Carol's Daughter • Monoi Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.3(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 bellavee on 7/23/2014 1:10:00 PM more reviews by bellavee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

First, I tried the mask and loved it so I thought I'd try the shampoo and conditioner. I have very long, thick, coarse, colored hair. Not to mention, it's colored red so I cannot use anything harsh.

This shampoo is perfect as it is sulfate free and ridiculously gentle on my hair. Since it is sulfate free it doesn't suds up as much as a regular shampoo so I have to wash it in parts. First the top of my scalp then the bottom of my scalp and then the rest of my hair which I split in to two (like I've mentioned, I have a lot of hair) and this ensures my entire head gets washed well and there's no greasiness or residue left behind! And it doesn't make my hair feel like straw afterwards either. Plus the smell is heavenly; like my hair went on a trip to Hawaii. My boyfriend smells it constantly. I use the entire line together, for best results. I think it does a great job and I have zero complaints. Although I will admit, when I run out I will be trying a new line. Not because I don't absolutely love this but because I'd like to see my other options. I'm not sure if it's making my hair as soft and shiny as I like or if I'm just being picky. I'll update when I compare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VeruskaRai on 2/20/2014 5:02:00 PM more reviews by VeruskaRai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Very impressive shampoo. It's targeted for weak hair and I really felt like it fortified my hair from root to tip. My hair is damaged and I noticed less breakage, so I cant imagine what it's like for someone with healthy hair. Expensive, but worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Raineey on 8/22/2013 6:22:00 PM more reviews by Raineey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am half Native American / half French and my hair is very coarse, dry, and overall hard to manage. After my previous brand (Redken) decided to reformulate, I was losing what felt like a lot of hair since it was so dry; I tried John Masters Organics, Dove, Biolage, Lanza, and Living Proof-- none of which worked, so when I heard good things about Carol's Daughter, I decided to try it.

I used the Monoi shampoo, conditioner and hair mask and I had literally no fallout after the first use! I can even use a wide tooth comb in the shower and not lose any hair which is amazing for me, since I used to lose it by the handful. I can totally tell the difference when I use the Monoi line-- my hair is shiny, well conditioned and full. It feels so nice and silky, but it still holds curl. I just finished the trial pack shampoo and bought the full size one. I will continue to use this!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HIYELLOW on 8/18/2013 10:57:00 PM more reviews by HIYELLOW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this fragrance!!! I want to love it but I don't. It makes my hair so tangled and crunchy it is unbelievable. The only other shampoo that did this was a no-name shampoo from Sally's. It comes out of the bottle so thick and luxurious that I thought it would be conditioning and detangling. The monoi conditioner smooths it out but it takes quite a bit of effort to comb through it after I wash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mecepeda on 8/2/2013 1:37:00 PM more reviews by mecepeda

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have shoulder-length, very thick, wavy/curly hair that I am trying to grow out. Since I continue to color it despite the fact that I am cutting it less, my hair's drier than it has been in years. MoroccanOil, conditioner, mask and oil have been reliable products for me during this time, but I have still been experiencing lots of shedding, knots, and a bit of breakage. (And this is long after abandoning any heat styling and washing my hair every other day if not less). I received a sample of this shampoo and conditioner from Sephora and was impressed enough to invest in a bottle of both. My only response to this set of products is WOW. After just one use, my hair is much less tangled, sheds noticeably less, and just feels far healthier overall. I have also begun using the Carol's Daughter Monoi Repairing Anti-Breakage Spray and the matching Monoi Repairing Hair Mask, and am very pleased with the results. The only criticism I would offer regarding this otherwise great line is that the Monoi scent, while natural, is rather heavy. If you are very sensitive to fragrance then this is not the set of products for you. The scent has grown on me, however, and it does gradually fade. If you love Monoi and are looking for something to repair your damaged hair then run (don't walk) to Sephora and ask for a sample of this shampoo and conditioner. They are excellent, and well worth the investment.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 6/10/2013 4:03:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Goodness this is expensive. However, I don't wash my hair too often. In fact, in the winter I only wash once a week. So when I do wash I want the most beneficial shampoo I can get. Carol's Daughter Monoi Shampoo cleans well and smells awesome! It has a traditional Monoi fragrance which is gardenia mixed with coconut oil. When I wash I find this does a great job cleansing my scalp without over stripping. After all, one of the reasons I don't shampoo that often is to prevent over-drying of my hair and scalp. When used with Carol's Daughter Monoi Conditioner, my hair is soft, manageable and very clean smelling. The fragrance lasts a few days in my hair and is truly lovely. It is a little pricey, but considering how often I shampoo it is justified for me.

P.S. I don't color my hair anymore so I cannot comment on color fade etc.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 StupidUserNames on 2/17/2013 9:14:00 PM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a fan of this conditioner. It's not as moisturizing as I hoped it would be. I do like the monoi scent it's very pretty and very light too light i can't smell it. I also think this it what is leaving a greasy residue in my bath tub so no I won't repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nocturnefata on 11/23/2012 5:10:00 AM more reviews by Nocturnefata

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Being over in another country with access to a px the size of a 7-11 didn't give me many option toget good hair care and I was sick of having packages that were lost trying to get here. My aunt sent this to my address here and I started using it right away. Big difference from my cheapo shampoo. How does it compare to others? Well I still prefer Pureology by far. This is fairly gentle on color and my hair was shiny. The scent took some time to get used to though as it's fairly heavy the first time you use it. After that I got used to it and now enjoy it. I'd have to compare it directly to my old favorites to give a better review. I don't like how concentrated it is, it's hard to mix with water on your head and makes shampooing for me take longer. Overall though it's nice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lemon_tree on 11/12/2012 11:09:00 PM more reviews by lemon_tree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I didn't find this moisturizing at all. I definitely needed to use conditioner, and this is coming from someone who regularly is able to skip conditioner. It's an ok shampoo but for the price and the fact that its marketed as moisturizing when it's really not, I rate it pretty low. Heavily fragranced, but you may like the tiare flower scent it has, very tropical. Packaging is possibly the worst I've seen- narrow cylinder, twist top to open, gets slippery in shower and difficult to get the darn thing open. Thick consistency as well so I ended up storing it upside down, and had to ensure it was fully closed after each use, a pain given the slippery twist top mechanism. Pretty expensive for what it is. Sadly didn't work for me. I recently tried a sample of Aesop color protect shampoo and condit. Im in trouble because I really like it but its flippin expensive!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 justwishin on 11/1/2012 2:18:00 PM more reviews by justwishin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Don't you love how new products always have amazing reviews...and then the sad truth slowly creeps out? :P

Here's the truth: This shampoo is gentle on color, gives light to medium-level moisture, and leaves the hair in decent but not amazing condition. BUT, it is SOOOOOO heavily fragranced! Like, probably double the level of fragrance of other shampoos...almost like you poured half your perfume bottle into it before washing. It is a pretty scent and I like fragranced products, but it is just overwhelming, to the point that I had a sneezing attack in the shower and I have never in my life had that happen with any shampoo.

Also, I had a lot of fallout with this. If the fragrance were cut to maybe half, this would probably be a decent shampoo. But since fragrance (along with alcohol) is one of the most drying ingredients for hair, I truly don't 'know why they added so much to a product meant for dry hair. Oh well. Ladies, if you have brittle hair and want a truly gentle/hydrating shampoo, try Terax Miele. Hard to find, but worth it! I have zero fallout with the Terax, too, and the scent is nice but not complete overload.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Carol's Daughter products

More Shampoo products