say I have little to no lashes. I previously had Covergirl Lash Blash which I didnt love but I wanted to finish the tube anyway. It def gave my lashes volume but the formula was SUPER DRYING. I think Ima stick with the MEGA PLUSH.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sabripereira on 9/2/2014 3:06:00 PM more reviews by sabripereira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I usually really like the volum' express mascaras, so when I saw this new one I thought I'd give it a try. I gotta say this is my favourite one yet. It leaves your lashes soft while giving volume and length.

The brush is a bit too big making it hard to get at the corner lashes without making a mess.

I really like the texture of it, it's not sticky at all. It makes my lashes feel quite silky and it has a very smooth application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 firefox23 on 8/20/2014 11:31:00 PM more reviews by firefox23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I'm really surprised that this mascara doesn't have a higher rating on Makeup Alley - it's actually amazing.

Recently Target had a special promo on Maybelline mascaras ($3.50 each). For some reason, I've always been really intrigued by the Mega Plush Volum' Express whenever I'm in the drug store - maybe it's the name, or the fact that it has a giant brush and a gel mousse formula. Despite this, i've ALMOST purchased it about 3 times, but never sealed the deal. Finally I decided to buy it with the 50% off Target sale.

I actually bought another Maybelline mascara which I tried first and was kind of 'meh' about so I cracked this one open. I have the shade 'Blackest Black', because I generally always purchase the darkest colour. I just love it. I put on a number of coats and it didn't clump, and just added the perfect amount of plump volume (the name doesn't lie). Even though it adds volume and length, it doesn't come across as 'harsh' looking, as with light coloured hair I sometimes find mascara just sticks out too much in an overdone way.

This one is perfection - it has a weird football shaped brush that's flexible, and for me, the formula doesn't transfer from upper or lower lash line. You can build it up quickly for amazing voluminous lashes, or do one coat for something subtle. It doesn't clump like other mascara's (I believe that no matter what type of mascara you use, if you put on a 'crap load' it will clump. period.)

I kept looking at my lashes in the mirror after I first used this - highly recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheBeautySwiftie on 8/18/2014 11:39:00 PM more reviews by TheBeautySwiftie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this mascara. I hate how some mascaras make your lashes hard and flakey. This mascara keeps your lashes soft throughout the day, and definitely doesn't flake. It made my lashes look much longer and fuller, especially with a curl. And the best part is it didn't look spidery at all like some Other products. I will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products