Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman • Shading Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.7(32 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* daisyismydog on 12/22/2014 12:07:00 AM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have small Asian eyes with not a lot of lid space, and this is the first shading brush that I've found easy to use. It's great for more precise placement across the lid while not being so small to the point where it takes too long to do my eye makeup. I use mainly loose indie eyeshadow where the best results are achieved by patting the eyeshadow on instead of swiping, and this brush works well for the purpose. I tap off excess product, and rarely encounter any fallout when I'm applying. I've had this brush for several months and haven't experience any shedding, decrease in softness, or any misshapen bristles.

Overall, this is a great shading brush that is dense enough to pack on color while being small enough to easily navigate even on limited lid space.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tahneethomas on 11/13/2014 10:11:00 PM more reviews by tahneethomas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I rate this brush just as highly as all of my MAC eye brushes. I bought it on a whim for about $15 while purchasing the Expert Face brush and it's been amazing! It really picks up the product and packs it on to your lid, doesn't drop anything and makes precision a breeze. It feels incredibly soft as well and the handle on it is the perfect length, I honestly couldn't be happier and can't recommend this brush enough. I don't know why I was so hesitant to purchase anything by real techniques, they're my new go to!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liorak on 5/20/2014 5:43:00 PM more reviews by liorak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this in the travel set a while back. Amazingggg, I actually use it now for my under-eye concealer and around the nose. Have not tried it for shadow. I have very dark circles and the inner corner of my eyes is also very dark so the crease shadow brush from real techniques is too big for that. This is amazing for those are to reach areas, especially if you do your eye makeup first, which I usually do for smokey eyes/nights out as I use more pigmented shades, which usually have more fallout.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinktigerr on 4/5/2014 6:48:00 PM more reviews by pinktigerr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is one of my go-to brushes for packing eyeshadow onto the eyelid. It picks up a good amount of product and does not shed. It's slightly smaller than some of my other brushes so it can be very useful for more detailed work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 3/19/2014 1:45:00 PM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a small brush with dense but soft bristles that I use to blend my eye makeup so I don't get any harsh lines.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jtbeautyx3 on 2/15/2014 8:53:00 PM more reviews by jtbeautyx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

At $5.99, this is a great buy! I have a small lid and I find that this packs on just the right amount of eyeshadow. I love that it's dense too so that you can really get the inner corners.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riotkitty on 1/21/2014 1:28:00 PM more reviews by riotkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the perfect outer-V brush. Its small and dense enough that I can easily pack eyeshadow in the outer-v, but the rounded shape keeps it from looking to harsh which was my problem with pencil brushes. Its also the perfect size and shape applying shadow to my lower lid.

Few words of warning: Make sure you take a good look at where the bristles are packed into the ferrule before you buy it. The first brush I got had loose bristles that fell out after washing it a couple times and I had to get another one. The second brush I bought didn't have this problem and I've washed it several times now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 waters2 on 1/11/2014 1:34:00 PM more reviews by waters2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I liked this brush when I first bought it. It's a good tool for applying shadow without fallout. However, I learned that it's not easy to tap away excess shadow or glitter from the brush, and it's too imprecise and dense for all but the most basic applications. I like it best for washes of bright color, since the brush doesn't pick up too much product, but prefer to use other brushes for that purpose. Blending is just OK with the shading brush. Overall, I think it's a nice tool for beginners and those who need just a wash or two of color. I no longer use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GirlyGirl143 on 1/6/2014 11:36:00 PM more reviews by GirlyGirl143

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Really good brush for packing color onto the lid when you want intense color to be seen or for putting highlighter on the brow bone. If you have larger eyes you can use it for "outer V" defining, but I personally prefer the RT "accent brush" that comes in the starter for that.

It is really soft, doesn't shed (I have washed mine a lot) and you can't beat the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 12/4/2013 9:14:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Yeah so this is supposed to be a shading brush, right? I don't use it like that. Instead I use it to blend out concealer. It's a dream for that. It's small enough to fit right up under my lash line and into that wonderful "bag" area where it's the darkest.

I'd recommend this whether or not you're going to use it for shading. You'll find a way to use this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman products

More Makeup Brushes products