Avene Skin Recovery Cream (US name: Cream For Intolerant Skin)

4.1

228 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

US cream for intolerant skin: Water (Aqua), Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Cyclomethicone, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Squalane, Benzoic Acid, Carbomer, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Triethanolamine. ------------------------------------ US Avene skin recovery cream: Avene Thermal Spring Water (avene Aqua), Mineral Oil (paraffinumliquidum), Glycerin, Glycerylstearate, Squalane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Clycohexasiloxane, Serine, Carbomer, Tetrasodium Edta, Triethanolamine, Water (aqua).


on 4/9/2015 4:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've picked out this moisturizer after seen all the good reviews.
I use this one for winter time when my skin is all dry and dehydrated from the cold winter temperature. I use this day and night and I absolutely LOVE it! HG for winter moisturizer. It's a pretty thick and rich cream and take a short while to be fully absorbed (less than 5 min). My skin feels so supple and soft after using this. I stopped having dry patches during winter and my skin never feels tight. (I use about 3 tubes per winter. I live in Canada so our winter is from late October until end of March). Never had a pimple with this cream.

packaging: It's nice that it's well sealed and bacteria proof but I sometimes struggled to open the moisturizer because it was shut so tightly...

price : it is an expensive for the amount you get. But it's worth every penny!

I strongly recommend this to everyone! It's worth a try. If you're not sure, you can always use it as a mask to recover from a dry, dehydrated skin. I'd rebuy this next year for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/18/2015 10:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am very much on the fence with this moisturizer. On the one hand, I love the packaging, and I like the way the formula feels. I may have been setting myself up for failure, hoping for some kind of miracle product. My skin has been very out of whack lately, all kinds of little breakouts, smatterings of white and blackheads, and pimples popping up on my chin and forehead every so often. I also have mild rosacea, and try to avoid using anything too drying or too intense as that tends to make things worse.

That being said, I can't tell if this moisturizer (the only new product I've introduced lately into my admittedly sparse skincare regime) is making me breakout. I also don't know if it is really doing much of anything good, either, and if the tube hadn't cost be ~$35, I probably wouldn't still be using it.

I've been applying it once a day, at night, after washing my face and in the place of my usual Nivea cream. I am tempted to switch back to Nivea for a few weeks, and see if that calms things down (if I do, I will update this review.) To be honest, there is nothing inherently awful about this Avene moisturizer, and I'm sure for some people whose skin isn't quite as persnickety as mine, it might work wonders. But I haven't found anything spectacular about it either. All and all, it is a bit of a wash, potentially an acne causing one, for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2015 7:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

It's a nice calming cream. Doesn't give enough moisture during winter though, so you need to use some oil or serum. It lasts quite long so I think it's worth the price. The only downside is that it makes my face shiny (i have slightly oily combination skin), so I wouldn't repurchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2015 2:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this on a whim, after my skin was irritated by another product. However, I did not notice the ingredients list. Second ingredient is mineral oil and third ingredient is cyclomethicone. Now, it might just be me but I believe it's about time brands for sensitive skin stop putting mineral oil in everything. Yes, mineral oil is great for eczma and other dry skin conditions. And that's why it should not be put on most people's faces!

I understand that some people who might actually have a disturbed hydrolipidic barrier need occlusive molecules such as those found in mineral oil to support such layer. And when people have highly allergic skin, they might not be able to use, for example, a plant oil. Sure. But most people don't need that barrier because their own barrier is intact. In the end of the day some people love mineral oil, others hate it. Either way, Avene should make it clear that this cream is only for people who tolerate occlusive moisturisers - i.e. very dry skin.

A few days of using this cream and the Avene milk cleanser left my skin full of red spots on places where I don't get them. I am adamant that the culprit is the high mineral oil content. I am scientist myself and I respect the experiments done on rabbit's and mice ears. However, it is also important to note that unlike us, mice and rabbits don't wear makeup and sunscreen nor have active sebaceous glands on their ears. They also don't become hormonal... So, just because we know that the molecules in mineral oil are too large to penetrate the pores, that doesn't necessarily mean that it won't cause problems. The fact that mineral oil is so occlusive (not only hydrophobic but also generally hard to shift) means that acne prone skin might end up breaking out. I do acknowledge that some people find great relief from mineral oil, but I would say most of us don't.

On a positive note, I really like the fact that it's fragrance free, comes in a tube and is quite light in texture. I would say this is an excellent option for people who tolerate and need moisturisers that are high in mineral oil. It still leaves a residue and a shiny face, but feels nice and soothing. I would say it would be nice to use overnight.

Overall I believe this is not suitable for my skin type. Only people who can tolerate mineral oil should reach for this. It is still much better than other recovery creams who only have mineral oil and silicones as main ingredients. At least this one has a high content of thermal water which is soothing and non occlusive- this is probably why the cream feels so light!


on 1/14/2015 10:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i've only been using this skin recovery cream calming formula for a week but so far the results i've got have been amazing. it has improved the texture of my skin, helped bring suppleness back to my skin and my redness has subsided by about 30%. i love it. my only complaint is that it cannot be used under makeup as it's kinda sticky and leave a dewy sheen so i only use it at night. other than that, it's a keeper.


on 1/1/2015 11:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Review for Avene Skin Recovery Cream (Soothing, Protecting: For Hypersensitive and Irritable skin)...


I just ordered my second bottle of this cream. I've been using it this winter. I have oily skin, but the harsh weather makes my face blotchy and red, and usual moisturizer just wasn't doing the trick. So I went to MUA Productville and found reviews for Avene Skin Recovery Cream.

I started using this a month ago, and noticed that the blotchiness (redness and mini whiteheads) would go away. I've also noticed that after a couple weeks of regular use the super fine lines under my eyes would go away. (I don't have wrinkles, but the left side of my face - drivers side, use sunscreen ppl! - has more "smile lines" than the right)

I have oily skin and no matter what moisturizer I use (including Avene Skin Recovery Cream) on my face I always have to blot the oil away during the day. The good news is that this moisturizer doesn't seem to make my skin oilier or clog my pores. I've only been using it in the winter so far so when summer rolls around things could change.


Pros:
- moisturizing
- soothes blotchy skin
- erases fine lines and makes skin feel supple
- doesn't clog pores

Cons:
- difficult to get product out of the bottle when it's low


on 11/22/2014 2:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was in desperate need of a good moisturizer to get rid of the dry patches on my cheeks. I applied this day and night, and VOILA! My dry patches were gone after only 2 days!!! This stuff is FREAKING AMAZING! It is very thick, almost like a toothpaste consistency, and quite hard to blend (compared to other moisturizers). It's not greasy at all and leaves a matte finish. Also love the packaging: light and travel-friendly plastic squeeze tube with a specially sealed opening that makes it very hygienic. No fragrance and hypoallergenic.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is a review for the rich formula, and sadly, this moisturizer made my skin feel leathery and my pores seemed to be enlarged, and worst of all: I got an itching rash from it. I tried it for two weeks, but now it is in my waste bin.

I bought it because since I hit 40, my skin has become very dry and very sensitive (i.e. I can't use the products I've been using for so many years anymore, my face gets all red). I was looking for a moisturizer that without perfume and colorants, and after a quite extensive research online I decided to go for the Avené Skin Recovery Cream Rich.

It was very rich so a little goes a long way, but it felt strange... Like the skin was hydrated but at the same time not supple and soft. At the beginning it calmed my red and irritated skin a little bit, but as the days went by my skin started to itch. Furthermore, my foundation (Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation) didn't set and instead that made me look like I had dry patches all over my face (which I didn't) and enhanced my pores instead of concealing them.

Finally, when the itching became bulging rashes on my chin, I decided to stop using this cream.

I would not recommend this to anyone. It was one of the strangest creams I've ever tried and I've tried Clarins, Clinique, Oil of Olay, Neutrogena, L'Oreal, Dior, Garnier, Elizabeth Arden etc. Reach for another moisturizer, MUA reader, this one won't help!


on 10/4/2014 7:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My skin tends to be oily on the T-zone area, but since this product, it neutralise my skin that it's no longer producing oil that much. It gives balance and now my skin feels healthier and smoother :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Saved me after some bad sun damage.


Back to Top