E.L.F. Studio High Definition Undereye Setting Powder

3.9

48 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Mica, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone, Crosspolymer, Silica, Magnesium Staerate Dimethicone, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate (VC), Phytonadione (VK). May Contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Yellow No.5 Lake (CI 19140), Red No.40 Lake (CI 16035), Ultramarine Violet (CI 77007), Blue No.1 Lake (CI 42090)


on 2/27/2015 2:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

There're mixed reviews about this product. And I throught for only 3$ I'm gonna give it a try. From lots of good reviews I've high hope for it. And I'm very disappointed.

First, it contain glitters and when applied you really glitters under your eyes! It doesn't do anything about brightening your under eyes either.
Only thing it does is setting my under eye concealor form melting off. I found it doesn't settle in find lines (not that I have many:p) ,which a plus.



on 2/24/2015 4:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have to set my under eye concealer regardless of brand or price point. Just about every setting powder I have tried seems to darken my eye concealer. I like the typical highlighted eye look and this sets and brightens. Most banana powders, silica powders, and lighter face powders have failed me. This is holy grail for me ... HOLY GRAIL. The jar is bulky and you only get .004 oz/ 1.2 g but 3 dollars?!? I buy 4-5 of them when they go on sale. Oh it does come with a tiny little brush, totally not useful for setting. I still keep them for smudging liner, filling my brows and applying lippies


on 2/24/2015 4:33:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I like this so much I just bought a back up. Even at my age, this does NOT emphasize lines under the eye. And despite the glittery look, it is NOT glittery on skin. For the person who was upset about the photography issues, yep, you can't use any kind of HD powder or even sunscreen with flash photography, it reflects white (see recent blooper pic of Angelina Jolie).

I find that my eyes just don't look "finished" without liner (soft at my age) under the eyes. But I was having issues with the liner migrating, no matter what I used. When I use this over the line, under the eyes, it stays in place all day. Yeah!

My latest undereye lining technique: I use a very thin angle cut brush. I use a combo of a light colored gel-cream liner and a dark powder eye shadow, tapping it first in one then the other, and carefully maneuver the brush under the bottom lashes, usually takes 2-3 passes (by not gooping product on the brush, I can better control the intensity).


on 2/24/2015 1:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

Wow! Sometimes Elf hits it out of the park and this is one of those times!

This tiny little, ridiculously cheap gem really does work wonders over my Nars Creamy Concealer. NOTHING makes fine lines invisible, so some of you need to stop blaming makeup and start blaming either age or genetics. Even teenagers have fine lines; more depending on eye shape. I have large almond eyes that slant when I smile... This causes crinkles... At birth, lol! It is what it is... And, makeup doesn't work miracles...

That said, this doesn't emphasize them at all and does seem to diminish them all while brightening the area and making your concealer last for hours... It also keeps your concealer from migrating and settling into fine lines and emphasizing them further.

I don't think I could ask for more for $3... Could you?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2015 1:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I just purchased my second jar of this powder. It works quite well to set under eye concealer. I use the Real Techniques setting brush to apply it. You do need to use a reasonable amount to set concealer but it never looks cakey or dry. I know a lot of people don't like the amount of glitter in the powder but once I apply it I can't notice any of the glitter. For the price, you can't beat this powder.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So far I'm really impressed with this product, I've been have issues with my concealer creasing and my mascara transferring under my eyes for quiet some time and time product really does help stop this from happening. Yes it's got shimmer, all the other reviews are right but I personally don't see this as an issue, yeah it's there but it's more like an illuminating effect than one that causes harm, it definitely doesn't make it unwearable. For the price this is a fantastic product and it really does do what it says. The only reason I'm giving it 4 starts is because of the shimmer factor and the packaging that unfortunately wastes a little at times. This is the first under eye setting powder so it's hard to know what they are up against!


on 12/13/2014 2:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this product yet. This product and the HD powder, also from E.l.f, are my life savers! First of all, I'm really fair. I am lighter than the lighter shade of MAC and this powder doesn't show at all on me. I tried it on friends who are darker, and it doesn't show on them either. It's really a translucent powder, but this one have a little rosy tint to it that doesn't show on my skin. I also have really dry skin, and this doesn't show fine lines of flaky patch at all.

I also have really dark under eye circles AND the raccoon effect curse. No matter what mascara I use, I usually get raccoon eyes. This powder removes that. It set the concealer that I use, it doesn't show at all, and it keeps me from looking like an emo-raccoon all day! I love it. It also really lightens my under-eye area and make me look more awake.

The package is tiny, but a little product goes a long way and it's SO cheap so you do not have to worry about that.

Also, buyer beware, if you do not like glitters in your products, do not buy this products. There's blue micro-glitter in it. Me, I don't mind at all, but I know that others might be put-off by this.

Oh and last thing, If you've ever tried powderflage before from Benefit and liked this product, buy this one. For 3$, you can't go wrong! It's as good (in fact probably better) than the benefit powder.

EDIT ON 2015-02-23:
I need to knock down 2 lippies. Unfortunately, this powder SHOW a lot when you get your photography taken with flash... You'll look like you have inverse raccoon eyes lol. People say that if it does that it's because I used too much but I tried with a fan brush, with a stippling brush, with a concealer brush, kabuki brush... a lot, a little... nothing work.. it always show.

And also, for those who are afraid of the glitters... they show if you are in direct sun. So be careful with that. All in all.. I need to find another undereye powder :(

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2014 10:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can not rave enough about this product.
My under eyes look like I've been punched, they are so dark! I use the ELF under eye concealer in medium glow which is the BEST coverage and staying power concealer…but then i use this powder to set it, and it is fantastic!

What does this powder do?
It takes however much you have concealed your under eye and brightens it two fold. It pretty much lightens your concealer and sets it so you look even more awake and naturally bright under your eyes. It keeps my concealer from creasing and makes a noticeable difference in under eye brightening. And you can't go wrong with the price!

Note: if you are going to be taking flash photography, really blend this in or it will show!


on 12/2/2014 10:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Works great. Glitter is barely noticeable. Expect some creasing when using ANYTHING under the eye. No way around that what so ever.


on 11/30/2014 12:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

edit: solution found- mixing a tiny amount of this with cover fx cream concealer, helps it to stay without the creasing.
-=-
This makes my under eye area look dry and wrinkly. I am in my 20s, and I don't have wrinkles. So the only reason I can I think of is that this powder doesn't 'cling' and gathers into itself, when you smile. Also not working, as lightly as possible undereyes, and as an all-over powder. It's just okay. The colour isn't too good for me, it may be better for cool-toned skin or paler skin.

My skin looks really dead and dry even if I use a small amount, as an all-over powder. I will probably not repurchase after finishing it. I don't understand the good reviews.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top