Carol's Daughter Monoi Shampoo

3.9

24 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/26/2015 7:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this over Christmas when I was looking for something to help my fine, wavy, curly, porous, very frizzy weird hair get through the harsh Wisconsin winter. Well..this is NOT it. After I use the Monoi shampoo, conditioner, mask, AND the serum oil my hair becomes a tangled, rough mess. I have tried using just the shampoo with the Biolage Ultra-Hydrating mask and also the Morrocan Oil Intensive Mask and even with a very hydrating mask my hair was still very tangly. My hair normally doesn't not get tangles at all. I found the shampoo to leave my hair stripped, rough, and tangled. The conditioner helped a little but it was not moisturizing enough. The mask smelled nice but was not any more moisturizing that my regular conditioner. I REALLY tried to love these products. I used them many times and always ended up having to go back to my Biolage in between uses just to get my hair into a better condition for the next time I tried using the Monoi again. As for sulfate free products I have had great luck with the Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus line. They leave my hair feeling moisturized, smooth, and manageable and the shampoo has great slip. Plus it is a LOT cheaper!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/31/2015 9:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This was too drying on my highlighted fine damaged fragile frizzy hair. I did use the matching conditioner and mask right after this and it did help but I will not use this shampoo again. I have better luck with cheaper gentler shampoos like organx sea mineral moisture and marc anthony keratin smooth shampoo both without sultates.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2015 1:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is not too bad. This would be more like three and a half lippies for me. For one thing, it does clean well but in a squeaky kind of way which could be good or bad depending on your hair's condition. For me, I need something to remove all the styling products that are in my hair without leaving it stripped. This fits the bill for what it does. It smells wonderful and not strongly scented like the matching masque. It also provides good shine and helps boost my curls without any frizz bits. I have noticed less hair shed and my hair looks more controlled.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Other

I have problem hair. Itís curly, porous, fine, frizzy and dry, and now that itís shoulder-length, damaged as well from years of highlights. I grew it out from a pixie cut, which was also color-treated, but since all nearly all the color went on fresh hair every time I got it cut, it didnít sustain as much damage. When it was shorter, I didnít need to use high-quality repairing products on it. I am also limited in the kind of shampoos I can use as my skin is highly sensitive to SLS, so I only use sulfate-free shampoos (and body wash, and cleansers, etc.)

When I realized I needed to step up my S & C game from what I was using when it was short, I recalled having a good experience with the Monoi shampoo and mask combo, so I bought both of them, followed by the Tui and Capuacu lines in the same combination. Theyíre all better than what Iíd been using, but donít fit my current needs.

Having used all 3 for some months now I think the CD S & Cs just arenít a great match for my hair. I find the shampoos to be drying (the Tui less so, but not by much) and leave my hair with a rough texture. Other shampoos do a nice job of leaving it smooth after cleansing (Ouidad Oil Cleanser and the Alterna Bamboo line, for instance) so itís not just my hair Ė itís the product.

The masks donít give enough moisture to compensate for the stripping effect from the shampoos. Of the 3, I find the Monoi to be the most hydrating and once I got used to it, Iíve come to really like the scent. But this mask is just okay, and not great. There are much better hair mask options out there for my hair (the Fekkai and Mixed Chicks ones for starters.)

The Capuacu (anti-frizz line) Iím not a fan of at all. It doesnít reduce frizz in the least and gives my hair a weird stretchiness as well as making it fuzzy. It also has a scent that Iím not at all fond of, which lingers for daaayyysss. To my nose, itís an odd combination of powdery floral mixed with butterscotch. Pass.

The Tui line has been repackaged as a color-care line but Iím not sure which of the ingredients in either the shampoo or mask would make it so. And again, the shampoo is stripping and the mask isnít moisturizing enough. The mask does have a thinner texture than the 2 others, which are quite thick, making it easier to distribute throughout my hair, but itís still a no-go for me. It has a floral-candy scent, reminiscent of many recently trendy perfumes marketed toward young women, which I donít object to particularly but isnít what I want my hair to smell like.

I do like a lot of CD styling products, but the S & C line just isnít for me. Hope this helps.


on 7/23/2014 1:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

First, I tried the mask and loved it so I thought I'd try the shampoo and conditioner. I have very long, thick, coarse, colored hair. Not to mention, it's colored red so I cannot use anything harsh.

This shampoo is sulfate free and ridiculously gentle on my hair. Since it is sulfate free it doesn't suds up as much as a regular shampoo so I have to wash it in parts. First the top of my scalp then the bottom of my scalp and then the rest of my hair which I split in to two (like I've mentioned, I have a lot of hair). Although doesn't make my hair feel like straw afterwards, many times it still feels oily or greasy. Sometimes it even feels like there's residue leftover, which I cannot stand. So sometimes I end up rewashing or taking extra long to wash it.
The smell is heavenly; like my hair went on a trip to Hawaii. My boyfriend smells it constantly. I used the entire line together, for best results, but the shampoo just didn't impress me. Carol's daughters has lots of great deals, all the time, but I much rather buy the mask again rather than the shampoo. Especially because I have a $7 shampoo that does a much better job. I need something moisturizing but not oily. I think this line may be suited better for the curly headed gals rather than myself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2014 5:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very impressive shampoo. It's targeted for weak hair and I really felt like it fortified my hair from root to tip. My hair is damaged and I noticed less breakage, so I cant imagine what it's like for someone with healthy hair. Expensive, but worth it!


on 8/22/2013 6:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am half Native American / half French and my hair is very coarse, dry, and overall hard to manage. After my previous brand (Redken) decided to reformulate, I was losing what felt like a lot of hair since it was so dry; I tried John Masters Organics, Dove, Biolage, Lanza, and Living Proof-- none of which worked, so when I heard good things about Carol's Daughter, I decided to try it.

I used the Monoi shampoo, conditioner and hair mask and I had literally no fallout after the first use! I can even use a wide tooth comb in the shower and not lose any hair which is amazing for me, since I used to lose it by the handful. I can totally tell the difference when I use the Monoi line-- my hair is shiny, well conditioned and full. It feels so nice and silky, but it still holds curl. I just finished the trial pack shampoo and bought the full size one. I will continue to use this!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2013 10:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

LOVE this fragrance!!! I want to love it but I don't. It makes my hair so tangled and crunchy it is unbelievable. The only other shampoo that did this was a no-name shampoo from Sally's. It comes out of the bottle so thick and luxurious that I thought it would be conditioning and detangling. The monoi conditioner smooths it out but it takes quite a bit of effort to comb through it after I wash.


on 8/2/2013 1:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I have shoulder-length, very thick, wavy/curly hair that I am trying to grow out. Since I continue to color it despite the fact that I am cutting it less, my hair's drier than it has been in years. MoroccanOil, conditioner, mask and oil have been reliable products for me during this time, but I have still been experiencing lots of shedding, knots, and a bit of breakage. (And this is long after abandoning any heat styling and washing my hair every other day if not less). I received a sample of this shampoo and conditioner from Sephora and was impressed enough to invest in a bottle of both. My only response to this set of products is WOW. After just one use, my hair is much less tangled, sheds noticeably less, and just feels far healthier overall. I have also begun using the Carol's Daughter Monoi Repairing Anti-Breakage Spray and the matching Monoi Repairing Hair Mask, and am very pleased with the results. The only criticism I would offer regarding this otherwise great line is that the Monoi scent, while natural, is rather heavy. If you are very sensitive to fragrance then this is not the set of products for you. The scent has grown on me, however, and it does gradually fade. If you love Monoi and are looking for something to repair your damaged hair then run (don't walk) to Sephora and ask for a sample of this shampoo and conditioner. They are excellent, and well worth the investment.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Goodness this is expensive. However, I don't wash my hair too often. In fact, in the winter I only wash once a week. So when I do wash I want the most beneficial shampoo I can get. Carol's Daughter Monoi Shampoo cleans well and smells awesome! It has a traditional Monoi fragrance which is gardenia mixed with coconut oil. When I wash I find this does a great job cleansing my scalp without over stripping. After all, one of the reasons I don't shampoo that often is to prevent over-drying of my hair and scalp. When used with Carol's Daughter Monoi Conditioner, my hair is soft, manageable and very clean smelling. The fragrance lasts a few days in my hair and is truly lovely. It is a little pricey, but considering how often I shampoo it is justified for me.

P.S. I don't color my hair anymore so I cannot comment on color fade etc.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top