Essie • All in One Base • Top/Base Coats

rated 3.3(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 5sos1d on 8/14/2014 10:01:00 PM more reviews by 5sos1d

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product is great. I use it every time I paint my nails and it does an awesome job of keeping my nails protected from dark polishes. I also use it by itself and it makes my nails stronger and shiny. The consistency is very thin which is a plus. I recommended it to my cousin and she also thought it was an all around good base coat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zee140 on 7/5/2014 1:49:00 PM more reviews by zee140

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had this for almost a year and to be honest.. It's always on my nails whether I have nail polish on or not.. Why? Because when i remove it.. My nails chip and break.. This is by far the BEST thing I've ever had... The only thing I don't like is that then it's about to finish the nail polish brush doesn't get to the bottom so :/.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Midtownmagic on 3/22/2014 1:55:00 AM more reviews by Midtownmagic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the texture the base coat leaves my nails to then paint with polish. It's smooth yet there is a slight tackiness. I've also noticed upon applying, then leaving ten minutes to dry, I get a 4-5 day manicure wear by the very least with some tip wear. I don't find it strengthens my nails, but then again my diet isn't perfect plus I smoke so I find that my nails are yellowed. My only gripe is that half way down the bottle is really hard to reach the base coat due to its packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AasaLinnea on 3/20/2014 12:46:00 PM more reviews by AasaLinnea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I actually think this one works pretty well for being an "all in one". I use it as base and top coat. For example today I used it with Chanel Le Vernis Taboo in between and for me it dried quickly, around 15 minutes later I could do whatever I wanted.
The only problem is if i touch the nail polish with a nail it might make a scratch an hour later or so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 csengphakdy on 3/19/2014 1:13:00 AM more reviews by csengphakdy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible base coat. Makes my nail polishes apply super streaky and ugly. Never used as a top coat. I would much rather use my opi nail envy as a base coat. Still on the hunt for a great base coat

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 INEM on 3/4/2014 5:04:00 AM more reviews by INEM

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Even though not many people like this product, I reckon it's an excellent base and top coat. The price is cheaper than OPI but it really does the job. When it applies as base, my nail polish goes on smoother and it prevents my nails from staining. As top coat it makes my nails look glossy and i find if i re-apply it every day, my polish stays longer without chipping that easily. Overall a good value, quality product. I would definitely re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 inkyblaine on 1/20/2014 6:31:00 PM more reviews by inkyblaine

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I don't use this as a base and top coat. I use it for top coat only. Its just 'Ok', i believe there are much better products out there. Revlon base gel coat is my go to, and after this bottle is done I plan to try the revlon gel top coat, or maybe another Essie top coat. My nails are pretty short and i like this because it dries quickly,but my nail polish only lasts 1-3 days. this may just be my lot in life, but I'm hopeful another top coat will help.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 strawberrygrl on 11/17/2013 4:18:00 PM more reviews by strawberrygrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Horrible top coat. As a base, its okay, but top coat is more important to me. The top coat takes waayyyyyyyy to long to dry (I'm talking hours). If you smudge just a little by touching your nails on something the shine is gone and the color become dull. Will be returning it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joshquinto on 7/20/2013 11:01:00 PM more reviews by joshquinto

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This makes my nail polish goes on smoother.. And it helps not to stain my nail which is what it's supposed to do

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 marshiemallow14 on 7/17/2013 10:21:00 PM more reviews by marshiemallow14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

It worked great as a base, but as a top coat didn't really work. Chipping started within 24 hours, so not that great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Top/Base Coats products