Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Shading Brush

4.7

33 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/25/2015 2:20:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Green

I think I have found my HG eyeshadow brush. After using various eye shadow brushes from the likes of MAC, Bobbi Brown and Laura Merceir, as well as cheaper versions from the Body Shop (the old natural wood range I had a liking too), I decided to try this brush on a whim as I find I need quite a few eyeshadow brushes to accommodate the different colour eyeshadows I wear each day. Well today I used this brush with 2 of Bobbi Brown's eyeshadows and wow. I had zero fallout and the most perfect eyeshadow application ever. I would even go so far as to say that my eyeshadow has lasted much better than it normally does and I can attribute it to this little brush. I can honestly say that I cannot fault this product and I will be recommending it to all those who are seeking eyeshadow brush recommendations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/22/2014 12:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have small Asian eyes with not a lot of lid space, and this is the first shading brush that I've found easy to use. It's great for more precise placement across the lid while not being so small to the point where it takes too long to do my eye makeup. I use mainly loose indie eyeshadow where the best results are achieved by patting the eyeshadow on instead of swiping, and this brush works well for the purpose. I tap off excess product, and rarely encounter any fallout when I'm applying. I've had this brush for several months and haven't experience any shedding, decrease in softness, or any misshapen bristles.

Overall, this is a great shading brush that is dense enough to pack on color while being small enough to easily navigate even on limited lid space.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2014 10:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I rate this brush just as highly as all of my MAC eye brushes. I bought it on a whim for about $15 while purchasing the Expert Face brush and it's been amazing! It really picks up the product and packs it on to your lid, doesn't drop anything and makes precision a breeze. It feels incredibly soft as well and the handle on it is the perfect length, I honestly couldn't be happier and can't recommend this brush enough. I don't know why I was so hesitant to purchase anything by real techniques, they're my new go to!


on 5/20/2014 5:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Bought this in the travel set a while back. Amazingggg, I actually use it now for my under-eye concealer and around the nose. Have not tried it for shadow. I have very dark circles and the inner corner of my eyes is also very dark so the crease shadow brush from real techniques is too big for that. This is amazing for those are to reach areas, especially if you do your eye makeup first, which I usually do for smokey eyes/nights out as I use more pigmented shades, which usually have more fallout.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2014 6:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is one of my go-to brushes for packing eyeshadow onto the eyelid. It picks up a good amount of product and does not shed. It's slightly smaller than some of my other brushes so it can be very useful for more detailed work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a small brush with dense but soft bristles that I use to blend my eye makeup so I don't get any harsh lines.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2014 8:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

At $5.99, this is a great buy! I have a small lid and I find that this packs on just the right amount of eyeshadow. I love that it's dense too so that you can really get the inner corners.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2014 1:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is the perfect outer-V brush. Its small and dense enough that I can easily pack eyeshadow in the outer-v, but the rounded shape keeps it from looking to harsh which was my problem with pencil brushes. Its also the perfect size and shape applying shadow to my lower lid.

Few words of warning: Make sure you take a good look at where the bristles are packed into the ferrule before you buy it. The first brush I got had loose bristles that fell out after washing it a couple times and I had to get another one. The second brush I bought didn't have this problem and I've washed it several times now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2014 1:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I liked this brush when I first bought it. It's a good tool for applying shadow without fallout. However, I learned that it's not easy to tap away excess shadow or glitter from the brush, and it's too imprecise and dense for all but the most basic applications. I like it best for washes of bright color, since the brush doesn't pick up too much product, but prefer to use other brushes for that purpose. Blending is just OK with the shading brush. Overall, I think it's a nice tool for beginners and those who need just a wash or two of color. I no longer use it.


on 1/6/2014 11:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Really good brush for packing color onto the lid when you want intense color to be seen or for putting highlighter on the brow bone. If you have larger eyes you can use it for "outer V" defining, but I personally prefer the RT "accent brush" that comes in the starter for that.

It is really soft, doesn't shed (I have washed mine a lot) and you can't beat the price.




Top Rated Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Products

image

Setting Brush

90 reviews
image

Shading Brush

33 reviews
image

Buffing Brush

114 reviews
image

Core Collection

213 reviews
Back to Top