Maybelline • Volum' Express The Mega Plush • Mascara

rated 3.3(608 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sav345 on 1/28/2015 3:58:00 AM more reviews by sav345

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this mascara is my new go to. I've been through plenty tubes of mascara unimpressed until this little guy. I have straight small lashes and it lengthens and curls them. My favorite thing is that it's pretty easy to remove at night, and when you apply its not a sticky black mess all over your eye. The formula is moist yet dry so it doesn't give lashes that wet feel. The brush bristles seem to coat each lash very well and even though the wand bends I don't notice it. (Don't really know why thats there though?)

Those Who Might Not Like It:
* If you are looking for really thick coated almost falsie look for lashes.
* Gives a more feathered look, not as much volume.
* A little more on the dry side so it can flake a little at times later in the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cougar22 on 1/24/2015 10:37:00 PM more reviews by cougar22

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Green    

What a disappointment. I bought purple and green. The colors are excellent, no problem there. But the mascara does absolutely nothing for my eyelashes (which are fairly long and fairly thick). I hate the clumsy brush which picks up excessive product. I'm spoiled from using Covergirl Lashblast = really well-designed brushes (but no green available). Because I'm frugal (okay, cheap), I'll use the Maybelline as a final coat after I use my Lashblast. It won't show as color lashes but at least I'll eventually use it up and not feel as if I've wasted money (I bought 2 at eBay for a total of $7).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lumpytacos on 1/22/2015 5:53:00 AM more reviews by Lumpytacos

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great mascara, but unfortunately not suited to my straight, short lashes as it doesn't hold my curl at all. The brush is great, and gives a soft, feathery look with lots of volume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keyani on 1/19/2015 11:18:00 PM more reviews by keyani

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is unreal! I can't believe I wasted so much money trying other ones out. First off, I don't have terrible lashes, but they're not perfect either.. One one eye, they don't naturally have any curl to them, theyre just kinda straight. On the other eye, they're almost too curly. They nearly tangle into themselves. I used a little comb first to comb by lashes out quckly, then of course a curler. With a lot of other mascaras, the formula or brush ruins what I've just done and the too curly lashes end up in a mess, and the straight ones lose their curl within an hour... This, though... It's literally perfect. It's one of the only mascara's I've used in years that doesn't smudge under my eyes, it holds a curl, it lengthens lashes beautifully, and if you just lightly sweep the mascara onto your lashes you get this super light, natural coat that gives your lashes that false lash look/you were born with naturally full wispy lashes. Or if you apply a few more coats/more pressure while applying, you get the exact same thing just darker and with a more thick and full look to the lashes. I didn't find this mascara to be clumpy at all, in fact I've never used a mascara that was void of clumpiness until I bought this! I'm so obsessed with this, I can't stop telling everyone about it. Super awesome too because where I live, this is always one of the cheapest mascaras in the entire makeup section, or it's always on sale. Praying they never discontiue this one. HG for sure! Try it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AvaRoses on 1/19/2015 10:07:00 PM more reviews by AvaRoses

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can't believe I randomly bought this. I was looking for a replacement for my Clinique glossy mascara, because it dries out within a month. I don't wear mascara everyday and when I do I want something that looks very natural and just darkens my lashes for the most part. I love that this gel mascara doesn't make my eyelashes stiff. My eyelashes are very long, but blond at the tips and they're naturally curled. I've never had a need for an eyelash curler. I tried Dior Show once and looked ridiculous - beyond fake eyelashes. This is perfection for my needs and it's the only drugstore makeup product I own. I'm going back to buy my local store's stock in black brown. Also, no flaking! When I last tried a drugstore mascara (Maybelline over 10 years ago) flaking was a major issue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thehappykitten on 1/14/2015 11:47:00 AM more reviews by thehappykitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried all of the Maybelline Volum' Express mascaras and this is, by far, my favorite. It never clumps, applies smoothly, extends lash length, really makes my lashes look full and "plush." Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SilvaEgle on 1/12/2015 9:32:00 PM more reviews by SilvaEgle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Eh. I really don't like this mascara. I feel like even with curling my eyelashes beforehand, this formula makes them stick straight out. I don't like how my lashes look, one coat, three coats, it doesn't make a difference. And it's flakey, really damn flakey. Not a fan. It'd be a super last resort mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iriscine on 1/12/2015 9:09:00 PM more reviews by iriscine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I brought this with me on Vacation as my only mascara. I started noticing 4-5 eyelashes falling out every day. I promptly stopped using it and my eyelashes stopped falling out. Had to go the rest of the vacation with naked lashes :(.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Neema on 1/11/2015 3:04:00 PM more reviews by Neema

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this mascara but its such a mess! The tube allows way too much mascara onto the wand when you pull it out, its just all over the thing and then I have to wipe it off and it gets all over the tube and make its really clumpy. I seem to have this issue with most of the volume express mascaras as well.

This mascara would be nice if I didnt have to waste so much of it wiping off the wand every time. Otherwise it globs up too much and makes my lashes a big mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sleepygrl13 on 1/10/2015 3:37:00 PM more reviews by sleepygrl13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like the brush on this mascara, and the fluidity of the product. My only con on this product is that is flakes terribly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products