Essie All in One 3-Way Glaze Base + Top Coat + Strengthener

3.5

22 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this as a base coat (not to say that it's a bad top coat, I just don't generally use top coats). Previously, I was using one by OPI. Unlike OPI's however, Essie's All-in-One polish prevents staining from nail polish. I didn't get very bad stains, but I could definitely tell my nail tips were a bit yellow after removing nail polish with the OPI. I've used Essie's as a base coat for a few months now and have noticed a difference. The tips are very clean and white looking, so I can wear them without polish and not be embarrassed.

As for wear, I've noticed it lasts about the same as the OPI base coat, which is about 2 weeks. Please keep in mind that I always try to prepare my nails as best as possible by cleaning up around the cuticles with a double-ended cuticle pusher before polish application, so I think that is part of the equation when considering longevity of manicures and efficacy of base coat.

For preventing staining, this is amazing!



on 7/5/2015 2:21:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a good product. It goes on thinner than many base and top coats and takes a little longer to dry. It is very shiny as a top coat and used as a basecoat it seems to prevent peeling polish and staining. I like quick dry top coats but I suspect they dry out my nails.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2015 8:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been using this product for years and loving it. Now that the formula has the blueish tint, it is even better! Goes on very smooth, gives great shine as a top coat. It does take a bit to dry, but then again, you are putting 4 layers of product on (this for base, 2 coats of polish, and this as top coat), so you will need to give it time to dry.


on 8/14/2014 10:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is great. I use it every time I paint my nails and it does an awesome job of keeping my nails protected from dark polishes. I also use it by itself and it makes my nails stronger and shiny. The consistency is very thin which is a plus. I recommended it to my cousin and she also thought it was an all around good base coat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2014 1:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've had this for almost a year and to be honest.. It's always on my nails whether I have nail polish on or not.. Why? Because when i remove it.. My nails chip and break.. This is by far the BEST thing I've ever had... The only thing I don't like is that then it's about to finish the nail polish brush doesn't get to the bottom so :/.


on 3/22/2014 1:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like the texture the base coat leaves my nails to then paint with polish. It's smooth yet there is a slight tackiness. I've also noticed upon applying, then leaving ten minutes to dry, I get a 4-5 day manicure wear by the very least with some tip wear. I don't find it strengthens my nails, but then again my diet isn't perfect plus I smoke so I find that my nails are yellowed. My only gripe is that half way down the bottle is really hard to reach the base coat due to its packaging.


on 3/20/2014 12:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I actually think this one works pretty well for being an "all in one". I use it as base and top coat. For example today I used it with Chanel Le Vernis Taboo in between and for me it dried quickly, around 15 minutes later I could do whatever I wanted.
The only problem is if i touch the nail polish with a nail it might make a scratch an hour later or so.


on 3/19/2014 1:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Horrible base coat. Makes my nail polishes apply super streaky and ugly. Never used as a top coat. I would much rather use my opi nail envy as a base coat. Still on the hunt for a great base coat


on 3/4/2014 5:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Even though not many people like this product, I reckon it's an excellent base and top coat. The price is cheaper than OPI but it really does the job. When it applies as base, my nail polish goes on smoother and it prevents my nails from staining. As top coat it makes my nails look glossy and i find if i re-apply it every day, my polish stays longer without chipping that easily. Overall a good value, quality product. I would definitely re-purchase.


on 1/20/2014 6:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I don't use this as a base and top coat. I use it for top coat only. Its just 'Ok', i believe there are much better products out there. Revlon base gel coat is my go to, and after this bottle is done I plan to try the revlon gel top coat, or maybe another Essie top coat. My nails are pretty short and i like this because it dries quickly,but my nail polish only lasts 1-3 days. this may just be my lot in life, but I'm hopeful another top coat will help.


Popular Top/Base Coats


Dry Fast Top Coat
Dry Fast Top Coat
1709 Reviews
No-chip Topcoat
No-chip Topcoat
22 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Lollipop

40 reviews
image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

53 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
Back to Top