Organix • Organix Repairing Awapuhi Ginger Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.6(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Jenna68 on 3/30/2014 11:07:00 PM more reviews by Jenna68

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm pretty shocked at how great this and the matching conditioner work on my hair. I have long, fine textured but thick, color treated (nothing extensive - I use Olia to match my natural dark brown hair color to cover the gray coming in) 1c hair. I'm temporarily a bit broke, so I couldn't afford my usual beloved Bumble and Bumble this go round, and I'd heard good things about this line, so I thought I'd give it a go. My hair is soft, shiny and bouncy, and I haven't noticed it fading my color. I don't think I'll be going back to Bumble and Bumble (except for their styling products!) I didn't think I'd ever say that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kasery on 2/10/2014 1:13:00 AM more reviews by Kasery

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Listen up Y'all.
I've got thick, curly, long hair. The thing is with thick, curly, long hair is that it is a bitch to take care of. For years I switched shampoo and conditioner constantly because my hair was still a frizzy mess after every bottle. And then I saw this little beauty (well, not this one specifically, but the same brand), sitting on the bottom shelf, out-shined by the Pantene and the Garnier and the L'oreal Kids. From day 1, my hair was softer-- We're not talking perfect, but better-- and the longer I kept with it, the more the curls became defined and soft and bouncy.
I've been using this brand faithfully for 4 years. I don't even have to cut my hair anymore because I don't get split ends. At all. We're talkin' zero; and if you have curly hair, you know what a big deal that is. With this, all I have to do is shower and comb my hair, and the hair just dries into a nice cascade of curls. But this is after 4 YEARS. You can't expect overnight instant glam, people. No shampoo will give you that; but this will repair your damaged hair as much as possible, and keep the new growth healthy.
The smell is an absolutely wonderful floral that is faint on the hair, but if you have your hair up and then take it down you will release wafts of floral like you had just come from rolling in a pile of flowers, and people will flock to you to smell your hair. I'm not kidding. You're gonna make some friends just because your hair smells nice.
You're gonna get more creaminess than lather; but really, people, lather isn't always a good thing. Lather comes from sulfates. Sulfates aren't great for your hair. Capisce?
Speaking of sulfates, when I first started using this, they were completely sulfate free. Now I see they've added a sulfate in the ingredients, which disappoints me, but I'm guessing they got sick of people complaining about not having lather. I have not, however, seen any difference in how this shampoo cares for my hair. If anything, it's better. If having a "no sulfate" shampoo is really, really important to you, I understand-- but this is as close as you're gonna get for a drugstore product.
I have one problem with the bottle, and that's that you cant see how much is left. There's no way to remove the cap, so you're just forced to guesstimate based on how loud the bottle's shart noises are as you work your way to the bottom. But it's a great size; easy to hold with one hand.
In short, go out. Buy yourself a couple bottles. Take care of your hair. It'll do the rest.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Heath32 on 11/10/2013 2:48:00 PM more reviews by Heath32

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This isn't an instant, overnight-I-have-perfect-hair shampoo; it's fairly ordinary in that it cleans your hair well and has a mild scent. I purchased it because I felt that my hair was weak and damaged and needed some help. After several months of consistent use (another nice thing about it - it lasts forever, even though the bottle looks small) I noticed that I could visibly see the difference between the new hair growing at my roots, and the rest of my hair. It was shiny, smooth, and strong, while the rest of my hair still looked a little frazzled. I started using a good leave-in product, and combined with the Organix shampoo, I began to have really good hair days. On its own, it helps promote new, healthy hair growth, but it won't reverse the damage that's already been done.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Iphy on 10/14/2013 12:03:00 PM more reviews by Iphy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Pravana's sulfate free shampoo is my HG, at the moment, but I simply cannot afford it at something like $15 a bottle. My hair is dry, thin, curly, frizzy, color treated (demi permanents once in a while) and prone to fallout from medication. I liked this at first, but my hair is now dry and breaking because of this shampoo. Have been in denial and used about 70% of the bottle. I want to use an actual sulfate free shampoo but I fear I just can't find one in my price range. Looking for a new shampoo :\

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iluvpoproxx on 9/29/2013 11:22:00 AM more reviews by iluvpoproxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have naturally wavy hair that is extremely dry/coarse. I'm also prone to split ends due to heat styling. I bought this because I was looking for something to help repair/prevent some of the damage that my flat iron inflicts without stripping my keratin treatment. I've got a few shampoos left out of the bottle and my hair feels like silk after every use (I've been using for about two months since I only wash my hair 2/3 times a week). When used in combination with the conditioner all I have to do is apply some anti-frizz cream and let my hair air dry for a beach wave look. Also, it smells amazing. The only complaint I really have is the bottle design; I wish the top was flat so that I could store it upside down allowing all of the product to flow to the top of the container.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 apb216 on 6/26/2013 10:47:00 AM more reviews by apb216

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

My friends raved about how this shampoo made their hair smell amazing so when I ran out of mine I bought some...well thats great that it makes your hair smell good, but it took me two times of shampooing to get a good lather going on my whole head. That greatly irritates me because the bottle is small and cost me $7 at my grocery store, which means I will have to use twice as much and buy it twice as fast and spend more money than I usually would. That is a rip off. I didn't notice anything different about my hair except that it didn't repair anything, in fact it made it look and feel like my split ends were a bit worse. I guess shelling out all the extra money for Its A 10 products is worth it in the long run

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 phoebeclaire on 6/8/2013 1:01:00 AM more reviews by phoebeclaire

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo would be my HG shampoo. If it weren't for one thing I would really just use this shampoo forever and ever and forget about all other shampoos. It leaves my hair silky and incredibly shiny. No other shampoo makes my hair so shiny. It also defines my waves better than any other shampoo, and smells amazing. However, I can not use it because it gives me HORRIBLE dandruff. I can't even get away with using it once, I can feel it irritating my scalp. No other shampoo has this effect on me, I don't know what it is. I don't see anyone else having this problem with this shampoo, so it may work for someone else. I still honestly think its worth a try. For the record, I have fine, dry/damaged, color treated hair. This shampoo fades color.

All in all, I personally would not buy again, but it definitely could be an amazing shampoo for someone else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 5/28/2013 11:22:00 PM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So far I am absolutely in love with this shampoo. I bought it because it is repairing and it smells amazing. I have dry, damaged hair from bleaching and color treating but I also have a really oily scalp so my hair needs something that can not be too drying but not be too moisturizing. I am very particular when it comes to shampoos and conditioners, I do not like to mess around with my hair in the condition that it is in and I do not tolerate sulfates in my shampoo at all- they are the devil for damaged hair and this shampoo does not contain any luckily! I was really worried when I first squeezed this out of the bottle because it is incredibly thick. I always shampoo twice and after the first shampoo the lather was kind of poor which happens with every shampoo but upon the second round, the lather was very rich and creamy and felt very hydrating and healthy. When I get out of the shower and let my hair air dry, it feels soft and looks very healthy, my boyfriend actually commented once on how great it looked after using this shampoo. I like that with this shampoo I can wait the full 2-3 days before washing and my scalp doesn't feel oily and I don't feel like I'm in dire need of dry shampoo. I don't own the conditioner presently but I would love to try it out after I am out of my current one. I hope for good results with this. Will update after a few months of use but so far, would recommend. (I usually alternate between 2 brands of shampoo and conditioner so my hair doesn't get used to the products I use so I will be using a different brand in between now and my next purchase).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 can2 on 5/23/2013 2:20:00 PM more reviews by can2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

When i first started using this product i was in LOVE with it. I love the smell and the way my hair felt. After a few months of using it i started to feel my hair slowly get damage My ends were starting to break off and just feel like gum if that makes sense. I have chemically treated hair and its on the dry side so using this product was not helping but instead damaging my poor hair. I wash my hair every other day to every other 2 days so it s not like i was using it too often. I gave it 3 lips because the smell is great and the product does last a good amount of time. I will probably not finish whats left and just move on to a better shampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iamommy on 5/9/2013 2:38:00 PM more reviews by iamommy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love this shampoo. It leaves my hair so soft and shiny. I did recently do a hot oil treatment at home and usually I can wash all the oil out with two washes, three tops, but after washing my hair with this shampoo like 6 times, I just reached for some suave. I think it's great for my dry hair that it strips the hair less than other brands I've used, but I'm not sure it would be so great for oily hair. I love the light scent of this shampoo. I just wish it came in a bigger bottle. It doesn't last that long, but overall I'm very happy with it and will continue to repurchase. It's not THE best, but one of the best I've used and the price is pretty good and I like that it's available in my small town.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Organix products

More Shampoo products