Maybelline Eye Studio Master Precise Ink Pen Liner

3.5

252 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/27/2015 2:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this stuff as a sort of backup emergency liner. I was digging through my makeup (surprise) and saw it still in its packaging and decided to give it a go. I had nowhere to be so I drew a big dramatic cat eye and went on with my day. Later that night I took a peep in the mirror and WHAT? This stuff stays on like I owe it money. The payoff is good, especially for a marker liner. I sort of lugged when the commercial was like "it has a .4 mm tip" but it goes on as precise as a gel liner and brush. I can bang out a great look in three minutes, I LOVE THIS LINER!



on 8/17/2015 4:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to absolutely love this eyeliner in the beginning but now I don't feel that strongly about it anymore. Pros: sleek packaging, great for the price, easy to make thin and precise lines, and a nice pigmented black colour (not a greyish black). Cons: durability isn't the best as it did slightly smudge after about 2-3hours, the product sometimes gets on the part beneath the lid, the nib gets dry after a while and doesn't work properly, and the colour becomes inconsistent in pigmentation (also after some time).


on 8/15/2015 12:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pretty good eyeliner, taking into consideration the affordable price.
I personally find the long, flexible felt tip of this eyeliner easy to use. If you prefer a more, er, rigid (? lol) tip for your eyeliners, then this might not be the one for you!
Goes on nicely pigmented and black. Would not call this smudge proof or massively long lasting - for the price though, it does a decent job. Would recommend using a setting spray or taking this along with you for touch-ups if you're going to be wearing this eyeliner for a long amount of time.
Also, I've had this liner for quite a while and it hasn't started to dry up at all yet, which is pretty snazzy.
If you're looking for a new decent, reasonably priced drugstore eyeliner, I'd say give this one a go.


on 8/14/2015 8:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

As much as i love these felt tip liners (quicker and smoother to apply than gel and easier than liquid) I always feel that the usage out of them is bad. This eyeliner is better than most others I have used. I often find that they get finished so quickly but this one did last me about 2 months, longer than any of my other ones. Also I found that this is one of the few felt tip liners that did both eyes very black instead of the first black and the 2nd a sortof off grey as the pigmentation ran out. The tip was perfect, thin enough to create perfect pointed wings and to get a thin line across the lid, but also thick enough to build it up to a thick liner if wanted. To ensure this lasts all day, I usually apply it ontop of a primer and put a small bit of black eyeshadow or waterproof liner on top


on 8/4/2015 7:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is my HG eyeliner. I've seriously been using this for longer than I remember, Atleast 2-3 years, and since I've had it I've had absolutely zero desire to try anything else, no matter how many people rave about another new eyeliner. I'm very confused to the ratings on here. I have very hooded eyes, and this stuff has never given me a problem. To me, it's never made a mess, smudged, or creased. And it dries in like 2 seconds. I've cried in this and worked out hard in this and not a budge. I'm not sure if some people on here just don't know how to apply eyeliner but this is the best eyeliner hands down. Yes, it does dry out quicker than most bc it's felt tip. But I get a good solid 2 1/2 - 3 months. And the money is totally worth it. Felt tip is something you have to get used to. I stock pile this bc I'm scared they will discontinue. Try it and give it time to figure out how to work it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2015 6:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Okay so I really didn't like this product. It was hard to apply on my eyes (wouldn't apply the wing eyeliner right?) and it creased and wore off so easily! For the price it was not worth a repurchase. Better off trying another ink pen liner at the drugstore as there are a ton of them out now! However, this might work for you but it did not work at all for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2015 1:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product. I usually have hooded lids that will crease midway during the day, but this liner does stay put. It's a really nice solid black line and you can get your liner on with one sweep. It's goes on smooth and it doesn't crack nor smudge throughout the day. The biggest con to this product is that when you trying to go over your line the product does not flow down to the felt tip quickly so you don't get that sharp flick for your cat eye. Even saying that, the liner is still great and I look forward to buying another one once mine runs out.


on 7/6/2015 2:03:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have oily hooded eyelids and this is the worst liquid eyeliner I have ever tried. In my opinion, even the ELF $1 liquid eyeliner is better than this because this eyeliner smears like crazy. Even after 2-3 hours, the liner already started transferring to the top part of my eyelid. This is definitely not the dupe for the Stila liquid eyeliner.

Summary

CONS:
smears easily
the applicator is too long and not precise
gives raccoon eyes

PROS:
the price is decent


on 6/29/2015 5:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a great liquid eyeliner. It glides on and wears all day. As I've gotten older, it has been harder to wear liquid liner because it "squiggles" on my lash line, lol. This liner doesn't tug or skip on my crepey lids. It applies smoothly with little effort. The black is very black, and the tip is thin, so you can build your line width gradually. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2015 3:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The formula for this liner didn't work for me as it smudged terribly in like 2hrs, it was all over my lids. I have hooded eyelids that aren't that oily. This is definitely not a dupe for the stila eyeliner as the formula isn't up to par in term of staying power. The preciseness of the eyeliner is really good and it's relatively easy to use but it also does skip a bit. Works better if you draw your line in one stroke than using little strokes. My hopes were too high for this product.


Back to Top