Hourglass • No. 28 Primer Serum • Primer/ Corrector

rated 4.1(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 1/14/2015 12:09:00 AM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is a beautiful primer to use under heavier cream type foundations, my Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin Enhancer and Bobbi Brown Stick foundations especially look great over this. Nothing smooths my dry patches quite like this does. In the summertime I can get too oily if I wear this all over, but in the fall and winter it is the PERFECT primer for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cinderella7 on 1/8/2015 11:29:00 PM more reviews by cinderella7

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go to foundation primer. I originally was attracted to this primer because of its treatment properties and love the way my face feels after I apply. I have found that the key in application is the amount. I usually use a small pearl sized drop, rub finger tips together and apply to my face. I allow a couple of minutes for it to settle into my face before applying make up. During the warm months I do switch to Hourglass Veil Primer. I have had no issues with breakouts or oiliness with my dry/combination skin and I find the herbal scent very pleasing. Although decidedly more expensive than others it is so worth it since only a small amount is needed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Derpiies on 12/28/2014 4:44:00 PM more reviews by Derpiies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This primer was recommended to me by a Sephora SA when I asked for a moisturizing primer to use under my KVD Lock It.
I have very dry skin and during winter I hate not being able to wear my matte foundations.
This worked phenomenally. It is very hydrating.
PACKAGING:
The packaging is glass. I buy the smaller one for $22 and if i use it every day it will last me about 2-3 months. The pump gives you really great control.

I only use half a pump -to a pump- for my whole face, as was recommended by the SA. You dont need much. I dont see that it makes my foundation last any longer but it does create a very smooth and moisturized surface for my drier foundations. That is why I continue to repurchase this product. it allows me to wear heavier coverage foundations.

Overall, I think it's worth it if you have very dry skin or dry flaky spots you want to give
an extra boost of moisture to. I also like mixing it into my Kvd lock it which is a bit hard to spread on my face and it fixes that problem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* playsomevinyl on 11/8/2014 7:11:00 PM more reviews by playsomevinyl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely dry skin. Despite moisturizing with almost every product on the market (serums, creams) and exfoliating, I cannot get foundation to look good on me due to flakes. Enter Hourglass No 28. This product has literally transformed my makeup. I apply this after my sunscreen and do not even both with moisturizer any more. I just use this. It is amazing. My face now looks supple and radiant. It is expensive, but well the cost. If you have super dry skin you will love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MES on 9/16/2014 10:39:00 PM more reviews by MES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Yes this primer is quite expensive, probably twice the price of most other department store brands. Everything about it is luxurious, the bottle, the formulation, the fragrance. The No. 28 primer serum comes housed in a beautiful heavy glass bottle with a pump. It has a nice gentle lavender/herbal fragrance that makes just makes it a bit more pleasurable to apply. The formulation/feel is what sold me though, I swatched this at Sephora. It felt so smooth and satiny when I blended it into the back of my hand. Dispenses as a clear serum as the name implies. Great primer for dry skin, and the only dry skin friendly primer I know of that isn't shimmery. Even after a full day of work my makeup looks flawless. This is definitely a unique product as far as primers are concerned. I would repurchase as I can't think of anything else that comes close.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Prettygal15 on 7/1/2014 12:09:00 PM more reviews by Prettygal15

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has to be the best primer out there. It leaves me with a smooth appearance and reduces the size of my pores. It is light and you only need very little. A lot of other primers cause me to breakout but this one hasn't. I have been using this for almost two years now and still no complaints. Sometimes this is all I use before I got out without using any coverup.
A bit pricey but it lasts for a long time. The only thing that I have bad to say is that it comes in a glass bottle and makes me nervous because I have dropped a bottle of it already and it broke in my bathroom. But I love this product!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loeblori on 5/6/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by loeblori

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this, but not for all over the face. I have combination skin with fine lines around my eyes. I use this just around my eyes before makeup, especially in the winter when I get more de-hydrated. And I made a brilliant discovery one day when I was tired after work. It makes touch-ups look fabulous. Rather than taking off my face makeup and re-doing it before going out for the evening, I spread a tiny amount of this on areas that might get cakey with foundation and re-applied a small amount of liquid foundation. You'd never know I didn't start from scratch. For a less oily overall primer the Hourglass Mineral Veil (the white one) is great, though probably not for the T-zone in the summer. For my T-zone I use the Becca mattifying primer. So, basically, in the summer I've combined three primers for different areas of my face, but it really works.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StretchyElephant on 3/3/2014 11:45:00 PM more reviews by StretchyElephant

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily skin, so this product isn't really ideal for me. Even so I like my skin to be hydrated above all else and I don't mind if my face is a little extra dewy/greasy. This primer has been my go-to as of late because my face feels amazing during and after wearing makeup when I start with No. 28. I agree that it doesn't really absorb; mostly it seems to just sit on my face and add shine. I just give it a few minutes to attempt to sink in before blotting the excess off with a tissue and continuing with applying my makeup. And you know what? My makeup looks great through 12-hour+ shifts. Yes, I'm pretty oily at the end of the day. But the richness of this primer gives my face such a healthy glow both with and without makeup that I find myself not caring about the oilies. I won't be running to repurchase when I run out mostly because of the price, but this greasy girl was a lot happier with No. 28 than I thought I'd be.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 1/20/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It suited my skin then when I was having laser Tx at the derm's office. Since I stopped those laser for 10 months and my skin has return to its normal condition, although my skin is still dry I do not find this product "sinks in" that well. It just sits there, and who has that kind of time in the morning waiting for products to be "absorbed".
I'd rather put on a cream for dry skin and then a regular silicone primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeupenthusiast1994 on 1/20/2014 12:31:00 PM more reviews by makeupenthusiast1994

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Def on the fence with this-I got the sample or travel sized one along w/ the mineral primer. I tend to use this one more because of my dry and flaky skin, and this seems to moisturize those spots. I've been using for about 3 weeks, and so far it hasn't broken me out, It does help my makeup stay on a little longer.

Ive used this primer with both powder foundation and liquid, and it works well for both!
Will I purchase again? Ehh, im not sure. The price is pretty steep and w/ all the cones this has in it + my acne prone skin? Probably not.
But if you don't have sensitive skin, or a little bit on the dry side, I'd suggest trying this out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Primer/ Corrector products